Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amemiya et al. (9,553,461), hereafter called AMEMIYA.
Regarding claim 1, AMEMIYA (Fig. 2) discloses a switch control circuit comprising: receiving, by a regulating circuit (35), a battery feedback parameter via terminal (Va); producing, by an operational transconductance amplifier (62/Gm), a first output current at an output terminal based on the battery feedback parameter (Va) and a battery current regulation voltage (61); and producing, by a current source (73), a second current at the output terminal based on the battery feedback parameter and a reference voltage (70).
Regarding claim 6, wherein producing the second current comprises closing a switch (72) coupling the current source (73) to the output terminal of transconductance amplifier (62/Gm).
Regarding claim 8, AMEMIYA (Fig. 2) discloses a switch control circuit comprising: an operational transconductance amplifier (62/Gm) having a first operational transconductance amplifier input (Va/inverting terminal), a second operational transconductance amplifier input (V1/non-inverting terminal), and an operational transconductance amplifier output; a switch (72) having a first switch terminal, a second switch terminal, and a switch control terminal, the second switch terminal coupled to the operational transconductance amplifier output; and a comparator (71) having a first comparator input (-), a second comparator input (+), and a comparator output, the comparator output coupled to the switch control terminal of switch (72).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the first comparator input (-) is coupled to the first operational transconductance amplifier input (-/Va) and the second comparator input (+) is coupled to a voltage source (70/V2).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (10,348,101).
Regarding claim 1, Li (Fig. 2B) discloses a battery management module (200’) comprising: receiving at non-inverting terminal (+) of OTA (214B), by a regulating circuit (200’), a battery feedback parameter (202); producing, by an operational transconductance amplifier (214B), a first output current at an output terminal based on the battery feedback parameter (202) and a battery current regulation voltage (228); and producing, by a current source (206), a second current at the output terminal based on the battery feedback parameter and a reference voltage, see comparator (214A) having non-inverting terminal (+) coupled to the battery feedback parameter and inverting terminal coupled to reference voltage (226), wherein output of comparator is fed into logic control, which controls ON/OFF of switch (SW2).
Regarding claim 2, wherein the battery feedback parameter is a sensed battery current, see RSEN, which coupled to non-inverting terminal (+) of transconductance amplifier (214B).
Regarding claim 3, wherein producing the second current at the output terminal is further performed based on comparing (214A) the sensed battery current (non-inverting terminal (+) of comparator (214A) coupled to RSEN and a voltage reference (226).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the battery feedback parameter (202) is a sensed battery voltage (VSEN).
Regarding claim 5, wherein producing the second current at the output terminal o transconductance amplifier (214B) is further performed based on comparing the sensed battery voltage (voltage to non-inverting terminal of OTA (214B)) to a voltage of a voltage source (226).
Regarding claim 6, wherein producing the second current comprises closing a switch (SW2) coupling the current source (206) to the output terminal of transconductance amplifier (214B).
Regarding claim 8, Li (Fig. 2B) a battery management module (200’) comprising: an operational transconductance amplifier (214B) having a first operational transconductance amplifier input (+), a second operational transconductance amplifier input (-), and an operational transconductance amplifier output; a switch (SW2) having a first switch terminal, a second switch terminal, and a switch control terminal, the second switch terminal coupled to the operational transconductance amplifier output; and a comparator (214A) having a first comparator input (+), a second comparator input (-), and a comparator output, the comparator output (Scoc) coupled to the switch control terminal of switch (SW2) via control logic (212).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the first comparator input (+) is coupled to the first operational transconductance amplifier input (+) and the second comparator input (-) is coupled to a voltage source (226).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, prior art(s) does not disclose producing the second current at the output terminal is further performed based on a voltage at the output terminal.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, prior art(s) does not disclose the circuit further comprising: a logic gate having a first logic input, a second logic input, and a logic output, the logic output coupled to the switch control terminal and the first logic input coupled to the first comparator output; and a second comparator having a third comparator input, a fourth comparator input, and a second comparator output, the second comparator output coupled to the second logic input.
Regarding claim 12, prior art(s) does not disclose the first comparator input is coupled to the operational transconductance amplifier output and the second comparator input is coupled to a transistor stack.
Regarding claim 13, prior art(s) does not disclose the circuit further comprising: a resistor coupled between the operational transconductance amplifier output and the second switch terminal; and a capacitor coupled between the second switch terminal and a ground terminal.
Regarding claim 14, prior art(s) does not disclose the circuit further comprising a second operational transconductance amplifier having a third operational transconductance amplifier input, a fourth operational transconductance amplifier input, and a second operational transconductance amplifier output, the third operational transconductance amplifier input coupled to a sensed battery voltage, the fourth operational transconductance amplifier input coupled to a voltage source, and the second operational transconductance amplifier output coupled to the first operational transconductance amplifier output.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 15-20, among other subject matters claimed, prior art(s) does not disclose a control circuit (330 having a control input and a control output, the control input coupled to the operational transconductance amplifier output and to the second switch terminal; and a power transistor coupled to the control output, the power transistor adapted to be coupled to the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional reference(s) cited in PTO-892 show further analogous prior art circuitry.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843