DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2025 and 12/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “the input end of the second filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture” in claim 2, lines 4-5 lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim and is indefinite because an inlet end of the second filter has already been positively recited so it is unclear if the input end is the same or different from the inlet end. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the inlet end of the second filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture”.
Regarding claim 17, the recitation “the input end of the second filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture” in claim 17, lines 4-5 lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim and is indefinite because an inlet end of the second filter has already been positively recited so it is unclear if the input end is the same or different from the inlet end. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the inlet end of the second filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-8, 11-12, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 20230327278 A1) in view of Matsuura (Pub. No. US 20170018748 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches an apparatus (122/150/220, Figs. 1 and 5, see [0048], see [0055]) for containing thermal events (high temperature venting gas, see [0050]) of at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]), the apparatus (122/150/220, Figs. 1 and 5, see [0048], see [0055]) comprising: a containment enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) including a venting chamber (150, Fig. 5, see [0048]) having a pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b), wherein the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b) includes an inlet portion (152a/b, Fig. 8, see [0069]) and an outlet portion (153a/b, Fig. 9, see [0074]), wherein the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b) is configured to enable emissions discharged from the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) to be directed from the inlet portion (152a/b, Fig. 8, see [0069]) to the outlet portion (153a/b, Fig. 8, see [0069], see [0065] where gas enters 152, goes through 151, and exits 153), and wherein the outlet portion (153a/b, Fig. 9, see [0074]) of the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b) includes an outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]); and a valve (223, Fig. 13, see [0049]), the valve (223, Fig. 13, see [0049]) configured to open at a predetermined threshold pressure level (rupture under a predetermined pressure, see [0049]) to release emissions into an atmosphere (see Fig. 13 where 223 is above a barrier between the outside of the battery case and therefore when the membrane ruptures any emissions or vent gas would pass out into the atmosphere outside the apparatus) but fails to teach a filter having an input end and output end, wherein the input end of the filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the outlet aperture of the pathway; and the valve coupled to the output end of the filter. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
However, Matsuura teaches a filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063]) having an input end (lower end of 168, Fig. 5) and output end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5), wherein the input end of the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063]) is configured to filter the emissions (G, Fig. 5, see [0068] where the gas is able to pass through the granules, therefore any moisture in the gas would also be filtered out in the process, therefore it is configured to filter the emissions) passing through the outlet aperture (61b, Fig. 5, see [0048]) of the pathway (in this instance the pathway would be the path the gas G took to get to 61b, Fig. 5); and the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 below, see [0062], the examiner would like to note the entire structure 160 is called a valve, but the actual functional valve portion has been outlined in the Fig below to designate the difference between the filter and valve) coupled to the output end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5) of the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063], see in Fig. 5 below the valve portion is directly above and coupled to the upper end of the filter 168) configured to open at a predetermined threshold pressure level (second pressure value, see [0053]) to release emissions into an atmosphere (gas is discharged outside, see [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin to substitute the rupture valves 223 as taught by shin for the valve and filter 160 as taught by Matsuura as an art effective equivalent gas pressure relief system which restrains moisture outside a battery case from entering the battery case even when it permeates the valve body (see [0007] of Matsuura). Further Shin teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Regarding claim 2, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a first filter (168 above 153a, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above where all 223 are replaced therefore the one above 153a will be considered the first filter), wherein the outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]) comprises a first outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]), wherein the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a first valve (valve portion above 153a, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above), and wherein the outlet portion (153a/b, Fig. 9, see [0074]) of the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b) includes a second outlet aperture (153b, Fig. 9, see [0069]), and further comprising: a second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above where all 223 are replaced therefore the one above 153b will be considered the second filter) having an inlet end (lower end of 168, Fig. 5, see Matsuura, see