DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action for application 18/466,053 in response to the amendment(s) filed on 06/17/2026. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s), specification, and/or drawing(s) filed 06/17/2026 is acknowledged and the previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive over the previous prior art rejections of record for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues that Sugimoto and Asano do not teach the claimed arrangement in which a monoclinic solid electrolyte is mixed with an electrode active material in the negative electrode layer, while a trigonal solid electrolyte is used in an electrolyte layer containing no electrode active material. However, Sugimoto already discloses this limitation added to claim 1. Sugimoto discloses a negative electrode containing negative electrode active material particles 104 and first solid electrolyte particles 105, including a plurality of each type of particle dispersed together and in contact with one another (see e.g. paragraphs [0104] and [0108]-[0110]). Sugimoto also discloses that the electrolyte layer may contain at least 50% by mass of a solid electrolyte and may be composed only of the solid electrolyte (see e.g. paragraphs [0174]-[0179]). Therefore, Sugimoto discloses a particle mixture in the negative electrode layer and a separate electrolyte layer containing no electrode active material.
The requirement that X2 includes both Cl and Br also does not distinguish claim 1 from Sugimoto. Sugimoto discloses Li3YX6, wherein X is two or more elements selected from Cl, Br, and I (see e.g. paragraphs [0044]-[0045]). This includes the selection of Cl and Br.
Asano is relied upon for the claimed crystal phases. Asano discloses a Li3ErBr6 type crystalline phase having monoclinic symmetry and belonging to space group C2/m (see e.g. paragraphs [0029]-[0030]). Asano also discloses a Li3ErCl6 type crystalline phase having trigonal symmetry and belonging to space group P3m1 (see e.g. paragraphs [0056]-[0057]). Asano teaches that these crystalline phases improve lithium ion conductivity by providing conduction paths through which lithium ions can diffuse (see e.g. paragraphs [0063] and [0109]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the monoclinic and trigonal crystalline phases taught by Asano for the respective solid electrolyte materials of Sugimoto in order to improve lithium ion conductivity. The rejection is not based solely on the position that the claimed crystal phases are necessarily present based on composition alone. Sugimoto is relied upon for the battery structure, particle mixture, electrolyte layer composition, and Cl and Br containing solid electrolyte, while Asano is relied upon for the monoclinic and trigonal crystalline phases and the reason for using those phases.
Applicant’s arguments that the references do not describe Applicant’s particular design concept are not persuasive. The prior art is not required to recognize the same reason or mechanism described in Applicant’s Specification when the prior art suggests the claimed structure for a known benefit. The relevant question is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
In conclusion, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the combined teachings of Sugimoto, Asano, and Yushin. The rejections of claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained. See claims 1-10, 12-16, and 18-20 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (WO-2019146295-A1), US-20200350562-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and referenced below and further in view of Asano et al. (US-20190088995-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sugimoto discloses a battery (see e.g. "a battery 1000" in paragraph [0014] and FIG. 1) comprising:
a positive-electrode layer (see e.g. "a cathode 101" in paragraph [0120] and part number 101 in FIG. 1);
a negative-electrode layer (See e.g. "an anode 103" in paragraph [0120] and part number 103 in FIG. 1); and
an electrolyte layer (see e.g. "an electrolyte layer 102" in paragraph [0120] and part number 102 in FIG. 1) between the positive-electrode layer and the negative-electrode layer (see e.g. "The electrolyte layer 102 is disposed between the cathode 101 and the anode 103." in paragraph [0121] and part number 102 in FIG. 1),
wherein the negative-electrode layer includes a mixture if particles of negative-electrode active material and particles of a first solid electrolyte (see e.g. "The anode material in the first embodiment includes an anode active material and a first solid electrolyte material" in paragraph [0018] and “The anode material in the first embodiment may include anode active material particles 104 and first solid electrolyte particles 105, as shown in FIG. 1” in paragraph [0104] and part numbers 104 and 105 in FIG. 1),
