DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/17/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 16-23 remain pending in the application. Claims 13-15 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 16, 18, 20 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirk (GB 2086790).
Regarding claim 1, Krik teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figure 1) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (10 on right, see Figure 1) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head (portion of the cartridge),
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue with the razor cartridge during insertion into the razor cartridge (abstract), and
a push-button (4) integrally formed with a hinge (right 6, see Figures 1-2, at least when the parts are assembled), wherein the push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 1-2),
and wherein rotation of the hinge from the first position to the second position is
configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Krik teaches the tongue is configured to allow pivotable movement of the razor cartridge relative to the razor handle (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Krik teaches the push button is connected to the hinge by a strut (12, see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Krik teaches the hinge is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector upon actuation of the push-button by pushing the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge out of the at least one interlocking feature (the opening of 10, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Krik teaches the hinge is configured to push the at least one interlocking part out of the at least one interlocking feature by moving the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge in distal direction relative to the at least one interlocking feature; or, wherein the hinge is configured to push the at least one interlocking part out of the at least one interlocking feature by moving the at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge in the distal direction and away from a proximal-distal razor connector axis relative to the at least one interlocking feature (the opening of 10s, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Krik teaches the push button moves from a proximal position to a distal position upon actuation (the opening of 10s, see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Krik teaches the push-button is connected to an elastic structure (left 6, see Figures 1-2) configured to exert a biasing force on the push-button to return the push-button from a distal position to a proximal position, and wherein the push-button and the elastic structure are integrally formed.
Regarding claim 8, Krik teaches a protrusion (left 10) is configured to preload the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (preloaded by left 6, see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Krik teaches the hinge comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (left and right 6), wherein the first hinge and the second hinge are disposed opposing one another, and wherein a proximal-distal razor connector axis is disposed between the first hinge and the second hinge (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Krik teaches the at least one interlocking feature is positioned on a bottom side of the receiving head (at least when the device is positioned with the interlocking feature in the bottom side).
Regarding claim 11, Krik teaches the razor connector comprises a plurality of layers (layer at the right and left of 14), wherein the plurality of layers are substantially parallel to each other (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Krik teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 1-2) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (right 10) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head,
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue during insertion into the razor cartridge (see Figures 1-12), and
a push-button (4) integrally formed with a push-element (6), wherein the push-button is configured to move the push-element from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 1-2),
wherein movement of the push-element from the first position to the second position is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (See Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Krik teaches he push-element is configured to preload the razor cartridge when the razor cartridge is connected to the razor connector (preloaded by left 6, see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Krik teaches a spring (8) connected to the tongue, wherein the spring is configured to allow the tongue to move along a proximal-distal razor connector axis (see Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 22, Krik teaches at least one protrusion located adjacent to the bottom side of the receiving head, wherein the at least one protrusion is configured to improve release of the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 23, Krik teaches the elastic structure comprises one or more circular arcs (coiled shaped, see Figure 2).
Claims 1, 2, 10, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Apprille (US 4756082)
Regarding claim 1, Apprille teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 3 and 5) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (16, see Figure 3) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head (space between 28 and 30, see Figure 3),
a tongue (64) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue with the razor cartridge during insertion into the razor cartridge (abstract), and
a push-button (66) integrally formed with a hinge (hinge spring for 16 and 18, see Figures 3 and 6, at least when the parts are assembled), wherein the push-button is configured to rotate the hinge from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 3 and 6),
and wherein rotation of the hinge from the first position to the second position is
configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 2, Apprille teaches the tongue is configured to allow pivotable movement of the razor cartridge relative to the razor handle (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Apprille teaches the at least one interlocking feature is positioned on a bottom side of the receiving head (at least when the device is positioned with the interlocking feature in the bottom side).
Regarding claim 19, Apprille teaches at least one interlocking feature is a substantially T-shaped recess (see the empty shape made by 30 and 28, see Figures 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 16, Apprille teaches a razor connector configured to connect a razor cartridge to a razor handle (see Figures 1-2) comprising:
at least one interlocking feature (right 10) configured to interlock with at least one interlocking part of the razor cartridge,
a receiving head,
a tongue (14) connected to a proximal end of the receiving head, wherein the receiving head is configured to align the tongue during insertion into the razor cartridge (see Figures 1-2), and
a push-button (66) integrally formed with a push-element (tip of 66 that interact with 16 and 14, see Figures 2 and 5), wherein the push-button is configured to move the push-element from a first position to a second position upon actuation (see Figures 3 and 6),
wherein movement of the push-element from the first position to the second position is configured to disconnect the razor cartridge from the razor connector (See Figures 1-6).
Regarding claim 17, Apprille teaches the push element push-element comprises a first push-element and a second push-element, wherein the first push-element and the second push-element are disposed parallel to one another, and wherein a proximal-distal razor connector axis is disposed between the first push-element and the second push-element (the top and bottom tip of 66 that interact with 16 and 14, see Figures 2 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirk (GB 2086790) in view of Gillette (GB 1523377 A).
Regarding claim 12, Krik teaches a razor connector according to claim 1.
Krik fails to clearly teaches a razor cartridge, wherein the razor cartridge is releasably attached to the razor connector.
Gillette teaches a razor cartridge, wherein the razor cartridge is releasably attached to the razor connector (see Figures 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Krik to used the razor cartridge of Gillette, in order to make complete shaving razor (lines 5-20 of Krik and see Figures 6-7 of Gillette).
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirk (GB 2086790) in view of Chatzigrigoriou (US 20220227016 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Krik teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 20 stated above.
Krik fails to teach the receiving head is made of a first polymer, wherein the tongue is made of a second polymer, and wherein the second polymer has a lower modulus of elasticity than the first polymer.
Chatzigrigoriou teaches different part of the shaving device with different polymers (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Krik to change the material which makes the portions of the device, in order to provide a suitable material for the device (abstract of Chatzigrigoriou), which includes the level of modulus of elasticity for each material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 16-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 2/11/2026