modifications above) and outlet end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5 of Matsuura, see modifications above), wherein the input end of the second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above) is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture (153b, Fig. 9, see [0069], see [0068] of Matsuura and modifications above where the gas is able to pass through the granules, therefore any moisture in the gas would also be filtered out in the process, therefore it is configured to filter the emissions) of the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b); and a second valve (valve portion above 153b, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) coupled to the outlet end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5 of Matsuura, see modifications above) of the second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above), the second valve (valve portion above 153a, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) configured to open at the predetermined threshold pressure level (second pressure value, see [0053] of Matsuura, see modifications above) to release emissions into an atmosphere (gas is discharged outside, see [0053] of Matsuura, see modifications above). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
Regarding claim 3, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the containment enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) is configured to be mounted to a housing (121, Fig. 4 see where 122 is mounted on 121, and 150 is mounted on 122, see [0063], see [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 5, see [0057]) is disposed in the housing (121, Fig. 5, see [0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the containment enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) includes a thermal shield plate (122, Fig. 5, see [0055]) for enclosing at least a portion (lower half, see [0063] the module housing and 150 are integrally formed, therefore 122 being the portion in contact would enclose the lower half of 150) of the venting chamber (150, Fig. 5, see [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the thermal shield plate (122, Fig. 5, see [0055]) includes at least one opening (123, Fig. 5, see [0068]) configured to enable the emissions discharged from the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) to pass through the thermal shield plate (122, Fig. 5, see [0055], see Fig. 11 shows the path of emissions) and into the inlet portion (152a/b, Fig. 8, see [0069]) of the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b).
Regarding claim 7, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the thermal shield plate (122, Fig. 5, see [0055]) is spaced from the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) to provide an area for exhausting the emissions (see Fig. 11 shows space between G1 and the upper plates which allows the illustrated emission flow path) discharged from the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the at least one energy storage device (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) is selected from at least one rechargeable battery (see [0099] the battery pack is used in an electric vehicle, therefore it is the examiner’s position the batteries would be rechargeable), at least one electrochemical battery (see [0060] the battery cells are electrically connected therefore it is the examiner’s position the battery cells are electrochemical battery cells), at least one lithium-ion battery, at least one lithium polymer battery, at least one lead-acid battery, at least one nickel cadmium battery, and at least one nickel metal hydride battery.
Regarding claim 11, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the thermal events (high temperature venting gas, see [0050]) comprise thermal runaway events (thermal runaway propagation, see [0050] where the high temperature gas venting prevents propagation of thermal runaway therefore contains a thermal runaway event of one battery cell or group spreading to another).
Regarding claim 12, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a pressure relief valve (see [0053] of Matsuura, the valve reacts and relieves gas based on pressure changes, therefore it is considered a pressure relief valve).
Regarding claim 15, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the apparatus (122/150/220, Figs. 1 and 5, see [0048], see [0055]) is mounted in a vehicle or structure (10, Fig. 1, see [0048]), and wherein the vehicle comprises an aircraft or an automobile.
Regarding claim 16, Shin teaches a battery module (10, Fig. comprising: a housing (121, Fig. 5, see [0058]); a battery (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) disposed in the housing (121, Fig. 5, see [0058]); an enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) mounted to the housing (121, Fig. 4 see where 122 is mounted on 121, and 150 is mounted on 122, see [0063], see [0055]) for containing thermal runway events (prevent thermal runaway propagation, see [0050]), wherein the enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) includes a venting chamber (150, Fig. 5, see [0048]) having a pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b), wherein the enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) includes an inlet aperture (152a, Fig. 8, see [0069]) and outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]), wherein the inlet aperture (152a, Fig. 8, see [0069]) is configured to enable emissions discharged from the battery (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) to enter into the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], see Fig. 11 shows path of emissions), and wherein the outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]) is configured to enable the emissions to exit the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b); and a valve (223, Fig. 13, see [0049]), the valve (223, Fig. 13, see [0049]) configured to open at a predetermined threshold pressure level (rupture under a predetermined pressure, see [0049]) to release emissions into an atmosphere (see Fig. 13 where 223 is above a barrier between the outside of the battery case and therefore when the membrane ruptures any emissions or vent gas would pass out into the atmosphere outside the apparatus) but fails to teach a filter having an input end and output end, wherein the input end of the filter is configured to filter the emissions passing through the outlet aperture of the pathway; and the valve coupled to the output end of the filter. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
