DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-5, 9-11, 14-21 and 24-25 are pending. Claims 6-8, 12-13 and 22-23 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 10, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16, 20-21 and 24-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/030946 (as cited in the IDS dated 09/12/2023) in view of Babu et al, US 2019/0254094 and further in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO 2021/030946 (as cited in the IDS dated 09/12/2023) in view of Babu et al, US 2019/0254094 in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 and further in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 hereafter Talebi Fard and further in view of Gupta et al, US 2022/0182963.
4. Regarding claim 1, on page 8, the applicant argues that the cited prior art references fail to disclose "requiring the UE to use the 5G- GUTI provided in the second message".
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., requiring the UE to use the 5G- GUTI provided in the second message) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
5. Regarding claim 1, on page 8, the applicant argues that '0946 is silent on that the initial AMF generates a 5G- GUTI that is based on, and indicative of a different, target AMF. In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
The argued limitation is taught based on a combination of the references using 35 U.S.C. 103. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
6. Regarding claim 1, on page 9, the applicant argues that Babu never teaches that the new GUTI is based on and indicative of a different, target AMF, as required by amended claim 1. In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
Claim 1 recites the “initial core network element and “target core network element”. Claim 1 does not disclose that either correspond to AMF. Dependent claims 20 and 21 disclose “comprises an AMF”. The rejection relies on the primary reference WO 2021/030946 to teach claims 20 and 21. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
7. Regarding claim 1, on page 8, the applicant argues that Babu's re-registration is not "using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message," nor is it "using a 5G-GUTI indicative of the target core network element. In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
The argued limitation is taught based on a combination of the references using 35 U.S.C. 103. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
8. Regarding claim 1, on page 9, the applicant argues Babu never teaches that the new GUTI is based on and indicative of a different, target AMF. In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
Claim 1 recites a single “target core network element” and not recite a “second target core network element”, “new target core network element”, a “different “target core network element”, or any other variation of an additional “target core network element”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “second target core network element”, “new target core network element”, or a “different “target core network element”,) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
9. Regarding claim 1, on page 10, the applicant argues Talebi Fard fails to disclose various features (i.e., security reallocation flow, requiring the UE to use the newly provide 5g-GUTI, secure re-allocation with SUPI exposure, same network reuse presumptions, an initial AMF pre-allocates a GUTI indicative of a different target AMF) which are not disclosed in claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., security reallocation flow, requiring the UE to use the newly provide 5g-GUTI, secure re-allocation with SUPI exposure, same network reuse presumptions, an initial AMF pre-allocates a GUTI indicative of a different target AMF) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Talebi Fard discloses a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message (Talebi Fard, [0320]-[0321], if the second access is located in the same network, the UE may use for the registration to the network associated with the new/subsequent access the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration or UE configuration update procedure for the first access in the same network. The Examiner interprets using the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration to correspond to the procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message).
10. Regarding claim 1, on page 10, the applicant argues “The Office Action cites motivations such as "fewer periodic registration attempts" (Babu [[[0090]) and "improved speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency" (Talebi Fard 9[9[[0200], [0233]). These generic statements do not provide the required reasoned explanation under KSR and MPEP §§ 2141-2143 for modifying the prior art to:
1. have an initial AMF generate a 5G-GUTI indicative of a different, target AMF; and
2. expressly require the UE to use that newly provided GUTI in a subsequent re-registration to the target AMF.”
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response. In response to the Applicant’s argument, the Examiner relies on and refers to excerpted sections of the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP), section 2144, “Supporting a Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103” [R-01.2024].
I. RATIONALE MAY BE IN A REFERENCE, OR REASONED FROM COMMON KNOWLEDGE IN THE ART, SCIENTIFIC PRINCIPLES, ART-RECOGNIZED EQUIVALENTS, OR LEGAL PRECEDENT
The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning).
II. THE EXPECTATION OF SOME ADVANTAGE IS THE STRONGEST RATIONALE FOR COMBINING REFERENCES
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). See also Dystar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick, 464 F.3d 1356, 1368, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1651 (Fed. Cir. 2006) ("Indeed, we have repeatedly held that an implicit motivation to combine exists not only when a suggestion may be gleaned from the prior art as a whole, but when the ‘improvement’ is technology-independent and the combination of references results in a product or process that is more desirable, for example because it is stronger, cheaper, cleaner, faster, lighter, smaller, more durable, or more efficient. Because the desire to enhance commercial opportunities by improving a product or process is universal—and even common-sensical—we have held that there exists in these situations a motivation to combine prior art references even absent any hint of suggestion in the references themselves.")….
