DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 9/13/2023 are accepted to by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao (US 2013/0258459) in view of Yeung et al. (US 2009/ 0163929) further in view of Matsuo et al (JP5659749, Examiner provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Mao teaches a hybrid mount for optical instruments (refer to US 20130258459, Technic for Telescope balance), comprising: a declination axle constructed and arranged to attach to an optical instrument (mount 100 includes a declination (DEC) axis 110, [0010], Fig. 1); a declination unit having worm gear (a motor 126, Fig. 1; FIG. 2 shows a diagram of a motor controlling system including a motor, [0028]; shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear, [0030]) disposed to rotate the declination axle (shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear for driving a respective axis of the telescope mount. [0030]); and
a right-ascension unit (a right ascension (R.A.) axis 112, [0010]) having a motor (motor 128, Fig. 1) disposed to rotate the declination unit about a right ascension axis, the right-ascension unit (mount 100 also includes motor assemblies 126 and 128 for effecting controlled rotation of the mount in declination and right ascension, [0010]) having an optical encoder configured to produce measurements of right ascension, said measurements providing a basis for correcting the error produced by the gear (the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]).
Mao teaches motor assemblies 126 and 128 for effecting controlled rotation of the mount in declination and right ascension, communicating with a hand controller or a computer for receiving commands to control the motors 126 and 128 (0010), And also an improved technique balances a telescope from the viewpoint of the motors that drive the telescope's axes, measure the degree of imbalance of the telescope, which may be communicated to an operator to allow adjustments to the telescope to improve its balance, [0027], and the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]. Fig. 3A the motor driver 212 accelerates the motor 210, from zero to 3000 steps/second over an interval of 150 steps, where each "step" refers to an optical encoder step, [0034]. Examiner equates for precise motor positioning and control to correcting the error produced.
Mao doesn’t explicitly teach a harmonic gear disposed to rotate the unit, and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear.
Mao and Yeung are related as devices with motor and rotational motion, and motor and gears that controls movement.
Yeung teaches rotate the shaft section, and optical encoder 46 is mounted on shaft section 38 of output shaft 26 for measuring rotational displacement, [0163]; a harmonic gear disposed to rotate the unit, and encoder measurements providing a basis for correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear (optical encoder 46 is mounted on shaft section 38 of output shaft 26 for measuring rotational displacement, [0163] Motor 212 may include a servo motor integrated with a harmonic gear and an angular encoder for measuring rotational displacement of the motor shaft 220 coupled to said gear, [0197], motor 302 to rotate about the wrist-roll axis 438 via the gear-reduction by the harmonic-drive 482., [0203]. Yeung teaches the relative alignment error between the input and output axis can be compensated, [0186]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the mount of Mao by changing the gear to harmonic gear as taught by Yeung for the predictable advantage of gear ratio may be a miniature harmonic gear, make a compact module as taught by Yeung in [0188], it is also known to art that Harmonic gears offer exceptional advantages for high-precision, space-constrained applications, high torque density, and significant weight savings in a compact design.
The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear. Mao and Matsuo are related as control apparatus 10 , and the input side of the harmonic drive gear reducer 5 which is input from the input-side angle detecting rotary encoder 8 an angle detection signal , on the basis of the output side of the angle detection signal of the harmonic drive gear reducer 5 which is input from the output side angle detecting rotary encoder 9, the angle transmission error in the harmonic gear reducer 5 is detected, [page 3 of machine translation]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao by changing the gear to harmonic gear and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear, as taught by Matsuo for the predictable advantage of having an angle transmission error correction method and apparatus of the gear reducer (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 1 (see above), Yeung further teaches, wherein the harmonic gear is constructed and arranged to resist turning moments, such that the hybrid mount does not include a declination-axis counterweight (Harmonic drives, on the other hand, features zero-backlash, [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 1 (see above), Mao teaches motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]. Yeung teaches harmonic gear and an angular encoder for measuring rotational displacement, [0197]. Matsuo teaches angle transmission error in the harmonic gear reducer 5 is detected, [page 3 of machine translation]. The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the optical encoder has an angular error of less than 0.02 arc-seconds. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art and no criticality has been established on the record, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Benefits of optimizing location include improving the angular movement quality. