DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 5/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12, 16-21 and 24-25 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-15 and 22-23 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16, 18, 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirk (GB 2086790).
Regarding claim 1, Krik teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figure 1) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (10 on right, see Figure 1) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head (portion of the cartridge),
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue with the razor cartridge during insertion into the razor cartridge (abstract), and
a push-button (4) integrally formed with a hinge (right 6, see Figures 1-2, at least when the parts are assembled), wherein the hinge is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position about an axis of rotation (vertical axis extends though the vertical axis of 12) that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis (from tip of 14 to 4 along the longitudinal center of 14, see Figure 1-2), wherein the push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from the first position to the second position upon actuation (see Figures 1-2),
and wherein rotation of the hinge from the first position to the second position is
configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Krik teaches the tongue is configured to allow pivotable movement of the razor cartridge relative to the razor handle (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Krik teaches the push button is connected to the hinge by a strut (12, see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Krik teaches the hinge is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector upon actuation of the push-button by pushing the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge out of the at least one interlocking feature (the opening of 10, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Krik teaches the hinge is configured to push the at least one interlocking part out of the at least one interlocking feature by moving the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge in distal direction relative to the at least one interlocking feature; or, wherein the hinge is configured to push the at least one interlocking part out of the at least one interlocking feature by moving the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge in the distal direction and away from a proximal-distal razor connector axis relative to the at least one interlocking feature (the opening of 10s, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Krik teaches the push button moves from a proximal position to a distal position upon actuation (the opening of 10s, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Krik teaches the push-button is connected to an elastic structure (left 6, see Figures 1-2) configured to exert a biasing force on the push-button to return the push-button from a distal position to a proximal position, wherein the elastic structure comprises one or more circular arcs (see Figures 1-2), and wherein the push-button and the elastic structure are integrally formed (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Krik teaches a protrusion (left 10) is configured to preload the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (preloaded by left 6, see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Krik teaches the hinge comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (left and right 6), wherein the first hinge and the second hinge are disposed opposing one another, and wherein a proximal-distal razor connector axis is disposed between the first hinge and the second hinge (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Krik teaches the at least one interlocking feature is positioned on a bottom side of the receiving head (at least when the device is positioned with the interlocking feature in the bottom side), wherein the razor connector further comprises at least one protrusion located adjacent to the bottom side of the receiving head (see Figures 1-2), wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be in contact with the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (tip of 10, abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Krik teaches the razor connector comprises a plurality of layers (layer at the right and left of 14), wherein the plurality of layers are substantially parallel to each other (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Krik teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 1-2) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (right 10) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head,
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue during insertion into the razor cartridge (see Figures 1-12), and
a push-button (4) integrally formed with a push-element (6), wherein the push-element is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position about an axis of rotation (vertical axis extends though the vertical axis of 12) that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis (from tip of 14 to 4 along the longitudinal center of 14, see Figure 1-2), wherein the push-button is configured to move the push-element from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 1-2),
wherein movement of the push-element from the first position to the second position is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (See Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Krik teaches he push-element is configured to preload the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (preloaded by left 6, see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Krik teaches a spring (8) connected to the tongue, wherein the spring is configured to allow the tongue to move along a proximal-distal razor connector axis (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Krik teaches at least one protrusion located adjacent to the bottom side of the receiving head, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to improve release of the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Krik teaches the elastic structure comprises one or more circular arcs (coiled shaped, see Figure 2).
