Terminal Disclaimer
The Terminal Disclaimer (TD) filed on 5/13/2026 is improper and has not been approved. See the “Terminal Disclaimer review decision” dated 5/19/2026. Specifically, the TD is unreadable in the top section, such that the application/patent being disclaimed has not been properly identified (among other items).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 5/13/2026 regarding the claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 regarding the double patenting (DP) rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As described above, the TD filed was rejected. The DP rejections are still considered proper.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 regarding the 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicatn first argues that the elements 48 of Scheiner are not “stimulator units.” However, the claim defines a stimulator unit as comprising electrical components, a receiving antenna and at least one conductor. As long as the prior art teaches those three elements, then the prior art teaches a “stimulator unit” as defined by the claim. Figure 31 of Scheiner clearly labels “electronics” and shows a receiving antenna, as admitted by the applicant, as well as anodes and cathodes connected to the electronics via an electrical conductor (wire). Therefore Scheiner discloses a stimulator unit as recited in claim 1.
Applicant argues that the electronics are not encapsulated in a hermetically sealed enclosure. However, this must be true. The stimulator units 48 are shown as implanted in the body of the patient. If the electronics were not encapsulated in a hermetically sealed enclosure then the electronics would short circuit in the body and/or be destroyed by the environment over time. See MPEP 2112 which shows how features may be inherent/implicit based on the overall teachings of a reference.
All rejections are still considered proper.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-24 of copending Application No. 18/245,445 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-11, 17, 18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheiner (US 2017/0087360).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 17, 18 and 24, Scheiner discloses a device for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle 90 near a hypoglossal nerve as see in figures 2, 22 and 31 (See abstract). A flexible body 43 has a first arm and a second arm. Each arm includes a leadless stimulator unit 48a/48b attached to the arm (see figure 2). Each stimulator unit includes a receiving antenna (“wire coils”) and a plurality of electric components on a second surface (“electronics”) encapsulated in a hermetically sealed enclosure and conductors (“electrodes” and/or wires) in electrical connection with the electric components via an electric circuit (see figure 31, par. 0064). The units are configured for bilateral stimulation (par. 0063).
Regarding claim 8, the receiving antenna is configured to receive power/stimulation signals from transmitting antenna 32 that are located outside the body (par. 0046).
Regarding claim 23, once can draw a circle (i.e., “inner circular area”) around the enclosure and conductor of the main body of the stimulation unit.
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 22, figure 31 shows the antenna having a coiled shape confined to an annular area of a “main body” of the stimulation unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner in view of Masiach et al. (US 2018/0280694, hereinafter Masiach).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Scheiner, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention, including a device with two arms for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle near a hypoglossal nerve, but is silent as to the device including silicone and arms including suture holes. Mashiach also discloses a device with two arms for implantation proximal a genioglossus muscle near a hypoglossal nerve as seen in figures 10-13, and thus is analogous art with Scheiner. The device includes a flexible body 161/1061 made of silicone (par. 0059, 0110). The flexible body contains arms 162a and 162b and each arm comprises suture holes 160 (par. 0103). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s invention to modify Scheiner so the device includes silicone and the arms include suture holes as taught by Masiach in order to maintain the device in the desired location and prevent drifting of the device, while also ensuring the device is made of a material that is biocompatible.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-16 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796