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made to select the optical encoder has an angular error of less than 0.02 arc-seconds in order to obtain a desired lower angular error.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 1 (see above), Mao teaches motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]. Yeung teaches harmonic gear and an angular encoder for measuring rotational displacement, [0197]. Matsuo teaches angle transmission error in the harmonic gear reducer 5 is detected, [page 3 of machine translation]. The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the optical encoder has an angular error of less than 0.1 arc-seconds. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art and no criticality has been established on the record, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Benefits of optimizing location include improving the angular movement quality. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the filing was made to select the optical encoder has an angular error of less than 0.02 arc-seconds in order to obtain a desired lower angular error.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 4 (see above), further comprising control circuity having an input that represents a desired right-ascension angle, the control circuitry constructed and arranged to rotate the declination unit in right ascension under closed-loop feedback control, such that the measurements of right ascension substantially match the desired right-ascension angle (a control circuit coupled to the motor. The control circuit includes a motor driver arranged to direct the motor to drive the optical assembly in a first rotational direction about the axis of the telescope and to drive the optical assembly in a second direction. The control circuit still further includes a calculating circuit arranged to calculate a difference between the first current and the second current., [0016]; Motor current is measured while the motor is driving the telescope in each direction, and a difference in motor current is computed. The difference in motor current indicates the degree of imbalance of the telescope, which may be communicated to an operator to allow adjustments to the telescope to improve its balance. [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the right-ascension unit includes a stepper motor coupled to the harmonic gear for rotating the declination unit in right ascension. (The motor 210 may be a DC motor or a stepper motor, motor configured in a servo arrangement, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]; Yeung teaches the motor is a combination of harmonic-drive, an optical incremental encoder for measuring input motor position and a DC brushless motor (0195), Motor may include a servo motor integrated with a harmonic gear, [0197]).
Regarding claim 11, Mao teaches a telescope (refer to US 20130258459), comprising: an optical tube assembly (an optical tube assembly of the telescope, claim 12, see Fig. 1, tube 150); a declination axle attached to the optical tube assembly (declination (DEC) axis 110, [0010]); a declination unit having a worm gear (a motor 126, Fig. 1; FIG. 2 shows a diagram of a motor controlling system including a motor, [0028]; shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear, [0030]) disposed to rotate the declination axle (shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear for driving a respective axis of the telescope mount. [0030]); and a right-ascension unit (a right ascension (R.A.) axis 112, [0010]) having
Mao teaches motor assemblies 126 and 128 for effecting controlled rotation of the mount in declination and right ascension, communicating with a hand controller or a computer for receiving commands to control the motors 126 and 128 (0010), And also an improved technique balances a telescope from the viewpoint of the motors that drive the telescope's axes, measure the degree of imbalance of the telescope, which may be communicated to an operator to allow adjustments to the telescope to improve its balance, [0027], and the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]. Examiner equates for precise motor positioning and control to correcting the error produced. Mao doesn’t explicitly teach a harmonic gear disposed to rotate and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear.
Mao doesn’t explicitly teach a harmonic gear disposed to rotate the unit, and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear.
Mao and Yeung are related as devices with motor and rotational motion, and motor and gears that controls movement. Yeung teaches rotate the shaft section, and optical encoder 46 is mounted on shaft section 38 of output shaft 26 for measuring rotational displacement, [0163]; a harmonic gear disposed to rotate the unit, and encoder measurements providing a basis for correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear (optical encoder 46 is mounted on shaft section 38 of output shaft 26 for measuring rotational displacement, [0163] Motor 212 may include a servo motor integrated with a harmonic gear and an angular encoder for measuring rotational displacement of the motor shaft 220 coupled to said gear, [0197], motor 302 to rotate about the wrist-roll axis 438 via the gear-reduction by the harmonic-drive 482., [0203]. Yeung teaches the relative alignment error between the input and output axis can be compensated, [0186]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the mount of Mao by changing the gear to harmonic gear as taught by Yeung for the predictable advantage of gear ratio may be a miniature harmonic gear, make a compact module as taught by Yeung in [0188], it is also known to art that Harmonic gears offer exceptional advantages for high-precision, space-constrained applications, high torque density, and significant weight savings in a compact design.
