DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnett (US PG Pub. 20040046899) in view of Lian et al. (CN 101620368 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bonnett discloses a projector (projector 14 of fig. 8A) disposed on a headlining of a vehicle (headliner 16 of fig. 8A).
Bonnett fails to teach a projector heat sink provided in the projector wherein a thermal conductor disposed on top of the projector heat sink; and an external heat sink disposed on top of the thermal conductor, the external heat sink being configured to dissipate heat conducted by the thermal conductor to an outside of the vehicle, wherein the thermal conductor is configured to facilitate heat exchange between the projector heat sink and the second heat sink by transferring the heat from the projector heat sink to the heat sink.
Lian discloses a projector (projector of figs. 1 and 2) with a radiating system (heat dissipation system 20 of fig. 1) wherein a projector heat sink provided in the projector (illustrated in figs. 1 and 2), a thermal conductor (heat collecting block 31, 41, 51 of fig. 3) disposed on top of the projector heat sink (illustrated in figs 1 and 2); and an external heat sink (fins 54 of fig. 3) disposed on top of the thermal conductor (illustrated in fig. 3), the external heat sink (54) being configured to dissipate heat conducted by the thermal conductor, wherein the thermal conductor (31, 41 and 51) is configured to facilitate heat exchange between the projector heat sink and the second heat sink by transferring the heat from the projector heat sink to the heat sink (pg. 4 2nd para. heat collecting block 31, 41, 51. These blocks 31, 41, 51 is made of high heat-conducting material, it can heat and fast heat-conducting effect).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Bonnett with the heat sink of Lian in order to efficiently remove heat from the projection device.
Regarding claim 2, Bonnett discloses a projection device (14) placed in the headliner of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A).
Bonnett fails to teach wherein the thermal conductor comprises: a first side configured to absorb heat from the projector heat sink; and a second side configured to release the absorbed heat to the external heat sink.
Lian discloses a projector with a radiating system (illustrated in fig. 3) wherein the thermal conductor (31, 41 and 51) comprises: a first side configured to absorb heat from the projector heat sink (first, second, third light source 301, 401, 501 of fig. 2); and a second side configured to release the absorbed heat to the external heat sink (illustrated in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Bonnett with the heat sink of Lian in order to efficiently remove heat from the projection device.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnett (US PG Pub. 20040046899) and Lian (CN 101620368 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wellens et al. (US PG Pub. 20230282956).
Regarding claim 3, Bonnett as modified by Lian discloses a projection device (14) placed in the headliner of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A) wherein the external heat sink (first, the second, the third radiator 30, 40, 50) comprises: a main body (rectangular substrate 52 of fig. 3) in contact with the thermal conductor (31, 41 and 51).
Bonnett as modified by Lian fails to teach protrusions disposed on the main body, wherein the protrusions are exposed to the outside of the vehicle by passing through a roof panel of the vehicle and arranged in a direction of travel of the vehicle for heat dissipation by a flow of outside air.
Wellens discloses protrusions (fins of heat sink) disposed on the main body (illustrated in fig. 2), wherein the protrusions (fins) are exposed to the outside of the vehicle (illustrated in fig. 2) by passing through a roof panel of the vehicle and arranged in a direction of travel of the vehicle for heat dissipation by a flow of outside air (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Bonnett and Lian with the exterior cooling of Wellens in order to provide efficient cooling since the heat sink can be cooled directly or nearly directly by the air stream (Wellens; para. 0006).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonnett (US PG Pub. 20040046899) in view of Lian (CN 101620368 A) in view of Ichikawa (US PG Pub. 20120247846).
Regarding claim 5, Bonnett discloses a projector (14) disposed on a headlining of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A).
Bonnett fails to teach a projector heat sink provided in the projector, the projector heat sink being configured to release heat generated by the projector to an outside of the projector; and a heat dissipation fan disposed above the projector heat sink.
Lian discloses teach a projector heat sink (heat dissipation system 20 of figs. 1 and 2) provided in the projector (illustrated in fig. 1), the projector heat sink being configured to release heat generated by the projector to an outside of the projector (pgs. 2 and 3 last para. of pg. 2 and 1st para. of pg. 3; a heat dissipation system 20 set in the shell 10 inside. A lens 14 is extended out of the right-side wall of shell. cover 12 is approximately a square hole (not shown) is formed on back-end part located; corresponding with the square hole on the upper cover 12, a shell 10 is also provided with a through hole (not shown). the square hole and through hole can let the gas flow through and across the heat dissipation system 20 so as to accelerate to the heat in the projector.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the projection device of Bonnett with the heat sink of Lian in order to efficiently remove heat from the projection device.
Bonnett as modified by Lian fails to teach a heat dissipation fan disposed above the heat sink, the heat dissipation fan being configured to release heat from a space between the headlining and a roof panel to an outside of the vehicle.
Ichikawa discloses a cooling system for a vehicle wherein a heat dissipation fan (fan 67 of fig. 8) disposed above the heat generating component (BMS 60 and battery 59 of fig. 8 and 9), the heat dissipation fan (67) being configured to release heat from a space between the headlining (bottom wall 61 of fig. 8) and a roof panel (roof portion R) to an outside of the vehicle (discharge opening Rb of fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Bonnett and Lian with the cooling system of Ichikawa in order to efficiently cool the heat generating components of the projection device.
