DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the reply filed on 03/05/2026
This action is MADE FINAL. Please see response to arguments section for further details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2021 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §02
The Iyer injector blocks do not include transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system (TL-FACTS) based impedance injection units.
The Iyer injector block does not include "a plurality of transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system (TL-FACTS) based impedance injection units (IIUs) connected in series" to collectively inject impedance into the HV transmission line 108 as specified by claim 1.
Therefore, for at least the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully submitted that independent claim 1 is patentable over Iyer.
Independent claim 11 is also patentable over Iyer, for at least the same reasons given above in connection with claim 1.
(Pages: 6-8)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant's argument that “The Iyer injector block does not include "a plurality of transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system (TL-FACTS) based impedance injection units (IIUs) connected in series,"” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In broadest reasonable interpretation claim describes, TL-FACT system based impedance injection units that injects impedance into the power transmission line; however, there is no particular description of the structure of this system being not including structure of a transformer such as not including any secondary windings for impedance injection. Claim broadly assigns a generic name to the system as “transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system” and then claim broadly recites impedance injection units are TLFACTS based and these impedance injection units are able to inject impedance into the power transmission line. The IIU 600 shown in applicant’s specification figure 6 also includes a transformer 501 windings in the IIU 600. However, Claim doesn’t clearly recite the distinguishing structure of these impedance injection units IIUs not having a transformer structure and not having a secondary winding for impedance injection to the transmission line.
As shown in figure 6 of Iyer structure, injection modules 400 capable of injecting impedance into the high voltage transmission line 610, thus it meets the claim.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, examiner suggests to include the structure of the TL-FACTs system in combination with the IIM and IIUs how they are connected to each other and how it doesn’t include a structure of a general transformer and doesn’t include a transformer secondary windings for impedance injection. For example, the structure of IIU shown in figure 6 of applicant’s specification can be included in the claim with further details describing structure transformer secondary windings is not used for impedance injection.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, they are not persuasive; therefore, the 35 USC § 102 rejections of the independent claims 1 and 11 as set forth in the previous office action are maintained.
(b) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112
Furthermore, claim 1 recites "a protection switch connected in series with the power transmission line and configured to bypass the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs when closed".
Accordingly, in Iyer, the bypass switch 122 is only connected across the secondary winding of the single-turn transformer (STT) 120 to short the secondary winding and prevent injection of inductive impedance into HV transmission 108. (See e.g., Iyer, FIGs. 2, 2A-B). The Iyer bypass switch 122 is not connected in series with HV transmission line 108 and is not configured to bypass the Iyer injector blocks when closed.
Iyer therefore cannot disclose "a protection switch connected in series with the power transmission line and configured to bypass the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs when closed" as specified by claim 1.
Therefore, for at least the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully submitted that independent claim 1 is patentable over Iyer.
Independent claim 11 is also patentable over Iyer, for at least the same reasons given above in connection with claim 1.
(Pages: 8-9)
With respect to (b) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
In response to applicant's argument that “The Iyer bypass switch 122 is not connected in series with HV transmission line 108 and is not configured to bypass the Iyer injector blocks when closed” a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In broadest reasonable interpretation, the protection switch is able to bypass the TLFACTS based IIUs when closed, such that the protection switch prevents the system from injecting impedance. Claim doesn’t provide any particular structural description of how this protection switch is connected to or a part of the IIUs and then how the connection of these IIUs and the protection switch enables the protection switch to bypass the impedance injection to the transmission line.
As described in the previous office action, Iyer bypass switch able to bypass impedance injection into the HV line (zero impedance), and injection modules 400 are series with the transmission line 610 as shown in figure 6.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, according to figure 6C of applicant’s specification, examiners suggests to further clarify the claims to specifically describe how this protective switch 606 is parallel to the series connected IIUs 600 such that shared by these multiple IIUs 600, thus the protective switch 606 is in series with the transmission line 108 and when closed bypasses the multiple IIUs 606. The current claims do not show these features.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, they are not persuasive; therefore, the 35 USC § 102 rejections of the independent claims 1 and 11 as set forth in the previous office action are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-11, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iyer et al. (US20170163245A1) [hereinafter Iyer].
