Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 16, 2026, under 37 CFR 1.312 has been entered. All objections raised by the examiner to the applicant’s specification in the previous office action have been addressed. Therefore, all objections to the specification are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the remarks on claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, the applicant makes the following two arguments. First, the applicant argues that the new limitation, “wherein a portion of a backside surface of the gate contact that partially overlaps the plurality of nanosheets is smaller than a portion of the backside surface of the gate contact that sits between the plurality of nanosheets”, that has been added to the amended claims 1, 8, and 15, is not taught by Mannebach et. al., Pub. No. US 2020/0219970, hereafter referred to as Mannebach, which is the reference cited by the examiner as anticipating the original claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Second, the applicant argues that Mannebach fails to disclose the limitation, “a gate contact located at an edge of a cell boundary between two nanodevices of the plurality of nanodevices”, which is recited in the original claims 1, 8, and 15, because the gate contact 380C in Fig. 3D of Mannebach is mostly disposed over the nanosheets 360A-C.
In response to the first argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees that Mannebach fails to teach the new limitations added to claims 1, 8, and 15. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the new limitation, “wherein a portion of a backside surface of the gate contact that partially overlaps the plurality of nanosheets is smaller than a portion of the backside surface of the gate contact that sits between the plurality of nanosheets”, which is “the area of the backside surface of the gate contact that overlaps the nanosheets is less than the area of the backside surface of the gate contact that does not overlap the nanosheets” (see MPEP 2111: “During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard…”), Fig. 3D of Mannebach depicts this claim limitation, as the portions of the gate contact 380C that overlap the nanosheets 350A-C and 360A-C is smaller than that of the portions that overlap the dielectric pillar and the gate electrodes.
In response to the second argument, all claim limitations are given their broadest reasonable interpretation, as noted above (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation in question, “a gate contact located at an edge of a cell boundary between two nanodevices of the plurality of nanodevices”, is that some portion of the gate contact must overlap the boundary between the nanodevices, which is disclosed in Mannebach. In addition, while understanding of the claim language may be gleaned from the specification, claim limitations cannot be imported from the specification (see MPEP 2111.01 II: “"Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment." Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).”). The applicant’s argument that Mannebach fails to teach the limitation in question is based on importing a limitation from the specification into the claim, namely that the gate electrode must be disposed mostly in the region between the nanodevices, that was not recited in the original, unamended, claims.
In light of the above arguments, the examiner maintains that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of the original claims 1-3 as being anticipated by Mannebach were proper. However, in light of the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, and 15, the original rejections are rendered moot, and have necessitated the new grounds of rejection detailed below.
Regarding the remarks on claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the applicant makes the following two arguments. First, the applicant argues that the combinations of Mannebach and Song et. al., Pub. No. US 2023/0343782, hereafter referred to as Song, as applied to claims 4-5, 8-13, and 15-18, and that of Mannebach, Song, and Guler et. al., Pub. No. US 2024/0321872, hereafter referred to as Guler, as applied to claims 6-7, are improper and that said combinations do not teach what the examiner argues that they teach. Second, the applicant argues that neither of these references correct the alleged deficiencies in Mannebach in teaching all of the limitations of the independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
Regarding the first argument, if the applicant alleges any errors in the examiner’s action, then the applicant must specifically point out said errors (see 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b): “The reply by the applicant or patent owner must be reduced to a writing which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action.”). However, the applicant has not pointed out any specific errors in the rejections.
Regarding the second argument, as shown above, Mannebach in fact does teach all of the limitations of the original claim 1, again given their broadest reasonable interpretation, and in fact also teaches all of the limitations of the amended version of this claim as well. In addition, Mannebach teaches most of the limitations of both the original and amended claims 8 and 15, with the exception of “and a frontside signal line located at the cell boundary between the two nanodevices”, which is found in Song (Song Figs.1B and 1D, front side power distribution network FS-PDN).
