DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a mounting apparatus (mobile telephone rack assembly) for a portable communication device (abstract and fig. 1 ), the mounting apparatus comprising: a mounting plate (wall plate)(abstract and fig. 2 number 3) configured to be attached to a planar surface wall (abstract), the mounting plate having one or more elastically bendable arms (jaw plates) (i.e. spring means and/or locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms) (fig. 1 numbers 14, 15 and col.1 lines 54-60) adapted to engage around one or more peripheral portions of the portable communication device and to secure the portable communication device with the mounting plate (fig. 1 number 15 and col.1 lines 54-60). Wang differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a modular accessory including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device; one or more locking elements disposed on the accessory housing, the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms of the mounting plate by aligning the cutout alignment feature with the top surface or the bottom surface of the portable communication device while the portable communication device is already secured with the mounting plate; and one or more modular electronic components disposed in the accessory housing. SIM teaches a modular accessory (case A) (fig. 1 letter A) including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device (fig. 1 number 301 and fig. 2 number 301) and one or more modular electronic components (magnetic field receiving unit) (fig. 4 number 210 and page 5, 7th paragraph) disposed in the accessory housing (fig. 3 number 200). Vandenbussche et al. teaches an electronic device holder (fig. 3 number 134), one or more spring -loaded arms (locking elements) disposed on the accessory housing (P:0048), the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms by aligning the a top surface (fig. 3 number 310) or the bottom surface (fig. 3 number 320) of the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) while the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) is already secured within the holder (fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang a modular accessory including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device; one or more locking elements disposed on the accessory housing, the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms of the mounting plate by aligning the cutout alignment feature with the top surface or the bottom surface of the portable communication device while the portable communication device is already secured with the mounting plate; and one or more modular electronic components disposed in the accessory housing in order for the mobile telephone rack assembly to provide a protective secure fit charging sleeve to charge the mobile device while allowing the rack assembly to fit different sizes of mobile devices in case of an accident or dropped when the mobile device is placed upon the wall plate to be charged, as taught by SIM and Vandenbussche et al..
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the combination of Wang and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claims 2 and 3 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the modular accessory comprises a connector interface disposed in the accessory housing, the connector interface adapted to connect the one or more modular electronic components with the portable communication device, the connector interface has a first end and a second end, the first end of the connector interface being connected to the one or more modular electronic components housed in the modular accessory, the second end of the connector interface adapted to be connected to a cooperating connector interface disposed on the portable communication device. Sims teaches a connector interface (gender connector) (fig. 3 number 270) disposed in the accessory housing (fig. 3 number 200), the connector interface adapted to connect the one or more modular electronic components (LED/charging circuit) (fig. 2 numbers 230 and 250) with the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 300), the connector interface has a first end (fig. 3 first end from number 270) and a second end (out end of 270 to mobile device 300, fig. 3), the first end of the connector interface being connected to the one or more modular electronic components housed in the modular accessory (fig. 3 number 200), the second end of the connector interface adapted to be connected to a cooperating connector interface disposed on the portable communication device (fig. 1, fig. 2 and fig. 3 and page 8, 6th paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Wang and Vandenbussche et al. with the modular accessory comprises a connector interface disposed in the accessory housing, the connector interface adapted to connect the one or more modular electronic components with the portable communication device, the connector interface has a first end and a second end, the first end of the connector interface being connected to the one or more modular electronic components housed in the modular accessory, the second end of the connector interface adapted to be connected to a cooperating connector interface disposed on the portable communication device in order for the mobile telephone rack assembly to provide a protective secure fit charging sleeve with a charging connector to charge the mobile device when placed upon the wall plate to be charged, as taught by SIM.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 4 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the portable communication device is configured to operate in a first communication mode prior to the portable communication device being secured with the mounting plate or connected to the one or more modular electronic components. SIM teaches a secondary device (Gender) is attached to a portable terminal 301 to which a battery 300 is attached. When the portable device is placed on the primary device (Pad) 100 which is a non-contact charger in a state of being connected by the gender connector 270 of the built-in mobile phone case, the primary device senses a minute potential difference, (iphone, smartphone, general phone) and the current and voltage standard information, and is switched from the standby current mode to the energy oscillation mode (page 5, 2nd paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang and Vandenbussche et al. with the portable communication device is configured to operate in a first communication mode prior to the portable communication device being secured with the mounting plate or connected to the one or more modular electronic components in order for the mobile device to change from a standby mode to an energy oscillation mode when placed on the mobile telephone rack assembly when charging the mobile device, as taught by SIM.