Regarding claim 1:
Iyer discloses, A system for impedance injection into a power transmission line, comprising: [¶51: “injection modules 400 or injection module 500 connected to the HV-transmission-lines.”… ¶49: “400A and 400B of the module to output a portion of the required injectable impedance to control the impedance of the line while enabling the distributed injection module 400 to generate the needed range of injectable impedance (or respective voltage) in a cumulative fashion from the plurality of injector blocks to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108.”];
one or more impedance injection modules (IIMs), each IIM having a plurality of transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system (TL-FACTS) based impedance injection units (IIUs) connected in series, [¶44: “FIG. 4 shows two exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B.” “injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B. The primary winding of these transformers comprise the HV transmission line 108. The secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A and the secondary winding 401B-2 of the injection transformer 401B shown in FIGS. 5A and 5C are electrically isolated from ground and the primary winding but inductively coupled to the primary winding 108 using independent un-gapped cores 407A and 407B as shown in FIG. 5A.”
Examiner notes that Iyer discloses, plurality of IIMs 400, each IIMs having TL-FACTS based injector blocks (IIUs) connected in series as shown in figure 6];
to collectively inject impedance into the power transmission line, [¶51: “the injection modules 400 or injection module 500 connected to the HV-transmission-lines.”… ¶45 “master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection.”… ¶47: “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing”];
wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU comprises a switching device that, when closed, deactivates the TL-FACTS based IIU from the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs; and . [¶45: “the secondary winding circuit of the injector block 400A having the single-turn injection transformer 401A, comprises of a shorting switch 304A” “when over-current conditions exist in the HV transmission line and to provide instruction to the switch 304A to short the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A. This is done in order to protect the power electronic circuits and components connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A from damage due to high voltages and currents.”];
a protection switch connected in series with the power transmission line and configured to bypass the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs when closed. [¶10: “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶11: “enabled the bypass switch 122 to short out the secondary winding and prevent injection of inductive impedance on to the a HV transmission line 108 and also provide protection to the secondary circuits when power surges occur on the HV transmission line.”].
Regarding claim 7:
Iyer discloses, The system of claim 1, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein to bypass the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs when closed, the protection switch is configured to short impedance injection terminals connected in series across the power transmission line. [¶10: “impedance-injection modules (or DSR 100) are directly attached to the power conductor on the HV transmission line 108, and hence form the primary winding of the DSR 100 with a secondary winding having a bypass switch that, when open, inject an inductive impedance on to the line for distributed control.” “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶11: “Secondary winding 134 and 136 encircles the two split-core sections 132 and enabled the bypass switch 122 to short out the secondary winding and prevent injection of inductive impedance on to the a HV transmission line 108 and also provide protection to the secondary circuits when power surges occur on the HV transmission line.”].
Regarding claim 10:
Iyer discloses, The system of claim 1, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein the protection switch is rated for higher current and voltage than the switching device. [¶10: “impedance-injection modules (or DSR 100) are directly attached to the power conductor on the HV transmission line 108, and hence form the primary winding of the DSR 100 with a secondary winding having a bypass switch that, when open, inject an inductive impedance on to the line for distributed control.” “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶45: “the secondary winding circuit of the injector block 400A having the single-turn injection transformer 401A, comprises of a shorting switch 304A” “when over-current conditions exist in the HV transmission line and to provide instruction to the switch 304A to short the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A. This is done in order to protect the power electronic circuits and components connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A from damage due to high voltages and currents.”
Examiner notes that, Iyer teaches protection switch at high voltage line 108 that is rated at higher voltage, current to handle higher voltage, current from HV transmission line 108].
Regarding claim 11:
Iyer discloses, An impedance injection module, comprising: a plurality of transformer-less flexible alternating current transmission system (TL- FACTS) based impedance injection units (IIUs) connected in series, [¶44: “FIG. 4 shows two exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B.” “injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B. The primary winding of these transformers comprise the HV transmission line 108. The secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A and the secondary winding 401B-2 of the injection transformer 401B shown in FIGS. 5A and 5C are electrically isolated from ground and the primary winding but inductively coupled to the primary winding 108 using independent un-gapped cores 407A and 407B as shown in FIG. 5A.”
Examiner notes that Iyer discloses, plurality of IIMs 400, each IIMs having TL-FACTS based injector blocks (IIUs) connected in series as shown in figure 6];
to collectively inject impedance into a power transmission line, [¶51: “the injection modules 400 or injection module 500 connected to the HV-transmission-lines.”… ¶45 “master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection.”… ¶47: “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing”];
wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU comprises a switching device that, when closed, deactivates the TL-FACTS based IIU from the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs; [¶45: “the secondary winding circuit of the injector block 400A having the single-turn injection transformer 401A, comprises of a shorting switch 304A” “when over-current conditions exist in the HV transmission line and to provide instruction to the switch 304A to short the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A. This is done in order to protect the power electronic circuits and components connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A from damage due to high voltages and currents.”];
wherein the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs are bypassed when a protection switch connected in series with the power transmission line is closed. [¶10: “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶11: “enabled the bypass switch 122 to short out the secondary winding and prevent injection of inductive impedance on to the a HV transmission line 108 and also provide protection to the secondary circuits when power surges occur on the HV transmission line.”].
