The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in reply to communication filed on 09/13/2023. Claimed priority is granted from foreign application KR10-2022-0129117 filed on 10/07/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (US 2022/0034542 A1) in view of Gillbert et al. (US 2021/0319363 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Peters teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Peters discloses a continuous result collection system of license-independent computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulation and data-driven machine learning for hybrid modeling (par. 0008-0012, 0039-0043, and 0136-0143), the system comprising:
a user input processor configured to receive a 3D resource, a CFD simulation result, and structured data (0009-0012, and 0039-0043; 00139-0140); and
a framework processor configured to establish a database by accumulating data received from the user input processor and to perform hybrid modeling of the CFD simulation and a machine learning model (0139-0143).
However, Peters does not expressly disclose a framework processor configures to establish a database by accumulating data received from the user input processor, as recited in the claim. While Peters processes accumulation inputs and analytics information, it does not explicitly describe accumulating the received user input data into a database that serves as the bases for subsequent machine-learning training and repeated model refinement.
Gillberg teaches this feature. Specifically, Gillberg discloses a server arrangement configured to receive structured input information, accumulate the received information into stored datasets, establish and maintain training datasets, and repeatedly utilize the accumulated datasets for machine-learning training and optimization. See par. 0022-0026, describing the receipt of structured input information and establishment of stored datasets, and par. 0036-0044, describing repeated evaluation, optimization, and training using the accumulated datasets.
Gillberg teaches the limitation of “the framework processor configured to establish a database by accumulating data received from the user input processor...”.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the CFD simulation and machine-learning framework of Peters by incorporating Gulberg’s data accumulation and training database architecture in order to organize, store, and reuse simulation inputs and generated CFD results for repeated machine-learning training and model refinement, Incorporating Gulberg’s database architecture would have predictably improved the efficiency of model development, enabled continuous retraining as additional simulation data became available, reduces redundant data preparation, and enhanced the accuracy, scalability, and maintainability of the hybrid CFD and machine-learning modeling framework. The proposed modification merely applies Gulberg’s known data management techniques to Peters’ known CFD simulation environment according to their established functions to obtain the predictable benefit of improved machine-learning training and data management.
Regarding claims 2-5 and 7 the combination teaches:
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the user input processor comprises a 3D resource input processor, and is configured to receive the 3D resource including at least one of 3D geographic information, location information, a 3D shape, or 3D metadata (Peters, 0039-0043, 0139; fig. 8; Gillberg, par. 0022-0026, par. 0051-0052).
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the framework processor is configured to receive a CFD simulation performance result in a license holding state and to store the result in a CFD result database and a visualization toolkit (VTK) database (Peters, 0139-0143; Gillberg, par. 0022-0026, and 0036-0044; VTK is interpreted as being merely as one well-known visualization database format, among other available visualization formats application that may be desirable).
4. The system of claim 3, wherein the framework processor comprises a processing service providing processor configured to provide a CFD simulation interface, and is configured to transmit the CFD simulation performance result through an abstract function implementation and CFD simulation execution function existing in an interface of the processing service providing processor (Peters, fig. 8, par. 0136-0143; Gillberg, par. 0022-0026).
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the processing service providing processor is configured to periodically re-execute a CFD and to transmit an alarm to a user in case of an execution failure (Peters, 0141-0143; Gillberg, 0036-0044; alarm is implicit and can be an obvious engineering addition).
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the framework processor is configured to provide an interface for transferring data previously managed by a user with a certain file or a certain database (Peters, 0136-0143 and Gillberg, par. 0022-0026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
“Continuous result collection system”, is functional and indefinite. The specification does not provide information to dictate otherwise.
“License-independent”, is a functional limitation with unclear scope.
Hybrid modeling” is vague and does not define how the CFD simulation and machine learning model are combined.
The issues mentioned above are just exemplary. Applicant is advised to review the entire application, claims and specifications, for errors and correct the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
/JUDE JEAN GILLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
July 27, 2026