Status of the Claims
This FINAL action is in response to Applicant’s amendment of 19 November 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Objections and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) and 101 as set forth in the office action of 19 August 2025 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b) and 101 as set forth in the office action of 19 August 2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the Double Patenting rejection as set forth in the office action of 19 August 2025 have been considered and are NOT persuasive. The Double Patenting rejection is still maintained, see below.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 19 August 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Both instances of “vehicle” in the last limitation of claims 1, 8 and 15 should be amended to recite “AV” for consistency in claim language (two instances in each independent claim). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first “and” after the “collecting ...” limitation should be removed since the “applying ...” limitation is no longer the last limitation. Appropriate correction is suggested.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “control” in the last limitation should be amended to recite “controlling” to match the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: There are two periods “..” at the end of the claim, there should only be one period, “.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 recite “selected time period” (emphasis added), there is no support or recitation of a “selected time period” corresponding to the first/second sensor data in Applicant’s specification. If Applicant is merely indicating that the first sensor data is collected at a first time while the second sensor data is collected at a second time later than the first time then such should either be clarified by Applicant’s remarks in response to this action or amended to clarify the claim language.
Claims 3-7, 10-14 and 17-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US20210333373A1) in view of Iwase (JP2021182001A – translation attached) in further view of Gada (US20230350420A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nair discloses a system (see at least claim 8) comprising: at least one memory (see at least claim 8); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to perform a method including (see at least claim 8): collecting first sensor data for an environment around an autonomous vehicle (AV) (see at least [0014], [0020], [0024] and claim 8); identifying a surface of the AV (see at least [0025] and claim 8); generating a mask representing one or more data points that correspond with the surface of the AV (see at least [0016], [0019] and claim 10); collecting second sensor data for the environment around the AV (see at least [0014], [0024], claim 8 and claim 10).
Nair does not explicitly disclose the mask being an image mask and applying the image mask to the collected second sensor data to generate processed sensor data; and controlling a system of the vehicle to navigate the vehicle based on the processed sensor data. However, Iwase teaches the mask being an image mask and applying the image mask to the collected second sensor data to generate processed sensor data; and controlling a system of the vehicle to navigate the vehicle based on the processed sensor data (see at least [0041], [0072], [0073], [0099]-[0103], [0109]-[0115] and [0123]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair to incorporate the teachings of Iwase which teaches the mask being an image mask and applying the image mask to the collected second sensor data to generate processed sensor data; and controlling a system of the vehicle to navigate the vehicle based on the processed sensor data since they are directed to mask generation for vehicle surface and incorporation of the teachings of Iwase would increase utility and reliability of the overall system.
Nair as modified by Iwase fails to disclose the first sensor data including a plurality of image frames collected over a selected time period; identifying a static image artifact, the static image artifact appearing at an identical location in each of the plurality of image frames; identifying the static image artifact as the surface of the AV; generating the image mask representing the one or more data points that correspond with the static image artifact as the surface of the AV. However, Gada teaches the first sensor data including a plurality of image frames collected over a selected time period; identifying a static image artifact, the static image artifact appearing at an identical location in each of the plurality of image frames; identifying the static image artifact as the surface of the AV; generating the image mask representing the one or more data points that correspond with the static image artifact as the surface of the AV (see at least [0010], [0077], [0079] and [0098]; motion analysis performed for plurality of images to distinguish between the stationary body of the robot/vehicle and the moving background in order to generate the mask using such information). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair as modified by Iwase to incorporate the teachings of Gada which teaches the first sensor data including a plurality of image frames collected over a selected time period; identifying a static image artifact, the static image artifact appearing at an identical location in each of the plurality of image frames; identifying the static image artifact as the surface of the AV; generating the image mask representing the one or more data points that correspond with the static image artifact as the surface of the AV since they are all directed to vehicle systems using mask techniques and incorporation of the teachings of Gada would increase accuracy and flexibility of the overall system.