Regarding claim 6, Bonnett as modified by Lian discloses a projector (14) disposed on a headlining of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A).
Bonnett fails to teach wherein the roof panel includes an opening defined therein configured to allow the heat released by the heat dissipation fan to be discharged to the outside of the vehicle, and wherein the roof panel is sloped to guide the heat to the outside of the vehicle.
Ichikawa discloses a cooling system for heat generating components wherein the roof panel (roof portion R of fig. 8) includes an opening (discharging opening Rb of fig. 8) defined therein configured to allow the heat released by the heat dissipation fan to be discharged to the outside of the vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8), and wherein the roof panel (R) is sloped to guide the heat to the outside of the vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Bonnett and Lian with the cooling system of Ichikawa in order to efficiently cool the heat generating components of the projection device.
Regarding claim 7, Bonnett as modified by Lian discloses a projector (14) disposed on a headlining of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A).
Bonnett as modified by Lian fails to teach further comprising a cover panel coupled to an open upper surface of the roof panel, the cover panel being configured to prevent the heat dissipation fan from being exposed to the outside of the vehicle.
Ichikawa discloses a cooling system for heat generating components further comprising a cover panel (front guide plate 69F of fig. 8) coupled to an open upper surface of the roof panel (R), the cover panel (69F) being configured to prevent the heat dissipation fan from being exposed to the outside of the vehicle (para. 0151; front guide plate 69F circulates around a lower end of the rear guide plate 69R to pass the air filter 70 for removal of dust and then flow into the air-intake duct 65, as shown in FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Bonnett and Lian with the cooling system of Ichikawa in order to efficiently cool the heat generating components of the projection device without introducing rainwater or dust.
Regarding claim 8, Bonnett as modified by Lian discloses a projector (14) disposed on a headlining of a vehicle (illustrated in fig. 8A).
Bonnett as modified by Lian fails to teach further comprising a barrier formed between the heat dissipation fan and the roof panel, the barrier being configured to prevent moisture that enters through a gap between the roof panel and the cover panel from entering the heat dissipation fan.
Ichikawa discloses a cooling system for heat generating components further comprising a barrier (rear guide plate 69R of fig. 8) formed between the heat dissipation fan (67) and the roof panel (R), the barrier (69R) being configured to prevent moisture that enters through a gap between the roof panel and the cover panel from entering the heat dissipation fan (para. 0151; front guide plate 69F circulates around a lower end of the rear guide plate 69R to pass the air filter 70 for removal of dust and then flow into the air-intake duct 65, as shown in FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Bonnett and Lian with the cooling system of Ichikawa in order to efficiently cool the heat generating components of the projection device without introducing rainwater or dust.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 are allowed.
Claim 10 was found to be allowable because a thermal conductor provided on the first heat sink; and a second heat sink provided on a first side of the thermal conductor, the first heat sink being provided on a second side of the thermal conductor opposite to the first side of the thermal conductor, the second heat sink being configured to dissipate heat from the electronic device to an outside of the vehicle.
Claims 11-17 are allowable as being dependent on claim 10.
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The subject matter of claim 4 that was found to be allowable is wherein a first plurality of thermal pads disposed between the projector heat sink and a first side of the thermal conductor; and a second plurality of thermal pads disposed between a second side of the thermal conductor and the external heat sink.
The subject matter of claim 9 that was found to be allowable is wherein the roof panel includes a drain hole defined within a slope of the roof panel, and wherein the heat dissipation device further comprises a drain hose connected to the drain hole and configured to discharge the entering moisture to an outside of the heat dissipation device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 that Lian’s “heat collecting blocks” are internal components designed for stationary cooling.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lian was brought in to illustrate the commonality of heat sink, thermal conductor and external heat sink. Projectors have these components to efficiently dissipate heat. Lian also comprises a square hole (illustrated in fig. 1) that allows heat to escape into the environment or to allow forced air into the projection device to rapidly cool the device.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, applicant argues that there is no suggestion to combine the vehicle integrated projector of Bonnett with the radiating system for a projector in Lian. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A radiating system for a projector of any kind is well known whether it is in vehicle or if the projector is located within a wall, heat needs to be efficiently dissipated for the functioning of the projection device.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the “Remarks” that Ichikawa cooling system is directed to cooling a battery and BMS components. The combination of references i.e. Bonnett, Lian and Ichikawa disclose the claimed invention. Specifically, Bonnett discloses the headliner projector…Lian discloses the heat dissipation system and Ichikawa discloses a headliner cooling fan to dissipate a heat source i.e. battery and BMS.
Applicant argues on page 6-7 that Wellens does not specifically teach or suggest the directional orientation relative to the vehicle’s movement.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wellens when taking the entirety of the reference, Wellens emphasizes aerodynamics (paras. 0010 and 0039). If the fins of the heat sink are arranged perpendicular to the direction of the airstream, then that would cause vortices or a turbulent airstream which is against the promotion of aerodynamics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 8 April 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882