Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 15-20, 39-44 are pending. Claims 1-14, 21-37, are cancelled. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome 112 rejections and objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action notified on 10/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 19, 39, 41-42, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Mitani (US 20070118019).
Regarding claim 15, Mitani discloses an endoscope (electronic endoscope system 1) comprising:
an elongate tubular body (long flexible tube portion 13);
a lumen extending through the elongate tubular body (Portion 13 has a tube; para [0065]);
an elevator portion (Portion where the elevator 32 is disposed; FIG. 1 annotated below) at a distal section of the elongate tubular body and comprising:
an elevator housing (FIG. 2, annotated) disposed at a distal end of the elongate tubular body, the elevator housing including a radially facing window (FIG. 2, annotated);
an elevator (elevator 32; FIGS. 1, 3C; para [0005]) pivotably mounted within the elevator housing (Different tilt angles; FIGS. 28, 29; Para [0073]- [0074]) and configured to position and orient one or more endotherapy tools extending from the lumen (Treatment tool direction is changed by the elevator; Endotherapy tools are not claimed positively) through the window;
a functional module (CCD 24 with camera module; FIG. 2 annotated; Para [0015]) comprising one or more of an illumination unit or an imaging unit (CCD 24), the functional module comprising a functional module housing being detachable from the elevator housing of the elevator portion (The CCD may be disassembled without damaging the frame. FIG. 14B shows the separation of the fixing member 128 and the CCD holding frame 134; Para [0118], [0121]) to separate the one or more of the illumination unit or the imaging unit from the elevator housing and elongate tubular body (Disassembling of the CCD holding frame from the fixing member 128; para [0121]); and
a connection coupling (Note the connection coupling in FIG. 2, annotated, inside the elevator portion.) between the functional module housing and the elevator housing of the elevator portion for communicatively connecting one or more of the illumination unit or the imaging unit to the elevator portion.
Regarding claim 16, Mitani discloses wherein the functional module is positioned longitudinally spaced apart (camera module is longitudinally spaced with the elevator) from the elevator portion in an in-line configuration (A line passing through the elevator and through the camera module can be considered as a refence line for providing an in-line configuration.) such that the functional module is positioned distal of the elevator housing (CCD is distal of the elevator housing; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Mitani discloses wherein the functional module comprises:
an imaging unit passageway (Optical pathway through the objective lenses provide the imaging unit passageway);
an objective lens (FIG. 2 an annotated) coupled to a distal end of the imaging unit passageway;
an illumination unit passageway (Optical pathway through the illumination lenses provide the illumination unit passageway); and
an illumination lens (FIG. 2 coupled) coupled to a distal end of the illumination unit passageway.
Regarding claim 19, Mitani discloses wherein the functional module comprises:
an illumination lens (FIG. 2 as annotated);
an objective lens (FIG. 2 as annotated);
a first coupler (light guide 20 and a coupling between the light guide and illumination lens 21) configured to connect the illumination lens and the light conductor; and
a second coupler (a coupling between the objective lens and signal cable 29; FIG. 2 annotated) configured to connect the objective lens and a cable.
Regarding claim 39, Mitani discloses first coupler (light guide 20 and a coupling between the light guide and illumination lens 21) configured to connect an illumination lens of the functional module and a light conductor extending within the elongate tubular body and the elevator housing; and
a second coupler (a coupling between the objective lens and signal cable 29; FIG. 2 annotated) configured to connect an objective lens of the functional module and a cable extending within the elongate tubular body and the elevator housing.
Regarding claim 41, Mitani discloses wherein the functional module housing is positioned adjacent the elevator housing at a joint line (FIG. 2, annotated; Joint line is not defined).
Regarding claim 42, Mitani discloses a cable (cable 29; FIG. 2) extending from the elongate tubular body and into the elevator housing;
a photosensitive element (CCD 24 of the camera module) positioned within the elevator housing and connected to the cable; and an objective lens (FIG. 2)) positioned in the functional module housing aligned with the photosensitive element across the joint line (CCD has a photo sensitive material along the surface.).