IV. RATIONALE DIFFERENT FROM APPLICANT’S IS PERMISSIBLE
The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).
11. Regarding claim 1, on page 11, the applicant argues Babu affirmatively teaches invalidating the current GUTI and turning to SUPI for subsequent registration (919[[0238]-[0239]), which teaches away from using a GUTI in a subsequent registration to reach a different target AMF. In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's response.
Babu [0238] discloses a specific scenario dependent on causal relationship.
“[0238]..If the Configuration Update Indication requires a re-registration procedure, an Allowed NSSAI and an indication that the current 5G-GUTI is invalid may be included in the UE Configuration Update Command message,…” Babu [0238]-[0239] discloses the procedure when the current 5G-GUTI is invalid. Babu [0235], [0237] discloses the re-registration procedure when the 5G-GUTI is valid which skips the steps related to the am invalid 5G-GUTI. Likewise, the argued limitation is related to valid 5G-GUTI. Babu [0238] does not teach away from “using a GUTI in a subsequent registration to reach a different target AMF” since the argued limitation is not related to the causal relationship of an indication that the current 5G-GUTI is invalid. For these reasons, the Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-5, 9-11, 14, 16, 20-21, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/030946 (as cited in the IDS dated 09/12/2023) hereafter ‘0946 in view of Babu et al, US 2019/0254094 hereafter Babu in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 hereafter Talebi Fard and further in view of Gupta et al, US 2022/0182963 hereafter Gupta.
As for claim 1, ‘0946 discloses:
A method for performing secure re-allocation of a UE from an initial core network element to a target core network element in a communication network, performed by the initial core network element, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first network element, a first message comprising a list of candidate core network elements (‘0946, Fig. 4, step 14, page 22 lines 1-9, Receiving from the NFR 416, a list of potential target AMFs);
selecting the target core network element from the list of candidate core network elements (page 21 lines 3-8, page 22 lines 3-9, Selecting a target AMF from the list of potential target AMFs); and
generating a 5G Global Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) for the UE based on the target core network element, the 5G-GUTI being used by the UE, after a first registration request initiated by the UE (‘0946, Fig. 4 step 15, page 22 lines 18-27, Allocating/generating a new device identifier 5G-GUTI, after a first registration request from the wireless communication device).
‘0946 does not explicitly disclose …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message.
However, Babu discloses… to initiate a second registration request (Babu, FIG. 7, 702, 708, 710, [0235], [0237], Initiate a re-registration (second registration))…transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message (Babu, [0089], the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message”, and “Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “periodic registration update” from a UE, the AMF should send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message.”), and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure (Babu, [0235], Transmitting, to the UE, the UE Configuration Update command triggering the UE to start a re-registration), wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command (Babu, [0235], The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing UE parameter, 5G-GUTI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message as taught by Babu to provide registration assistance to the UE which enables fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence, and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
The combination of ‘0946 and Babu does not explicitly disclose …using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message.
However, Talebi Fard discloses a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message (Talebi Fard, [0320]-[0321], if the second access is located in the same network, the UE may use for the registration to the network associated with the new/subsequent access the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration or UE configuration update procedure for the first access in the same network. The Examiner interprets using the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration to correspond to the procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946 and Babu with a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message in Talebi Fard to provide improved speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard, [0200], [0233]).
The combination of ‘0946, Babu, and Talebi Fard does not explicitly disclose the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element.
However, Gupta discloses the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element. (Gupta, Fig. 5, [0016], [0095], [0108], the 5G-GUTI is used to determine the target AMF. The Examiner interprets the target AMF to correspond to the target core network element)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946, Babu, and Talebi Fard with the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element as taught by Gupta to provide increased efficiency in the registration procedure. (Gupta, [0074])
As for claim 2, ‘0946 discloses:
The 5G-GUTI is used to replace an original 5G-GUTI carried in the first registration request (‘0946, Fig. 4, page 22 lines 18-27, Using the new/replacement 5G-GUTI).
As for claim 3, ‘0946 discloses:
generating the 5G-GUTI for the UE based on the target core network element comprises: during a registration procedure triggered by the first registration request, generating the 5G-GUTI for the UE based on the target core network element (‘0946, Fig. 4, page 22 lines 18-27. Allocating/generating a new device identifier 5G-GUTI, after a first registration request from the wireless communication device).
