DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-8 are pending in this examination.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-20 are non-elected claims.
Response to Amendment
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims rejection under 112 (b) rejection and 112 (f) claim interpretation have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection and 112 (f) claim interpretation has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments have been considered with respect to arts rejection but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
7.2. Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 20150242601 to Griffiths et al (“Griffiths”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20070250717 to Kumagai et al (“Kumagai”), and in view of WO Patent Application No. WO2015093221 to Shiga et al (“Shiga”).
As per claim 1, Griffiths discloses the security device ([0020]: smartwatch) comprising: an interface configured to communicate with a mobile terminal having a function of disclosing information; a secure memory configured to store information to be used for authentication; and a processor configured to receive, through the interface an authentication request associated with an instruction to disclose information to be subjected to security management in the mobile terminal ([0056]: limit accessibility to the mobile device until proper authentication by a user is received; [0040]: "mobile device receives an authentication request from an authenticating entity"; [0020] indicates that the term "mobile device" may refer to a smart wearable devices; [0020] further indicates that the term "authenticating entity" may be any entity that may request or require authentication of a mobile device or a user of a mobile device, including a device such as a smartphone; document therefore e.g. discloses an arrangement wherein a smartwatch receives an authentication request from a smartphone, … also [0046]: mobile device acting as a trust broker for another mobile device, peer-to-peer, also see [0003]: require authentication of users who may attempt to access services or applications),
specify an authentication process to be executed by using information stored in the secure memory in accordance with content of the authentication request ([0040]: "the mobile device may retrieve the sensor data from one or more sensors, the biometric sensor information from one or more biometric sensors, the data input (e.g. user input data) or the authentication information to form one or more components of a trust vector that matches or satisfies the authentication request"), and
notify the mobile terminal of trhe authentication result of execution of the specified authentication process ([0040]: "mobile device may then transmit the trust vector to the authenticating entity").
Griffiths specify an authentication process to be executed by using information stored as described above. Additionally, however In the same field of endeavor, Kumagai discloses specify an authentication process to be executed by using information stored (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Griffiths with the teaching of Kumagai by including the feature of authentication process, in order for Griffiths’s system to preventing easy tampering of electronic data and prevent information leak. An image forming apparatus is provided with a first generating part to generate an encrypted image data by subjecting an input image data to a predetermined encryption process, a second generating part to generate a decryption key that is used when decrypting the encrypted image data, wherein a different decryption key is generated every time the encrypted image data is generated, and an identifier that is uniquely determined based on the encrypted image data is generated. An outputting part is further provided to form decryption key information by adding the identifier to the decryption key, and to store the decryption key information in a removable storage medium that is connected to the image forming apparatus (Kumagai).
Griffiths and Kumagai do not discloses however in the same field of endeavor, Shiga disclose the authentication request including a request to authorize the mobile terminal to disclose the information based on an authentication result (page 9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Griffiths with the teaching of Kumagai/Shiga by including the feature of a to disclose, in order for Griffiths’s system to mproving security related to information display. In addition, the electronic device of the present invention may include an output unit that outputs at least a part of information permitted to be disclosed to the user to a second display unit different from the first display unit. In this case, the first display unit may have a smaller display screen area and / or lower resolution than the second display unit. The first display unit may display a part of the information permitted to be disclosed to the user so as to be superimposed on the display screen of the second display unit. In this case, the image processing apparatus includes an imaging unit that captures an image of a direction in which the user is facing in a state in which the user wears the electronic device, and the first display unit provides the user with an image according to an imaging result of the imaging unit. A part of the information permitted to be disclosed may be superimposed on the display screen of the second display unit. The output unit may output information to the second display unit according to a case where the user uses the second display unit and a case where a user different from the user uses the second display unit. It is good also as outputting. Moreover, you may provide the communication part which receives the information permitted to disclose to the said user from information processing apparatus (Shiga).
As per claim 2, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 1, further comprising: a main body comprising the interface, the secure memory, and the processor; and a holder of the main body configured to attach the main body to a user (Griffiths, [0026], wearable device, wrist watch).
As per claim 3, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 1, comprising a biometric sensor configured to acquire biometric information, wherein the secure memory stores authentication information including biometric information, and the processor specifies an authentication process to be executed in accordance with content of the authentication request from among a plurality of authentication processes including biometric authentication using biometric information stored in the secure memory (Griffiths, [0040])
As per claim 4, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 1, comprising a communication interfaceconfigured to communicate with a server, wherein the secure memory stores a key corresponding to a key held by the server, and the processor specifies an authentication process to be executed in accordance with content of the authentication request from among a plurality of authentication processes including online authentication using the key stored in the secure memory and the key held by the server (Griffiths, [0039] (portions of the trust broker may be disposed at a third-party server) and para. [0056] (functions controlled by the trust broker may include storing keys and credentials for specific authentication schemes).
As per claim 5, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 1, wherein the processor specifies an authentication level based on content of the authentication request, and specifies an authentication process in accordance with the authentication level (Griffiths, [0034] (biometric sensor information from one or more biometric sensors and/or other sensor input may be selected based on a level of authentication required) and para. [0057] (publicly available information may be accessed, however, additional privileged information may require a TV with additional information).
As per claim 6, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 1, comprising a clock configured to measure a date and time, wherein the processor specifies an authentication process to be executed based on the date and time measured by the clock (Griffiths, [0048] (number of seconds or minutes in which a user is authenticated until an updated authentication operation is required, trust score decays over time).
As per claim 7, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 4, further comprising: a clock configured to measure a date and time; and a memory configured to store a date and time when the online authentication succeeds, wherein the processor specifies an authentication process including the online authentication as an authentication process to be executed in a case where time elapsed since previous online authentication based on the date and time measured by the clock and information stored in the memory succeeded exceeds a reference value (Griffiths, [0048], [0059]).
As per claim 8, the combination of Griffiths, Kumagai and Shiga discloses the security device according to claim 4, further comprising: a clock configured to measure a date and time; and a memory configured to store information indicating the number of times of authentication processes performed after the online authentication succeeded, wherein the processor specifies an authentication process including the online authentication as an authentication process to be executed in a case where the number of times of executing authentication process performed since previous online authentication based on information stored in the memory succeeded exceeds a reference value (Griffiths, [0048], [0059]).
8.1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses many of the claim features (See PTO-form 892).
8.2. US Patent Application No. 20150382178 to Park et al., discloses a method and apparatus of selecting profiles is provided that provides communication services of a terminal equipped with embedded Universal Integrated Circuit Card (eUICC) (or embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM)) and Universal Integrated Circuit Card (UICC). The method of selecting a profile in a terminal including a plurality of subscriber identity module (SIMs) that differ from each other in type, includes selecting, when sensing a profile changing event, one of the plurality of SIMs according to a preset rule, selecting one of a plurality of profiles stored in the plurality of SIMs, and applying the selected profile to the terminal.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HARUNUR . RASHID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497