the electrolyte layer contains a second solid electrolyte (see e.g. "the electrolyte layer 102 may be composed only of a solid electrolyte material." in paragraph [0178]),
the negative-electrode active material contains Li, Ti, and O (see e.g. "the anode active material Li4Ti5O12" in paragraph [0203]),
the first solid electrolyte contains a crystalline phase (see e.g. "solid electrolyte material including a crystal phase" in paragraph [0116] and " The first solid electrolyte material may be… Li3YBr6" in paragraph [0038]) and contains Li, M1, and X1 (see e.g. "The first solid electrolyte material may be… Li3YBr6" in paragraph [0038])
wherein M1 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements other than Li (see e.g. "Y" in "The first solid electrolyte material may be… Li3YBr6" in paragraph [0038]), and
X1 denotes Br (see e.g. "The first solid electrolyte material may be… Li3YBr6" in paragraph [0038]) and
the second solid electrolyte (see e.g. "The electrolyte layer 102 may include two or more kinds of the materials described as the solid electrolyte material. For example, the electrolyte layer 102 may include the first solid electrolyte material" in paragraph [0179]) contains a crystalline phase and contains Li, M2, and X2 (see e.g. "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044] and "where, in the composition formula (A2), X is two or more kinds of elements selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I" in paragraph [0045]),
wherein M2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements other than Li (see e.g. "Y" in " Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044]), and
X2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I, provided that X2 includes both Cl and Br (see e.g. "where, in the composition formula (A2), X is two or more kinds of elements selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I" in paragraph [0045]; Sugimoto discloses X2 is two or more kinds of elements and thus discloses X2 includes both Cl and Br).
Sugimoto does not explicitly disclose that the first solid electrolyte Li3YBr6 has a crystalline phase assigned to a monoclinic crystal or that the second solid electrolyte Li3YX6 has a crystalline phase assigned to a trigonal crystal.
However, Sugimoto expressly discloses specific solid electrolyte compositions (e.g., Li3YBr6 and Li3YX6 where X is selected from Cl, Br, and I; see e.g. paragraphs [0038], [0044]–[0045]) that are the same as, or fall within, the compositions recited in the instant application. The instant application itself evidences that such Li–M–halide compositions correspond to particular crystal structures. Specifically, the instant specification teaches that compositions including Li3YBr6 and related Li–Y–Br-based materials possess a crystalline phase assigned to a monoclinic crystal (see e.g. paragraph [0080]), and further teaches that compositions including Li3YCl6 and related Li3YX6 (where X includes Cl) possess a crystalline phase assigned to a trigonal crystal (see e.g. paragraphs [0106]–[0108]). Therefore, because Sugimoto discloses the same or overlapping solid electrolyte compositions as those described in the instant application, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Sugimoto’s first solid electrolyte (e.g. Li3YBr6) possesses a monoclinic crystal phase and that Sugimoto’s second solid electrolyte (e.g. Li3YX6, including Li3YCl6 embodiments) possesses a trigonal crystal phase.
Furthermore, and in the alternative, Asano, in the same field of endeavor, solid halide electrolyte materials, discloses a first solid electrolyte contains a crystalline phase assigned to a monoclinic crystal (see e.g. “the Li3ErBr6 structure (LEB structure) has monoclinic symmetry and is a crystal structure belonging to space group C2/m.” in paragraph [0029] of Asano) and a second solid electrolyte contains a crystalline phase assigned to a trigonal crystal (see e.g. “the Li3ErCl6 structure (LEC structure) has trigonal symmetry and is a crystal structure belonging to space group P-3m1” in paragraph [0056] of Asano).
Asano also teaches that solid electrolyte materials of this type lead to higher lithium ion conductivity being achieved. Specifically, irregular arrangement of Y id achieved which three-dimensionally connects the conduction path of lithium ions and thus improves the lithium ion conductivity (see e.g. paragraphs [0063] and [0109] of Asano). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first solid and second solid electrolyte crystalline phase of Sugimoto et al. such that the first solid electrolyte has a monoclinic crystalline phase and the second solid electrolyte has a trigonal crystalline phase as taught by Asano et al. in order to improve lithium ion conductivity in the solid electrolyte as suggested by Asano.