As for claim 4, ‘0946 discloses:
before receiving the first message, the method further comprises: determining that the initial core network element does not support at least one of: a network slice subscribed by the UE; or a network function subscribed by the UE (‘0946, page 20 line 27-31, Determining the AMF cannot serve all the requested slices/NSSAI).
As for claim 5, ‘0946 discloses:
the first network element comprises a Network Repository Function (NRF) before receiving the first message, the method further comprises transmitting a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_request message to the first network element; and the first message is received in response to the Nnrf_NFDiscovery_request message and comprises a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_response message (‘0946, fig. 4, step 14, page 21 line 19 -30, page 22 line 1-4, The Nnrf_NFDiscovery_request message and a response to the Nnrf_NFDiscovery_request message).
As for claim 9, ‘0946 does not explicitly disclose transmitting an N2 UE context release message to an access network element of the communication network, the access network element providing the UE an access to the communication network, the N2 UE context release message being used to release an N2 signaling connection for the UE between the access network element and the initial core network element.
However, Babu discloses transmitting an N2 UE context release message to an access network element of the communication network, the access network element providing the UE an access to the communication network, the N2 UE context release message being used to release an N2 signaling connection for the UE between the access network element and the initial core network element (Babu, [0139], [0152], [0204]-[0205], [0217], The old AMF may inform the corresponding SMF(s) to locally release the UE's SM context by invoking the Nsmf_PDUSession_ReleaseSMContext service operation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with transmitting an N2 UE context release message to an access network element of the communication network, the access network element providing the UE an access to the communication network, the N2 UE context release message being used to release an N2 signaling connection for the UE between the access network element and the initial core network element as taught by Babu to fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
As for claim 10, ‘0946 does not explicitly disclose the N2 UE context release message further triggers the access network element to release a radio access network connection with the UE and delete a context of the UE.
However, Babu discloses the N2 UE context release message further triggers the access network element to release a radio access network connection with the UE (Babu, [0139], [0152], [0204]-[0205], [0217], [0219], The old AMF may inform the corresponding SMF(s) to locally release the UE's SM context by invoking the Nsmf_PDUSession_ReleaseSMContext service operation.) and delete a context of the UE (Babu, [0219], to delete the association with the PCF.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with the N2 UE context release message further triggers the access network element to release a radio access network connection with the UE and delete a context of the UE as taught by Babu to fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
As for claim 11, ‘0946 discloses:
the access network element comprises at least one of a gNB, an eNB, a nodeB, or a Non-3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF) (‘0946, page 7 lines 14-23, The base station)
As for claim 14, ‘0946 does not explicitly disclose the UE configuration update command carries a registration indication.
However, Babu discloses the UE configuration update command carries a registration indication (Babu, Fig. 12, [0235], [0237], The AMF may send UE Configuration Update command containing UE parameter (5G-GUTI, TAI List, Allowed NSSAI, NITZ, Mobility Restrictions, LADN Information, MICO, whether or not the current 5G-GUTI is valid, Configuration Update Indication) to UE. If the Configuration Update Indication requires a re-registration procedure and MICO is included in the UE Configuration Update Command message, UE may initiate a Registration procedure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with the UE configuration update command carries a registration indication as taught by Babu to fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
As for claim 16, ‘0946 does not explicitly disclose the third message triggers the UE to transmit a second registration request message to an access network element of the communication network for registering with the target core network element based on the 5G-GUTI, the second registration request message comprising an information element being indicative of the 5G-GUTI, the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element.
However, Babu discloses disclose the third message triggers the UE to transmit a second registration request message to an access network element of the communication network for registering with the target core network element based on the 5G-GUTI (Babu, [0123], [0234]-[0235], [0237], Initiate a re-registration (second registration) using a configuration Update Indication that indicates the current 5G-GUTI is invalid), the second registration request message comprising an information element being indicative of the 5G-GUTI (Babu, Fig. 11, [0176]-[0177], [0235], [0237], The AMF may send UE Configuration Update command containing UE parameter (5G-GUTI, TAI List, Allowed NSSAI, NITZ, Mobility Restrictions, LADN Information, MICO, whether or not the current 5G-GUTI is valid, Configuration Update Indication) to UE. If the Configuration Update Indication requires a re-registration procedure and MICO is included in the UE Configuration Update Command message, UE may initiate a Registration procedure.), the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element (Babu, Fig. 11, [0162], [0177], If the UE's 5G-GUTI was included in the Registration Request and the serving AMF has changed since last Registration procedure, the new AMF may invoke the Namf_Communication_UEContextTransfer service operation on the old AMF. The Examiner interprets the new AMF to correspond to the target core network element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with the third message triggers the UE to transmit a second registration request message to an access network element of the communication network for registering with the target core network element based on the 5G-GUTI, the second registration request message comprising an information element being indicative of the 5G-GUTI, the 5G-GUTI being indicative of the target core network element as taught by Babu to provide fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
As for claim 20, ‘0946 discloses the initial core network element comprises an AMF (‘0946, page 22 lines 1-9, Selecting the initial AMF).
