DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehret et al. (9,833,924), hereinafter Gehret, in view of Cramer (5,251,142).
Regarding claim 1, Gehret teaches a bevel saw configured to form a bevel cut in a workpiece substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts, the bevel saw comprising:
a workpiece support 56 that defines a workpiece support surface configured to support a first side of the workpiece;
a user-actuated assembly that includes a motor 88 including a motor shaft configured to rotate about a shaft rotational axis and an arbor operatively attached to the motor shaft and configured to receive a bevel saw blade 128;
an assembly attachment structure that operatively attaches the user-actuated assembly to the workpiece support and is configured to permit constrained motion of the user-actuated assembly relative to the workpiece support surface, wherein the assembly attachment structure includes a blade bevel angle adjustment mechanism (col. 4, lines 42-67) configured to adjust a blade bevel angle of the bevel saw blade relative to the workpiece support surface; and
a fence 55 that defines a fence surface 53 that extends away from the workpiece support surface and is configured to support a second side of the workpiece, wherein the fence includes a first fence region and a second fence region, wherein the first fence region and the second fence region define a blade-receiving gap therebetween, wherein the blade-receiving gap is configured to receive the bevel saw blade during operative use of the bevel saw to form the bevel cut in the workpiece, and further wherein the fence includes a gap adjustment mechanism configured to automatically adjust the blade-receiving gap based on the blade bevel angle (col. 1, lines 10-15, 40-53; col. 12, lines 3-55), and
wherein the gap adjustment mechanism includes an electric gap adjustment actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first fence region and the second fence region and configured to adjust the blade-receiving gap based on the blade bevel angle.
See Figs. 1, 4, 7, 8, 13, 21, and 22.
Gehret teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the gap adjustment mechanism includes an electric gap adjustment actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first fence region and the second fence region and configured to adjust the blade-receiving gap based on the blade bevel angle.
Cramer teaches a saw system having fences (40, 35) including an electric gap adjustment actuator operatively coupled to the fences for automatically as adjusting the fence for precisely positioning the fences. See Figs. 1 and 4.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use an electric gap adjustment actuator as taught by Cramer in the saw system of Gehret for automatically as adjusting the fence for precisely positioning the fences.
Regarding claim 2, Gehret teaches the gap adjustment mechanism changing the shape of the blade-receiving gap and a bevel angle of the blade-receiving gap. See Figs. 4, 6, and 7, and col. 1, lines 54-62.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, a linkage for automatically adjusting the blade-receiving gap based on an adjustment of the bevel adjustment is best seen in Figs. 7 and 21.
Regarding claim 7, two fence surfaces (55, 126) are best seen in Figs. 2 and 4.
Regarding claims 8-10, each fence surface having a plurality of fence elements (130, 160) is best seen in Figs. 4-6.
Regarding claim 11-14, the linkage 150 causes to pair (130, 160) moving in the same direction and the same distance. See Figs. 7-8.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, a first fence region rotary element 438 is best see in Fig. 21.
Regarding claim 18, Gehret teaches a method of adjusting a fence of a bevel saw, the method comprising:
providing the bevel saw of claim 1;
changing at least one of a blade bevel angle (by rotating element 448) of the bevel saw and a blade miter angle (by rotating element 65) of the bevel saw; and
automatically adjusting a blade-receiving gap (Figs. 4, 7, 8, and 21) of the fence based, at least in part, on the changing.
See Figs. 1, 4, 7, 8, and 21.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gehret et al. (9,833,924), hereinafter Gehret, in view of Cramer (5,251,142) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (2006/0288836), hereinafter Wang.
Gehret teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for an electric bevel adjustment device.
Wang teaches a bevel saw having an electric bevel adjustment device 216 for automatically adjusting a bevel angle of the saw. See Figs. 6 and 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide the saw of Gehret an electric bevel adjustment device as taught by Wang for automatically adjusting a bevel angle of the saw.
When the bevel angle of the saw is electronically adjusted, the blade-receiving gap is adjusted accordingly due to the linkage system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Cramer reference is introduced to teach the fence being adjustable electrically.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 19 is allowable for setting for the gap adjustment mechanism comprising four linkage members and their specific connection to the fence portions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724