DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 22nd July, 2026.
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11 and 13-20 were amended; claims 5, 7 and 12 were cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11 and 13-20 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to drawing has been withdrawn.
The objections to claims 12-16 and 18-20 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22nd July, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device”) are not recited in the rejected claims. However, these claim limitations were not present in the original independent claims and were presented by amendment on 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11 and 13-20. Therefore, the issue of whether Nyhart addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed in the present Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyhart et al. (US 20200200530 A1, hereinafter “Nyhart”), modified in view of Fisher (US 20090018796 A1, hereinafter “Fisher”).
Regarding claim 1, Nyhart teaches a laser rangefinder with magnetic suction, comprising:
a first shell, a second shell, a display screen, a control button, a laser ranging device and a magnet device configured to fix the laser rangefinder on a metal frame by the magnetic suction (Nyhart; Fig. 1C, [0043], golf laser rangefinder 100 comprises a housing 102; Fig. 3, [0044], the housing 102 includes a pair of opposing housing wall portions 130 (1st shell), 131 (2nd shell); display window/screen 136/137; control buttons 138; a set of magnets 139 which allows the golfer rangefinder sitting in the golf cart to view the display when the laser rangefinder is mounted to an upright support post (Fig. 1B));
wherein a front end of the first shell is provided with the display screen and the control button, a first accommodating cavity is formed between the first shell and the second shell, the laser ranging device is disposed in the first accommodating cavity, and the magnet device is disposed on the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], side wall portions 130 has a display 135 with the housing side wall portion 133 defining a display window 136 with display screen 137 framed therein and with control buttons 138 adjacent thereto. The housing defines a cavity 160 which is in between wall portion 130 and 131 and the laser rangefinder 100 is disposed inside the housing 102. The position of the set of magnets 139 is on the 2nd wall portion 131).
wherein a rear side of the display screen is connected to the laser ranging device (Nyhart; [0049], the laser rangefinder 100 also include printed wiring board 174 supporting the circuitry 122. In Fig. 3 clearly seen the laser ranging device with printed wiring board 174 is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen 137),
Nyhart does not teach,
an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell;
a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell, and the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and
wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device.
Nyhart further disclosed (in different embodiment) in Fig. 5D, [0034], [0045] showing different positioning of magnets on a laser rangefinder, with the magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing such that the magnetic attraction region 101 covers essentially or the entire side wall portion rather than a diagonal strip (Nyhart; [0045]).
However, Nyhart modified alone still not teach,
an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell;
a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell, and the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and
wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12 (including front surface and back surface), display 16, keypad 14 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26. Fig. 4, [0044], power source 20 (battery) provides power to the components of calculator 10, including display 16, circuit board 18, integral distance sensor 22, and laser 24. Clearly seen that the battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the back surface with a cover; Fig. 3, [0028], is a cut-away perspective view of the project calculator, including housing, keypad, display, the integrated distance sensor, the circuit board, the power source, the spirit levels, and the laser assembly. Clearly seen in between power source 20 and integral distance sensor 22, an empty space on the back of the display 16 is formed to place one or more circuit board 18. This space is equivalent to a second accommodating cavity (formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell). Furthermore, in combine with Nyhart’s invention with magnet installed in any place in the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 4, Fig. 5A-5F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize using Fisher’s invention to separate different parts of the rangefinder such as battery installation groove, rangefinder and the magnet and battery has a cover on the second shell predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, the position of the magnet can be placed in any part of the outer surface of the second/back shell which can be seen in Nyhart’s invention of Fig. 5D and in combine with Fisher’s invention of separate different parts of the rangefinder, at least one of the magnet positioned in the center part is between battery installation groove and rangefinder. MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell; the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell and a battery cover predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
Regarding claim 2, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 1, wherein the magnet device is disposed on an outer surface of the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, Fig. 5A-5F, [0044], the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing such that the magnetic attraction region 101 covers essentially or entire side wall portion 132 rather than a diagonal trip).
Regarding claim 3, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 2, wherein the magnet device is fixed on the outer surface of the second shell by adhesion (Nyhart; Fig. 5A, clearly seen that the set of magnets 164/162 is adhered on the outside of the 2nd wall).
Regarding claim 4, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 2, wherein the magnet device and the second shell are an integrated forming structure (Nyhart; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0044], one of the side wall portions 131 may define a first pocket 166 and a second pocket 168. The pockets can be defined on an inside surface 134.2 or an outside surface 134.4 of the of the side wall portion 132. The magnetic attraction region 101 is the golf ranging devices includes a set of magnets 162/164 in the 1st/2nd pocket 166/168; this implies the magnet device and the second shell are an integrated forming structure).
