Claim Objections
2. Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, line 1, “ a number of slave BMSs” should be – a number of the plurality of slave BMSs“
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3.Claims 11, 14-16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated. There is no antecedent basis for identification signal generator and detector and it is not clear where is the identification signal generator. For examination purpose, claim 14 has been interpretated as “as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting an identification signal generator of the master MBS to respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated.”
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected for the same reason because they depend on claim 13.
Claim 11 and claim 17 recites “wherein the identification signal uses a high frequency that is distinguished from a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs.
The term “high frequency” in claim 11, and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high frequency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, the limitation has been interpretated as wherein the identification signal uses a frequency that is higher than a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 8-9, 12-13, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR101454518B1) In view of Ko (KR2013-0058373)
With regard to claim 1, Lim teaches an electronic apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of slave battery management systems (BMSs) configured to manage battery cells of battery modules ( Fig. 1), respectively; and
a master BMS (10, Fig. 1)configured to manage the plurality of slave BMSs ( 21-23, Fig. 1),
wherein in response to the master BMS transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs, a first slave BMS is identified among the plurality of slave BMSs, (The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) [0038]-[0040], also see [0017] The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50), and when the setting for the transmitted ID is completed, the second battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) returns the ACK signal to the master battery management system Step S70), this means the master BMS transmit identification signal to the slave BMSs and select the slave 1) and
wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform an address setting process according to the first address setting command. (The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50) it means that Master BMS identify the slave 1 and send the address/ID to the slave 1 and slave performs the first address setting by storing it ,[0038]-[0040])
Lim does not explicitly teach in response to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface, the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs, using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface
However, Ko teaches to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command ( [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network) to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface , the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs ( activation of each BMS and allocating an unique ID, [0020]), using a second interface ( Ko teaches about master/first BMS allocate the information to second BMS as series communication at abstract- this is similar to described in [0038]-[0040] of Lim, master BMS transmit an address to the slave 1 using the second interface) that is distinguished from the first interface ([0020] describes the master BMS activation of each BMS using parallel communication network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lim, to configure to in response to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface, the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs, using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface, as taught by Ko. The purpose broadcast/activation of slave BMS is to activate slave BMSs when necessary to save power and using a parallel communication is to active slave BMS simultaneously rather than sequentially to save the time
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Ko further teaches wherein the first interface is configured to connect the master BMS to the plurality of slave BMSs in parallel( [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network), and
wherein the second interface is configured to connect the master BMS to the plurality of slave BMSs in series interface ( Ko teaches about master/first BMS allocate the information to second BMS as series communication- at abstract/[0020] this is similar to described in [0038]-[0040] of Lim,).
With regard to claim 9, The combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Ko further teaches wherein the first interface corresponds to a data bus ( parallel communication network sends the data signal [0055]).
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Lim further teaches wherein a number of slave BMSs is N (slave n, Fig. 1),
wherein the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to notify the master BMS of address setting completion, after each completing of the address setting process (The SLAVE 1 BMS then returns an ACK signal to the MASTER BMS when the setting of the transmitted ID is completed (S70).[0041]], and
Ko teaches wherein the master BMS is configured to broadcast an N+1 address setting command, and
Ko teaches wherein the master BMS is configured to terminate the broadcasting of the N+1 address command in response to an address setting completion for the N+1 address setting command not being confirmed( [0056] Preferably, the first BMS allocates a unique communication identifier to the BMS in a specific order, and if the unique communication identifier allocation request signal is not received from another BMS within a predetermined time, the unique communication identifier allocation process is terminated.).
With regard to claim 13, Lim teaches a processor-implemented ( see abstract, BMS, battery management system includes a controller), the method comprising:
transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs using a second interface (The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) [0038]-[0040], also see [0017] The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50), and when the setting for the transmitted ID is completed, the second battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) returns the ACK signal to the master battery management system Step S70), this means the master BMS transmit identification signal to the slave BMSs and select the slave 1),
wherein, in response to a first slave BMS being identified among the plurality of slave BMSs by the identification signal in the target identification mode, an address setting process according to the first address setting command is performed by the first slave BMS(The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50) it means that Master BMS identify the slave 1 and send the address/ID to the slave 1 ,[0038]-[0040]).
