DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under current examination.
Withdrawn Claim Objections and Rejections
All objections pertaining to claims 1 and 17 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 1/13/2026.
All rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims filed 1/13/2026.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/13/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okishima (U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0065962, filing date: 1/28/2022) in view of Libal (Why Does Citric Acid Produce Electricity?, available 3/24/2022).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Okishima teaches a cosmetic comprising a first agent containing at least one salt and hyaluronic acid and a second agent containing a chelating agent [0039-0043]. The cosmetic uses a hyaluronic acid compacted by neutralization of carboxyl groups of hyaluronic acid using a salt [0044]. Okishima teaches that hyaluronic acid generally has a negative charge due to the presence of carboxyl groups. Due to the electrostatic repulsion based on this negative charge, the molecule of hyaluronic acid is likely to be in the form of a spread filament [0045]. An electrolyte such as sodium chloride can be utilized to neutralize the negative charge of hyaluronic acid, thus the dominance of hydrogen bonds can be achieved to suppress spreading of the hyaluronic acid molecules so that compaction of even a hyaluronic acid molecule alone is possible [0046]. In cases where a cosmetic containing a compacted structure of hyaluronic acid is applied to the skin or body hair, carboxyl groups of the hyaluronic acid continue to be neutralized by the electrolyte such as sodium chloride, for example sodium ions. It is therefore thought that the carboxyl groups cannot sufficiently exert their ability to hold water [0047]. The salt may be salts of an organic acid such as citric acid and lactic acid [0059]. The pH of the aqueous medium may be 4.5 or more [0079]. The average particle diameter of the hyaluronic acid particles may be 100nm or less [0073]. After the hyaluronic acid penetrates into the skin or body hair, cations such as sodium ions that have been neutralizing the negative charge of carboxyl groups in the hyaluronic acid can be captured. By this, the hyaluronic acid can be swelled to allowed sufficient exertion of the moisture-retaining property of the hyaluronic acid itself [0111]. The instant specification defines the pH of the skin to be about 5 to 6 (pg. 7, second paragraph); the Examiner therefore considers the phrase “after the hyaluronic acid penetrates into the skin” to read on the “an environment of pH 5 to 6” limitation of the instant claim.
Furthermore, regarding claims 1 and 8, Okishima teaches that citric acid may be present as a chelating agent [0089]. With regards to the “acidic pH adjuster” and “to micronize the particles without depolymerization of the particles” limitations of instant claims 1 and 8, the prior art teaches the same organic acid as claimed and therefore, the pH adjuster and micronization properties are necessarily present; the Examiner directs attention to MPEP 2112.01 (II) which states: “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Okishima teaches a cosmetic comprising a first agent containing at least one salt and hyaluronic acid and a second agent containing a chelating agent [0039-0043].
Regarding claim 3, Okishima teaches that the chelating agent may be EDTA [0089].
Regarding claims 4, 15, and 18, Okishima teaches that the average molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid may be 500 or more or 1,500,000 or less [0067].
Regarding claims 5, 7, 16, and 19, Okishima teaches that as the ionic strength, and therefore the amount of salt, increases, the average particle diameter of the hyaluronic acid particles decreases. At an ionic strength of 0.03 or more, hyaluronic acid particles with a diameter of 100nm or less can be obtained (Table 6 and [0158]).
Regarding claim 6, Okishima teaches that the hyaluronic acid polymer is present at 0.005% by mass or more [0019] and is present at 0.4 and 0.5% by mass in some exemplary compositions [0166].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Okishima teaches that the cosmetic composition may be applied to any part on the skin surface [0107].
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the claims recite the limitations “food composition” and “pharmaceutical composition”; the intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in or order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention form the prior art, therefore the composition embraced by Okishima reads on the instant claims. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Regarding claim 13, Okishima teaches that the first agent can be prepared by adding hyaluronic acid to water or a buffer, dissolving the hyaluronic acid with stirring and mixing, and then adding a salt to the resulting solution [0100].