Regarding Claim 2, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the first solid electrolyte is substantially free of sulfur (see e.g. 'the first solid electrolyte material includes Li, M, and X, and does not include sulfur" in paragraph [0009] and "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]. Regarding Claim 3, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the second solid electrolyte is substantially free of sulfur (see e.g. "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044] and "where, in the composition formula (A2), X is two or more kinds of elements selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I" in paragraph [0045]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that X1 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I (see e.g. "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]; X1 is Cl, Br and I in this species).
Regarding Claim 5, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that X1 contains Br (see e.g. "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]; X1 is Cl, Br and I in this species).
Regarding Claim 6, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the first solid electrolyte is Li3YBr2Cl2I2 (see e.g. "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]). This corresponds directly to the claimed species Liα1M1β1X1γ1 wherein α1, β1, and γ1 each independently denote a value greater than 0. In this case the prior art discloses that M1 is Y and X1 is Cl, Br and I.
Regarding Claim 7, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that M1 contains Y(see e.g. "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]; M1 is Y in this species)
Regarding Claim 8, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 7 (see e.g. claim 7 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that α1 = 3, β1 = 1 and γ1 = 6 (see e.g. "the first solid electrolyte material Li3YBr2Cl2I2" in paragraph [0220]).
Sugimoto discloses points that lie within the range claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 9, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the first solid electrolyte is at least one selected from the group consisting of Li3YBr6, Li3YBr2Cl4, and Li3YBr2Cl2I2 (see e.g. "The first solid electrolyte material may be Li3YCl6, Li3YBr6... or Li3YBr2Cl2I2) in paragraph [0038]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that X2 denotes at least one selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I, a provided that X2 includes both Cl and Br (see e.g. "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044] and "X is two or more kinds of elements selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I" in paragraph [0045]; Sugimoto discloses X2 is two or more kinds of elements and thus discloses X2 includes both Cl and Br).
Regarding Claim 12, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the second solid electrolyte is represented by Li3YX6 (see e.g. "The electrolyte layer 102 may include two or more kinds of the materials described as the solid electrolyte material. For example, the electrolyte layer 102 may include the first solid electrolyte material" in paragraph [0179] and "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044]). This corresponds directly with the claimed species Liα2M2β2X2γ2 wherein M2 is Y, X2 is two or more kinds of elements selected from the group consisting of Cl, Br, and I and α2, β2, and γ2 each independently denote a value greater than 0.
Regarding Claim 13, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that the second solid electrolyte is represented by Li3YX6 (see e.g. "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044]; M2 is Y). Regarding Claim 14, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto further discloses that α2 = 3, β2 = 1 and γ2 = 6 (see e.g. "Li3YX6" in paragraph [0044]).
Sugimoto discloses points that lie within the ranges claimed by the instant application. In the case where the prior art discloses a point within the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 18, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection).
Sugimoto further discloses that the negative-electrode active material is lithium titanium oxide (see e.g. "the anode active material Li4Ti5O12" in paragraph [0203]; Li4Ti5O12 is a lithium titanium oxide).
Regarding Claim 19, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection).
Sugimoto further discloses that the negative-electrode active material is Li4Ti5O12 (see e.g. "the anode active material Li4Ti5O12" in paragraph [0203]). Regarding Claim 20, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection).
Sugimoto further discloses that the positive-electrode layer contains lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide (see e.g. "Examples of the cathode active material include: lithium-containing transition metal oxides (for example... Li(NiCoMn)O2" in paragraphs [0128]-[0129]; LiNiCoMnO2 is a lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto et al. (WO-2019146295-A1), US-20200350562-A1 is being used as an equivalent translation and referenced below in view of Asano et al. (US-20190088995-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yushin et al. (US-20200343580-A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Sugimoto in view of Asano discloses the battery according to claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Sugimoto in view of Asano does not disclose that M2 contains Y, Ca, and Gd.