Regarding claim 17:
Iyer discloses, The impedance injection module of claim 11, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein to bypass the plurality of TL-FACTS based IIUs when closed, the protection switch is configured to short impedance injection terminals connected in series across the power transmission line. [¶10: “impedance-injection modules (or DSR 100) are directly attached to the power conductor on the HV transmission line 108, and hence form the primary winding of the DSR 100 with a secondary winding having a bypass switch that, when open, inject an inductive impedance on to the line for distributed control.” “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶11: “Secondary winding 134 and 136 encircles the two split-core sections 132 and enabled the bypass switch 122 to short out the secondary winding and prevent injection of inductive impedance on to the a HV transmission line 108 and also provide protection to the secondary circuits when power surges occur on the HV transmission line.”].
Regarding claim 20:
Iyer discloses, The impedance injection module of claim 11, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein the protection switch is rated for higher current and voltage than the switching device. [¶10: “impedance-injection modules (or DSR 100) are directly attached to the power conductor on the HV transmission line 108, and hence form the primary winding of the DSR 100 with a secondary winding having a bypass switch that, when open, inject an inductive impedance on to the line for distributed control.” “When the secondary winding is shorted by the bypass switch, the DSR 100 is in a protection mode and injects substantially zero impedance on to the HV line.”… ¶45: “the secondary winding circuit of the injector block 400A having the single-turn injection transformer 401A, comprises of a shorting switch 304A” “when over-current conditions exist in the HV transmission line and to provide instruction to the switch 304A to short the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A. This is done in order to protect the power electronic circuits and components connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A from damage due to high voltages and currents.”
Examiner notes that, Iyer teaches protection switch at high voltage line 108 that is rated at higher voltage, current to handle higher voltage, current from HV transmission line 108].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 2-6, 9, 12-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer and further in view of POWELL et al. (US20020011752A1) [hereinafter POWELL].
Regarding claim 2:
Iyer discloses, The system of claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises electronic switches connected in parallel with the switching device to create a net switching speed faster than a switching speed of the switching device. [¶43: “During normal operation, AC power passes through a naturally commutated fast utility disconnect 502. The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b connected in anti-parallel. In a three phase system, each phase of the fast utility disconnect would comprise a pair of anti-parallel-connected SCRs.”
Examiner notes that, POWELL teaches SCR (silicon controlled rectifier) switches parallel to the switch that have faster switching capability than the switch].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the electronic switches connected in parallel with the switching device to create a net switching speed faster than a switching speed of the switching device in order to have faster switching capabilities to disconnect the unwanted input as soon as possible taught by POWELL with the each TL-FACTS based IIU of Iyer with the system taught by Iyer as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have faster switching capabilities to disconnect the unwanted input as soon as possible [POWELL ¶41: “A fast-utility-disconnect may be used in place of the common utility disconnect switch. The fast utility disconnect is a solid state static switch that rapidly disconnects the faulted input”].
Regarding claim 3:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The system of claim 2, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises: a plurality of FACTS devices; [¶44: “The exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B.”];
a direct current (DC) power source connected to the FACTS devices; [¶44: “provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.”];
wherein the DC power source provides energy to the power transmission line and is controlled by the FACTS devices to create an injected impedance. [¶47: “The sensor and power supply module 503 is also enabled to extract power from the line and provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.” “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing”… ¶45 “master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection.”].
Regarding claim 4:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The system of claim 2, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises: a plurality of FACTS devices; [¶44: “The exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B.”];
a direct current (DC) power source connected to the FACTS devices; [¶44: “provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein the DC power source is charged by current flow through diodes protecting the FACTS devices when impedance injection is not required. [¶20: “A charger 102 or “4-quadrant converter” converts AC power from input 101 to DC power to charge battery 103.” “Normally inverter 104 is operating in the stand by mode, keeping the battery 103 charged.”].