In light of the above arguments, the examiner maintains that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the original claims 4-5, 8-13, and 15-18 as unpatentable over Mannebach in view of Song, as well as those of the original claims 6-7 as being unpatentable over Mannebach and Song in further view of Guler, were proper. However, in light of the applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8, and 15, the original rejections are rendered moot, and have necessitated the new grounds of rejection detailed below.
Fig. 3A of Mannebach, inverted and with annotations and axes added by the examiner.
Fig. 3D of Mannebach, inverted and with axes added by the examiner. Dashed lines are also added as a guide to the eye to illustrate that the area covered by the gate contact overlapping the nanosheets is smaller than the area that does not overlap them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mannebach.
Regarding claim 1, Mannebach teaches all of the limitations of the claim in Figs. 3A and 3D, reproduced above inverted to align with applicant’s Figs. 50-52 and with annotations and axes added by the examiner: “A semiconductor device” ([0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, vertical arrangement of active nanoribbons 300, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374), “comprising: a plurality of nanodevices” ([0055]; device locations 330A-C) “including a plurality of transistors” ([0061]; Figs. 3A and 3D, device locations 308B-C, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374) “and a plurality of nanosheets” (Figs. 3A and 3D, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C), “wherein the plurality of nanodevices are located adjacent to and parallel to each other along an x-axis” ([0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, device locations 330A-C, x-axis direction not labeled in the source, but corresponds to the direction out of the page); “a gate contact located at an edge of a cell boundary between two nanodevices of the plurality of nanodevices” ([0070]; Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C, device locations 330B and 330C), “wherein a portion of a backside surface of the gate contact that partially overlaps the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits directly above the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C) “is smaller than a portion of the backside surface of the gate contact that sits between the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits above the dielectric cap 320D and the portions of the gate electrodes 372 and 374 that do not lie above or below the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C; note that this area of the gate contact 380C is larger than that which sits above the nanoribbons), “wherein the gate contact includes a recessed portion” (Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C), “and a backside gate cut dielectric pillar” ([0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, fill dielectric layer 320C, dielectric cap 320D, hereafter collectively referred to as pillar 320C-D) “extending downwards through the recessed portion to be in direct contact with the gate contact” (Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D, gate contact 380C). Mannebach does not designate any specific directions as the x-, y-, or z-axes; for the purposes of examination, the axes added by the examiner are used, which correspond to those used in the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, Mannebach further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate contact has substantially an L-shaped profile through a cross section of a gate region” (Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C).
Regarding claim 3, Mannebach further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the backside gate cut dielectric pillar is in direct contact with a horizontal section of the L-shaped profile of the gate contact” (Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D, gate contact 380C).
Fig. 1B of Song, reproduced inverted and with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 1D of Song, reproduced above with annotations added by the examiner.
Fig. 4J of Mannebach, reproduced with annotation added by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 8-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannebach in view of Song.
Regarding claim 4, Mannebach teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 3”, but does not teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar that is in direct contact with the gate contact has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width”.
Song, on the other hand, does teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar… has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width” (Song Fig. 1D, reproduced above inverted with annotations added by the examiner, gate cut structure CT; also see [0054]: “The horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may decrease away from the substrate insulating layer 660” (i.e., the backside), “and the horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may increase away from the interlayer insulating layer 170” (i.e., the frontside).).
The wedge shape of the gate cut structure in Song can be incorporated as the shape of the pillar structure of Mannebach. The combined device of Mannebach and Song just described teaches a backside gate cut dielectric pillar (of Song) “that is in direct contact with the gate contact” (of Mannebach).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the wedge-shaped pillar of Song for the pillar of Mannebach because both can serve the purpose of electrically isolating the two adjacent nanodevices and it is a simple substitution of one pillar shape for another with a foreseeable result.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 4 further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the gate contact is in direct contact with a sidewall of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D, gate contact 380C).