Yushin, however, in the same field of endeavor, halide solid electrolytes for use in rechargeable batteries, discloses solid electrolytes of the Li3M(Clx1Brx2Ix3Fx4)6 type, wherein M may be one or more metals selected from Y, Sc, La, Ce, various lanthanoids and their mixtures (see e.g. paragraph [0105] of Yushin). Yushin further teaches that mixtures of metals may be used in the M site, and that the metals may include elements such as Y and Ca (see e.g. paragraph [0106] of Yushin). Additionally, Yushin teaches that the electrolyte compositions may advantageously comprise lanthanoids such as Gd (see e.g. paragraph [0112] of Yushin). Therefore, Yushin teaches that the metal site in Li–M–halide solid electrolytes may comprise mixtures of metals including Y, Ca, and lanthanoids such as Gd.
Yushin also teaches that mixtures of such metals may be used in Li–M–halide solid electrolytes to tune and achieve desirable electrolyte properties (see e.g. paragraphs [0105]–[0112] of Yushin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify M2 in the second solid electrolyte of Sugimoto et al. in view of Asano et al. such that it contains Y, Ca, and Gd as taught by Yushin et al. in order to tune a Li–M–halide solid electrolyte to achieve desirable electrolyte properties as suggested by Yushin.
Regarding Claim 16, Sugimoto in view of Yushin discloses the battery according to claim 15 (see e.g. claim 15 rejection above).
Sugimoto in view of Asano does not disclose that the second solid electrolyte is Li6-2a-3dCaa(Y1-bGdb)dBr6-cClc wherein 0 < a < 3, 0 < b < 1, 0 < c < 6, and 0 < d < 1.5 are satisfied.
Yushin, however, discloses halide-based solid electrolytes of the Li3M(Clx1Brx2Ix3Fx4)6 type, wherein M may be one or more metals selected from Y, Sc, La, Ce, various lanthanoids and their mixtures (see e.g. paragraph [0105] of Yushin). Yushin further teaches that mixtures of metals may be used in the M site and that such metals may include Y and Ca (see e.g. paragraph [0106] of Yushin). Additionally, Yushin teaches that the electrolyte compositions may advantageously comprise lanthanoids such as Gd (see e.g. paragraph [0112] of Yushin). Therefore, Yushin teaches Li–M–halide solid electrolytes containing mixtures of metals including Y, Ca, and lanthanoids such as Gd, and mixed halides including Cl and Br, which correspond to the compositional system recited in the claimed formula.
Yushin also teaches that mixtures of such metals may be used in Li–M–halide solid electrolytes to tune and achieve desirable electrolyte properties (see e.g. paragraphs [0105]–[0112] of Yushin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Li3YX6 solid electrolyte of Sugimoto et al. in view of Asano et al. such that it incorporates additional metal substitutions such as Ca and Gd and mixed halides such as Cl and Br as taught by Yushin et al. in order to tune a Li–M–halide solid electrolyte to achieve desirable electrolyte properties as suggested by Yushin. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that incorporating such known substitutions into the halide electrolyte of Sugimoto would produce a functional solid electrolyte within the claimed compositional ranges.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Sugimoto et al. (WO-2019146295-A1) in view of Asano et al. (US-20190088995-A1) and further in view of Yushin et al. (US-20200343580-A1) discloses a second solid electrolyte of the type Li3M(Clx1Brx2Ix3Fx4)6 type, wherein M may be one or more metals selected from Y, Ca and various lanthanoids and their mixtures (see e.g. paragraph [0105] of Yushin). However, the prior art fails to disclose or suggest a second solid electrolyte having the specific composition Li2.8Ca0.1Y0.6Gd0.4Br2Cl4.
The claimed composition requires a specific and simultaneous selection of lithium content, multiple metal species (Ca, Y, and Gd), and halide constituents (Br and Cl) in particular atomic ratios. While the cited references generally disclose halide-based solid electrolytes and broad compositional ranges, they do not teach or suggest the claimed stoichiometry, nor do they provide any guidance that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed composition through routine optimization or design choice.
Further, the prior art does not provide a sufficient rationale or motivation to combine or modify the disclosed compositions to achieve the presently claimed specific arrangement and ratios of elements. The claimed composition therefore represents a non-obvious species within the broader genus disclosed by the prior art.
Claim 17 depends from claims 16, 15, and 1, which remain rejected. However, claim 17 includes additional limitations that render the claimed subject matter allowable for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Sei et al. (US-20220311001-A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723