DETAILED ACTION
Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite: wherein the weight member is rod-shaped (i.e., cylindrical shape). It is unclear what exactly is meant by "the weight member is rod-shaped", and if the weight member is entirely in cylindrical shape (e.g., formed by cutting out a predetermined length from one rod-shaped base body), how said weight member can be made such that it includes the first portion and the second portion, wherein a thickness of the second portion is smaller than a thickness of the first portion, the thicknesses extending in the first direction, and a length of the second portion is larger than a length of the first portion in a rotation direction of the weight member (e.g., the embodiment shown in Figs. 10 and 11).
For purposes of prior art rejection, the examiner comprehends the claim based on his best interpretations to these phrases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uno (US 20040261598 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Uno discloses a keyboard apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a frame (chassis 2); a first member (e.g., 22 or other parts of the hammer axial support section; see Figs. 1-3); a first key (3a); and a first hammer assembly (Fig. 4) configured to rotate in accordance with movement of the first key, and including: a rotation member (41a) rotatably connected (via 41a1) to the frame with respect to a rotation axis as a center of rotation; and a weight member (combination of 41b and 42/43, etc., see Fig. 4) attached (para. 0071) to the rotation member and including a first portion (the combination of mass plates 42 with the portion of 41b for receiving the mass plates 42) and a second portion (the portion of 41b extending from said first portion; see annotated Fig. 4 below), wherein the second portion is disposed facing the first member in a first direction (the scale direction) extending along the rotation axis, wherein a thickness of the second portion is smaller than a thickness of the first portion, the thicknesses extending in the first direction, and wherein a length of the second portion (L2a + L2b) is larger than a length of the first portion (L1) in a rotation direction of the weight member (see annotated Fig. 4 below):
Regarding claim 2, Uno discloses: the keyboard apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a second key; and a second hammer assembly configured to rotate in accordance with movement of the second key, wherein the first member is: fixed to a portion of the frame; and arranged between the first and second hammer assemblies (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 3-5, Uno discloses the claimed invention (see Figs. 1-3 and the discussion of the hammer axial support sections).
Regarding claim 8, Uno discloses: wherein the first portion of the weight member includes a groove with a flat surface at a bottom portion of the groove (see annotated Fig. 6a below):
Regarding claim 9, Uno discloses a keyboard apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a frame (chassis 2); a first member (e.g., 22 or other parts of the hammer axial support section; see Figs. 1-3); a first key (3a); and a first hammer assembly (Fig. 4) configured to rotate in accordance with movement of the first key, and including: a rotation member (41a) rotatably connected to the frame with respect to a rotation axis as a center of rotation; and a weight member (combination of 41b and 42/43, etc., see Fig. 4) attached to the rotation member (para. 0071) and including a first portion (the combination of mass plates 42 with the portion of 41b for receiving the mass plates 42) and a second portion (the portion of 41b extending from said first portion; see annotated Fig. 4 below), wherein the second portion is disposed facing the first member in a first direction (the scale direction) extending along the rotation axis, and wherein the second portion is thinner than the first portion in the first direction (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 10, Uno discloses the keyboard apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising: a second key; and a second hammer assembly configured to rotate in accordance with movement of the second key; the first member is: fixed to a portion of the frame; and arranged between the first and second hammer assemblies (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 11-13, Uno discloses the claimed invention (see Figs. 1-3 and the discussion of the hammer axial support sections).
Regarding claim 16, Uno discloses the claimed invention (see annotated Fig. 6a above).
Contact Information
/JIANCHUN QIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837