Regarding claim 2, Nair as modified by Iwase fails to disclose wherein the collected second sensor data includes a plurality of subsequent image frames collected after the selected time period. However, Gada teaches wherein the collected second sensor data includes a plurality of subsequent image frames collected after the selected time period (see at least [0008], [0077]-[0079] and [0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair as modified by Iwase to incorporate the teachings of Gada which teaches wherein the collected second sensor data includes a plurality of subsequent image frames collected after the selected time period since they are all directed to vehicle systems using mask techniques and incorporation of the teachings of Gada would increase accuracy and flexibility of the overall system.
Regarding claim 3, Nair as modified by Iwase fails to disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify the static image artifact as the surface of the AV using a machine learning model. However, Gada teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify the static image artifact as the surface of the AV using a machine learning model (see at least [0008], [0077]-[0079] and [0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair as modified by Iwase to incorporate the teachings of Gada which teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify the static image artifact as the surface of the AV using a machine learning model since they are all directed to vehicle systems using mask techniques and incorporation of the teachings of Gada would increase accuracy and flexibility of the overall system.
Regarding claim 4, Nair as modified by Iwase fails to disclose wherein the image mask is generated using a machine learning model. However, Gada teaches wherein the image mask is generated using a machine learning model (see at least [0008], [0077]-[0079] and [0098]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair as modified by Iwase to incorporate the teachings of Gada which teaches wherein the image mask is generated using a machine learning model since they are all directed to vehicle systems using mask techniques and incorporation of the teachings of Gada would increase accuracy and flexibility of the overall system.
Regarding claim 6, Nair does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensor data comprises time of flight (TOF) data. However, Iwase teaches wherein the sensor data comprises time of flight (TOF) data (see at least [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair to incorporate the teachings of Iwase which teaches wherein the sensor data comprises time of flight (TOF) data since they are directed to mask generation for vehicle surface and incorporation of the teachings of Iwase would increase utility and reliability of the overall system.
Regarding claim 7, Nair as modified by Iwase and Gada discloses wherein the first sensor data and the second sensor data is collected by a sensor having a field of view configured to be fixed relative to the AV (see at least Nair Figure 1 and [0012]-[0016]).
Regarding claims 8-11, 13 and 14, claims 8-11, 13 and 14 are commensurate in scope with claims 1-4, 6 and 7, respectively. See above for rejection of claims 1-4, 6 and 7.
Regarding claim 15, Nair discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising at least one instruction for causing a computer or processor to (see at least claim 15). The rest of claim 15 is commensurate in scope with claim 1. See above for rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 16-18 and 20, claims 16-18 and 20 are commensurate in scope with claims 2-4 and 6, respectively. See above for rejection of claims 2-4 and 6.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair (US20210333373A1) in view of Iwase (JP2021182001A – translation attached) in further view of Gada (US20230350420A1) in further view of Puri (US20220101047A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nair as modified by Iwase and Gada does not explicitly disclose wherein the image mask is dilated before it is applied to the collected second sensor data. However, Puri teaches wherein the image mask is dilated before it is applied to the collected second sensor data (see at least [0051] and [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Nair as modified by Iwase and Gada to incorporate the teachings of Puri which teaches wherein the image mask is dilated before it is applied to the collected second sensor data since they are directed to mask generation and incorporation of the teachings of Puri would increase reliability of the overall system by remediating potential error (see Puri [0052]).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, claims 12 and 19 are commensurate in scope with claim 5. See above for rejection of claim 5.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,726,188 B2 in view of the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Although the claims 1-20 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,726,188 B2 are not identical to claims 1-20 of the instant application, claims 1-20 of the instant application are rendered obvious in view of the claims in view of the prior art. For example, independent claims 1, 8 and 15 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,726,188 B2 recite all elements of claims 1, 8 and 15 of the instant application with the exception of the limitations mentioned in the 35 USC 103 rejection above that are taught/suggested by the corresponding prior arts in the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Accordingly, all elements of claims 1-20 are unpatentable over the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,726,188 B2 in view of prior art and as found obvious in the 35 USC 103 rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHAR MOTAZEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667