Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species G, Figs. 13A-13E in the reply filed on 5/4/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant notes that claims 2, 5, 9, 14 and 16-17 are withdrawn. However, additionally claim 7-8, 10 and 18-20 are withdrawn. Each of claims 7 and 18 require the shutter to have two free sides which is not disclosed in the elected species. The elected species discloses the sides of the shutters have indentations instead of free sides (p.[00109]). Claims 8, 10 and 19-20 are withdrawn due to their dependency from a withdrawn claim.
Therefore, claims 2, 5, 7-10, 14 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Drawings
Figures 1-2E should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
The drawings are objected to because in figures 13A-13E the elements 1315 and 1317 are described a “indentations” but, the drawings seem to shown them as protrusions (Figs. 13C and 13E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakob (US 2007/0274802). Jakob discloses a modular adhesive screen (5) for an insert anchor assembly comprising: a body having opposite first (at 20) and second (at 9) ends, and a length therebetween having a tubular shape with an outer surface; the outer surface including a plurality of shutters (13-18) configured to vary an opening (19) associated with each shutter upon installation of the insert assembly (p.[0017]). The outer surface of the each of the shutters is a cam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginter (EP 1 367 267) in view of Ritter (US 6,688,822). Ginter discloses a modular adhesive insert for an anchor assembly comprising: a housing (1; 1.2) with a first and second ends; the first end including a first set of post (7.1, 7.2) forming a connection structure; the second end including notches (8.1, 8.2) forming a second connection structure; a first end cap (1; 1.1) with a connecting structure is connected to the first end of the housing; and a second end cap (11) with a second connecting structure is connected to the second end of the housing. Ginter does not disclose the housing including a plurality of shutters. Ritter discloses a modular adhesive insert including a body (1) having first and second ends (2 and 3) similar to Ginter but, Ritter further discloses the housing to include a plurality of shutters (4) between the ends adapted to vary the size of a opening associated with each shutter to control the flow of an adhesive. The exterior surface of each shutter is a cam. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the housing of Ginter with shutters as discloses in Ritter for the same reason to control the flow of the adhesive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited are of general interest teaching other examples of adhesive inserts.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675