Lim does not teach broadcasting a first address setting command to a plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface; transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface, in response to the plurality of slave BMSs entering a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs.
However, Ko teaches to broadcasting a first address setting command ( [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network) to the plurality of slave BMSs) using a first interface , transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs ( activation of each BMS and allocating an unique ID, [0020])using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface( Ko teaches about master/first BMS allocate the information to second BMS as series communication abstract/[0020]- this is similar to described in [0038]-[0040] of Lim, master BMS transmit an address to the slave 1), in response to the plurality of slave BMSs entering a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs( allocating each BMS an unique ID after activation of each BMS, [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lim, to broadcasting a first address setting command to a plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface; transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface, in response to the plurality of slave BMSs entering a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs, as taught by Ko. The purpose broadcast/activation of slave BMS is to activate slave BMSs when necessary to save power and using a parallel communication is to active slave BMS simultaneously rather than sequentially to save the time.
With regard to claim 17, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Ko further teaches the first interface is configured to connect the master BMS to the plurality of slave BMSs in parallel( [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network, and
wherein the second interface is configured to connect the master BMS to the plurality of slave BMSs in series( Ko teaches about master/first BMS allocate the information to second BMS as series communication abstract/[0020]- this is similar to described in [0038]-[0040] of Lim,).
With regard to claim 19, Lim teaches An electric vehicle [0014] electric vehicle, comprising:
a battery pack comprising a plurality of slave battery management systems (BMSs) ( 21, 22, 23, configured to manage battery cells of battery modules ([0014], respectively, and a master BMS ( 10, Fig. 1)configured to manage the plurality of slave BMSs (21, 22, 23, Fig. 1) ; and
an electric motor configured to provide power using the battery pack ([ 0010] motor driving power source )
wherein in response to the master BMS transmitting an identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs, a first slave BMS is identified among the plurality of slave BMSs, (The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) [0038]-[0040], also see [0017] The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50), and when the setting for the transmitted ID is completed, the second battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) returns the ACK signal to the master battery management system Step S70), this means the master BMS transmit identification signal to the slave BMSs and select the slave 1) and
wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform an address setting process according to the first address setting command. (The system MASTER BMS checks the slave battery management system SLAVE BMS and the CAN line at step S10 and sends the initial lowest SLAVE ID to the slave 1 battery management system SLAVE 1 BMS (SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) A first step (S30) of transmitting an address (ADDRESS); The slave 1 battery management system (SLAVE 1 BMS) stores the transmitted ID (S50) it means that Master BMS identify the slave 1 and send the address/ID to the slave 1 ,[0038]-[0040])
Lim does not teach in response to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface, the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs, using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface
However, Ko teaches to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command ( [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network) to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface ), the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs ( activation of each BMS and allocating an unique ID, [0020]), using a second interface ( Ko teaches about master/first BMS allocate the information to second BMS as series communication- this is similar to described in [0038]-[0040] of Lim, master BMS transmit an address to the slave 1) that is distinguished from the first interface ([0020] describes the master BMS activation of each BMS using parallel communication network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lim, to configure to in response to the master BMS broadcasting a first address setting command to the plurality of slave BMSs using a first interface, the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter a target identification mode for identifying an address setting target among the plurality of slave BMSs, using a second interface that is distinguished from the first interface, as taught by Ko. The purpose broadcast/activation of slave BMS is to activate slave BMSs when necessary to save power and using a parallel communication is to active slave BMS simultaneously rather than sequentially to save the time
5. Claims 2-4, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR101454518B1) In view of Ko (KR2013-0058373) in further view of Suzuki (US20230065241A1)
With regard to claim 2, Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not wherein the master BMS comprises an identification signal generator,
wherein the plurality of slave BMSs comprises identification signal detectors, respectively, and
wherein, as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated.
