DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 09/12/2023 & 12/19/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) In Claim 1 line 6, Claim 11 line 2 & Claim 20 line 8, the term “near” is a relative term that renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear what would qualify as “near”. For the purposes of examination, “near” has been construed to be connected to fluidically.
B) Claims 2-10 & 12-16 are also rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Number 2,652,133 A to Leigh.
A) As per Claim 17, Leigh teaches an air guiding member (Leigh: Figure 1) for guiding cooling airflow from an air inlet to an air outlet, comprising:
a bracket body (Leigh: Figure 1, Item 2);
a plurality of air blocking plates (Leigh: Figure 1, Items 4) connected to the bracket body and spaced along a first predetermined direction; and
a plurality of air deflecting plates (Leigh: Figures 1-2, Item 16) respectively connected to the air blocking plates and extending towards the air inlet, the air blocking plates block a passage of cooling airflow, and an air outlet gap is formed between a pair of adjacent air blocking plates of the plurality of air blocking plates (Leigh: Best shown in Figure 2, Items 4 block airflow with gap Item 3 between).
B) As per Claim 18, Leigh teaches that the air blocking plates are coplanar with the bracket body (Leigh: Figure 2, Items 2 & 4 are co-planar).
C) As per Claim 19, Leigh teaches that the air guiding member is an integral piece (Leigh: Figure 5, all cut from same integral piece).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 & 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Closest prior art US Patent Number 7,223,060 B2 to Weidenmuller teaches the correct setup of conveying with a fan blowing upward to a cover. However, Weidenmuller does not teach a heating area and does not teach deflecting plates extending into the cooling area. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify Weidenmuller because extending deflecting plates into the cooling area would block/complicate the purpose of the cover, which is to keep the items from flipping or rising and preventing blockages.
Other close prior art CN202721943U to Beijing Techwin Electric, TW200827991A to Foxconn, US Patent Number 6,361,041 B2 to Stephan and US Patent Number 5,443,333A to Hilbish all teach some aspects of claims 1 and/or 20 but one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to modify any of the pieces of prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762