Regarding claim 5:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The system of claim 4, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises a master controller configured to control the switching device,… the plurality of FACTS devices, [¶47: “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing.”… ¶45: “A master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection. The master controller 408 also provides the capability for the module containing the plurality of injection blocks for communicating to the outside world as well as other distributed modules, to provide status and control information. The communication capability is also used for external control and configuration of the module.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL further discloses, configured to control…the electronic switches, and charging rate of the DC power source. [¶43: “During normal operation, AC power passes through a naturally commutated fast utility disconnect 502. The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b connected in anti-parallel. In a three phase system, each phase of the fast utility disconnect would comprise a pair of anti-parallel-connected SCRs.”… ¶32: “The amplitude and phase of the main inverter 406 can be controlled as to maintain the desired state of charge on the battery”].
Regarding claim 6:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The system of claim 5, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein to control the charging rate of the DC power source, the master controller is configured to change states of the electronic switches from open to conducting. [¶32: “The amplitude and phase of the main inverter 406 can be controlled as to maintain the desired state of charge on the battery”… ¶20: “Normally inverter 104 is operating in the stand by mode, keeping the battery 103 charged. If the utility power goes out of tolerance, inverter 104 powers the load, drawing energy from the battery 103.”
Examiner notes that, POWELL discloses, charging and discarding capability of power source; one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that in the charging state, the charging switch is closed to conduct state to be able to charge the dc power source].
Regarding claim 9:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The system of claim 2, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein the electronic switches are back-to-back silicon- controlled rectifiers. [¶4: “switches” “such as thyristors—Silicon Controlled Rectifiers (SCRs),”… ¶43: “The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b”
POWELL, fig. 5, back-to-back SRCs 502a and 502b].
Regarding claim 12:
Iyer discloses, The impedance injection module of claim 11, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises electronic switches connected in parallel with the switching device to create a net switching speed faster than a switching speed of the switching device. [¶43: “During normal operation, AC power passes through a naturally commutated fast utility disconnect 502. The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b connected in anti-parallel. In a three phase system, each phase of the fast utility disconnect would comprise a pair of anti-parallel-connected SCRs.”
Examiner notes that, POWELL teaches SCR (silicon controlled rectifier) switches parallel to the switch that have faster switching capability than the switch].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of POWELL with the each TL-FACTS based IIU of Iyer with the system taught by Iyer as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The impedance injection module of claim 12, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises: a plurality of FACTS devices; [¶44: “The exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B.”];
a direct current (DC) power source connected to the FACTS devices; [¶44: “provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.”];
wherein the DC power source provides energy to the power transmission line and is controlled by the FACTS devices to create an injected impedance. [¶47: “The sensor and power supply module 503 is also enabled to extract power from the line and provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.” “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing”… ¶45 “master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection.”].
Regarding claim 14:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The impedance injection module of claim 12, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises: a plurality of FACTS devices; [¶44: “The exemplary injector blocks 400A and 400B are shown, each having a single turn of primary winding transformer 401A and 401B.”];
a direct current (DC) power source connected to the FACTS devices; [¶44: “provide the DC supply voltages needed by the power-electronics circuits connected to the secondary winding 401A-2 of the injection transformer 401A.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein the DC power source is charged by current flow through diodes protecting the FACTS devices when impedance injection is not required. [¶20: “A charger 102 or “4-quadrant converter” converts AC power from input 101 to DC power to charge battery 103.” “Normally inverter 104 is operating in the stand by mode, keeping the battery 103 charged.”].
Regarding claim 15:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The impedance injection module of claim 14, and
Iyer further discloses, wherein each TL-FACTS based IIU further comprises a master controller configured to control the switching device,… the plurality of FACTS devices, [¶47: “The master controller 508 provides the needed control instructions to the power converter 405A to generate the needed injection voltages to be impressed on the HV transmission line 108 for line balancing.”… ¶45: “A master control block 408 coordinates and synchronizes the operation of the secondary controllers 406A and 406B to provide the corrective impedance injection. The master controller 408 also provides the capability for the module containing the plurality of injection blocks for communicating to the outside world as well as other distributed modules, to provide status and control information. The communication capability is also used for external control and configuration of the module.”], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
POWELL further discloses, configured to control…the electronic switches, and charging rate of the DC power source. [¶43: “During normal operation, AC power passes through a naturally commutated fast utility disconnect 502. The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b connected in anti-parallel. In a three phase system, each phase of the fast utility disconnect would comprise a pair of anti-parallel-connected SCRs.”… ¶32: “The amplitude and phase of the main inverter 406 can be controlled as to maintain the desired state of charge on the battery”].