The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear. Mao and Matsuo are related as motor and gears that controls movement. Matsuo teaches the gear is a harmonic gear, encoder configured to produce measurements and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear (correcting the angle transmission error in the harmonic drive gear, [TECHNICAL-FIELD], For angle transmission error of the harmonic gear reducer is typically measures the rotation angle of the output side with a precision rotary encoder , and can be fed back to the input side in the control unit, [page 2, para 4, of machine translation]; rotated through a harmonic gear reducer 5 by the drive motor 6 , in the control apparatus 10 , and the input side of the harmonic drive gear reducer 5 which is input from the input-side angle detecting rotary encoder 8 an angle detection signal , on the basis of the output side of the angle detection signal of the harmonic drive gear reducer 5 which is input from the output side angle detecting rotary encoder 9, the angle transmission error in the harmonic gear reducer 5 is detected, [page 3 of machine translation]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao by changing the gear to harmonic gear and correcting a harmonic error produced by the harmonic gear, as taught by Matsuo for the predictable advantage of having an angle transmission error correction method and apparatus of the gear reducer (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 11 (see above), Yeung further teaches, the telescope further comprising control circuity having an input that represents a desired right-ascension angle, the control circuitry constructed and arranged to rotate the declination unit in right ascension under closed-loop feedback control, such that the measurements of right ascension substantially match the desired right-ascension angle (a control circuit coupled to the motor. The control circuit includes a motor driver arranged to direct the motor to drive the optical assembly in a first rotational direction about the axis of the telescope and to drive the optical assembly in a second direction, .. The control circuit still further includes a calculating circuit arranged to calculate a difference between the first current and the second current., [0016]; Motor current is measured while the motor is driving the telescope in each direction, and a difference in motor current is computed. The difference in motor current indicates the degree of imbalance of the telescope, which may be communicated to an operator to allow adjustments to the telescope to improve its balance. [0027]).
Regarding claim 14, Mao teaches a method of pointing a telescope mount (refer to US 20130258459), comprising: driving a worm of a worm gear to rotate the telescope mount in declination (a motor 126, Fig. 1; FIG. 2 shows a diagram of a motor controlling system including a motor, [0028]; shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear, shaft of the motor is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear for driving a respective axis of the telescope mount. [0030]); driving a gear to rotate the telescope mount in right ascension (mount 100 also includes motor assemblies 126 and 128 for effecting controlled rotation of the mount in declination and right ascension, [0010]); and correcting errors in right ascension using an optical encoder (motor 210 may be a DC motor or a stepper motor, for example. In an example, the motor 210 is a DC motor configured in a servo arrangement, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control. the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]; motor 210 moves 6667 steps during the forward current sampling period, [0034]).
Mao teaches motor assemblies 126 and 128 for effecting controlled rotation of the mount in declination and right ascension, communicating with a hand controller or a computer for receiving commands to control the motors 126 and 128 (0010), And also an improved technique balances a telescope from the viewpoint of the motors that drive the telescope's axes, measure the degree of imbalance of the telescope, which may be communicated to an operator to allow adjustments to the telescope to improve its balance, [0027], and the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]. Examiner equates for precise motor positioning and control to correcting the error produced. Mao doesn’t explicitly teach driving a harmonic gear and correcting periodic errors.
Mao and Yeung are related as devices with motor and rotational motion, and motor and gears that controls movement. Yeung teaches driving a harmonic gear (Motor 212 may include a servo motor integrated with a harmonic gear and measuring rotational displacement of the motor shaft 220 coupled to said gear, [0197], motor 302 to rotate about the wrist-roll axis 438 via the gear-reduction by the harmonic-drive 482, [0203]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the mount of Mao by using a gear to harmonic gear as taught by Yeung for the predictable advantage of gear ratio may be a miniature harmonic gear, make a compact module as taught by Yeung in [0188], it is also known to art that Harmonic gears offer exceptional advantages for high-precision, space-constrained applications, high torque density, and significant weight savings in a compact design.
The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach correcting a periodic error.
Mao and Matsuo are related as motor and gears that controls movement. Yeung teaches the relative alignment error between the input and output axis can be compensated, [0186]. Matsuo teaches correcting a periodic error (harmonic gear reducer is, as its characteristics, it is actual situation that the periodic angular transmission error of 1 cycle every time the shaft of the servo motor is connected to the input side to two revolutions is occurring, [page 2 of machine translation]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao by changing the gear to harmonic gear and correcting a periodic error produced by the harmonic gear, as taught by Matsuo for the predictable advantage of having an angle transmission error correction method and apparatus of the gear reducer (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 14 (see above), controlling a stepper motor to rotate, (FIG. 2 shows a diagram of a motor controlling system including a motor 210, The control circuit 200 includes a motor driver 212, a current sampling circuit 214, and a calculating circuit 215. In an example, the calculating circuit 215 is implemented as a microcontroller or microprocessor, which, in addition to calculating, may perform other functions, [0028]; motor 210 may be a DC motor or a stepper motor, [0030]). Yeung teaches wherein driving the harmonic gear includes controlling a stepper motor to rotate a spline of the harmonic gear (the harmonic-drive 56, rotates counter-clockwise, [0181], a harmonic gear and an angular encoder for measuring rotational displacement of the motor shaft 220 coupled to said pinion gear, [0197]).
