DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7) in the reply filed on May 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, “swing arm and at least one wheel” should be changed to “swing arm and the one or more wheels”
Claim 5, “a wheel-side coupling configured to transmit power between the drive-side coupling and a vehicle wheel” should be changed to “the wheel-side coupling configured to transmit power between the drive-side coupling and the one or more wheels”
Claim 6, “a rear drive comprising a power conversion device” and “a differential configured to divide power” should be changed to , “a rear drive comprising the power conversion device” and “the differential configured to divide power”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han (US 4,254,843).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having at least one differential pinion (32 of Figure 2) and at least one axle tube (18 of Figure 2);
at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2);
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66);
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller; and
a drivetrain (Col. 3:18-31) configured to transmit power between the at least one power conversion device and the vehicle's at least one differential pinion and configured to connect to the vehicle's axle tube.
Regarding claim 2, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having a front differential pinion (Col. 3:18-31; 32 of Figure 2) and a frame (14 of Figure 2);
at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2);
a power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66);
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller; and
a drivetrain (Col. 3:18-31) configured to transmit power between the at least one power conversion device and the vehicle's front differential pinion and configured to connect to the vehicle's frame.
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having one or more wheels (16 of Figure 2);
at least one swing arm, wherein the at least one swing arm comprises at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2) configured to transmit power between the one or more wheels and the at least one energy storage device;
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66); and
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller.
Regarding claim 7, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having at least one rear axle (18 of Figure 2);
at least one wheel (16 of Figure 2) configured to be substantially aligned with the rear axle of the vehicle and configured to provide traction against a ground surface;
at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2) configured to transmit power between the at least one wheel and the at least one energy storage device;
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66); and
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 4,254,843), in view of Lipsett (US 2023/0063961).
Regarding claim 4, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having one or more wheels (16 of Figure 2);
at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2);
at least one swing arm (critical part of the suspension system), wherein the at least one swing arm is configured to transmit power between the one or more wheels and the at least one energy storage device;
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66);
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller, and
one or more clutches (30 of Figure 2) configured to transmit power between the at least one swing arm and at least one wheel when in a first position and configured to interrupt power transmission between the at least one swing arm and at least one wheel when in a second position.
Han does not explicitly disclose at least one swing arm.
Lipsett discloses at least one swing arm (Para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have at least one swing arm installed in the vehicle of Han, as taught by Lipsett, in order to assist the cylinders to pitch up and down over obstacles as well as some vertical motion, such that the maximum surface area of each cylinder is in contact with the ground at all times [Lipsett: Para. 0056].
Regarding claim 5, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having one or more wheels (16 of Figure 2);
at least one power conversion device (22 of Figure 2);
at least one swing arm (critical part of the suspension system), wherein the at least one swing arm is configured to transmit power between the one or more wheels and the at least one energy storage device;
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the at least one power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66);
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller;
a drive-side coupling configured transmit power between the at least one swing arm and a wheel-side coupling, the drive-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon (critical part of the suspension system); and
a wheel-side coupling configured to transmit power between the drive-side coupling and a vehicle wheel, the wheel-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon (critical part of the suspension system).
Han does not explicitly disclose at least one swing arm; and
a drive-side coupling configured transmit power between the at least one swing arm and a wheel-side coupling, the drive-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon (critical part of the suspension system); and
a wheel-side coupling configured to transmit power between the drive-side coupling and a vehicle wheel, the wheel-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon.
Lipsett discloses at least one swing arm (Para. 0056); and
a drive-side coupling configured transmit power between the at least one swing arm and a wheel-side coupling, the drive-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon (Para. 0056); and
a wheel-side coupling configured to transmit power between the drive-side coupling and a vehicle wheel, the wheel-side coupling comprising at least one attachment mechanism located thereon (Para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have at least one swing arm installed in the vehicle of Han, as taught by Lipsett, in order to assist the cylinders to pitch up and down over obstacles as well as some vertical motion, such that the maximum surface area of each cylinder is in contact with the ground at all times [Lipsett: Para. 0056].
Regarding claim 6, Han discloses a system comprising:
at least one energy storage device (20 of Figure 2, 8) configured to store power for a vehicle (10 of Figure 1-2) having one or more wheels (16 of Figure 2);
a left swing arm and a right swing arm (critical part of the suspension system) configured to transmit power between the one or more wheels and a power conversion device (22 of Figure 2);
a rear drive comprising a power conversion device, the power conversion device being configured to transmit power between the at least one energy storage device and a differential (32 of Figure 2);
a differential configured to divide power flow between the left swing arm and right swing arm;
at least one power conversion controller (100 of Figure 8) configured to regulate power flow between the at least one energy storage device and the power conversion device (Col. 2:12-50; Col. 5:3-10, 63-66); and
an input device (Col. 5:3-10, such as a pedal) configured to receive input from a user and configured to translate the input into instructions for the power conversion controller,
wherein the power conversion device and differential are parallel to and aligned with each other (see Figure 2).
Han does not explicitly disclose a left swing arm and a right swing arm.
Lipsett discloses a left swing arm and a right swing arm (Para. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have at least one swing arm installed in the vehicle of Han, as taught by Lipsett, in order to assist the cylinders to pitch up and down over obstacles as well as some vertical motion, such that the maximum surface area of each cylinder is in contact with the ground at all times [Lipsett: Para. 0056].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Auerbach (US 6,734,645), Bock (US 4,309,620), Spahn (US 3,556,239) disclose a system with a vehicle battery, differential, axle, and a power conversion device and controller with an input device.
Tsujimura (US 4,196,887) discloses a vehicle with at least one swing-arm.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834