Regarding claim 16:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The impedance injection module of claim 15, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein to control the charging rate of the DC power source, the master controller is configured to change states of the electronic switches from open to conducting. [¶32: “The amplitude and phase of the main inverter 406 can be controlled as to maintain the desired state of charge on the battery”… ¶20: “Normally inverter 104 is operating in the stand by mode, keeping the battery 103 charged. If the utility power goes out of tolerance, inverter 104 powers the load, drawing energy from the battery 103.”
Examiner notes that, POWELL discloses, charging and discarding capability of power source; one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that in the charging state, the charging switch is closed to conduct state to be able to charge the dc power source].
Regarding claim 19:
Iyer and POWELL disclose, The impedance injection module of claim 12, and
POWELL further discloses, wherein the electronic switches are back-to-back silicon- controlled rectifiers. [¶4: “switches” “such as thyristors—Silicon Controlled Rectifiers (SCRs),”… ¶43: “The fast utility disconnect is comprised of two silicon controlled rectifiers (“SCRs”) 502 a and 502 b”
POWELL, fig. 5, back-to-back SRCs 502a and 502b].
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer and POWELL and further in view of Couture (US20100176814A1) [hereinafter Couture].
Regarding claim 8:
Iyer discloses, The system of claim 1, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Couture further discloses, wherein the switching device is a vacuum interrupter and the protection switch is a high-voltage vacuum interrupter. [¶156: “first vacuum interrupters 10 associated respectively to three conductors of the phase line, three first controllable motors 12 for selectively opening and closing the three first vacuum interrupters 10, three second vacuum interrupters 14 connected in parallel respectively with the first vacuum interrupters 10, and three second controllable motors 12 for selectively opening and closing the second vacuum interrupters 14.”
Examiner notes that Couture explicitly discloses use of two different vacuum interrupter, and implicitly discloses, use of two vacuum interrupters can be any high/low voltage interrupters, and one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that this is a design choice, and depending on the application, high voltage vacuum interrupters are used where arc voltage requirement is higher, and similarly lower voltage interrupters are used where arc voltage requirements are lower.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the switching device is a vacuum interrupter and the protection switch is a high-voltage vacuum interrupter in order to place the vacuum interrupters in the system based on desired voltage requirements as needed to provide safety and protection to various high/medium/low voltage components taught by Couture with the system taught by Iyer as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to place the vacuum interrupters in the system based on desired voltage requirements as needed to provide safety and protection to various high/medium/low voltage components[Couture ¶190: “The second and third vacuum interrupters are for safety purposes.”].
Regarding claim 18:
Iyer discloses, The impedance injection module of claim 11, but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Couture further discloses, wherein the switching device is a vacuum interrupter and the protection switch is a high-voltage vacuum interrupter. [¶156: “first vacuum interrupters 10 associated respectively to three conductors of the phase line, three first controllable motors 12 for selectively opening and closing the three first vacuum interrupters 10, three second vacuum interrupters 14 connected in parallel respectively with the first vacuum interrupters 10, and three second controllable motors 12 for selectively opening and closing the second vacuum interrupters 14.”
Examiner notes that Couture explicitly discloses use of two different vacuum interrupter, and implicitly discloses, use of two vacuum interrupters can be any high/low voltage interrupters, and one of ordinary skilled in the art will understand that this is a design choice, and depending on the application, high voltage vacuum interrupters are used where arc voltage requirement is higher, and similarly lower voltage interrupters are used where arc voltage requirements are lower.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Couture with the system taught by Iyer as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document mailed on 01/14/2026.
US20170235286A1 - System and Method for Distributed Grid Control with
Sub-Cyclic Local Response Capability:
(abstract): Distributed static synchronous series compensators (DSSSCs) which may also be designated tower routers capable of injecting series inductive or capacitive impedances to enable distributed power-flow control.
US20180138702A1 - Systems and Methods for Voltage Regulation Using
Split-Conductors With Loop Current Reduction:
¶15: A split-conductor electrical-injection power substation uses EIDs to inject voltage and impedance into split-conductors. Splitting the transmission line conductor into multiple, parallel wires reduces the current in each wire, allowing the use of smaller electrical-injection devices in higher current distribution systems.
US20140032148A1 - System and Method for Impedance Measurement
Using Series and Shunt Injection:
A method of impedance measurement in a three-phase alternating current (AC) system. The method comprises injecting a shunt perturbation signal into the three-phase alternating current AC system and collecting a response to the shunt perturbation signal. (¶6)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116