DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/30/2026. Claims 21, 23-28, 30-35, 37-41 are pending in this application and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 21, 23-28, 30-35, 37-41 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendment changes the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 23-28, 30-35, 37-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US 2020/0350972 A1) (Yi herein after) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 12323218 B2) (Khoshnevisan herein after).
Re Claim 21, Yi discloses an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry configured to:
monitor, for an indication of beam failure, a first set of reference signals (RSs) from a secondary cell (SCell) (wireless device may be associated/served with/by a first TRP (TRP1) and a second TRP (TRP2) where the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with a same cell (e.g., PCell, sPCell, or SCell) [0368]) and a second set of RSs from the SCell (wireless device may be configured with one or more first beam recovery reference signals for a first TRP and one or more second beam recovery reference signals for a second TRP of a cell [0380]);
identify a beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell (In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the second beam measurement, reaching a beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the second TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the second TRP … In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the first beam measurement, reaching a first beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the first TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the first TRP. In response to the beam failure, the wireless device may initiate/trigger a beam failure recovery for the first TRP [0380]);
generate, for transmission to a network, a beam failure recovery request comprising a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) configured to indicate that both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell correspond to the beam failure event (wireless device may send a beam failure recovery request message and/or a feedback on one or more new candidate beams via a PUSCH (e.g., MAC-CE carried over the PUSCH, UCI piggybacked on the PUSCH) when a beam failure recovery procedure occurs in a SCell [0383]).
Yi discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a beam failure recovery technique for multiple TRP in a secondary cell wherein configuration manager 835 may receive configuration information that indicates a first set of reference signals associated with a first control resource set pool index value and a second set of reference signals associated with a second control resource set pool index value. In addition, beam failure recovery message is a medium access control (MAC) control element and includes a reference signal identification of the candidate beam, and where the reference signal identification indicates the transmission-reception point associated with the candidate beam. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam and a second set of bits that indicates the identified candidate beam. In some cases, the first set of bits and the second set of bits are provided for each of one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam, a second set of bits that indicates one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared, and a third set of bits that indicates that indicates the identified candidate beam (column 34 lines 41-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Yi, by making use of the technique taught by Khoshnevisan, in order to improve the wireless communication connection.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of beam failure recovery, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Yi, nor does Yi teach away from the modification (Yi merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the xxx taught by Khoshnevisan is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
Re Claim 23, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 21, Yi discloses wherein the first set of RSs correspond to a first set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection and the second set of RSs correspond to a second set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection (The wireless device may perform a first RLM based on the one or more first reference signals for the first TRP. The wireless device may perform a second RLM based on the one or more second reference signals for the second TRP. The wireless device may indicate a radio link failure of the second TRP via the first TRP. The wireless device may declare a RLF of the group in response to detecting a radio link failure of the first TRP [0382]).
Re Claim 24, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 23, Yi discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
decode, based on signals received from a base station, multiple downlink control information (DCI), wherein the multiple DCI configure per TRP radio link monitoring reference signals (A wireless device may be associated/served by one or more TRPs operating in a carrier or a cell. The one or more TRPs of the carrier or the cell may have the same cell ID or may have different cell ID. In an example, a wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages, MAC-CE commands, and/or DCIs to activate one or more TRPs in a cell where the cell may be configured/activated to the wireless device as PCell, SPCell, or SCell … when a physical cell ID of the first TRP is different from that of the second TRP, the wireless device may receive a DCI from a first CORESET (e.g., CORESET#0) of the cell X via the first TRP [0371]).
Re Claim 25, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 21, Yi discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
decode, based on signals received from a base station, a beam failure response, wherein a search space is configured the per TRP (base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration for a transmission of an uplink signal (e.g., a PRACH transmission) by a higher layer parameter PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR in the IE BeamFailureRecoveryConfig. Based on the transmission of the uplink signal (e.g., the PRACH transmission) in a first slot (e.g., slot n) and, the wireless device, starting from a second slot (e.g., slot n+4), may monitor at least one PDCCH in a search space set (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId) for detection of a DCI format within a response window (e.g., ra-responseWindow [0346]).
