DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In this case, the present title is too long. See MPEP 606.01.
The following tittle is suggested: --Cooktop appliance and method--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Seo (US 20170205077 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses
A cooktop appliance (electric stove 100, figs.2-3), comprising:
a cooking surface (top surface of electric stove 100, fig.2), the cooking surface (top surface of electric stove 100) comprising a plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0007 cited: “…electric stove is divided into a halogen lamp type, a heating coil type and an induction type depending on a method of generating a heat source…”];
a control panel (display unit 140, figs.2-3) operably coupled to the cooking surface (top surface of electric stove 100), the control panel (display unit 140) comprising a plurality of controls for operating the plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120); and
a controller (main control unit 110, fig.3) operably coupled to the cooking surface (top surface of electric stove 100) and the control panel (display unit 140), the controller (main control unit 110) configured to perform an operation, the operation comprising:
initiating a first induction element (heating unit 120) of the plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”];
receiving a remote signal from a first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly…”]; and
pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) after receiving the remote signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200), wherein the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) is subsequently activated for communication with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 2, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: initiating a second induction element (another heating unit 120, fig.3) of the plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”]; receiving a remote signal from a second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the second induction element (another heating unit 120) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly…”]; and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the second induction element (another heating unit 120) after receiving the remote signal from the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200), wherein the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) is subsequently activated for communication with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 3, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: initiating the first induction element after pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the second induction element (another heating unit 120); receiving a remote signal from the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120); unpairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) from the first induction element (heating unit 120) [the function can be performed by user]; and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) [the function can be performed by user].
Regarding claim 4, Seo discloses
initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) comprises: receiving an input signal via the control panel (display unit 140, figs.2-3) to energize the first induction element (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”]; activating the first induction element (heating unit 120) at a first predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”]; and deactivating the first induction element (heating unit 120) at a second predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”].
Regarding claim 5, Seo discloses
receiving the remote signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) comprises: receiving an induction confirmation signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) after the second predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”].
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses
the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) comprises: a temperature sensor [Par.0051 cited: “…cooking utensil 200 has a temperature sensor…”]; and a wireless communication module configured to communicate with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100, figs.1,3) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 7, Seo discloses
the remote signal comprises a noise output from the temperature sensor [Par.0051 cited: “…cooking utensil 200 has a temperature sensor…”] in response to the initiation of the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”].
Regarding claim 8, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: emitting a notification that the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.1) has been paired with the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0063 cited: “…display of the electric stove may display the image of the food to be injected into the pot. Alternatively, the mobile device can may display the image of the food to be injected into the pot…”].
Regarding claim 9, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: initiating a closed loop cooking operation () after pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) with the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0049 cited: “…weight sensor 161 is used to measure the weight of the contents in the container when the cooking utensil is put on the heating region to load on the weight sensor 161…”].
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses
A method of operating a cooktop appliance (electric stove 100, figs.2-3), the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100) comprising a plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0007 cited: “…electric stove is divided into a halogen lamp type, a heating coil type and an induction type depending on a method of generating a heat source…”], the method comprising:
initiating a first induction element (heating unit 120) of the plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”];
receiving a remote signal from a first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly…”]; and
pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) after receiving the remote signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200), wherein the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) is subsequently activated for communication with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 11, Seo discloses
initiating a second induction element (another heating unit 120, fig.3) of the plurality of induction elements (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”]; receiving a remote signal from a second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the second induction element (another heating unit 120) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly…”]; and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the second induction element (another heating unit 120) after receiving the remote signal from the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200), wherein the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) is subsequently activated for communication with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 12, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: initiating the first induction element after pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the second induction element (another heating unit 120); receiving a remote signal from the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120); unpairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) from the first induction element (heating unit 120) [the function can be performed by user]; and pairing the second cookware item (another cooking utensil 200) with the first induction element (heating unit 120) [the function can be performed by user].
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses
initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) comprises: receiving an input signal via the control panel (display unit 140, figs.2-3) to energize the first induction element (heating unit 120) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”]; activating the first induction element (heating unit 120) at a first predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”]; and deactivating the first induction element (heating unit 120) at a second predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”].
Regarding claim 14, Seo discloses
receiving the remote signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) in response to initiating the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) comprises: receiving an induction confirmation signal from the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200) after the second predetermined time interval [Par.0008 cited: “…reserved time setting button (timer) 30 having a time switch function…”].
Regarding claim 15, Seo discloses
the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) comprises: a temperature sensor [Par.0051 cited: “…cooking utensil 200 has a temperature sensor…”]; and a wireless communication module configured to communicate with the cooktop appliance (electric stove 100, figs.1,3) [Par.0051 cited: “…wireless power supply unit or transmitter unit 190 may be configured to supply wireless DC power to the cooking utensil in order that the status of the cooking utensil 200 may be sent to the electric stove wirelessly. In this connection, the cooking utensil 200 has a sensing unit to sense the state thereof…”].
Regarding claim 16, Seo discloses
the remote signal comprises a noise output from the temperature sensor [Par.0051 cited: “…cooking utensil 200 has a temperature sensor…”] in response to the initiation of the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0048 cited: “…user voices words “turn off”, “heat up”, “heat down”, “turn on a hood”, or “turn off a hood”, the audio interface 180 senses and recognize the words to form signals and send the signals to the main control unit 110 to control the operations of the stove correspondingly…”].
Regarding claim 17, Seo discloses
emitting a notification that the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.1) has been paired with the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0063 cited: “…display of the electric stove may display the image of the food to be injected into the pot. Alternatively, the mobile device can may display the image of the food to be injected into the pot…”].
Regarding claim 18, Seo discloses
the operation further comprises: initiating a closed loop cooking operation () after pairing the first cookware item (cooking utensil 200, fig.2) with the first induction element (heating unit 120, fig.3) [Par.0049 cited: “…weight sensor 161 is used to measure the weight of the contents in the container when the cooking utensil is put on the heating region to load on the weight sensor 161…”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shan et al. (US 20130320000 A1) is a relevant prior art in field of a cooktop device, as shown in figs.1-2, with an induction coil, a power supply, an inverter, an user interface, and a controller, but the controller cannot perform the step of receiving a remote signal from a first cookware item…, pairing the first cookware item with the first induction element…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
06/29/2026