DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 13-18, 21-25 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alfarhan et al (hereinafter “Alfarhan”), US Pub. No. 2025/0142624 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Alfarhan discloses devices, methods, and systems for coverage extension (fig. 1A, system 100), wherein each UE (fig. 1B, UE 102) comprises: a memory (fig. 1B, non-removable memory 130); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (processor 118 coupled to the memory 130), wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit, to a first network node, a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission and one or more repetitions of the first PRACH transmission using a plurality of beams (p. [0003]: a WTRU may transmit a RACH Message 1 (e.g., Msg1 or a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble) and one or more repetitions of RACH Message 1; [0004]: The WTRU may transmit the RACH Msg 1 by repeating transmission of msg1 on the associated RACH resources of the UL beams); receiving, from the first network node, a response to the first PRACH transmission comprising an indication of a selected beam of the plurality of beams (fig. 2, p. [0130]-[0133], [0140]-[0141]: the UE receives the Msg2 (e.g. random access response- RAR) an indication of the Tx beam/ RACH occasions (ROs) to use in Msg3); determining the selected beam based on the indication of the selected beam and based on transmission of the first PRACH transmission and one or more repetitions of the first PRACH transmission using the plurality of beams ([0133]: the WTRU may determine the strongest tx beam/RO in Msg2 to use in Msg3 explicitly or implicitly. RAR may indicate the RO or the Tx beam(s) used to decode the preamble, which the WTRU may uses to transmit Msg3. RAR may indicate whether the WTRU uses the indicated beams for msg3 repetition or sweeps through one or more configured or indicated spatial filters); and transmitting one or more message three (Msg3) transmissions to the first network node using the selected beam (fig. 2, UE transmits uplink Msg3 to the RAN).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 24, Alfarhan discloses wherein the response comprises at least one of: a message two (Msg2) transmission; or a Msg2 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission (fig. 2, p. [0130]-[0133], [0140]-[0141]: the UE receives the Msg2 (e.g. random access response- RAR) an indication of the Tx beam/ RACH occasions (ROs) to use in Msg3).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 21 and 28, Alfarhan discloses wherein the indication of the selected beam comprises a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) of the response ([0129]-[0131]: among a plurality of signaled grants associated with monitored RA-RNTI or RA-RNTIs, the UE may select the grant such that the WTRU has more opportunities for repetition transmission in the selected grant; [0190]: UE may be configured with an association between a range of RA-RNTIs and RAR reception occasion(s). The association between synchronization signal block (SSB) and RAR reception occasion and/or an association between Tx beam and RAR reception occasion may be configured by broadcast or dedicated signaling)
Regarding claims 6, 14, 22 and 29, Alfarhan discloses wherein the indication of the selected beam comprises a location of one or more control channel elements (CCEs) of the response inside a control resource set (CORESET) of the response ([0087]: an implicit indication by a property such as DCI format, DCI size, CORESET or search space, aggregation level, identity of first control channel resource (e.g., index of first CCE) for a DCI, e.g., where the mapping between the property and the value may be signaled by RRC or MAC).
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 30, Alfarhan discloses wherein the indication of the selected beam comprises an index of a first CCE of the response ([0131]: the WTRU may determine an SSB and/or spatial filter associated with each grant signaled in each RAR, either implicitly (e.g., from a property of the scheduling information) or explicitly (e.g., from an indication in the DCI or the contents of the RAR).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Alfarhan discloses the system further comprising: receiving an indication of a mapping of one or more CCE indexes to one or more PRACH opportunities (ROs) ([0087]: An indication by DCI may include one or more the following: an explicit indication by a DCI field or by RNTI used to mask CRC of the PDCCH; and/or an implicit indication by a property such as DCI format, DCI size, Coreset or search space, aggregation level, identity of first control channel resource (e.g., index of first CCE) for a DCI, e.g., where the mapping between the property and the value may be signaled by RRC or MAC).
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Alfarhan discloses network nodes in the system (fig. 1C eNode-B 160; fig. 1D gNb 180) comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor (each of gNb or eNode-B inherently comprises at least memory coupled to at least one processor) is configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a first physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission and one or more repetitions of the first PRACH transmission using a plurality of beams (fig. 2, p. [0003]: a WTRU may transmit a RACH Message 1 (e.g., Msg1 or a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble) and one or more repetitions of RACH Message 1; [0004]: The WTRU may transmit the RACH Msg 1 by repeating transmission of msg1 on the associated RACH resources of the UL beams); select a beam of the plurality of beams; determine an indication of the selected beam of the plurality of beams based on receipt of the first PRACH transmission and the one or more repetitions of the first PRACH transmission using the plurality of beams; and transmit, to the UE, a response to the first PRACH transmission comprising the determined indication of the selected beam of the plurality of beams (fig. 2, [0007], [0080] and [0123]-[0129]: the UE receives multiple grant RARs from the network node in response to the Msg1).
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Alfarhan discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive, from the UE, one or more message three (Msg3) transmissions using the selected beam (see fig. 2, Msg3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfarhan as shown above.
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19 and 26, Alfarhan does not disclose the indication of the selected beam comprises a first bitfield of the response indicating the selected beam. Examiner takes official notice this feature is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the well-known feature into Alfarhan’s system in order to identify a selected beam for processing random access procedure as an option of designer’s choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, 20 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
THAI HOANG D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463