Re Claim 26, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 21, Yi discloses wherein identifying the beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell is based on measurement data corresponding to a first beam associated with the first set of RSs from the SCell being below a predetermined threshold (wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for the first TRP based on the wireless device detects a plurality of times that qualities of the one or more first beam recovery reference signals become poor/lower than a first threshold of the first TRP [0401]) and a second beam associated with the second set of RSs from the SCell being below the predetermined threshold (wireless device may measure signal qualities of the second TRP based on the one or more second recovery signals. When the signal qualities of the second TRP may be lower than a second threshold of the second TRP [0401]).
Re Claim 27, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 21, Yi discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
decode, based on signals received from a base station, a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message comprising configuration information for group based reporting (base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH. The DCI may take a format in a plurality of formats. A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS), request for CSI (e.g., aperiodic CQI reports), request for SRS, uplink power control commands for one or more cells, one or more timing information [0244]).
Re Claim 28, Yi discloses a baseband processor configured to perform operations comprising:
monitoring, for an indication of beam failure, a first set of reference signals (RSs) from a secondary cell (SCell) (wireless device may be associated/served with/by a first TRP (TRP1) and a second TRP (TRP2) where the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with a same cell (e.g., PCell, sPCell, or SCell) [0368]) and a second set of RSs from the SCell (wireless device may be configured with one or more first beam recovery reference signals for a first TRP and one or more second beam recovery reference signals for a second TRP of a cell [0380]);
identifying a beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell (In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the second beam measurement, reaching a beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the second TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the second TRP … In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the first beam measurement, reaching a first beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the first TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the first TRP. In response to the beam failure, the wireless device may initiate/trigger a beam failure recovery for the first TRP [0380]);
transmitting a beam failure recovery request to the network, the beam failure recovery request comprising a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) configured to indicate that both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell correspond to the beam failure event (wireless device may send a beam failure recovery request message and/or a feedback on one or more new candidate beams via a PUSCH (e.g., MAC-CE carried over the PUSCH, UCI piggybacked on the PUSCH) when a beam failure recovery procedure occurs in a SCell [0383]).
Yi discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a beam failure recovery technique for multiple TRP in a secondary cell wherein configuration manager 835 may receive configuration information that indicates a first set of reference signals associated with a first control resource set pool index value and a second set of reference signals associated with a second control resource set pool index value. In addition, beam failure recovery message is a medium access control (MAC) control element and includes a reference signal identification of the candidate beam, and where the reference signal identification indicates the transmission-reception point associated with the candidate beam. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam and a second set of bits that indicates the identified candidate beam. In some cases, the first set of bits and the second set of bits are provided for each of one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam, a second set of bits that indicates one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared, and a third set of bits that indicates that indicates the identified candidate beam (column 34 lines 41-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Yi, by making use of the technique taught by Khoshnevisan, in order to improve the wireless communication connection.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of beam failure recovery, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Yi, nor does Yi teach away from the modification (Yi merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the xxx taught by Khoshnevisan is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
Re Claim 30, the combined teachings disclose the baseband processor of claim 28, Yi discloses wherein the first set of RSs correspond to a first set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection and the second set of RSs correspond to a second to a second set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection (The wireless device may perform a first RLM based on the one or more first reference signals for the first TRP. The wireless device may perform a second RLM based on the one or more second reference signals for the second TRP. The wireless device may indicate a radio link failure of the second TRP via the first TRP. The wireless device may declare a RLF of the group in response to detecting a radio link failure of the first TRP [0382]).