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a mounting apparatus (mobile telephone rack assembly) for a portable communication device (abstract and fig. 1 ), the mounting apparatus comprising: a mounting plate (wall plate)(abstract and fig. 2 number 3) configured to be attached to a planar surface wall (abstract), the mounting plate having one or more elastically bendable arms (jaw plates) (i.e. spring means and/or locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms) (fig. 1 numbers 14, 15 and col.1 lines 54-60) adapted to engage around one or more peripheral portions of the portable communication device and to secure the portable communication device with the mounting plate (fig. 1 number 15 and col.1 lines 54-60). Wang differs from claim 13 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose an electronic controller configured to detect whether the portable communication device is secured with the mounting plate and further switch an operation of the portable communication device from a first communication mode to a second communication mode in response to detecting that the portable communication device is secured with the mounting plate and a modular accessory including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device; one or more locking elements disposed on the accessory housing, the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms of the mounting plate by aligning the cutout alignment feature with the top surface or the bottom surface of the portable communication device while the portable communication device is already secured with the mounting plate; and one or more modular electronic components disposed in the accessory housing. SIM teaches the control circuit 110 of the primary device 100 may be configured such that the secondary device (Gender) 200 built in the mobile phone case with the portable device mounted thereon is placed on the primary device (Pad) If a potential difference is detected and a transition is made from the standby current mode to the energy generation mode or when the secondary device (Gender) is separated by a certain distance or more, the mode is switched from the energy generation mode to the standby current mode, Control the function. (page 7, 9th paragraph), a modular accessory (case A) (fig. 1 letter A) including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device (fig. 1 number 301 and fig. 2 number 301) and one or more modular electronic components (magnetic field receiving unit) (fig. 4 number 210 and page 5, 7th paragraph) disposed in the accessory housing (fig. 3 number 200). Vandenbussche et al. teaches an electronic device holder (fig. 3 number 134), one or more spring -loaded arms (locking elements) disposed on the accessory housing (P:0048), the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms by aligning the a top surface (fig. 3 number 310) or the bottom surface (fig. 3 number 320) of the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) while the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) is already secured within the holder (fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with an electronic controller configured to detect whether the portable communication device is secured with the mounting plate and further switch an operation of the portable communication device from a first communication mode to a second communication mode in response to detecting that the portable communication device is secured with the mounting plate and a modular accessory including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device; one or more locking elements disposed on the accessory housing, the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms of the mounting plate by aligning the cutout alignment feature with the top surface or the bottom surface of the portable communication device while the portable communication device is already secured with the mounting plate; and one or more modular electronic components disposed in the accessory housing in order for the mobile telephone rack assembly to control charging the mobile device when placed on the mounting plate so that the mobile device could change from a standby mode to an energy oscillation mode with charging power from the mobile telephone rack assembly and to provide a protective secure fit charging sleeve to charge the mobile device while allowing the rack assembly to fit different sizes of mobile devices in case of an accident or dropped when the mobile device is placed upon the wall plate to be charged, as taught by SIM and Vandenbussche et al..
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference as applied to claims 1,4 and 13 above and in further view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050) and Kotlyarov (US 2018/0302948).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination of Wang, SIM differs and Vandenbussche et al. from claims 5 and 14 of the present invention in that they do not disclose the portable communication device includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button, wherein depressing the PTT button while the portable communication device operates in the first communication mode activates transmission of a PTT voice signal on a selected talk-group channel. Garra et al. teaches a portable communication device (fig. 1 number 102) includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button (fig. 1 number 104 and P:0018). Kotlyarov teaches the display 34 may, for example, display a list of talkgroups available for selection and a selected talkgroup (e.g., a selected channel number or a name of a given talkgroup) (P:0041-P:0042) and if the second input is a touch input and at least a portion of the PTT-button area 96 senses a touch in a manner indicative of a PTT communication initiation for less than a predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call alert and responsively start a transmission of signals(s) associated with the PTT call alert (e.g., an audible tone or other signal(s) (i.e. non-voice initiate PTT call) causing a PTT alert signal on a receiving device). On the other hand, if such touch is maintained for at least the predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call and responsively start a transmission of signal(s) associated with the PTT call (e.g., a voice/audio signal provided via a microphone) (P:0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Garra et al. and Kotlyarov into wang mobile device in order for the mobile device to enable half duplex instant communication voice communication at the push of a button when communication with another PTT radio, as taught by Garra et al. and Kotlyarov.
6. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wang, SIM differs and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 12 of the present invention in that they do not disclose the portable communication device includes a housing and a push-to-talk (PTT) button disposed on a front surface of the housing, the PTT button occupying a substantial portion of the front surface of the housing, the PTT button further configured to be activable across the entirety of the PTT button surface. Garra et al. teaches a portable communication device (fig. 1 number 102) includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button (i.e. button occupying a substantial portion of the front surface of the housing, the PTT button further configured to be activable across the entirety of the PTT button surface) (fig. 1 number 104 and P:0018). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Garra et al. into Wang mobile device in order for the mobile device to enable half duplex instant communication via a push of a button in front of the mobile device when communication with another PTT radio, as taught by Garra et al..