Regarding claim 6, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 1, wherein the magnet device is fixed on an inner surface of the second shell by adhesion (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing , implies the magnet device is adhered on the side wall of the pocket 166/168).
Regarding claim 9, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 1.
Nyhart does not teach,
wherein the front end of the first shell is provided with a leveling device.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12, display 16, keypad 12 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26 (equivalent to leveling device) mounted to housing 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell; the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device; include wherein the front end of the first shell is provided with a leveling device taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using level 26 function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22 (Fisher; [0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as recited in claim 1.
Nyhart does not teach,
wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, the control button and the second level instrument are disposed at a first side of the display screen, the first level instrument is disposed at a second side of the display screen, the second level instrument is disposed on a side of the control button facing away from the display screen, and a direction of the first side is perpendicular to a direction of the second side.
Fisher teaches, wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, the control button and the second level instrument are disposed at a first side of the display screen, the first level instrument is disposed at a second side of the display screen, and a direction of the first side is perpendicular to a direction of the second side (Fisher; Fig. 1, [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12, display 16, keypad 14, an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26 mounted to housing 12. Clearly seen two levels 26 are perpendicular to each other and one of them are disposed at the same side of the control button (refer to the control button 30 on the right hand side and level 26 on the right hand side, see Fig. 1 below for detail), which refers to a first side of the display screen. The other level 26 is disposed at a second side of the display). Fisher does not disclosed the second level instrument is disposed on a side of the control button facing away from the display screen. However, MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts). Therefore, second level instrument can be placed in any position around the display and the control button by rearrangement of Parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell; the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device; wherein the front end of the first shell is provided with a leveling device; two leveling devices are position in different direction perpendicular to each other taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using one or more level 26 function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22. The levels 26 may comprises two separate leveling devices oriented along orthogonal axes to provide feedback with respect to two distinct axes (Fisher; [0042]). Furthermore, MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
Fig. 1 with two arrows and two dash area are the control button and level 26 arranged in the same side of the display. And the other level 26 is disposed at a second side of the display.
Regarding claim 11, Nyhart teaches a laser rangefinder (Nyhart; Fig. 1C, [0043], golf laser rangefinder 100), comprising:
a first shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], housing wall portions 130 (1st shell), 131 (2nd shell));
a second shell, disposed below the first shell and detachably connected to the first shell to form a first accommodating cavity (same as above; Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the housing defines a cavity 160 which is in between wall portion 130 and 131 and the laser rangefinder 100 is disposed inside the housing 102);
a display screen, disposed at a front end of the first shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], side wall portions 130 has a display 135 with the housing side wall portion 133 defining a display window 136 with display screen 137 framed therein and with control buttons 138 adjacent thereto);
a control button, disposed at the front end of the first shell and arranged with the display screen side by side (same as above);
a laser ranging device, disposed in the first accommodating cavity (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the housing defines a cavity 160 which is in between wall portion 130 and 131 and the laser rangefinder 100 is disposed inside the housing 102); and
a magnet device, disposed on the second shell and configured to fix the laser rangefinder on a metal frame by magnetic suction (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the position of the set of magnets 139 is on the 2nd wall portion 131 which allows the golfer rangefinder sitting in the golf cart to view the display when the laser rangefinder is mounted to an upright support post (Fig. 1B));
wherein the laser ranging device is configured to emit a laser to a measured object surface to measure a numerical value, the display screen is configured to display the numerical value measured by the laser ranging device, and the control button is configured to control on-off states and measurement of the laser ranging device (Nyhart; Fig. 3, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0046], the laser rangefinder 100 may include a laser source 116 (includes laser light emitting diode 120) and related optics for emitting a laser beam along a laser beam axis 188; [0011], a golf laser rangefinder 100 comprises a housing supporting a viewfinder, a push button laser actuator, and eyepiece, a display viewable through the eyepiece with information and data provided on the display, and one or more magnets on a lateral side of the housing. The information includes a measured distance readout and my include additional information such as “play as” distance, battery information, hole being played information, distance to front of green, and distance to back of green).
Nyhart does not teach,
wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and
wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell.
Nyhart further disclosed (in different embodiment) in Fig. 5D, [0034], [0045] showing different positioning of magnets on a laser rangefinder, with the magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing such that the magnetic attraction region 101 covers essentially or the entire side wall portion rather than a diagonal strip (Nyhart; [0045]).