As for claim 21, ‘0946 discloses the target core network element comprises an AMF (page 22 lines 3-8, Selecting a target AMF from the list of potential target AMFs).
As for claim 24, ‘0946 discloses:
An initial core network element for performing secure re-allocation of a UE from the initial core network element to a target core network element, the initial core network element comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the computer instructions, the processor is configured to cause the initial core network element to:
receive, from a first network element, a first message comprising a list of candidate core network elements (‘0946, Fig. 4, step 14, page 22 lines 1-9, Receiving from the NFR 416, a list of potential target AMFs);
select the target core network element from the list of candidate core network elements (page 21 lines 3-8, page 22 lines 3-9, Selecting a target AMF from the list of potential target AMFs); and
generate a 5G Global Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) for the UE based on the target core network element, the 5G-GUTI being used by the UE, after a first registration request initiated by the UE (‘0946, Fig. 4 step 15, page 22 lines 18-27, Allocating/generating a new device identifier 5G-GUTI, after a first registration request from the wireless communication device).
‘0946 does not explicitly disclose …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message.
However, Babu discloses … to initiate a second registration request (Babu, FIG. 7, 702, 708, 710, [0235], [0237], Initiate a re-registration (second registration) using a configuration Update Indication that indicates the current 5G-GUTI is invalid)…transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message (Babu, [0089], the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message”, and “Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “periodic registration update” from a UE, the AMF should send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message.”), and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure (Babu, [0235], Transmitting, to the UE, the UE Configuration Update command triggering the UE to start a re-registration), wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command (Babu, [0235], The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing UE parameter, 5G-GUTI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message as taught by Babu to fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
The combination of ‘0946 and Babu does not explicitly disclose …using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message.
However, Talebi Fard discloses a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message (Talebi Fard, [0320]-[0321], if the second access is located in the same network, the UE may use for the registration to the network associated with the new/subsequent access the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration or UE configuration update procedure for the first access in the same network. The Examiner interprets using the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration to correspond to the procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946 and Babu with a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message in Talebi Fard to provide improved speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard, [0200], [0233]).
As for claim 25, ‘0946 discloses:
A non-transitory storage medium for storing computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions, when executed by a processor in an initial core network element, causing the processor to:
receive, from a first network element, a first message comprising a list of candidate core network elements (‘0946, Fig. 4, step 14, page 22 lines 1-9, Receiving from the NFR 416, a list of potential target AMFs);
select the target core network element from the list of candidate core network elements (page 21 lines 3-8, page 22 lines 3-9, Selecting a target AMF from the list of potential target AMFs); and
generate a 5G Global Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) for the UE based on the target core network element, the 5G-GUTI being used by the UE, after a first registration request initiated by the UE (‘0946, Fig. 4 step 15, page 22 lines 18-27, Allocating/generating a new device identifier 5G-GUTI, after a first registration request from the wireless communication device).
‘0946 does not explicitly disclose …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message.
However, Babu discloses … to initiate a second registration request (Babu, FIG. 7, 702, 708, 710, [0235], [0237], Initiate a re-registration (second registration) using a configuration Update Indication that indicates the current 5G-GUTI is invalid)…transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message (Babu, [0089], the AMF shall send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message”, and “Upon receiving Registration Request message of type “periodic registration update” from a UE, the AMF should send a new 5G-GUTI to the UE in Registration Accept message.”), and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure (Babu, [0235], Transmitting, to the UE, the UE Configuration Update command triggering the UE to start a re-registration), wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command (Babu, [0235], The AMF sends UE Configuration Update command containing UE parameter, 5G-GUTI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘0946 with …to initiate a second registration request… transmitting, to the UE, a second message indicating that the first registration request is accepted, the second message comprising the 5G-GUTI, wherein the second message comprises a registration accept message, and transmitting, to the UE, a third message triggering the UE to start a subsequent registration procedure, wherein the third message comprises one of: a UE configuration update command; or a de-registration request message as taught by Babu to fewer periodic registration attempts, leading to GUTI persistence and device tracking (Babu, [0090]).
