Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuyama (JP 2019194997 A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, 9, 12 and 13, Matsuyama discloses a method for manufacturing a sulfide-based solid electrolyte, the method comprising:
providing a sulfide-based compound (such as Li11P3S12, see lines 879-881 in Example 3);
adding the sulfide-based compound to a silicone oil (as described in lines 879-881), followed by milling (as described in lines 879-881); and
drying the milled sulfide-based compound (as described in lines 889-893 which discloses evaporating/drying the produced milled slurry),
wherein a kinematic viscosity (CS) of the silicone oil is 0.5 to 5CS (see lines 843-845 which discloses that the silicone oil has a kinematic viscosity of 4CS).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Matsuyama further discloses the silicone oil is a cyclic polysiloxane, a linear polysiloxane, or a mixture thereof (lines 191-193 which discloses decamethylcyclopentasiloxane).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuyama further discloses the milling is performed by using any one of a ball mill or a bead mill (see lines 879-881 which discloses a ball mill).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuyama further discloses the milling involves no dispersant (example 3 in lines 878-896 does not use a dispersant).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuyama further discloses the sulfide-based compound is added in a content of 5 to 30 parts by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the silicone oil (in example 3, 0.5g or solid electrolyte is added to 5mL of D5 silicone oil which has a density of 0.9593 g/mL which results in 17.4 parts electrolyte per 100 parts oil).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (JP 2019194997 A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuyama does not expressly state the claimed particle size range but does teach a range that overlaps the claimed range (see lines 158-162). As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Claim(s) 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama (JP 2019194997 A with references made to the machine translation) in view of Miyashita (US 2017/0222257).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Matsuyama teaches a number of sulfide solid electrolyte materials (lines 148-154) but does not explicitly disclose an embodiment which includes lithium, phosphor, sulfur, and a halogen element in an argyrodite type crystal structure.
Miyashita also discloses a method of making a solid electrolyte (see abstract).
Miyashita teaches the solid electrolyte in an argyrodite type crystal structure comprising lithium, phosphorus, sulfur and a halogen (paragraph 16) in order to improve water resistance and oxidation resistance (paragraph 18).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the sulfide solid electrolyte of Miyashita in the manufacturing process of Matsuyama, in order to produce a high conductivity electrolyte that has improved water and oxidation resistance.
Regarding claim 11, Matsuyama, as modified by Miyashita, further discloses the solid electrolyte argyrodite crystal structure has a conductivity over 1.5 mS/cm (see several examples in Table 1 of the solid electrolyte exhibiting a conductivity over 1.5 mS/cm).
Relevant Prior Art
US 2014/0295260 - Discloses a process of manufacturing a sulfide solid electrolyte which includes mixing the solid electrolyte particles with a solvent and grinding/milling them together. This document, however does not mention any use of a silicone oil in the milling process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 8, Applicant argues that JP 2019-194997 does not teach the claimed kinematic viscosity. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument as it does state the viscosity as disclosed in the rejection above. The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are directed toward rejections that are no longer present in the current Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725