However, Suzuki teaches wherein the master BMS comprises an identification signal generator (101, Fig. 1),
wherein the plurality of slave BMSs ( slave device, Fig. 1, Fig. 6)comprises identification signal detectors ( e.g., 201, Fig. 1, see [0035] transmission of notification from 100 is performed by 101), respectively, and
wherein, as the plurality of slave BMSs ( slave device, Fig. 1, Fig. 6)enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated ( e.g., switch 202, 203 are turn on, Fig. 6, see [0037] since the first switches 202 and 203 of all the slave devices are turned on, it is possible to notify all the slave devices of the ID assignment start command.) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 1, configure the master BMS to comprise an identification signal generator, wherein the plurality of slave BMSs comprises identification signal detectors, respectively, and wherein, as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated, as taught by Suzuki. In order to notify all the slave devices that the start of ID assignment ([0037]
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Lim, Ko and Suzuki teaches all the limitation of claim 2, Suzuki further teaches wherein the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMSs comprise identification mode switches ( see each slave include 202, 203, Fig. 6), respectively, and wherein the identification paths are activated as respective identification mode switches of the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMSs are in a closed state in the target identification mode ( see Fig. 6, 202, 203 are closed in Fig. 6, [0037] since the first switches 202 and 203 of all the slave devices are turned on, it is possible to notify all the slave devices of the ID assignment start command).
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Lim, Ko and Suzuki teaches all the limitation of claim 2, Ko further teaches the respective identification mode switches of the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMSs are in the closed state and then back in an open state in response to a reference time elapsing ( N BMSs are sequentially activated at predetermined time intervals and are assigned unique communication identifiers.[0033])
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 13, but not, as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated.
However, Suzuki teaches as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode( slave device, Fig. 1, Fig. 6), identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated( e.g., switch 202, 203 are turn on, Fig. 6, see [0037] since the first switches 202 and 203 of all the slave devices are turned on, it is possible to notify all the slave devices of the ID assignment start command.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 13, configure the plurality of slave BMSs to comprise identification signal detectors, respectively, and wherein, as the plurality of slave BMSs enters the target identification mode, identification paths connecting the identification signal generator to the respective identification signal detectors of the plurality of slave BMSs are activated, as taught by Suzuki. In order to notify all the slave devices that the start of ID assignment ([0037]
With regard to claim 15, the combination of Lim, Ko and Suzuki teaches all the limitation of claim 14, Suzuki further teaches wherein the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMSs comprise identification mode switches ( see each slave include 202, 203, Fig. 6), respectively, and wherein the identification paths are activated as respective identification mode switches of the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMSs are in a closed state in the target identification mode ( see Fig. 6, 202, 203 are closed in Fig. 6, [0037] since the first switches 202 and 203 of all the slave devices are turned on, it is possible to notify all the slave devices of the ID assignment start command).
6. Claims 5-7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim KR101454518B1. , Ko (KR2013-0058373) Suzuki (US20230065241A1) in further view of Thomas (US20200373765A1)
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Lim, Ko and Suzuki teaches all the limitations of claim 2, but not teaches wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state, and wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated.
However, Thomas teaches wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command ( Ko teaches this ) and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state ( deactivation of the cell ck through turning on switch SW2k[0040]), and wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated ( deactivation of the cell ck through turning on switch SW2k[0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 2, to configure the first slave BMS to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state, and wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated, as taught by Thomas , so that only the activated slave BMS’s control circuit are used [0041]
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Lim, Ko, Suzuki and Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Ko teaches, in response to the master BMS broadcasting a second address setting command to the plurality of slave BMSs using the first interface, the plurality of slave BMSs is configured to enter the target identification mode ( Ko teaches [0020] master/first BMS activation of each BMS using the parallel communication network),
wherein, in response to the master BMS transmitting the identification signal to the plurality of slave BMSs using the second interface, a second slave BMS is identified among the plurality of slave BMSs due to the deactivation of the partial path of the first slave BMS ( Ko teaches N BMSs are sequentially activated at predetermined time intervals [0033], the means the activation of the second slave BMS is after the deactivation of the first slave BMS) , and
Lim teaches wherein the second slave BMS is configured to perform the address setting process according to the second address setting command ([0048].These steps (S10 to S150) are repeatedly performed when the SLAVE TOP BMS receives the ID (S370). However, only the SLAVE BMS (BOTTOM) completes the ID transfer, and the electronic switch is opened from the next SLAVE BMS and connected to the MASTER BMS and CAN again.
