DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 13 June 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18 and 21 – 26 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bhadra et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0101286 – previously cited) in view of Vallejo et al. (USPN 11,607,548).
Double Patenting
Claims 19, 20, and 27 – 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,027,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘126 patent claim a method for nerve block of a patient utilizing a capacitive chargeable electrode and dynamically sensing the amount of charge of the at least one implantable electrode, wherein the controller is further configured to receive data from the sensor and discontinue at least one of the first current or the second current when an amount of water is being electrolyzed. The claims of the ‘126 patent anticipated the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 21 – 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhadra et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0101286 – previously cited) in view of Vallejo et al. (USPN 11,607,548).
Regarding claim 18, 21, and 22¸ Bhadra discloses a method for nerve block of a patient utilizing a rechargeable electrode (e.g. ¶ 8), comprising: generating a first current of a first polarity through a titanium nitride implanted electrode (e.g. ¶ 58 – 60) proximate a nerve sufficient to at least partially block conduction in the nerve (e.g. ¶ 38 and 58), wherein the electrode generates current in an ionic component proximate the at least one electrode (e.g. ¶ 43 and 47) sufficient to create at least a partial block in the nerve and decrease the amount of stored charge in the implanted electrode (e.g. ¶ 38 and 58); and generating a second current of a second polarity opposite the first polarity through the implanted electrode, wherein the second current increases the amount of the stored charge of the implanted electrode to recharge the implanted electrode (e.g. ¶ 38 and 58). Bhadra further discloses the decrease and increase in amount of stored charge on the at least one electrode are not equal (e.g. ¶ 58; the biphasic current may not be fully balanced) and/or the decrease and increase in amount of stored charge on the at least one electrode are equal (e.g. ¶ 58; a balanced charge). Bhadra fails to teach that the transition from the first current to the second current comprises a smooth trapezoidal waveform. Vallejo teaches it is known to use a method for nerve block that include trapezoidal pulses having increasing or decreasing ramps in a continuous function (e.g. column 22, lines 42 – 55). The continuous function with a trapezoidal pulse would read on the smooth trapezoidal waveform. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the trapezoidal waveforms as taught by Bhadra with the trapezoidal waveforms having a continuous function (i.e. smoot trapezoidal waveforms) as taught by Vallejo, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of avoiding unwanted generation of action potentials.
Regarding claim 23¸ Bhadra discloses the claimed invention except for specifically reciting the insulated enclosure. However, insulated enclosures are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Bhadra with the insulated enclosure, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of preventing unwanted stimulation to surrounding tissue.
Regarding claim 24, Bhadra discloses titanium nitride as previously mentioned, but fails to explicitly recite porous or fractal titanium nitride. However, both porous and fractal titanium nitride are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the titanium nitride as taught by Bhadra with the porous or fractal titanium nitride, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of generating more surface area for the electrochemical reactions to occur.
Regarding claims 25 and 26¸ Bhadra discloses the claimed invention except for delivering at least about 5,000µC or at least about 25,000 µC of charge into excitable tissue without damaging the excitable tissue. However, it is reminded that finding the optimal workable ranges requires only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have arrived at the claimed parameters through merely routine testing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792