DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 20150077058 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches a charging method comprising: obtaining a target charging current, (¶0079 “[FIG 3] controller 210 of the external electric device 200 to allow the charger 220 to charge the battery cell 110 with the first constant current (S11)”, ¶0074 “[FIG 2] controller 166 may operate the switch driver 162 or may transmit information about a target charge voltage (Vset) and/or a target charge current (Iset) of the battery cell 110 or the idle period (t) to the external electric device 200 through the communication terminals C and D”)
wherein the target charging current is provided to a battery by an external power supply; (¶0076 “[FIG 2] AC adapter 230 for converting AC power to DC power and transmitting the converted power to the charger 220 may be coupled to the charger 220”)
determining a target value based on the target charging current; (¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16) (e.g. the predetermined first reference current)”)
and configuring a target parameter of a charging strategy based on the target value, wherein the charging strategy controls charging of the battery by the external power supply. (¶0084 “controller 166 of the battery pack updates the information about the battery cell 110 (e.g., information about the target charge voltage (Vset) and/or the target charge current (Iset) to then transmit the same to the controller 210”)
Similarly for claim 7 as applied to a charging device. (¶0078 “[FIG 2] AC adapter 230 to the AC power, the operation of the battery charging system 100”)
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to an electronic device comprising: a battery; (Fig 2 battery cell 110)
and a charging chip. (Fig 2 MPU 160)
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches the method of claim 1. Jung further teaches wherein the charging strategy at least includes a constant voltage charging phase, (¶0081 “[FIG 3] controller 210 of the external electric device to control the charger 220, thereby charging the battery cell 110 with a first constant voltage (S14)”)
and the target parameter is a threshold of the constant voltage charging phase. (¶0083 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed charge current of the battery cell 110 reaches a first reference current (S16) (e.g. the predetermined first reference current)”)
Similarly for claim 8, Jung teaches the charging device of claim 7.
Similarly for claim 14, Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 13.
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches the method of claim 1. Jung wherein obtaining the target charging current includes: obtaining a first charging parameter provided by the external power supply; (¶0076 “external electric device 200 includes a controller 210 and a charger 220. The controller 210 transmits the information about the target charge voltage (Vset) and/or the target charge current (Iset) of the battery cell 110 to the charger 220”)
and determining the target charging current based on the first charging parameter and a target strategy. (¶0079 “controller 166 transmits to the controller 210 of the external electric device 200 the information about the first, second and third reference voltages, the first, second and third reference currents… lookup table for the first and second idle periods for each battery cell voltage stabilizing time (.tau.), and controls the controller 210 of the external electric device 200 to allow the charger 220 to charge the battery cell 110 with the first constant current (S11)”)
Jung ¶0081 further describes the communication between battery controller 160 and external electric device controller 210, where battery controller 160 detects the battery voltage and transmits it to external electric device controller 210 to be compared with a predetermined reference voltage. FIG 3, particularly step S13, compares the battery cell voltage to the reference and determines whether to proceed with the method or continue charging with the current method.
Similarly for claim 9, Jung teaches the charging device of claim 7.
Similarly for claim 15, Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches the method of claim 1. Jung wherein determining the target value based on the target charging current includes: obtaining the target value based on the target charging current (¶0081 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed voltage of the battery cell 110 reaches a predetermined first reference voltage (S13)”)
and a configuration table. (¶0072 “storage unit 164 may store data of the charged capacity relative to voltage of the battery cell 110… First, second and third reference voltages, first, second and third reference currents, a lookup table for the battery cell voltage stabilizing time (.tau.) for each discharge capacity of the battery cell 110”)
Similarly for claim 10, Jung teaches the charging device of claim 7.
Similarly for claim 16, Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 13.
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches the method of claim 1. Jung wherein determining the target value based on the target charging current includes: determining the target value based on the target charging current (¶0081 “[FIG 3] controller 166 of the battery pack determines whether or not the sensed voltage of the battery cell 110 reaches a predetermined first reference voltage (S13)”)
and a calculation strategy. (¶0071 “charge capacity calculation unit 163 calculates a currently charged capacity of the battery cell 110 based on the information obtained from the voltage sensor 161”)
The charge capacity calculation unit 163 uses the voltage measurement as part of it’s calculation strategy, this information is then relayed from controller 166 to external device controller 210 which compares the information with a first reference voltage as seen in FIG 3 step S13.
Similarly for claim 11, Jung teaches the charging device of claim 7.
Similarly for claim 17, Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 13.
Regarding claim 6, Jung teaches the method of claim 1. Jung wherein the calculation strategy includes: charging the battery for a time length satisfying a target time length based on the target charging current; (FIG 1B depicts a time versus current graph which shows applying a charging current for a finite amount of time)
obtaining a first voltage at a first moment in the target time length; (¶0051 “FIG. 1C, the voltage stabilizing time (.tau.) of the battery cell may establish the relationship .tau.3>.tau.2>.tau.1 according to the increase in the voltage (capacity) of the battery cell”, FIG 1C depicts the votlage to be measured at regular time lengths)
and obtaining a second voltage at a second moment different from the first moment in the target time length. (¶0051 “FIG. 1C, the voltage stabilizing time (.tau.) of the battery cell may establish the relationship .tau.3>.tau.2>.tau.1 according to the increase in the voltage (capacity) of the battery cell”, FIG 1C depicts the votlage to be measured at regular time lengths, V1 to V2)
Similarly for claim 12, Jung teaches the charging device of claim 7.
Similarly for claim 18, Jung teaches the electronic device of claim 13.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the configuration table must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Wan et al (US 20210296923 A1) discloses a wireless charging device which applies a target charging current to a battery until it reaches a threshold voltage.
Tian et al (US 20200106286 A1) discloses a quick charging method which applies a constant current to charge a battery until it reaches a cutoff voltage.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859