Claims 7-10, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Yeung et al. further in view of Matsuo et al as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Kischka et al. (US 2015/0091480).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 6 (see above), further comprising: drive circuitry coupled to the stepper motor for driving a shaft of the stepper motor forward and backwards; and a switch, causing the stepper motor to act as a brake that resists right-ascension rotation in response to applied forces (a stepper motor, for example. In an example, the motor 210 is a DC motor configured in a servo arrangement, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control. [0030]; a motor driving and current sampling process during a backward movement of the motor 210. circuit 214 commences sampling of the backward move current, [0035]; control circuit 200 may send instructions to the motor to move the motor 210 forward first and then backward, [0040]).
The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach a switch coupled across terminals of the first coil for selectively short-circuiting the first coil, causing the motor to act as a brake that resists rotation in response to applied forces.
Mao and Kischka are related as motor and gear that controls movement (Fig. 13, [0070]). Kischka teaches a switch coupled across terminals of the first coil for selectively short-circuiting the first coil, causing the motor to act as a brake that resists rotation in response to applied forces (motor, braking is implemented by virtue of … drive motor braking is implemented by virtue of the fact that, in a first step, the phase connections of a first field coil are short-circuited via associated switches, [0014], and also see the abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao to include a switch coupled across terminals of the first coil for selectively short-circuiting the first coil, causing the motor to act as a brake that resists rotation in response to applied forces, as taught by Kischka for the predictable advantage of having a very short braking time with little technical complexity involved as taught by Kischka in [0007].
Regarding claim 8, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 7 (see above), wherein the stepper motor acts as a brake without requiring power, and wherein the hybrid mount does not include a mechanical right-ascension brake (a stepper motor, motor 210 is a DC motor configured in a servo arrangement, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control. The shaft of the motor 210 is coupled to a worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear for driving a respective axis of the telescope mount, [0030]. Worm shaft, which in turn is coupled to a worm gear acts as a brake without power).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 7 (see above), Kischka teaches a second switch coupled across terminals of the second coil for selectively short-circuiting the second coil and increasing an applied force that the brake can resist beyond that which is achieved by short-circuiting the first coil only (the phase connections of a first field coil are short-circuited via associated switches (FIG. 1), with the result that a braking current flows via the first field coil and the second and third field coils, as a series circuit, are in parallel with the first field coil. … with the result that a braking current now flows via the second field coil and the third and first field coils, [0068]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Mao teaches the mount according to claim 7 (see above), further comprising a resistor connected in series with the switch, the resistor having a resistance value selected to provide a desired resistance to right-ascension rotation in response to applied forces (the current measuring circuit includes a resistor coupled to the H-bridge and configured to produce a voltage drop proportional to a current provided to the motor. [claim 14]; A resistor 260, low pass filter 270 (including a resistor 272 and a capacitor 274, for example), analog-to-digital converter 280, and digital filter 290 may be parts of the current measuring circuit 214, … multiple physical resistance elements connected together in any suitable way, H-bridge drives the motor 210 in an alternating manner by, first, turning on transistors 252 and 258 and turning off transistors 254 and 256, and, second, turning on transistors 254 and 256 and turning off transistors 252 and 258. As a result of the switching of the H-bridge, and in both alternating configurations, see [0031], see Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 16 (see above), a stepper motor for rotating the declination unit in right ascension, (The motor 210 may be a DC motor or a stepper motor, motor configured in a servo arrangement, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]). The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach applying a brake to the telescope mount by short-circuiting one or more input coils of the stepper motor.
Mao and Kischka are related as motor and gear that controls movement (Fig. 13, [0070]). Kischka teaches applying an electronic right-ascension brake to the telescope mount by short-circuiting one or more input coils of the stepper motor (motor, braking is implemented by virtue of … drive motor braking is implemented by virtue of the fact that, in a first step, the phase connections of a first field coil are short-circuited via associated switches, [0014], and also see the abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao to include applying a brake to the telescope mount by short-circuiting one or more input coils of the stepper motor, as taught by Kischka for the predictable advantage of having a very short braking time with little technical complexity involved as taught by Kischka in [0007].
Regarding claim 19, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 17 (see above), a stepper motor for rotating, (The motor 210 may be a DC motor or a stepper motor, where the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control, [0030]). The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach wherein short-circuiting said one or more input coils of the stepper motor includes connecting together first and second terminals of at least one of the input coils through a resistor.