Regarding claim 8, Mannebach teaches “A semiconductor device” (Mannebach [0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, vertical arrangement of active nanoribbons 300, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374), “comprising: a plurality of nanodevices” (Mannebach [0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, device locations 330A-C) “including a plurality of transistors” (Mannebach [0061]; Figs. 3A and 3D, device locations 308B-C, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374) “and a plurality of nanosheets” (Figs. 3A and 3D, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C), “wherein the plurality of nanodevices are located adjacent to and parallel to each other along an x-axis” (Mannebach [0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, device locations 330A-C, x-axis direction not labeled in the source, but corresponds to the direction out of the page); “a gate contact located at an edge of a cell boundary between two nanodevices of the plurality of nanodevices” (Mannebach [0070]; Figs. 3A and 3D, gate contact 380C, device locations 330B and 330C), “wherein a portion of a backside surface of the gate contact that partially overlaps the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits directly above the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C) “is smaller than a portion of the backside surface of the gate contact that sits between the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits above the dielectric cap 320D and the portions of the gate electrodes 372 and 374 that do not lie above or below the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C; note that this area of the gate contact 380C is larger than that which sits above the nanoribbons), “wherein the gate contact includes a recessed portion” (Mannebach Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C), “and a backside gate cut dielectric pillar” (Mannebach [0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, fill dielectric layer 320C, dielectric cap 320D, hereafter collectively referred to as pillar 320C-D) “extending downwards through the recessed portion to be in direct contact with the gate contact” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D, gate contact 380C), but does not teach “a frontside signal line located at the cell boundary between the two nanodevices”. Mannebach does not designate any specific directions as the x-, y-, or z-axes; for the purposes of examination, the axes added by the examiner are used, which correspond to those used in the instant application.
Song, on the other hand, does teach “a frontside signal line located at the cell boundary between the two nanodevices” (Song [0047]; Figs. 1B, reproduced above inverted and with annotations added by the examiner, and 1D, upper wiring structure FS-PDN).
The frontside signal lines of Song can be incorporated into the device of Mannebach as a similar frontside signal line structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the wiring structure of Song in Mannebach, as it provides a means for providing the voltages on the gate contacts.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 8 further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the frontside signal line includes a via connected to a frontside of the gate contact” (Song [0045] and [0051]; Fig. 1B, contact plug 220, gate electrode 150).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 8 teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 9”, but does not teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar that is in direct contact with the gate contact has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width”.
Song, on the other hand, does teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar… has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width” (Song Fig. 1D, gate cut structure CT; also see [0054]: “The horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may decrease away from the substrate insulating layer 660” (i.e., the backside), “and the horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may increase away from the interlayer insulating layer 170” (i.e., the frontside).).
The wedge shape of the gate cut structure in Song can be incorporated as the shape of the pillar structure of the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 8. The combined device of Mannebach and Song just described teaches a backside gate cut dielectric pillar (of Song) “that is in direct contact with the gate contact” (of Mannebach).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the wedge-shaped pillar of Song for the pillar of the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 8 because both can serve the purpose of electrically isolating the two adjacent nanodevices and it is a simple substitution of one pillar shape for another with a foreseeable result.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 10 further teaches “wherein the backside gate cut dielectric pillar progressively narrows from the backside surface to the frontside surface” (Song [0054]; Fig. 1D, gate cut structure CT).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 10 further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 11”, but does not teach “further comprising: a backside power distribution network (BSPDN) in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”. However, it does teach a conductive via (Mannebach [0070]; Fig. 3D, conductive via 396) in direct contact with a backside of the dielectric pillar (Mannebach, Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D).
Song, on the other hand, does teach “further comprising: a backside power distribution network (BSPDN)” (Song [0018]; Figs. 1B and 1D, lower wiring structure BS-PDN), but not “in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”.
The wiring structure BS-PDN of Song can be incorporated into the device of Mannebach with one of the vias of Song (Song [0048]; Fig. 1B, vias 654) taking the role of the conductive via of Mannebach (Mannebach [0070]; Fig. 3D, conductive via 396) in contact with the dielectric pillar (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D). The combined device of Mannebach and Song just described teaches the limitation, “a backside power distribution network (BSPDN) in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce the lower wiring structure of Song into the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 10 because such a wiring structure provides a means for providing voltages to the gate electrodes and the source/drains.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 12 further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 12, further comprising: a plurality of dielectric spacers in direct contact with a frontside of the BSPDN” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, liner dielectric layer 320B and etch stop layer 398), “wherein two dielectric spacers of the plurality of dielectric spacers are in direct contact with sidewalls of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, liner dielectric layer 320B, etch stop layer 398, and pillar 320C-D).
