DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on April 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rizk (US 4,546,530) in view of Merhi, et al. (US 2015/0308096).
In reference to Claim 1, Rizk discloses two story structure (9:5-6) (a building module used for constructing a modular multi-storey building), the fabrication happens at an assembly site (Abstract) (the building module being fabricated at an off-site location to an installation location), a poured concrete floor (8:35-40, 9:15-17, Examiner is interpreting this “support” to meet the claimed “suspended”) (the building module comprising a precast concrete floor and a permanent outer wall fixed at a side edge of the floor so that the outer wall is suspended by the concrete floor to extend vertically upward and defines part of a facade of the building); subsections are brought to a final assembly site (18:1-4) (wherein when the building module is installed at the installation location),
Merhi discloses the wall and flooring together with supporting ([0115], [0119], Fig. 6A, Examiner is interpreting this “support” to meet the claimed “suspended”) (the outer wall being suspended by the floor to extend laterally and upwardly from the side edge of the floor by a connection partially embedded along the side edge such that the connection bears the load of the outer wall at the side edge during transportation from the off-site location to the installation location); the operators can be safely positioned within the building structure behind guard rails while securing the outer wall panels ([0142]) (the outer wall forms an external safety barrier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the structure of Rizk using the support of Merhi because the steel perimeter beams suspend the wall for lightweight properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the structure of Rizk using the safety features of Merhi to reduce the need for scaffolding. The reasonable expectation of success of the structure of Rizk with the connections and safety features of Merhi is a lower cost and safer final product.
In reference to Claim 2, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 1, as described above.
Rizk discloses brackets to connect walls and floors (8:35-40) (the connection comprises a bracket of the outer wall connected to a fixing joint embedded along the side edge of the floor).
In reference to Claim 3, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 1, as described above.
Rizk discloses stud runners and brackets in the wall and floor (8:35-40) (one or more temporary support members are fixed onto the floor).
In reference to Claim 4, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 3, as described above.
Rizk discloses supports which are then removed (16:16-41) (the temporary support member is configured to vertically support at least part of a further building module above the building module at the installation location until the further building module is connected to a permanent support structure that supports the further building module, whereafter the temporary support member is removed).
In reference to Claim 5, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 4, as described above.
Rizk discloses supports that can pivot to be positioned where needed (16:16-41) (the temporary support member has a tripod support structure).
In reference to Claim 6, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 3, as described above.
Rizk discloses using a jack and connector pins to align floors with supports (17:35-47) (the temporary support member includes a locator provided on the temporary support member to assist in correctly locating the further building module above the building module).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 1, as described above.
Rizk discloses stud runners in the concrete floor (8:35-43) (the precast concrete floor is a concrete slab precast with reinforcement).
In reference to Claim 8, modified Rizk discloses the building module of Claim 1, as described above.
Rizk discloses the concrete beams (8:35-45) (the precast concrete floor is a concrete slab precast with integrally formed concrete beams).
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742