Mao and Kischka are related as motor and gear that controls movement (Fig. 13, [0070]). Kischka teaches short-circuiting said one or more input coils of the motor includes connecting together first and second terminals of at least one of the input coils through a resistor (field coils can be short-circuited directly in order to achieve a maximum braking current. It may be expedient to short-circuit a field coil via a braking resistor 50, as is shown in FIG. 9, [0071]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao to include short-circuiting one or more input coils of the motor includes connecting together first and second terminals of at least one of the input coils through a resistor, as taught by Kischka for the predictable advantage of having a very short braking time with a little technical complexity involved, as taught by Kischka in [0007].
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Yeung et al. further in view of Matsuo et al as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Campton (US 2004/0051942).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 11 (see above), Mao teaches a motor that controls movement along an axis of the telescope drives the telescope, [abstract]. Yeung further teaches, wherein the harmonic gear is constructed and arranged to resist turning moments, such that the telescope does not include a declination-axis counterweight (Harmonic drives, on the other hand, features zero-backlash, [0020]). The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach the telescope wherein the is constructed and arranged to resist turning moments, such that the telescope does not include a declination-axis counterweight. Mao and campton are related as telescope mount. Campton teaches the telescope mount is operated without a declination-axle counterweight (adjustment allows the telescope tube to be balanced without using cumbersome springs or counterweights, [0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao to design the telescope wherein the is constructed and arranged to resist turning moments, such that the telescope does not include a declination-axis counterweight, as taught by Campton for the predictable advantage of adjustment of a telescope tube along its central longitudinal axis which allows balance to be achieved as different eyepieces or accessories with different weights are attached to the telescope tube, as taught by Campton in [0011].
Regarding claim 20, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 17 (see above), Mao teaches a motor that controls movement along an axis of the telescope drives the telescope, [abstract]. Yeung further teaches, wherein the telescope mount is operated without a declination-axle counterweight (Harmonic drives, on the other hand, features zero-backlash, [0020]). The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach the telescope mount is operated without a declination-axle counterweight.
Mao and Campton are related as telescope mount. Campton teaches the telescope mount is operated without a declination-axle counterweight (adjustment allows the telescope tube to be balanced without using cumbersome springs or counterweights, [0011]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao to design the telescope mount operated without a declination-axle counterweight, as taught by Campton for the predictable advantage of adjustment of a telescope tube along its central longitudinal axis which allows balance to be achieved as different eyepieces or accessories with different weights are attached to the telescope tube, as taught by Campton in [0011].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao in view of Yeung et al. further in view of Matsuo et al as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Baun et al. (US 2006/0092508).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Mao teaches the telescope according to claim 14 (see above), right-ascension made using the optical encoder with desired right-ascension angles (the motor 210 works in coordination with an optical encoder for precise motor position sensing and control [0030]; mount 100 includes a declination (DEC) axis 110 and a right ascension (R.A.) axis 112 [0010]).
The modified Mao doesn’t explicitly teach correcting the periodic errors includes applying closed-loop feedback control to substantially match measurements of right-ascension made using the optical encoder with desired right-ascension angles.
Mao and Baun are related as telescope mount.
Baun teaches correcting the periodic errors includes applying closed-loop feedback control to substantially match measurements of right-ascension made using the optical encoder with desired right-ascension angles (closed-loop control systems used in connection with automated telescope control, one or more position feedback sensors may be placed anywhere between the motor shaft and the telescope focal plane. Once a position feedback sensor is calibrated such that its output can be converted to an apparent stellar position, the sensor will automatically correct, through this calibration, for any systematic errors from the motor shaft up to the position feedback sensor, [0069]; closed loop systems, the position feedback encoders provide a numerical value corresponding to the angular position of an axis. This numerical value is converted to a meaningful coordinate, such as RA, Dec, altitude or azimuth, by applying a calibration algorithm to the raw encoder data. These encoder zero offset corrections are incorporated into the calibration algorithm in order to provide numerical values representing the true position of the telescope. The system controller compares the apparent position of the desired object with the position of the telescope (determined from the position encoder readings) and generates appropriate movement commands to the motors in order to minimize the difference between the object and telescope positions. [0155]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified mount of Mao by using a applying closed-loop feedback control to substantially match measurements of right-ascension made using the optical encoder with desired right-ascension angles, as taught by Baun for the predictable advantage of adding alignment methods which can improve the accuracy [abstract].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art failed to show the pertinent prior art cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching the wherein short-circuiting said one or more input coils of the stepper motor includes: short-circuiting a first input coil of the stepper motor for achieving a first resistance to applied forces; and short-circuiting both the first input coil and a second input coil of the stepper motor for achieving a second resistance to applied forces, the second resistance being greater than the first resistance.
Conclusion
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872