Regarding claim 15, Mannebach teaches “A semiconductor device” (Mannebach [0055]; Fig. 3A, vertical arrangement of active nanoribbons 300, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374), “comprising: a plurality of nanodevices” (Mannebach [0055]; device locations 330A-C) “including a plurality of transistors” (Mannebach [0061]; Fig. 3A, device locations 308B-C, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C, gate dielectric 370, gate electrodes 372 and 374) “and a plurality of nanosheets” (Figs. 3A and 3D, nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C), “wherein the plurality of nanodevices include a plurality of source/drains” (Mannebach [0081]; Fig. 4J, reproduced above with annotation added by the examiner, source/drains 422), “wherein the plurality of nanodevices are located adjacent to and parallel to each other along an x-axis” (Mannebach [0055]; device locations 330A-C, x-axis direction not labeled in the source, but corresponds to the direction out of the page); “a gate contact located at an edge of a cell boundary between two nanodevices of the plurality of nanodevices” (Mannebach [0070]; Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C, device locations 330B and 330C), “wherein a portion of a backside surface of the gate contact that partially overlaps the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits directly above the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C) “is smaller than a portion of the backside surface of the gate contact that sits between the plurality of nanosheets” (Fig. 3D, portion of gate contact 380C that sits above the dielectric cap 320D and the portions of the gate electrodes 372 and 374 that do not lie above or below the nanoribbons 350A-C and 360A-C; note that this area of the gate contact 380C is larger than that which sits above the nanoribbons), “wherein the gate contact includes a recessed portion” (Mannebach Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C), “and a backside gate cut dielectric pillar” (Mannebach [0055]; Figs. 3A and 3D, fill dielectric layer 320C, dielectric cap 320D, hereafter collectively referred to as pillar 320C-D) “extending downwards through the recessed portion to be in direct contact with the gate contact” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D, gate contact 380C), but does not teach “a frontside signal line located at the cell boundary between the two nanodevices”. Mannebach does not designate any specific directions as the x-, y-, or z-axes; for the purposes of examination, the axes added by the examiner are used, which correspond to those used in the instant application.
Song, on the other hand, does teach “a frontside signal line located at the cell boundary between the two nanodevices” (Song [0047]; Figs. 1B and 1D, upper wiring structure FS-PDN).
The frontside signal lines of Song can be incorporated into the device of Mannebach as a similar frontside signal line structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the wiring structure of Song in Mannebach, as it provides a means for providing the voltages on the gate contacts.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 15 teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 15”, but does not teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar that is in direct contact with the gate contact has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width”. However, it does teach a gate contact (Mannebach Fig. 3D, gate contact 380C) in direct contact with a frontside surface of the gate cut dielectric pillar (Mannebach, Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D).
Song, on the other hand, does teach “wherein a frontside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar… has a first width along a y-axis, wherein a backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends a second width along the y-axis, and wherein the second width is greater than the first width” (Song Fig. 1D, gate cut structure CT; also see [0054]: “The horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may decrease away from the substrate insulating layer 660” (i.e., the backside), “and the horizontal width of the gate cut structure CT may increase away from the interlayer insulating layer 170” (i.e., the frontside).).
The wedge shape of the gate cut structure in Song can be incorporated as the shape of the pillar structure of the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 15. The combined device of Mannebach and Song just described teaches a backside gate cut dielectric pillar (of Song) “that is in direct contact with the gate contact” (of Mannebach).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the wedge-shaped pillar of Song for the pillar of the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 15 because both can serve the purpose of electrically isolating the two adjacent nanodevices and it is a simple substitution of one pillar shape for another with a foreseeable result.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 16 further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 16, wherein the backside gate cut dielectric pillar extends downwards between the plurality of source/drains” (Mannebach, Figs. 3D, pillar 320C-D, and 4J, source/drains 422).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 16 teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 17”, but does not teach “further comprising: a backside power distribution network (BSPDN) in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar; and a plurality of dielectric spacers in direct contact with a frontside of the BSPDN, wherein two dielectric spacers of the plurality of dielectric spacers are in direct contact with sidewalls of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”. However, it does teach a conductive via (Mannebach [0070]; Fig. 3D, conductive via 396) in direct contact with a backside of the dielectric pillar (Mannebach, Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D).