However, Matsuura teaches a filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063]) having an input end (lower end of 168, Fig. 5) and output end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5), wherein the input end of the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063]) is configured to filter the emissions (G, Fig. 5, see [0068] where the gas is able to pass through the granules, therefore any moisture in the gas would also be filtered out in the process, therefore it is configured to filter the emissions) passing through the outlet aperture (61b, Fig. 5, see [0048]) of the pathway (in this instance the pathway would be the path the gas G took to get to 61b, Fig. 5); and the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 below, see [0062], the examiner would like to note the entire structure 160 is called a valve, but the actual functional valve portion has been outlined in the Fig below to designate the difference between the filter and valve) coupled to the output end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5) of the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063], see in Fig. 5 below the valve portion is directly above and coupled to the upper end of the filter 168) configured to open at a predetermined threshold pressure level (second pressure value, see [0053]) to release emissions into an atmosphere (gas is discharged outside, see [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin to substitute the rupture valves 223 as taught by shin for the valve and filter 160 as taught by Matsuura as an art effective equivalent gas pressure relief system which restrains moisture outside a battery case from entering the battery case even when it permeates the valve body (see [0007] of Matsuura). Further Shin teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Regarding claim 17, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the filter (168, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a first filter (168 above 153a, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above where all 223 are replaced therefore the one above 153a will be considered the first filter), wherein the outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]) comprises a first outlet aperture (153a, Fig. 9, see [0069]), wherein the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a first valve (valve portion above 153a, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above), and wherein the enclosure (122/150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see [0055]) includes a second outlet aperture(153b, Fig. 9, see [0069]), and further comprising: a second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above where all 223 are replaced therefore the one above 153b will be considered the second filter) having an inlet end (lower end of 168, Fig. 5, see Matsuura, see modifications above) and outlet end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5 of Matsuura, see modifications above), wherein the input end of the second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above) is configured to filter the emissions passing through the second outlet aperture (153b, Fig. 9, see [0069], see [0068] of Matsuura and modifications above where the gas is able to pass through the granules, therefore any moisture in the gas would also be filtered out in the process, therefore it is configured to filter the emissions) of the pathway (151/152/153, Figs. 8 and 9, see [0065], note this includes 152a, 152b, 153a, and 153b); and a second valve (valve portion above 153b, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) coupled to the outlet end (upper end of 168, Fig. 5 of Matsuura, see modifications above) of the second filter (168 above 153b, Fig. 5, see [0063] of Matsuura, see modifications above), the second valve (valve portion above 153a, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) configured to open at the predetermined threshold pressure level (second pressure value, see [0053] of Matsuura, see modifications above) to release emissions into an atmosphere (gas is discharged outside, see [0053] of Matsuura, see modifications above). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
Regarding claim 18, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches further comprising a thermal shield plate (lower wall of 150, Fig. 11) disposed between the battery (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) and the venting chamber (150, Fig. 5, see [0048], see Fig. 11 where the lower wall of 150 is between the internal passages of 150 and G1), wherein the thermal shield plate (lower wall of 150, Fig. 11) includes the inlet aperture (152a, Fig. 11, see [0069]).
Regarding claim 20, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the battery (G1, Fig. 1, see [0057]) is selected from one of a rechargeable battery, an electrochemical battery (see [0060] the battery cells are electrically connected therefore it is the examiner’s position the battery cells are electrochemical battery cells), a lithium-ion battery, a lithium polymer battery, a lead-acid battery, a nickel cadmium battery, and a nickel metal hydride battery.
5. Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 20230327278 A1) in view of Matsuura (Pub. No. US 20170018748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No. US 20230223646 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Shin in view of Matsuura fails to teach wherein the pathway of the venting chamber comprising a labyrinth passage or path.