Re Claim 31, the combined teachings disclose the baseband processor of claim 30, Yi discloses further comprising:
receiving multiple downlink control information (DCI), wherein the multiple DCI configure per TRP radio link monitoring reference signals (A wireless device may be associated/served by one or more TRPs operating in a carrier or a cell. The one or more TRPs of the carrier or the cell may have the same cell ID or may have different cell ID. In an example, a wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages, MAC-CE commands, and/or DCIs to activate one or more TRPs in a cell where the cell may be configured/activated to the wireless device as PCell, SPCell, or SCell … when a physical cell ID of the first TRP is different from that of the second TRP, the wireless device may receive a DCI from a first CORESET (e.g., CORESET#0) of the cell X via the first TRP [0371]).
Re Claim 32, the combined teachings disclose the baseband processor of claim 28, Yi discloses further comprising:
receiving a beam failure response from the network, wherein a search space is configured per TRP (base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration for a transmission of an uplink signal (e.g., a PRACH transmission) by a higher layer parameter PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR in the IE BeamFailureRecoveryConfig. Based on the transmission of the uplink signal (e.g., the PRACH transmission) in a first slot (e.g., slot n) and, the wireless device, starting from a second slot (e.g., slot n+4), may monitor at least one PDCCH in a search space set (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId) for detection of a DCI format within a response window (e.g., ra-responseWindow [0346]).
Re Claim 33, the combined teachings disclose the baseband processor of claim 28, Yi discloses wherein identifying the beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell is based on measurement data corresponding to a firstbeam associated with the first set of RSs from the SCell being below a predetermined threshold and a second beam associated with the second set of RSs from the SCell being below the predetermined threshold (wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for the first TRP based on the wireless device detects a plurality of times that qualities of the one or more first beam recovery reference signals become poor/lower than a first threshold of the first TRP [0401]) and a second beam associated with the second set of RSs from the SCell being below the predetermined threshold (wireless device may measure signal qualities of the second TRP based on the one or more second recovery signals. When the signal qualities of the second TRP may be lower than a second threshold of the second TRP [0401]).
Re Claim 34, the combined teachings disclose the baseband processor of claim 28, Yi discloses the operations further comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) report configuration message from the network, the CSI report configuration message comprising configuration information for group based reporting (base station may transmit DCI/control signaling via PDCCH. The DCI may take a format in a plurality of formats. A DCI may comprise downlink and/or uplink scheduling information (e.g., resource allocation information, HARQ related parameters, MCS), request for CSI (e.g., aperiodic CQI reports), request for SRS, uplink power control commands for one or more cells, one or more timing information [0244]).
Re Claim 35, Yi discloses a method, comprising:
at a user equipment (UE):monitoring, for an indication of beam failure, a first set of reference signals (RSs) from a secondary cell (SCell) (wireless device may be associated/served with/by a first TRP (TRP1) and a second TRP (TRP2) where the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with a same cell (e.g., PCell, sPCell, or SCell) [0368])and a second set of RSs from the SCell (wireless device may be configured with one or more first beam recovery reference signals for a first TRP and one or more second beam recovery reference signals for a second TRP of a cell [0380]);
identifying a beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell (In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the second beam measurement, reaching a beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the second TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the second TRP … In response to detecting a number of beam failure incidents, based on the first beam measurement, reaching a first beam failure instance max counter configured/indicated for the first TRP, the wireless device may detect a beam failure of the first TRP. In response to the beam failure, the wireless device may initiate/trigger a beam failure recovery for the first TRP [0380]);
transmitting a beam failure recovery request to the network, the beam failure recovery request comprising a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) configured to indicate that both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell correspond to the beam failure event (wireless device may send a beam failure recovery request message and/or a feedback on one or more new candidate beams via a PUSCH (e.g., MAC-CE carried over the PUSCH, UCI piggybacked on the PUSCH) when a beam failure recovery procedure occurs in a SCell [0383]).