Claims 1, 2, 10, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apprille (US 4756082)
Regarding claim 1, Apprille teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 3 and 5) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (16, see Figure 3) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head (space between 28 and 30, see Figure 3),
a tongue (64) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue with the razor cartridge during insertion into the razor cartridge (abstract), and
a push-button (66) integrally formed with a hinge (hinge spring for 16 and 18, see Figures 3 and 6, at least when the parts are assembled), wherein the hinge is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position about an axis of rotation (vertical axis in Figure 1) that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis (left to right axis in Figure 1), wherein the push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 3 and 6),
and wherein rotation of the hinge from the first position to the second position is
configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Apprille teaches the tongue is configured to allow pivotable movement of the razor cartridge relative to the razor handle (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Apprille teaches the at least one interlocking feature is positioned on a bottom side of the receiving head (at least when the device is positioned with the interlocking feature in the bottom side), wherein the razor connector further comprises at least one protrusion (14/16) located adjacent to the bottom side of the receiving head, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to be in contact with the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Apprille teaches at least one interlocking feature is a substantially T-shaped recess (see the empty shape made by 30 and 28, see Figures 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 16, Apprille teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 1-2) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (right 10) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head,
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue during insertion into the razor cartridge (see Figures 1-2), and
a push-button (66) integrally formed with a push-element (tip of 66 that interact with 16 and 14, see Figures 2 and 5), wherein the push-element is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position about an axis of rotation (vertical axis in Figure 1) that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis (left to right axis in Figure 1), wherein the push-button is configured to move the push-element from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 3 and 6),
wherein movement of the push-element from the first position to the second position is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (See Figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 17, Apprille teaches the push element push-element comprises a first push-element and a second push-element, wherein the first push-element and the second push-element are disposed parallel to one another, and wherein a proximal-distal razor connector axis is disposed between the first push-element and the second push-element (the top and bottom tip of 66 that interact with 16 and 14, see Figures 2 and 5).
Claims 1 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blatter (US 7526869 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Blatter teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figure 1) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (420, see Figure 5) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head (portion of the cartridge),
a tongue (430) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue with the razor cartridge during insertion into the razor cartridge (see Figure 3), and
a push-button (side of 410) integrally formed with a hinge (base pivoting point of 410 , see Figures 1-2), wherein the hinge is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position (biasing movement during the insertion into the cartridge) about an axis of rotation (left and right axis in Figure 8) that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis (from tip of 430 along the longitudinal center of 430, see Figure 8), wherein the push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from the first position to the second position upon actuation (see Figures 1-2),
and wherein rotation of the hinge from the first position to the second position is
configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, Blatter teaches wherein the proximal distal razor connector axis runs centrically through the razor connector, and wherein the hinge is connected to the receiving head at a connection shoulder (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 25, Blatter teaches a second push-button integrally formed with the hinge (side surface of 412), wherein the push-button is connected to the hinge by a first strut (410), wherein the second push-button is connected to the hinge by a second strut (412), and wherein the second push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from the first position to the second position upon actuation (see Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirk (GB 2086790) in view of Gillette (GB 1523377 A).
Regarding claim 12, Krik teaches a razor connector according to claim 1.
Krik fails to clearly teaches a razor cartridge, wherein the razor cartridge is releasably attached to the razor connector.
Gillette teaches a razor cartridge, wherein the razor cartridge is releasably attached to the razor connector (see Figures 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Krik to used the razor cartridge of Gillette, in order to make complete shaving razor (lines 5-20 of Krik and see Figures 6-7 of Gillette).
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirk (GB 2086790) in view of Chatzigrigoriou (US 20220227016 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Krik teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 20 stated above.
Krik fails to teach the receiving head is made of a first polymer, wherein the tongue is made of a second polymer, and wherein the second polymer has a lower modulus of elasticity than the first polymer.
Chatzigrigoriou teaches different part of the shaving device with different polymers (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Krik to change the material which makes the portions of the device, in order to provide a suitable material for the device (abstract of Chatzigrigoriou), which includes the level of modulus of elasticity for each material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Kirk and Apprille fails to teach “the hinge is configured to rotate from a first position to a second position about an axis of rotation that is substantially perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis”. Examiner disagrees and notes that Kirk teaches a pivotable rotation as the hinge move forward, thus meeting the limitation and Apprille teaches a similar rotation movement. The Examiner do notes that the rotation axis in the application is parallel to the pivotal axis of the cartridge, while at the same time being perpendicular to a proximal-distal razor connector axis, however the current claim does not make such requirement, therefore the teaching of Kirk and Apprille meets the limitation.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 5/29/2026