However, Nyhart modified alone still not teach,
wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and
wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12 (including front surface and back surface), display 16, keypad 14 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26. Fig. 4, [0044], power source 20 (battery) provides power to the components of calculator 10, including display 16, circuit board 18, integral distance sensor 22, and laser 24. Clearly seen that the battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the back surface with a cover; Fig. 3, [0028], is a cut-away perspective view of the project calculator, including housing, keypad, display, the integrated distance sensor, the circuit board, the power source, the spirit levels, and the laser assembly. Clearly seen in between power source 20 and integral distance sensor 22 (equivalent to first part), an empty space on the back of the display 16 (equivalent to second part) is formed to place one or more circuit board 18. This space is equivalent to second part (formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell). Furthermore, in combine with Nyhart’s invention with magnet installed in any place in the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 4, Fig. 5A-5F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize using Fisher’s invention to separate different parts of the rangefinder such as battery installation groove, rangefinder and the magnet and battery has a cover on the second shell predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, the position of the magnet can be placed in any part of the outer surface of the second/back shell which can be seen in Nyhart’s invention of Fig. 5D and in combine with Fisher’s invention of separate different parts of the rangefinder, at least one of the magnet positioned in the center part is between battery installation groove and rangefinder. MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell and a battery cover predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
Regarding claim 14, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder as claimed in claim 11, wherein the laser ranging device is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0046], the rangefinder 100 may include a laser source 116 (laser light emitting diode 120) and related optics for emitting a laser beam along a laser beam axis 118. [0049], the laser rangefinder 100 also include printed wiring board 174 supporting the circuitry 122. In Fig. 3 clearly seen the laser ranging device with printed wiring board 174 is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen 137).
Regarding claim 15, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder as claimed in claim 14.
Nyhart does not teach,
the laser rangefinder further comprises:
a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; and
a battery cover, adapted to the battery installation groove.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12 (including front surface and back surface), display 16, keypad 14 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26. Fig. 4, [0044], power source 20 (battery) provides power to the components of calculator 10, including display 16, circuit board 18, integral distance sensor 22, and laser 24. Clearly seen that the battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the back surface with a cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell; wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; and a battery cover taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell and a battery cover predictably to change the battery when needed.
Regarding claim 16, Nyhart teaches the laser rangefinder as claimed in claim 11.
Nyhart does not teach,
further comprising:
a leveling device, configured to determine whether the laser rangefinder is in a horizontal state;
wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, and the first level instrument and the second level instrument are fixed inside the first shell.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12, display 16, keypad 12 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26 (equivalent to leveling device) mounted to housing 12. [0042], the levels 26 (function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22) may comprises two separate leveling devices oriented along orthogonal axes to provide feedback with respect to two distinct axes. Clearly seen that two levels 26 are included and fixed inside the first shell in Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell; a leveling device, configured to determine whether the laser rangefinder is in a horizontal state; wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, and the first level instrument and the second level instrument are fixed inside the first shell taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using one or more level 26 function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22. The levels 26 may comprises two separate leveling devices oriented along orthogonal axes to provide feedback with respect to two distinct axes and fixed on the surface of the device (Fisher; [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Nyhart teaches a laser rangefinder (Nyhart; Fig. 1C, [0043], golf laser rangefinder 100), comprising:
a first shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], housing wall portions 130 (1st shell), 131 (2nd shell));
a second shell, wherein the second shell is disposed below the first shell Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the housing defines a cavity 160 which is in between wall portion 130 and 131 and the laser rangefinder 100 is disposed inside the housing 102);
a display screen, disposed at a front end of the first shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], side wall portions 130 has a display 135 with the housing side wall portion 133 defining a display window 136 with display screen 137 framed therein and with control buttons 138 adjacent thereto);
a control button, disposed at the front end of the first shell and arranged with the display screen side by side (same as above);
a laser ranging device, disposed in the first accommodating cavity (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the housing defines a cavity 160 which is in between wall portion 130 and 131 and the laser rangefinder 100 is disposed inside the housing 102);
a magnet device, disposed on the second shell and configured to fix the laser rangefinder on a metal frame by magnetic suction (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the position of the set of magnets 139 is on the 2nd wall portion 131 which allows the golfer rangefinder sitting in the golf cart to view the display when the laser rangefinder is mounted to an upright support post (Fig. 1B)); and
Nyhart does not teach,
the second shell provided with a battery installation groove
a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen.
wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell.
