DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received June 26th, 2026. Claims 1-24 have been withdrawn. Claims 25-30 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/464,980 has US Provisional Application 63/382,239 11/03/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 26th, 2026, have been fully considered, but deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which has been necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2025/0227718) in view of Liang et al. (US 2025/0220683).
Regarding claims 25, 28, Li et al. discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring configuration (paragraph 0190 [generating a downlink control information (DCI) configuration message to the UE to configure the UE to monitor, on the scheduling cell, for the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling]),
the PDCCH monitoring configuration being associated with a set of downlink control information (DCI) formats for monitoring on a set of component carriers (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 0085-0086, 0141, 0189 [a DCI is used to schedule PDSCH or PUSCH transmissions in more than one cell or component carrier (CC), where each PDSCH or PUSCH is scheduled in one cell or CC; DCI sizes configured to monitor; wherein the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling corresponds to one of format 0_3 or 1_3]);
and monitoring, on the set of component carriers, for a set of DCIs (paragraph 0091 [the DCIs for multi-cell scheduling may be transmitted in one or more scheduling cells])
wherein a first payload of a first DCI format, of the set of DCI formats, for a set of cells for multi-cell downlink scheduling is aligned with a second payload of a second DCI format, of the set of DCI formats, for the set of cells, wherein the first payload is aligned with the second payload in association with a quantity of DCI sizes in the PDCCH monitoring configuration exceeding a threshold (paragraphs 0137, 0143, 0145 [the DCI format for multi-cell scheduling is DCI format 0_3 or 1_3. If the number of sizes of DCI format for a cell exceeds the maximum numbers (M, N) of the cell, DCI size alignment is performed until the resulting number of DCI sizes do not exceed (M, N); if the number of DCI sizes still exceeds the maximum numbers (M, N) of a cell after doing the DCI size alignment in Section 7.3.1.0 of TS 38.212 and the size alignment of DCI format 0_3 and 1_3, the sizes of DCI format 0_1, 1_1, 0_3 & 1_3 are adjusted for alignment; a number of zero padding bits are generated for the DCI format 0_3 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_3]).
Li et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein an error case comprises a scenario in which, after the alignment of the first payload with the second payload, the quantity of DCI sizes exceeds the threshold.
However, Liang et al. discloses wherein an error case comprises a scenario in which, after the alignment of the first payload with the second payload, the quantity of DCI sizes exceeds the threshold (paragraph 0084 [if the total number of DCI sizes configured to monitor PDCCH is more than 4 after size alignments of DCI formats for multi-cell scheduling, or if the total number of DCI sizes with C-RNTI configured to monitor PDCCH is more than 3 after size alignments of DCI formats for multi-cell scheduling, the network device 110 and/or the terminal device 120 may determine that the size alignments are failed]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize if the total number of DCI sizes configured to monitor PDCCH is more than a threshold after size alignments of DCI formats, the network and/or device would determine failure.
Regarding claims 26, 29, Li et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 25,28 and further discloses wherein first DCI format is DCI format 13 and the second DCI format is DCI format 03 (paragraph 0145 [the size alignment of DCI format 0_3 and 1_3, the sizes of DCI format 0_1, 1_1, 0_3 & 1_3 are adjusted for alignment]).
Regarding claims 27, 30, Li et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 25,28 and further discloses aligning sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format to align the first payload with the second payload (paragraph 0141 [If the number of information bits in the DCI format 0_3 prior to padding is less than the payload size of the DCI format 1_3 for scheduling the same serving cell, a number of zero padding bits are generated for the DCI format 0_3 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_3]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465