DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because some of the drawings are not legible or do not contain SEQ ID NOs.
Figures 16 and 17 do not have a SEQ ID NO for every sequence. Even if sequences are repeated in the same figure, they must be labeled with the SEQ ID NO.
Figure 19 is blurry and the text is not legible.
Sequence Compliance
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. Figures 16 and 17 contain sequences that are not identified by a SEQ ID NO.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 4 March 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement for an election of species is withdrawn.
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it recites a “use” of the of the kit in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16 are indefinite because they recite a ligating step and it is not clear from the claim what is achieved at this step. The step does not state what is ligated. Claims 2-8 and 17 are included as they do not remedy the rejection.
Claims 3 and 4 recite the limitation "intramolecular ligation products" and claim 1 only recites ligation products. It is not clear if these are the same ligation products. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 is indefinite because it is not clear what the step is achieving because the adapters are only introduced to the mixture. It is also not clear what the adapter is or if it binds to a specific component in the mixture.
Claims 8 and 17 are indefinite because they state the linker oligonucleotide comprises [B]x and [C]y and then states X and Y can be 0 or 1. If they are both 0 there is only a constant region and the probe will not bind to the target nucleic acid. Furthermore, if Y is 0 there will also not be any binding to the target nucleic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tamminen et al. (WO 2019/038372 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Tamminen et al. teach a method of accurate and massively parallel quantification of a nucleic acid. Tamminen et al. teach providing a probe for each target nucleotide in a sample. (claim 1). Tamminen et al. teach a first probe, second probe, and bridge sequence wherein the probes comprise bridge sequences, an optional barcode sequence and a sequence specific to the target. (claim 1). Tamminen et al. teach contacting the target nucleotide sequences with the probes and the bridge oligo which extends the probe attached to the target. (claim 1). Tamminen et al. additionally teach extending the bridge oligo to fill any gaps between the bridge and the probe. [0038, vii]. Tamminen et al. teach self-annealing to form ligation products. (claim 1, 00107). Tamminen et al. teach introducing primers that are complimentary to the constant region of the probe. [0040, figure 7]. Tamminen et al. teach amplifying the ligation product. (figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, Tamminen et al. teach sequencing the ligation product. (see figure 7 for example).
Regarding claim 3, Tamminen et al. teach a single extended probe-target nucleic acid complex. (claim 1, figure 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the instant specification identifies “inverse PCR” as a type of PCR that proceeds from primers that are on the probe because they are known and the target sequence is not known. (see paragraphs 230-231). Tamminen et al. teach primers that are universal [0040] and target the probe [00100].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Tamminen et al. teach figure 2A with a probe with a region that is complementary to the bridge oligo (202), an identifier region (206), and a portion that bind the target (208). Tamminen teach the bridge is 3’ to 5’ (224-226). Tamminen et al. teach the constant region is 15-25 bases, the identifier region is 10-20 bases, unique region is 15-30 bases, and the bridge is at least 15-25 bases. [00100-102].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamminen et al. (WO 2019/038372 A1).
The teachings of Tamminen et al. are applied to claim 4 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-8, 16, and 17 above under 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Tamminen et al. does not teach wherein the one or more ligation products is formed from two or more extended probe-target nucleic acid molecule complexes. Tamminen et al. does teach that the probe comprising a bridge has an overhang that binds to a constant region allowing them to bind to any constant region. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to link multiple ligation products together to identify multiple targets.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MINDY G BROWN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683