Regarding claim 44, Mitani discloses first an endoscope (electronic endoscope system 1) comprising:
an elongate tubular body (long flexible tube portion 13);
a lumen extending through the elongate tubular body (Portion 13 has a tube; para [0065]);
an elevator portion (Portion where the elevator 32 is disposed; FIG. 1 annotated below) at a distal section of the elongate tubular body comprising an elevator configured to position and orient one or more endotherapy tools extending from the lumen;
a functional module (CCD 24 with camera module; FIG. 2 annotated; Para [0015]) comprising a first lens (FIG. 2) for an illumination unit and a second lens for an imaging unit (lenses 21, 22);
a cable (signal cable 29) extending from the elongate tubular body into the functional module; and
a connection coupling (FIG. 2, annotated) between the functional module and the elevator portion for communicatively connecting the cable with the first lens and the second lens, wherein the connection coupling forms a joint line (A line is formed at the interface CCD and the elevator portion) between the elevator portion and the functional module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani (US 20070118019) in view of Grant (US 20140221749).
Regarding claim 18, Mitani discloses wherein the camera module comprises:
a photosensitive element (CCD 24 of the camera module);
an objective lens (FIG. 2) coupled to the photosensitive element;
a light source (An illumination lens that emits illumination light. FIG. 2; Para [0010]);
an illumination lens coupled to the light source (a light source device 3; Illumination lens; FIG. 2 annotated).
Mitani does not expressly disclose a wireless communication device.
Grant is directed to endoscope and a pannable camera (abstract) and teaches a wireless communication device (The connection may include wired communications between a controller in the base unit and a memory chip in the endoscope 10, or, for example wireless communications using an RFID device mounted in the endoscope 10. Para [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitani to include a communication between the endoscope and an external device so that image signals or identification information of the endoscope could be transferred to an external device wirelessly.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitani (US 20070118019) in view of Benjamin (US 20140205235).
Regarding claim 40, Mitani does not expressly disclose wherein the first coupler and the second coupler comprise magnetic couplers.
Benjamin is directed to Optical connections for optical communication (abstract) and teaches wherein the first coupler and the second coupler comprise magnetic couplers (An optical connection includes a lens block having an optical interface portion that defines an in-line optical path without an optical turn for optical signals propagating through the lens block, and a magnetic coupling portion disposed about at least a portion of the lens block. Abstract; Magnetic coupling portion 162; magnetic coupling portion 122. lens block 124; module 164; FIGS. 6A-7; Para [0047]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitani to include a magnetic coupling for connection/alignment between the illumination lenses and functional module, and objective and lens and functional module so that alignment between the lenses and module could be defined and conveniently provided during manufacturing of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 2/27/2026 have been fully considered. However, the arguments are not persuasive.
On page 12, lines 7-9, of the argument/remarks applicant argues that “Mitani does not disclose a functional section housing that is releasably connected to an elevator housing to allow the illumination/imaging unit to be separated from the elevator housing”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons stated below.
The fixing member 128 and the CCD holding frame 134 can be separated. See FIGS. 14B-15B; Para [0122] of Mitani. Since the CCD holding frame 134 can be separated from the fixing member 128, the illumination/imaging unit can be separated from the elevator housing.
Accordingly, the applicants’ arguments are persuasive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 20
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, an endoscope wherein the functional module is user-detachable from the elevator portion via an attachment mechanism, wherein the attachment mechanism comprises:
at least one locking tab extending from one of the functional modules or the elevator portion; and a recess provided in the other of the functional module or the elevator portion not having the at least one locking tab; wherein the at least one locking tab is actuatable by a user to attach or remove the camera functional module from the elevator portion, along with the remaining features of claims 20, 15.
The closest art Mitani (US 20070118019) teaches a functional module (CCD 24), but its functional module CCD 24, FIG. 2, could not be modified to have the above feature of claim 20.
Accordingly, claim 20 is allowed.
Claim 43
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, an endoscope, wherein a first light conductor extending from the elongate tubular body and into the elevator housing; and a second light conductor positioned within the functional module housing aligned with the first light conductor across the joint line, along with the remaining features of claim 43, 41, 16, and 15.
The closest art Mitani (US 20070118019 could not be modified to achieve/have the above feature of claim 43 because there is no need for a second light conductor positioned within the functional module housing because the functional module of Mitani communicates via electrical signals not with optical signal that travel through a waveguide.
Accordingly, claim 43 is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 04/18/26