Nyhart further disclosed (in different embodiment) in Fig. 5D, [0034], [0045] showing different positioning of magnets on a laser rangefinder, with the magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing such that the magnetic attraction region 101 covers essentially or the entire side wall portion rather than a diagonal strip (Nyhart; [0045]).
However, Nyhart modified alone still not teach,
the second shell provided with a battery installation groove
a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen.
wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12 (including front surface and back surface), display 16, keypad 14 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26. Fig. 4, [0044], power source 20 (battery) provides power to the components of calculator 10, including display 16, circuit board 18, integral distance sensor 22, and laser 24. Clearly seen that the battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the back surface with a cover; Fig. 3, [0028], is a cut-away perspective view of the project calculator, including housing, keypad, display, the integrated distance sensor, the circuit board, the power source, the spirit levels, and the laser assembly. Clearly seen in between power source 20 and integral distance sensor 22 (equivalent to first part), an empty space on the back of the display 16 (equivalent to second part) is formed to place one or more circuit board 18. This space is equivalent to second part (formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell). Furthermore, in combine with Nyhart’s invention with magnet installed in any place in the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 4, Fig. 5A-5F), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize using Fisher’s invention to separate different parts of the rangefinder such as battery installation groove, rangefinder and the magnet and battery has a cover on the second shell predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, the position of the magnet can be placed in any part of the outer surface of the second/back shell which can be seen in Nyhart’s invention of Fig. 5D and in combine with Fisher’s invention of separate different parts of the rangefinder, at least one of the magnet positioned in the center part is between battery installation groove and rangefinder. MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include the second shell provided with a battery installation groove; a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell taught by Fisher with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell and a battery cover predictably to change the battery when needed. Furthermore, MPEP §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts states that the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyhart, modified in view of Fisher, in view of DeCastro et al. (US 20200217955 A1, hereinafter “DeCastro”).
Regarding claim 8, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder with magnetic suction as claimed in claim 1.
Nyhart does not teach,
wherein a gap is arranged between the laser ranging device disposed in a rear side surface of the second accommodating cavity and a front end surface of the magnet device.
DeCastro disclosed in Fig. 9, [0066], illustrating the arrangement of components in the open interior 175 of the housing 112 of golf rangefinder 100. The circuit board 240 and battery 242 are sandwiched between the forward and rearward housing portions 142, 144 and may be positioned by structure 253 (equivalent to a battery installation groove) molded into the housing portions. Clearly seen there is a gap arranged between the surface of the magnet 180 and the battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a second accommodating cavity is formed among the battery installation groove, the laser ranging device and the second shell; the magnet device is disposed in the second accommodating cavity; and wherein in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the laser ranging device taught by Fisher, include wherein a gap is arranged between the laser ranging device disposed in a rear side surface of the second accommodating cavity and a front end surface of the magnet device taught by DeCastro with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having a gap in between the magnet device and the laser ranging device predictably to have more freedom when assembly the rangefinder with magnet on it.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyhart, modified in view of Fisher, in view of Cacciolo (US 20200111459 A1, hereinafter “Cacciolo”).
Regarding claim 13, Nyhart modified above teaches the laser rangefinder as claimed in claim 11, wherein the magnet device is fixed on the outer surface of the second shell (Nyhart; [0049], the laser rangefinder 100 also include printed wiring board 174 supporting the circuitry 122. In Fig. 3 clearly seen the laser ranging device with printed wiring board 174 is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen 137)
Nyhart does not teach,
the magnet device is fixed on the second shell by a double-sided adhesive.
Cacciolo disclosed in paragraph [0038], using a double-sided adhesive 18 to bond the magnet 11 with the device 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include magnetic attraction region constituting essentially the entire lateral side of the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart, include wherein an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; and wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the control button to the display screen, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell taught by Fisher, include the magnet device is fixed on the second shell by a double-sided adhesive taught by Cacciolo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using double-sided adhesive to bond the magnet with the device surface (Cacciolo; [0038]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nyhart, modified in view of Fisher, in view of Kubota.
Regarding claim 18, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder as recited in claim 17, wherein the magnet device is fixed to the second shell (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0044], the magnets can be distributed and placed, either interiorly or exteriorly on the housing , implies the magnet device is adhered on the side wall of the pocket 166/168)
Nyhart does not teach,
wherein the magnet device is fixed through adhesion.