Regarding claim 17, Okishima teaches that the cosmetic composition may be applied to any part on the skin surface [0107]. When the cations are removed, the hyaluronic acid can be swelled to allow sufficient exertion of the moisture-retaining property of the hyaluronic acid itself, thereby enabling favorable moisturization of the skin or body hair [0111].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 13, Okishima does not teach the inclusion of an acidic pH adjuster to micronize the particles. However, this deficiency is cured by Libal (Why Does Citric Acid Produce Electricity?, available 3/24/2022).
Libal teaches that citric acid turns into an electrolyte when dissolved in fluid and that acids are electrolytes because they break into negatively charged anions and positively charged cations when placed in solution (pg. 2).
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 19, Okishima does not teach a ratio of hyaluronic acid to acidic pH adjuster.
Regarding claim 7, Okishima does not teach a weight percentage of acidic pH adjuster present in the composition.
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 13, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an organic acid as the source of cations to micronize the hyaluronic of Okishima. One would have understood in view of Okishima that citric acid salts may be used as a source of electrolytes in solution and in view Libal that citric acid acts as an electrolyte in solution and breaks into negatively charged anions and positively charged cations. It would have been obvious to employ an organic acid such as citric acid as the source of cations to counteract the negative charge of hyaluronic acid. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Okishima teaches that an electrolyte can be utilized to neutralize the negative charge of hyaluronic acid [0046] and that suitable organic acids to be used as salts include citric acid [0059]. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claims 5, 16, and 19, the weight ratio of hyaluronic acid to acidic pH adjuster is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal weight ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous changes in particle size. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Okishima teaches that as the ionic strength of the composition increases, the particle size of the hyaluronic acid particles decreased [0158]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the weight ratio of hyaluronic acid to acidic pH adjuster, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of acidic pH adjuster would have a direct effect on the diameter of the hyaluronic acid particles and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Regarding claim 7, the weight percentage of acidic pH adjuster is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal weight ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous changes in particle size. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Okishima teaches that as the ionic strength of the composition increases, the particle size of the hyaluronic acid particles decreased [0158]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the weight percentage of acidic pH adjuster, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of acidic pH adjuster would have a direct effect on the diameter of the hyaluronic acid particles and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okishima (U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0065962, filing date: 1/28/2022) in view of Libal (Why Does Citric Acid Produce Electricity?, available 3/24/2022), as applied to claims 1-13 and 15-20 above, and further in view of Formula Botanica (The Formulator’s Guide to Antioxidants in Cosmetics, available 2/15/2022).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Okishima renders obvious the relevant limitations of claims 1 and 13 above. Okishima also teaches that the first and second agents of the cosmetic composition may contain various components within a range that does not affect the effect of the invention, such as antioxidants, preservatives, and antioxidant aids [0096]. The optional components may be added before or after the compaction of the hyaluronic acid [0103].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Okishima does not teach the inclusion of a metal chelating agent during micronization of the hyaluronic acid. However this deficiency is cured by Formula Botanica.
Formula Botanica teaches that metal chelating agents are secondary antioxidants for inclusion in cosmetic formulations (pg. 9, Secondary Antioxidants).