Yi discloses the claimed invention except explicitly teaches process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a beam failure recovery technique for multiple TRP in a secondary cell wherein configuration manager 835 may receive configuration information that indicates a first set of reference signals associated with a first control resource set pool index value and a second set of reference signals associated with a second control resource set pool index value. In addition, beam failure recovery message is a medium access control (MAC) control element and includes a reference signal identification of the candidate beam, and where the reference signal identification indicates the transmission-reception point associated with the candidate beam. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam and a second set of bits that indicates the identified candidate beam. In some cases, the first set of bits and the second set of bits are provided for each of one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared. In some cases, the beam failure recovery message includes a first set of bits that indicates which of the first transmission-reception point or the second transmission-reception point is associated with the identified candidate beam, a second set of bits that indicates one or more component carriers for which the beam failure is declared, and a third set of bits that indicates that indicates the identified candidate beam (column 34 lines 41-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Yi, by making use of the technique taught by Khoshnevisan, in order to improve the wireless communication connection.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of beam failure recovery, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Yi, nor does Yi teach away from the modification (Yi merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the xxx taught by Khoshnevisan is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of process, based on signaling received from a network, configuration information for a first set of reference signals (RSs) corresponding to a secondary cell (SCell) and a second set of RSs corresponding to the SCell; wherein the MAC CE comprises a first index value for the first set of RSs from the SCell and a second index value for the second set of RSs from the SCell.
Re Claim 37, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 35, Yi discloses wherein the first set of RSs correspond to a first set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection and the second set of RSs correspond to a second set of radio link monitoring reference signals configured for beam failure detection (The wireless device may perform a first RLM based on the one or more first reference signals for the first TRP. The wireless device may perform a second RLM based on the one or more second reference signals for the second TRP. The wireless device may indicate a radio link failure of the second TRP via the first TRP. The wireless device may declare a RLF of the group in response to detecting a radio link failure of the first TRP [0382]).
Re Claim 38, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 37, Yi discloses further comprising:
receiving multiple downlink control information (DCI), wherein the multiple DCI configure per TRP radio link monitoring reference signals (A wireless device may be associated/served by one or more TRPs operating in a carrier or a cell. The one or more TRPs of the carrier or the cell may have the same cell ID or may have different cell ID. In an example, a wireless device may receive one or more RRC messages, MAC-CE commands, and/or DCIs to activate one or more TRPs in a cell where the cell may be configured/activated to the wireless device as PCell, SPCell, or SCell … when a physical cell ID of the first TRP is different from that of the second TRP, the wireless device may receive a DCI from a first CORESET (e.g., CORESET#0) of the cell X via the first TRP [0371]).
Re Claim 39, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 35, Yi discloses further comprising:
receiving a beam failure response from the network, wherein a search space is configured per TRP (base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration for a transmission of an uplink signal (e.g., a PRACH transmission) by a higher layer parameter PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR in the IE BeamFailureRecoveryConfig. Based on the transmission of the uplink signal (e.g., the PRACH transmission) in a first slot (e.g., slot n) and, the wireless device, starting from a second slot (e.g., slot n+4), may monitor at least one PDCCH in a search space set (e.g., provided by the higher layer parameter recoverySearchSpaceId) for detection of a DCI format within a response window (e.g., ra-responseWindow [0346]).
Re Claim 40, the combined teachings disclose the method of claim 35, Yi discloses wherein identifying the beam failure event based on both the first set of RSs from the SCell and the second set of RSs from the SCell is based on measurement data corresponding to a first beam associated with the first set of RSs from the SCell being below a predetermined threshold and a second beam associated with the second set of RSs from the SCell being below the predetermined threshold (wireless device may initiate a BFR procedure for the first TRP based on the wireless device detects a plurality of times that qualities of the one or more first beam recovery reference signals become poor/lower than a first threshold of the first TRP [0401]) and a second beam associated with the second set of RSs from the SCell being below the predetermined threshold (wireless device may measure signal qualities of the second TRP based on the one or more second recovery signals. When the signal qualities of the second TRP may be lower than a second threshold of the second TRP [0401]).
Re Claim 41, the combined teachings disclose the apparatus of claim 21, Khoshnevisan discloses a physical Cell ID (PCI) indicates the candidate beam for candidate beam detection (PCI, column 17 lines 30-47).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631