Kubota disclosed in Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0013], each of the magnets be screwed into the rear surface of the device main body; Fig. 8, Fig. 9, [0065]-[0066], disclosed detail of the magnet 191 (with a disc-shaped magnet main body 193 and yoke 195 with a male screw 197) to attach to the device main body (including a female screw 201 of the seating surface 183a) using screw connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include the second shell provided with a battery installation groove; a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell taught by Fisher, include using screw to fix the magnet on the device taught by Kubota with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using the screw to fix the magnet on the surface of the housing (Kubota; [0013], [0065]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 19, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder as recited in claim 18, wherein the laser ranging device is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen (Nyhart; Fig. 3, [0046], the rangefinder 100 may include a laser source 116 (laser light emitting diode 120) and related optics for emitting a laser beam along a laser beam axis 118. [0049], the laser rangefinder 100 also include printed wiring board 174 supporting the circuitry 122. In Fig. 3 clearly seen the laser ranging device with printed wiring board 174 is fixedly connected to a rear side of the display screen 137).
Nyhart does not teach,
the battery installation groove is recessed along an internal direction of the second shell.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12 (including front surface and back surface), display 16, keypad 14 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26. Fig. 4, [0044], power source 20 (battery) provides power to the components of calculator 10, including display 16, circuit board 18, integral distance sensor 22, and laser 24. Clearly seen that the battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the back surface with a cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include the second shell provided with a battery installation groove; a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell; the battery installation groove is recessed along an internal direction of the second shell taught by Fisher, include using screw to fix the magnet on the device taught by Kubota with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is having an outer surface of the second shell is provided with a battery installation groove recessed along an internal direction of the second shell and a battery cover predictably to change the battery when needed.
Regarding claim 20, Nyhart as modified above teaches the laser rangefinder as recited in claim 19.
Nyhart does not teach, further comprising:
a leveling device, configured to determine whether the laser rangefinder is in a horizontal state;
wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, and the first level instrument and the second level instrument are fixed inside the first shell.
Fisher disclosed in Fig. 1, [0031], calculator 10 includes a housing 12, display 16, keypad 12 (equivalent to control button), an integral distance sensor 22, a laser 24 and one or more spirit levels 26 (equivalent to leveling device) mounted to housing 12. [0042], the levels 26 (function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22) may comprises two separate leveling devices oriented along orthogonal axes to provide feedback with respect to two distinct axes. Clearly seen that two levels 26 are included and fixed inside the first shell in Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the laser rangefinder taught by Nyhart to include the second shell provided with a battery installation groove; a battery, disposed in the battery installation groove and configured to supply power to the laser ranging device and the display screen; wherein the laser ranging device comprises a first part and a second part, in a direction from the second part to the first part, the magnet device is disposed between the battery installation groove and the first part; and in a direction from the first shell to the second shell, a gap is defined between the second part and the magnet device, and the magnet device is disposed between the second part and the second shell; the battery installation groove is recessed along an internal direction of the second shell; a leveling device, configured to determine whether the laser rangefinder is in a horizontal state; wherein the leveling device comprises a first level instrument and a second level instrument, and the first level instrument and the second level instrument are fixed inside the first shell taught by Fisher, include using screw to fix the magnet on the device taught by Kubota with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using one or more level 26 function to ensure that the housing 12 of calculator 10 is level during measurement operations, thus increasing the accuracy and precision of any measurements taken by distance sensor 22. The levels 26 may comprises two separate leveling devices oriented along orthogonal axes to provide feedback with respect to two distinct axes and fixed on the surface of the device (Fisher; [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang (CN 114132500 A) disclosed in Fig. 9, Fig. 10, second fixed magnetic strip 413 is located in between laser range finder 407 and second battery 416.
Wang (CN 207902762) disclosed in Fig. 3, Fig. 5-Fig. 7, the battery is mounted with unmanned aerial vehicle through permanent magnet 3 which means the magnet is placed in between the rangefinder (unmanned aerial vehicle) and battery.
Zhang et al. (CN 208327010 U) disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 2, a laser rangefinder (15, 16, 17) is positioned on the upper part of the measuring instrument 23; the battery mounting groove 18 for installing and fixing the battery; Both are fixing on the machine seat 9. A piece of permanent magnet is fixed in the interlayer of the machine seat 9, the effect of the magnet is the whole measuring instrument 23 capable of adsorbing car inner wall 22 plays a role in connecting the fixing function. By MEPE §2144.04 VI C: Rearrangement of Parts, the piece of permanent magnet can be placed in between the battery mounting groove and the laser rangefinder.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645