Finding of a Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
The idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional antioxidants used in cosmetic formulations. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 4, 6-13, 15, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Komedo in view of Lubart have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed 1/13/2026 have necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-20 and 24-44 of copending Application No. 19/110,483.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘483 application embrace a skin external application composition comprising a high molecular weight hyaluronic acid or salt particles thereof and an acidic pH adjuster. The hyaluronic acid or salt particles thereof have an average particle diameter of 100nm or less. The pH adjuster is an organic or inorganic acid and the pH of the composition is 3.0 or more but less than 5.0. The application may also contain a metal ion sequestering agent such as an alkaline salt of EDTA or a phosphate-based compound. The average molecular weight of the hyaluronic acid is 5 to 10,000 kDa and the weight ratio of the hyaluronic acid to acidic pH adjuster is 1:0.01 to 10. The hyaluronic acid is present at 0.1 to 10 wt. % based on a total weight of the composition and the acidic pH adjuster is present at 0.01 to 50 wt. % based on a total weight of the composition. The organic acid is one or more species selected from the group consisting of citric acid, phosphoric acid, fumaric acid, ascorbic acid, ferulic acid, succinic acid, lactic acid, hyaluronic acid, malic acid, butyric acid, formic acid, acetic acid, salicylic acid, glycolic acid, tartaric acid, and gluconolactone, and wherein the inorganic acid is one or more species selected from the group consisting of carbonic acid, hydrochloric acid, nitric acid, and sulfuric acid. The composition may be cosmetic or pharmaceutical composition. The claims of the ‘483 application also embrace a method for moisturizing skin comprising administering an effective amount of the composition to the skin of a subject in need thereof. The instant claims recite the limitation “food composition”; the intended use of a claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in or order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention form the prior art, therefore the composition embraced by the claims reads on the instant claims of the ‘483 application. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-20 and 24-44 of copending Application No. 19/110,483, as applied to claims 1-12 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Okishima (U.S. Patent Application No. 2024/0065962, filing date: 1/28/2022).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘483 application embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘483 application do not embrace a method of preparing the composition of the instant claim 1. However, this deficiency is cured by Okishima. Okishima teaches a cosmetic comprising a first agent containing at least one salt and hyaluronic acid and a second agent containing a chelating agent [0039-0043]. The cosmetic uses a hyaluronic acid compacted by neutralization of carboxyl groups of hyaluronic acid using a salt [0044]. Okishima teaches that hyaluronic acid generally has a negative charge due to the presence of carboxyl groups. Due to the electrostatic repulsion based on this negative charge, the molecule of hyaluronic acid is likely to be in the form of a spread filament [0045]. An electrolyte such as sodium chloride can be utilized to neutralize the negative charge of hyaluronic acid, thus the dominance of hydrogen bonds can be achieved to suppress spreading of the hyaluronic acid molecules so that compaction of even a hyaluronic acid molecule alone is possible [0046]. In cases where a cosmetic containing a compacted structure of hyaluronic acid is applied to the skin or body hair, carboxyl groups of the hyaluronic acid continue to be neutralized by the electrolyte such as sodium chloride, for example sodium ions. It is therefore thought that the carboxyl groups cannot sufficiently exert their ability to hold water [0047]. The salt may be salts of an organic acid such as citric acid and lactic acid [0059]. The pH of the aqueous medium may be 4.5 or more [0079]. The average particle diameter of the hyaluronic acid particles may be 100nm or less [0073]. After the hyaluronic acid penetrates into the skin or body hair, cations such as sodium ions that have been neutralizing the negative charge of carboxyl groups in the hyaluronic acid can be captured. By this, the hyaluronic acid can be swelled to allowed sufficient exertion of the moisture-retaining property of the hyaluronic acid itself [0111]. The instant specification defines the pH of the skin to be about 5 to 6 (pg. 7, second paragraph); the Examiner therefore considers the phrase “after the hyaluronic acid penetrates into the skin” to read on the “an environment of pH 5 to 6” limitation of the instant claim. The first agent can be prepared by adding hyaluronic acid to water or a buffer, dissolving the hyaluronic acid with stirring and mixing, and then adding a salt to the resulting solution [0100]. The first and second agents of the cosmetic composition may contain various components within a range that does not affect the effect of the invention, such as antioxidants, preservatives, and antioxidant aids [0096]. The optional components may be added before or after the compaction of the hyaluronic acid [0103].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to prepare the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘483 application by the preparation method of Okishima. One would have understood in view of Okishima that hyaluronic acid may be compacted by the addition of an electrolyte in aqueous solution in the preparation of a nearly identical cosmetic composition. It would have been obvious that the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘483 application may also be prepared by such a method. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to prepare the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘483 application by the preparation method of Okishima in order to compact large molecular weight hyaluronic acid particles without changing the molecular weight of the composition. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have had reasonable expectation of success because Okishima teaches that a nearly identical composition may be prepared by such a method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ request for the double patenting rejection of record to be held in abeyance is acknowledged. However, this request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an objection or requirements as to form (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Accordingly, the rejection will be maintained until a terminal disclaimer is filed or claims are amended to obviate the rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614