However, Lee teaches wherein the pathway (P1/P2, Fig. 4, see [0104]) of the venting chamber (chamber where P1/P2 flow, Fig. 4) comprising a labyrinth passage (zigzag shape, Fig. 4, see [0106]) or path.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura such that the partition walls of the venting pathway in 150 are formed in a zigzag pattern as taught by Lee to prevent external exposure of flame (see [0009] of Lee). Further Shin in view of Matsuura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Regarding claim 10, Shin in view of Matsuura fails to teach wherein the pathway of the venting chamber includes one or more C-shaped, U-shaped, or S-shaped portions.
However, Lee teaches wherein the pathway (P1/P2, Fig. 4, see [0104]) of the venting chamber (chamber where P1/P2 flow, Fig. 4) includes one or more C-shaped, U-shaped, or S-shaped portions (zigzag shape, Fig. 4, see [0106] where the zigzag pattern of Fig. 4 includes C, U, and S-shaped portions).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura such that the partition walls of the venting pathway in 150 are formed in a zigzag pattern as taught by Lee to prevent external exposure of flame (see [0009] of Lee). Further Shin in view of Matsuura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
6. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 20230327278 A1) in view of Matsuura (Pub. No. US 20170018748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Skroski et al. (Pub. No. US 20230155208 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Shin in view of Matsuura fails to teach wherein the predetermined threshold pressure level is about 20 psi.
However, Skroski teaches wherein the predetermined threshold pressure level (pressure condition, see [0027]) is about 20 psi (20 psi, see [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura such that the predetermined pressure of the valve is 20 psi as taught by Skroski to prevent fires and prevent thermal runaway from spreading (see [0017] of Skroski). Further Shin in view of Matsuura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
7. Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (Pub. No. US 20230327278 A1) in view of Matsuura (Pub. No. US 20170018748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin ‘251 (Pub. No. KR 102541251 B1) in view of PMD (PMD Distributors, 2022).
Regarding claim 14, Shin in view of Matsuura fails to teach wherein the filter comprises a sintered bronze filter.
However, Shin ‘251 teaches wherein the filter (sintered filter, see [0064]) comprises a sintered metal filter (see [0064] a sintered filter made of metal material powder such as stainless steel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura to substitute the filter 168 as taught by Matsuura for a sintered metal filter as taught by Shin ‘251 as an art effective equivalent filter for allowing gas permeation while preventing liquid or moisture penetration (see [0058] of Shin ‘251). Further Shin in view of Matsuura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 fails to teach a sintered bronze filter.
However, PMD teaches a sintered bronze filter (bronze sintered filter, see line 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 substitute the sintered metal filter as taught by Shin ‘251 for a sintered bronze filter as taught by PMD as an art effective equivalent sintered metal filter material to resist high temperatures and corrosion (see line 12-13 of PMD). Further Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Regarding claim 19, Shin in view of Matsuura teaches wherein the valve (valve portion, Fig. 5 above, see [0062] of Matsuura, see modifications above) comprises a pressure relief valve (see [0053] of Matsuura, the valve reacts and relieves gas based on pressure changes, therefore it is considered a pressure relief valve), but fails to teach wherein the filter comprises a sintered bronze filter.
However, Shin ‘251 teaches wherein the filter (sintered filter, see [0064]) comprises a sintered metal filter (see [0064] a sintered filter made of metal material powder such as stainless steel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura to substitute the filter 168 as taught by Matsuura for a sintered metal filter as taught by Shin ‘251 as an art effective equivalent filter for allowing gas permeation while preventing liquid or moisture penetration (see [0058] of Shin ‘251). Further Shin in view of Matsuura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 fails to teach a sintered bronze filter.
However, PMD teaches a sintered bronze filter (bronze sintered filter, see line 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 substitute the sintered metal filter as taught by Shin ‘251 for a sintered bronze filter as taught by PMD as an art effective equivalent sintered metal filter material to resist high temperatures and corrosion (see line 12-13 of PMD). Further Shin in view of Matsuura in view of Shin ‘251 teaches that modifications can be made (see [0101] of Shin).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723