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050) and Kotlyarov (US 2018/0302948).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang, SIM and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 15 of the present invention in that they do not disclose the portable communication device includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button, wherein depressing the PTT button after switching the operation of the portable communication device to the second communication mode activates transmission of a non-voice based signal notification on a pre-programmed channel. Garra et al. teaches a portable communication device (fig. 1 number 102) includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button (i.e. button occupying a substantial portion of the front surface of the housing, the PTT button further configured to be activable across the entirety of the PTT button surface) (fig. 1 number 104 and P:0018). Kotlyarov teaches the display 34 may, for example, display a list of talkgroups available for selection and a selected talkgroup (e.g., a selected channel number (i.e. predetermined channel) or a name of a given talkgroup) (P:0041-P:0042) and if the second input is a touch input and at least a portion of the PTT-button area 96 senses a touch in a manner indicative of a PTT communication initiation for less than a predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call alert and responsively start a transmission of signals(s) associated with the PTT call alert (e.g., an audible tone or other signal(s) (i.e. non-voice initiate PTT call) causing a PTT alert signal on a receiving device). On the other hand, if such touch is maintained for at least the predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call and responsively start a transmission of signal(s) associated with the PTT call (e.g., a voice/audio signal provided via a microphone) (P:0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang, SIM differs and Vandenbussche et al. with the portable communication device includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button, wherein depressing the PTT button after switching the operation of the portable communication device to the second communication mode activates transmission of a non-voice based signal notification on a pre-programmed channel in order for the mobile device to provide a push to talk emergency alert call via a push button to an emergency response center for helping the user, as taught by Garra et al. and Kotlyarov.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference, as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Mclaughlin et al. (US 2015/0189048), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang, SIM and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 16 of the present invention in that they do not disclose a speaker microphone component disposed on the accessory housing, wherein the controller is configured to detect whether the speaker microphone accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device and switch an operation of the portable communication device from the first or second communication modes to a third communication mode in response to detecting that the speaker microphone modular accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device. Mclaughlin et al. teaches a hands-free kit designed to dock a mobile phone where the hands-free kit provides a relatively large speaker and a directional microphone; and vi) and a holder that acoustically couples the loudspeaker of the cell phone into an acoustic horn that is designed to mount to a windshield or to an air vent and/or speakerphone mode (P:0004, P:0031 and P:0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Wang, SIM and Vandenbussche et al. with a speaker microphone component disposed on the accessory housing, wherein the controller is configured to detect whether the speaker microphone accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device and switch an operation of the portable communication device from the first or second communication modes to a third communication mode in response to detecting that the speaker microphone modular accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device in order for the mobile telephone rack assembly to switch to a speakerphone mode when the mobile device is inserted to allow the user to have hands free communication when driving an automobile, as taught by Mclaughlin et al..
7. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference, as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Yoo (KR 20090110740 A), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wang, SIM and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 17 of the present invention in that they do not disclose a camera component disposed in the accessory housing, wherein the controller is configured to detect whether the camera accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device and switch an operation of the portable communication device from the first or second communication modes to a fourth-third communication mode in response to detecting that the camera accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device. Yoo teaches according to another feature of the present invention, in a vehicle that combines a portable terminal equipped with a camera and a cradle installed in the vehicle for photographing a subject and storing the captured image, and supplies the vehicle power to the portable terminal through the cradle (page 4, last paragraph), a function of confirming whether the start of the vehicle is turned on, and if the portable terminal is turned on, confirming whether the portable terminal is mounted on the holder Function, a function of performing a unique function of the portable terminal when the portable terminal is not mounted on the holder, and an automatic shooting function in a unique function mode of the portable terminal when the portable terminal is mounted on the holder. Switching to a mode for performing an automatic shooting operation (page 4, last paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang, SIM and Vandenbussche et al. with a camera component disposed in the accessory housing, wherein the controller is configured to detect whether the camera accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device and switch an operation of the portable communication device from the first or second communication modes to a fourth-third communication mode in response to detecting that the camera accessory is aligned with or connected to the portable communication device in order for the mobile telephone rack assembly to allow the mobile device to automatic recording an image in case there is a car accident, as taught by Yoo.
5. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference and Yoo (KR 20090110740 A) as applied to claims 13 and 17 above and in further view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050) and Kotlyarov (US 2018/0302948).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wang, SIM differs and Vandenbussche et al. and Yoo differs from claim 18 of the present invention in that they do not disclose the portable
communication device includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button, wherein depressing the
PTT button while the portable communication device operates in the fourth third communication
mode establishes one of full-duplex or half-duplex video calls via a pre-programmed channel or
an access control function. Garra et al. teaches a portable communication device (fig. 1 number 102) includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button (fig. 1 number 104 and P:0018). Kotlyarov teaches the display 34 may, for example, display a list of talkgroups available for selection and a selected talkgroup (e.g., a selected channel number or a name of a given talkgroup) (P:0041-P:0042) and if the second input is a touch input and at least a portion of the PTT-button area 96 senses a touch in a manner indicative of a PTT communication initiation for less than a predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call alert and responsively start a transmission of signals(s) associated with the PTT call alert (e.g., an audible tone or other signal(s) (i.e. non-voice initiate PTT call) causing a PTT alert signal on a receiving device). On the other hand, if such touch is maintained for at least the predetermined period of time, the communication device 90 may be configured to recognize the touch as an initiation of the PTT call and responsively start a transmission of signal(s) associated with the PTT call (e.g., a voice/audio signal provided via a microphone) (P:0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Garra et al. and Kotlyarov into wang mobile device in order for the mobile device to enable half duplex instant communication voice communication at the push of a button when communication with another PTT radio, as taught by Garra et al. and Kotlyarov.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050), SIM (KR 20130021752 A) and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference.
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses a mounting apparatus (mobile telephone rack assembly) for a portable communication device (abstract and fig. 1 ), the mounting apparatus comprising: a mounting plate (wall plate)(abstract and fig. 2 number 3) configured to be attached to a planar surface wall (abstract), the mounting plate having one or more elastically bendable arms (jaw plates) (i.e. spring means and/or locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms) (fig. 1 numbers 14, 15 and col.1 lines 54-60) adapted to engage around one or more peripheral portions of the portable communication device and to secure the portable communication device with the mounting plate (fig. 1 number 15 and col.1 lines 54-60). Wang differs from claim 19 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a push-to-talk (PTT) button disposed on a front surface of the housing, the PTT button occupying a substantial portion of the front surface of the housing and a modular accessory including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device; one or more locking elements disposed on the accessory housing, the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms of the mounting plate by aligning the cutout alignment feature with the top surface or the bottom surface of the portable communication device while the portable communication device is already secured with the mounting plate; and one or more modular electronic components disposed in the accessory housing. Garra et al. teaches a portable communication device (fig. 1 number 102) includes a front-facing push-to-talk (PTT) button (i.e. button occupying a substantial portion of the front surface of the housing (fig. 1 number 104 and P:0018). SIM teaches a modular accessory (case A) (fig. 1 letter A) including: an accessory housing having a cutout alignment feature adapted to align with a top surface or a bottom surface of the portable communication device (fig. 1 number 301 and fig. 2 number 301) and one or more modular electronic components (magnetic field receiving unit) (fig. 4 number 210 and page 5, 7th paragraph) disposed in the accessory housing (fig. 3 number 200). Vandenbussche et al. teaches an electronic device holder (fig. 3 number 134), one or more spring -loaded arms (locking elements) disposed on the accessory housing (P:0048), the locking elements adapted to be inserted within the one or more elastically bendable arms by aligning the a top surface (fig. 3 number 310) or the bottom surface (fig. 3 number 320) of the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) while the portable communication device (fig. 3 number 360) is already secured within the holder (fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the PTT communication device of Garra et al. with the mobile device of Wang in order to provide an enhanced device where the mobile telephone is able to quickly and easily make a push to talk call to another push to talk mobile device by pressing a single button in front of the mobile device and for the mobile telephone rack assembly to provide a protective secure fit charging sleeve to charge the mobile device while allowing the rack assembly to fit different sizes of mobile devices in case of an accident or dropped when the mobile device is placed upon the wall plate to be charged, as taught by Garra et al., SIM and Vandenbussche et al..
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 5,179,590) in view of Garra et al. (US 2011/0123050), SIM (KR 20130021752 A), newly recited reference and Vandenbussche et al. (US 2021/0090360), newly recited reference as applied to claims 19 above and in further view of Kotlyarov (US 2018/0302948).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wang, Garra et al., SIM and Vandenbussche et al. differs from claim 20 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the PTT button is configured to transmit a non- voice based signal notification when the PTT button is depressed. Kotlyarov teaches the PTT-button area 96 may be configured to (i) initiate the PTT call alert when the duration of the second input is less than a predetermined period of time, and (ii) initiate the PTT call when the duration of the second input is at least the predetermined period of time. The alert signal is an audible tone or other signals (P:0079). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wang, Garra et al., SIM and Vandenbussche et al. with the PTT button is configured to transmit a non- voice based signal notification when the PTT button is depressed in order for the PTT communication device to send out an alert signal to emergency responders by pressing a PTT button when emergency assistance is needed, as taught by Kotlyarov.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone or in combination the portable communication device is configured to operate in a second communication mode when the portable communication device is secured with the mounting plate but not connected to one or more modular electronic components housed in the modular accessory.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648