The combination of ‘0946 and Babu does not explicitly disclose …using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message.
However, Talebi Fard discloses a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message (Talebi Fard, [0320]-[0321], if the second access is located in the same network, the UE may use for the registration to the network associated with the new/subsequent access the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration or UE configuration update procedure for the first access in the same network. The Examiner interprets using the 5G-GUTI that the UE was provided with at the previous registration to correspond to the procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946 and Babu with a subsequent registration procedure using the 5G-GUTI provided in the second message in Talebi Fard to provide improved speed, coverage, security, and/or efficiency (Talebi Fard, [0200], [0233]).
13. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/030946 (as cited in the IDS dated 09/12/2023) hereafter ‘0946 in view of Babu et al, US 2019/0254094 in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 in view of Gupta et al, US 2022/0182963 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2023/0028544 hereafter ‘8544.
As for claim 15, the combination of ‘0946, Babu, Talebi Fard and Gupta does not explicitly disclose de-registration request message carries a registration indication.
However, ‘8544 discloses de-registration request message carries a registration indication (‘8544, [0025], [0031], A source AMF transmits a message to a UE to trigger de-registration from the source AMF and request re-registration to a target AMF.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946, Babu, Talebi Fard and Gupta with de-registration request message carries a registration indication as taught by ‘8544 to provide reduce overhead (‘8544, [0068]).
14. Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/030946 (as cited in the IDS dated 09/12/2023) hereafter ‘0946 in view of Babu et al, US 2019/0254094 in view of Talebi Fard et al, US 2024/0022952 in view of Gupta et al, US 2022/0182963 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2022/0201638 hereafter ‘1638.
As for claim 17, the combination of ‘0946, Babu, Talebi Fard and Gupta does not explicitly disclose in response to receiving the registration request message:
determining, by the access network element, the target core network element based on one of: the 5G-GUTI carried in the second registration request message; a shortened form of the 5G-GUTI carried in the second registration request message; or the shortened form of the 5G-GUTI carried in a fourth message for establishing a connection between the UE and the access network element; and
forwarding, by the access network element, the second registration request message to the target core network element.
However, ‘1638 discloses in response to receiving the second registration request message (‘1638, [0055]-[0056], The UE sends a message, which includes AN parameters, Registration Request (Registration type, SUCI or 5G-GUTI or PEI, Security parameters, Requested NSSAI, UE Radio Capability Update, UE MM Core Network Capability) …If a 5G-GUTI is not included or the 5G-GUTI does not indicate a valid AMF, NG-RAN may select an AMF. If the NG-RAN cannot select an appropriate AMF, it forwards the Registration Request to an AMF that has been configured to perform AMF selection):
determining, by the access network element, the target core network element based on one of: the 5G-GUTI carried in the second registration request message (‘1638, [0056], If a 5G-GUTI is not included or the 5G-GUTI does not indicate a valid AMF, NG-RAN may select an AMF. If the NG-RAN cannot select an appropriate AMF, it forwards the Registration Request to an AMF that has been configured to perform AMF selection) and
forwarding, by the access network element, the second registration request message to the target core network element (‘1638, [0056], If a 5G-GUTI is not included or the 5G-GUTI does not indicate a valid AMF, NG-RAN may select an AMF. If the NG-RAN cannot select an appropriate AMF, it forwards the Registration Request to an AMF that has been configured to perform AMF selection. The Examiner interprets a selected AMF to correspond to the target core network element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of ‘0946, Babu, Talebi Fard and Gupta with determining, by the access network element, the target core network element based on one of: the 5G-GUTI carried in the second registration request message; a shortened form of the 5G-GUTI carried in the second registration request message; or the shortened form of the 5G-GUTI carried in a fourth message for establishing a connection between the UE and the access network element; and
forwarding, by the access network element, the second registration request message to the target core network element as taught by ‘1638 to provide improved registration (‘1638, [0937]).
As for claim 18, ‘0946 discloses:
the fourth message comprises a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, the RRC message being associated with the second registration request message (‘0946, page 12 lines 9-10, Using RRC messaging).
As for claim 19, ‘0946 discloses the shortened form of the 5G-GUTI comprises a 5G S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) (‘0946, page 12 lines 7-8. The 5G-S-TMSI).
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Youn et al, US 2020/0120570 [0581] The T-AMF determines T-RAN based on the Target ID. The T-AMF may allocate a 5G-Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) for the AMF and the UE in target Tracking Area Identity (TAI).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469