DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20180145334 A1) in view of (WO 2021198183) (to Zhou et al.).
With respect to claims 1 and 11-12, Song teaches a negative-electrode material comprising: a negative-electrode active material (para. [0120]-[0121]); and a solid electrolyte (para. [0147]-[0148]), wherein the negative-electrode active material contains Li, Ti, M1, and O, (para. [0120]), M1 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements other than Li and Ti (para. [0121]).
Song fails to teach wherein the solid electrolyte contains Li, M2, and X, M2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements other than Li, and X denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I. Zhou teaches a solid electrolyte material for use in a lithium battery, (page 2, lines 13-19) wherein the solid electrolyte comprises Li, M2, and X, M2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements (Sc, Al, In, and Y) and metalloid elements other than Li, and X denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I (page 5, lines 1-15) in order to provide a solid electrolyte capable of achieving high conductivity for lithium ions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide the solid battery of Song with a solid electrolyte that contains Li, M2, and X, M2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements other than Li, and X denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I, as taught by Zhou, in order to provide a solid electrolyte capable of achieving high conductivity for lithium ions.
With respect to claim 2, Song teaches wherein M1 contains at least one selected from the group consisting of Zr, Cs, Ce, and Ca (para. [0122]).
With respect to claim 3, Song teaches wherein M1 contains Zr (para. [0122]).
With respect to claim 4, Song teaches wherein M1 denotes Zr (para. [0122]).
With respect to claim 5, Song teaches wherein the negative-electrode active material is represented by the formula (1): Li₄Ti₅-αM1αO₁₂ formula (1) wherein α satisfies -0.3 ≤ α ≤ 0.3 (para. [0121]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0 < α ≤ 0.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 6, Song teaches wherein α satisfies -0.3 ≤ α ≤ 0.3 (para. [0121]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0 < α ≤ 0.2 in the formula (1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 7, Song teaches wherein α satisfies -0.3 ≤ α ≤ 0.3 (para. [0121]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.01 ≤ α ≤ 0.1 in the formula (1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 8, Song teaches wherein the negative-electrode active material is represented by the formula (2): Li₄-ßTi₅M1βO₁₂ formula (2) wherein ß satisfies (Song uses symbol “a” instead) -0.2 ≤ a ≤ 0.2 (para. [0121]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0 < ß ≤ 0.3. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 9, Song teaches wherein ß satisfies (Song uses symbol “a” instead) -0.2 ≤ a ≤ 0.2 (para. [0121]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0 < β ≤ <0.1 in the formula (2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 10, Song teaches wherein ß satisfies (Song uses symbol “a” instead) -0.2 ≤ a ≤ 0.2 (para. [0121]), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of 0.01 ≤ < a ≤ 0.06 ≤ in the formula (2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different values of α that fall between -0.3 and 0.3 as taught by Song in order optimize the performance of the battery, and it would have been obvious to arrive at values that fall within the instantly claimed range as part of the optimization process.
With respect to claim 13, Song teaches wherein the solid electrolyte is substantially free of sulfur (para. [0120]-[0121]).
With respect to claim 14, Song teaches a battery comprising: a positive-electrode layer; a negative-electrode layer; and an electrolyte layer between the positive-electrode layer and the negative-electrode layer (para. [0002], [0132]) and Zhou et al. (page 2, lines 13-19), wherein the negative-electrode layer contains the negative-electrode material according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 6/5/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725