DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 12-20 in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 9/26/2023; 10/2/2023; and 10/4/2023 have been considered and made of record.
Claim Objections
Withdrawn claims 13, 14, 17, 19 and 20 should be updated to include status identifiers as “(Withdrawn)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Sanchez et al. (WO 2013/167185) (Attached PTO-892).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. discloses:
A device (Figs. 1-4, 6 and 11), comprising:
a substrate (substrate)(11);
two interdigitated electrodes (electrodes)(13 and 14) disposed on the substrate; and
a controller (computer (110) and power supply (111)) electronically coupled to the two interdigitated electrodes and configured to apply to the two interdigitated electrodes an electrical stimulation sufficient to induce generation of extracellular vesicles from cells disposed on the substrate without killing the cells (Note: The controller of Garcia Sanchez et al. is configured to apply electrical stimulation sufficient to electroporate cells without killing the cells. As a result, in the absence of further positively recited structure, it is considered to be configured and structurally capable of providing an electrical stimulation sufficient to induce generation of extracellular vesicles from cells disposed on the substrate without killing the cells.).
With respect to claim 3, the device of Garcia Sanchez et al. further comprises a chamber (112) (Figs. 9 and 12) that is coupled to the substrate and that encloses a volume that is exposed to the two interdigitated electrodes.
With respect to claim 5, the device of Garcia Sanchez et al. is structurally capable of providing electrical stimulation is a biphasic electrical stimulation (bipolar)(page 25, lines 12-13) and wherein the biphasic electrical stimulation comprises repeating biphasic waveforms, wherein each biphasic waveform comprises alternating voltage pulses of a negative pulse and a positive pulse, wherein each pulse has a magnitude of between 0.25 V and 1.9 V (page 24, line 25, to page 25, line 13).
With respect to claim 11, the device of Garcia Sanchez et al. is structurally capable of performing electroporation on cells to release extracellular vesicles in response to the electrical stimulation since the device is structured to perform electroporation on cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Sanchez et al. (WO 2013/167185) (Attached PTO-892).
The reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. has been discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 5.
With respect to claim 2, while the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. discloses that the electrodes are separated by a distance of 50 µm to 150 µm, the reference does not disclose the widths and lengths required of claim 2. However, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal dimensions of the electrodes through routine experimentation while considering factors such as the types of cells to be used in the system and the purpose of the electroporation process while maintaining the efficiency of the electroporation system.
With respect claims 6-8, while the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. is silent with respect to the specific electrical stimulation parameters required of claims 6-8, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimal electrical stimulation parameters through routine experimentation while considering factors such as the types of cells to be used in the system and the purpose of the electroporation process while maintaining the efficiency of the electroporation system.
Claims 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Sanchez et al. (WO 2013/167185) (Attached PTO-892) in view of Talebpour et al. (US 2012/0190040).
The reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. has been discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 3.
With respect to claim 4, while the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. discloses the use of a chamber for holding cells, claim 4 differs by reciting that the chamber includes an let and an outlet.
The reference of Talebpour et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide an electroporation device/chamber (1) (Fig. 1) with an inlet (10) and an outlet (11).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the chambers of the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. with an inlet and outlet for the known and expected result of allowing media to be added and/or removed from the chamber as is conventional in the art.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. fails to disclose that the device includes an imager and that the substrate is optically transparent.
The reference of Talebpour et al. discloses that it is known in the art to provide an electroporation chamber with an imager system and use transparent materials for the electrodes and substrate to allow the chamber to be imaged within removal of the electrode and substrate (¶[0297]-[0298]).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the system of the reference of Garcia Sanchez et al. with an imager and use transparent materials for the known and expected result of allowing the cells to be imaged during the electroporation process without the need to remove the electrodes and substrate from the device.
Conclusion
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB