DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species V (Claims 1-4, 9 and 14-15) in the reply filed on 08/19/2026 is acknowledged with Traverse. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "it should be no undue burden on the Examiner to consider all claims in the single application.” This is not found persuasive because there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species for the following reasons: The species 1-12 are differing in structure. For an example the species 1-12 are differing in elements arrangement. For an example the arrangement of the elements of figure 5 [see element 30] is different from what is shown in figure 6, and different from of figure 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (TW 202121457 A).
Regarding Claim 1:
Choi teaches that a planar transformer, comprising:
a first magnetic core (112, Fig. 5; pages 5-15) and a second magnetic core
(111), wherein the first magnetic core comprises a base (i.e. lower part of 112 in Fig. 5), a first magnetic column (not labeled; i.e. left side column in Fig. 5), a second magnetic column (not labeled; i.e. center column in Fig. 5),, and a third magnetic column (not labeled; i.e. right side column in Fig. 5), and the first magnetic column, the second magnetic column, and the third magnetic column form on a top surface of the base, and
a circuit board (130, Fig. 2A), comprising a first side (left front part of 130 in
Fig. 2A), a second side (right back part of 130 in Fig. 2A), and a through hole (not label; see Fig. 2A),
wherein the through hole is sleeved (construed from Fig. 1) on the second magnetic column, and the first side and the second side are protruding from the first magnetic core, wherein the first magnetic core is connected with the second magnetic core, and the circuit board is disposed between the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core, wherein at least one separation component (121, 123, 131, 133; Fig. 2A) is disposed between the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core, or the first magnetic core and/or the second magnetic core have a plurality of separation components (121, 123, 131, 133)..
Regarding Claim 2:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that wherein each separation component is
made of electrical insulation material (see pages 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that a distance between the first magnetic column and the second magnetic column is equal to a distance between the second magnetic column and the third magnetic column (construed from word “symmetrical” in page 10; see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that the number of the at least one separation component is plural (i.e. 121, 123, 131, 133), and the separation components are respectively symmetrically disposed between the first magnetic column and the second magnetic core, between the second magnetic column (see Fig. 2B) and the second magnetic core, and between the third magnetic column and the second magnetic core (construed from Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 15:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that a thickness of each separation component is 0.07-0.08 mm (see page 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Kiyonaga (US 20240177914 A1).
Regarding Claim 4:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that an outer edge (not labeled; see Fig. 5) of the first magnetic column, a first edge of the first side, and a first edge (see Fig. 2B) of the second side are substantially along a straight line, wherein an outer edge of the third magnetic column (not labeled; see Fig. 5), a second edge (see Fig. 2B) of the first side, and a second edge of the second side are substantially along a straight line except a first notch and a second notch, wherein the first magnetic column and the third magnetic column are respectively embedded in the first notch and the second notch.
However, Kiyonaga teaches that a first notch (left side 32 in Fig. 2; para 0061-0066) and a second notch (right side 32 in Fig. 2), wherein the first magnetic column (23a) and the third magnetic column (23b) are respectively embedded in the first notch and the second notch (see Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a first notch and a second notch, wherein the first magnetic column and the third magnetic column are respectively embedded in the first notch and the second notch to provide a coil device capable of improving heat dissipation, and another object of the present disclosure is to provide a power conversion device to which such a coil device is applied (para 0010).
Regarding Claim 14:
As applied to claim 1, Choi teaches that the first magnetic core is an E-shaped magnetic core, except the second magnetic core is an I-shaped magnetic core.
However, Kiyonaga teaches the second magnetic core (25, Fig. 2; para 0061) is an I-shaped magnetic core
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second magnetic core is an I-shaped magnetic core to provide a coil device capable of improving heat dissipation, and another object of the present disclosure is to provide a power conversion device to which such a coil device is applied (para 0010).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892.
/KAZI HOSSAIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837