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Lim, Ko, Suzuki and Thomas teaches all the limitations of claim 6, Lim further teaches wherein the first slave BMS is configured to notify the master BMS of address setting completion, after completing the address setting process according to the first address setting command ([0041] The SLAVE 1 BMS then returns an ACK signal to the MASTER BMS when the setting of the transmitted ID is completed (S70).)
With regard to claim 16, the combination of Lim, Ko and Suzuki teaches all the limitations of claim 14, but not teaches wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state, and
wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated.
However, Thomas teaches wherein the first slave BMS is configured to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command ( Ko teaches this ) and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state ( deactivation of the cell ck through turning on switch SW2k[0040]), and wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated ( deactivation of the cell ck through turning on switch SW2k[0040])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 14, to configure the first slave BMS to perform the address setting process according to the first address setting command and then to cause a bypass switch of the first slave BMS to be in a closed state, and wherein, as the bypass switch of the first slave BMS is in the closed state, a partial path of the first slave BMS among the identification paths is deactivated, , as taught by Thomas , so that only the activated slave BMS’s control circuit are used [0041]
7. Claims 10, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (KR101454518B1) And Ko (KR2013-0058373) and in further view of Kobayashi (US20210184474A1)
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not wherein the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs.
However, Kobayashi teaches the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs (Fig. 7, 50 b is using to transmit the power and communication from master 10b to slave 30bs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 1, configure the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs, as taught by Kobayashi. Because using the power line communication, the device can transmit information and electricity simultaneously without need for dedicated communication cables.
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Lim, Ko and Kobayashi teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and Kobayashi further teaches the second interface is used for power line communication ( see Fig. 7), and wherein the identification signal uses a high frequency that is distinguished from a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs ([0107] Moreover, for example, BMU 10 b performs communication by use of a frequency band higher than the frequency of the AC power through AC power line 50 b in BMS 100 b. Each of the plurality of cell supervising circuits 30 b uses part of the frequency band as the communication channel assigned to aforementioned cell supervising circuit 30 b).
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Lim and Ko teaches all the limitations 13, but not the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs, and
wherein the identification signal uses a high frequency that is distinguished from a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs.
However, Kobayashi teaches the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs (Fig. 7, 50 b is using to transmit the power and communication from master 10b to slave 30bs)., and
wherein the identification signal uses a high frequency that is distinguished from a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs([0107] Moreover, for example, BMU 10 b performs communication by use of a frequency band higher than the frequency of the AC power through AC power line 50 b in BMS 100 b. Each of the plurality of cell supervising circuits 30 b uses part of the frequency band as the communication channel assigned to aforementioned cell supervising circuit 30 b)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 13, configure the second interface corresponds to a power line providing power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs, and wherein the identification signal uses a high frequency that is distinguished from a frequency of the power from the respective battery modules of the plurality of slave BMSs, as taught by Kobayashi. Because using the power line communication, the device can transmit information and electricity simultaneously without need for dedicated communication cables. Using different frequencies for the communication and power signals avoid interference and prevent signa corruption.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Serhiy (US 20210119268 A1) teaches The battery management apparatus receives a first address assignment message from a first neighboring battery management apparatus through a first infrared (IR) communicator
Park (US 20120268069 A1) teaches a method for setting sequential ID to a multi-slave BMS in a battery pack, the battery pack including N (N: natural number of 2 or more) slave BMSs having sequential physical locations to control a battery module containing at least one battery and a main BMS to control the N slave BMSs.
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872