Song, on the other hand, does teach “further comprising: a backside power distribution network (BSPDN)” (Song [0018]; Figs. 1B and 1D, lower wiring structure BS-PDN), but not “in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar; and a plurality of dielectric spacers in direct contact with a frontside of the BSPDN, wherein two dielectric spacers of the plurality of dielectric spacers are in direct contact with sidewalls of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”.
The wiring structure BS-PDN of Song can be incorporated into the device of Mannebach with one of the vias of Song (Song [0048]; Fig. 1B, vias 654) taking the role of the conductive via of Mannebach (Mannebach [0070]; Fig. 3D, conductive via 396) in contact with the dielectric pillar (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, pillar 320C-D). The combined device of Mannebach and Song just described teaches “(a BSPDN) in direct contact with the backside surface of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar”, “a plurality of dielectric spacers in direct contact with a frontside of the BSPDN” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, liner dielectric layer 320B and etch stop layer 398), and “wherein two dielectric spacers of the plurality of dielectric spacers are in direct contact with sidewalls of the backside gate cut dielectric pillar” (Mannebach Figs. 3A and 3D, liner dielectric layer 320B, etch stop layer 398, and pillar 320C-D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to introduce the lower wiring structure of Song into the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 16 because such a wiring structure provides a means for providing voltages to the gate electrodes and the source/drains.
Fig. 1A of Guler, reproduced with annotation added by the examiner.
Mockup of the combination of Mannebach, Song, and Guler described in the discussion of claim 6, prepared by the examiner and based on Fig. 3D of Mannebach.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mannebach and Song, in further view of Guler.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 4 teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 5”, but does not teach that “the plurality of nanodevices include at least a first nanodevice, a second nanodevice, a third nanodevice, and a fourth nanodevice, and wherein the gate contact is located between the second nanodevice and the third nanodevice”.
Guler, on the other hand, teaches “the plurality of nanodevices include at least a first nanodevice, a second nanodevice, a third nanodevice, and a fourth nanodevice” (Guler [0032-0038]; Fig. 1A, reproduced above with annotation added by the examiner, semiconductor devices 102a-d, nanoribbons 106, gate structures 112a-d).
The four nanodevices of Guler may be incorporated as a fourth nanodevice in the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 4 positioned to the right of device location 330C in Fig. 3D of Mannebach (left in the inverted reproduction above) with the thinner barrier shown between device locations 330A and 330B in Fig. 3D of Mannebach (see mockup of this arrangement prepared by the examiner, based on Fig. 3D of Mannebach, above). The combined device of Mannebach, Song, and Guler just described teaches “the gate contact is located between the second nanodevice and the third nanodevice” (Mannebach Fig. 3D, device locations 330B and 330C, gate contact 380C).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to add a fourth nanodevice to the combination of Mannebach and Song described in the discussion of claim 4 because it would provide additional transistors in a complex electronic device employing the apparatus formed from said combination of Mannebach and Song and is a simple combination of elements of the apparatus of said combination of Mannebach and Song and the apparatus of Guler.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mannebach, Song, and Guler further teaches “The semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the gate contact partially overlaps the third nanodevice” (Mannebach Fig. 3D, device location 330C, gate contact 380C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claim limitations of:
Claim 14, which teaches the limitation, “wherein the plurality of dielectric spacers are comprised of a different dielectric material than the plurality of dielectric fills and the backside gate cut dielectric pillar.”
Claim 19, which teaches the limitation, “wherein the BILD layer and the plurality of dielectric spacers are comprised of a different dielectric material.”
Claim 20 depends on claim 19, and thus also contains the same allowable limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.E.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818