DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 9,974,209 B1), in view of Shmilovich (US 2023/0264806 A1).
Claims 1-4: Taylor discloses an impingement cooling system (FIG.40) comprising:
an electronic device casing (fuselage 20 used as electronic device casing is a source which is ESC) configured to house one or more electronic devices (electronic speed controls used as electronic devices), wherein the electronic device casing (20) is downstream (to clarify, as shown in annotated FIG.40 electronic casing or fuselage is located downstream of air flow) of a propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40);
a plurality of fins (10; see FIG.38) extending from the electronic device casing (20); and
Taylor discloses the claimed limitations in claims 1-4, but fails to disclose one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins.
wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a feedback-free fluidic oscillator.
wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a double-feedback fluidic oscillator.
wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators comprise a feedback-free fluidic oscillator and a double-feedback fluidic oscillator.
However, Shmilovich teaches one or more fluidic oscillators (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) coupled to the electronic device casing (intended use), wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow (functional language) over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins (receiving the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins are intended use for oscillators; however, Taylor already disclosed casing and fins).
wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a feedback-free fluidic oscillator (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators comprise internal structure feedback mechanism creates periodic side to side moving jet) for the purpose of promoting good quality flow and eliminating flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface (paragraph [33]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Taylor to include one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a feedback-free fluidic oscillator as taught by Shmilovich in order to promote good quality flow and to eliminate flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface.
Further, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a double-feedback fluidic oscillator (The court held that the configuration of the claimed was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that particular configuration of the claimed was significant in order to promote good quality flow and to eliminate flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface - Change of Shape: MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 5: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of power modules (column 8 line 32: hot component is electronics, generator, ESC, etc.) are housed on an inside wall (inherent) of the electronic device casing (20).
Claim 6: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the oscillatory air-flow (Shmilovich; fluidic oscillators create oscillatory air-flow) is configured to oscillate laterally with respect to the propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40).
Claim 7: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the oscillatory air-flow (Shmilovich; fluidic oscillators create oscillatory air-flow) is configured to oscillate longitudinally with respect to the propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40).
Claim 8: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a motor (motor under propeller; column 8 line 36) is housed within the electronic device casing (20).
Claim 9: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein the motor (motor under propeller; column 8 line 36) is coupled to a propulsion component (column 7 line 41; propeller propels to generate air down to motor; propeller used as propulsion component).
Claim 10: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is 3-D printed (in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claim 10, wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “3-D printed” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention).
Claim 11: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators (Shmilovich; fluidic oscillators) is integrally formed onto the electronic device casing (20).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 9,974,209 B1), in view of Shmilovich (US 2023/0264806 A1), and in view of Cottrell (US 2021/0036580 A1).
Claims 12: Taylor discloses an electric motor assembly comprising: the electronics assembly (FIG.40) comprising:
an electronic device casing (20 is source to contain electronic devices) configured to house one or more electronic devices (electronic speed controls used as electronic devices), wherein the electronic device casing (20) is downstream (to clarify, as shown in annotated FIG.40 electronic casing or fuselage is located downstream of air flow) the propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40);
a plurality of fins (10; see FIG.38) extending from the electronic device casing (20); and
Taylor discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose a motor housing having an end face; a motor within the motor housing; a propulsion component coupled to the motor, wherein the propulsion component generates a propulsion air-flow downstream the propulsion component; an electronics assembly disposed on the end face of the motor housing,
one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing,
wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins.
However, Cottrell teaches a motor housing (212) having an end face (any position in 212); a motor (110) within the motor housing (212); a propulsion component (208) coupled to the motor (110), wherein the propulsion component (208) generates a propulsion air-flow downstream (air flow of 226) the propulsion component (208); an electronics assembly (236) disposed on the end face of the motor housing (paragraph [25]: 236 may be located in any position in the housing 212) for the purpose of providing simple uncomplex cooling system with passive movement decreasing weight for aircraft and provide simple high performance device with less complexity (paragraph [22]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Taylor to include a motor housing having an end face; a motor within the motor housing; a propulsion component coupled to the motor, wherein the propulsion component generates a propulsion air-flow downstream the propulsion component; an electronics assembly disposed on the end face of the motor housing as taught by Cottrell in order to provide simple uncomplex cooling system with passive movement decreasing weight for aircraft and provide simple high performance device with less complexity (paragraph [22]).
Further, Shmilovich teaches one or more fluidic oscillators (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) coupled to the electronic device casing (intended use), wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins (to clarify, Taylor already disclosed casing and fins; receiving the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins are intended use for oscillators) for the purpose of promoting good quality flow and eliminating flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface (paragraph [33]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Taylor to include one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators is a feedback-free fluidic oscillator as taught by Shmilovich in order to promote good quality flow and to eliminate flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface.
Claim 13: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the propulsion component is a propeller (see column 7 line 41).
Claim 14: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the one or more electronic devices is a power module (column 8 line 32: hot component is electronics, generator, ESC, etc.).
Claim 15: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators (Shmilovich; paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) act as one of the plurality of fins (10; see FIG.38).
Claims 16: Taylor discloses an eVTOL system (FIG.40) comprising:
wherein the at least one propeller (see column 7 line 41) generates a propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40) downstream the at least one propeller (to clarify, propulsion air flow is downstream of propeller, because propulsion air flow generated by the propellers); and
an electronic device casing (20 is source to contain electronic devices) configured to house one or more electronic devices (electronic speed controls used as electronic devices), wherein the electronic device casing (20) is downstream the propulsion air-flow (annotated FIG.40);
a plurality of fins (10; see FIG.38) extending from the electronic device casing (20);
Taylor discloses the claimed limitations in claim 12, but fails to disclose a motor housing having an end face; a motor within the motor housing; at least one propeller mechanically coupled to the motor, an electronics assembly disposed on the end face of the motor housing, and
one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators are configured to receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins.
However, Cottrell teaches a motor housing (212) having an end face (any position in 212); a motor (110) within the motor housing (212); at least one propeller (blade tips 208 used as propeller) mechanically coupled to the motor (110), an electronics assembly (236) disposed on the end face of the motor housing (212) for the purpose of providing simple uncomplex cooling system with passive movement decreasing weight for aircraft and provide simple high performance device with less complexity (paragraph [22]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Taylor to include a motor housing having an end face; a motor within the motor housing; at least one propeller mechanically coupled to the motor, an electronics assembly disposed on the end face of the motor housing as taught by Cottrell in order to provide simple uncomplex cooling system with passive movement decreasing weight for aircraft and provide simple high performance device with less complexity (paragraph [22]).
Further, Shmilovich teaches one or more fluidic oscillators (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) coupled to the electronic device casing (intended use), wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators (paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) are configured to receive the propulsion air-flow (intended use) and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins (to clarify, Taylor already disclosed casing and fins; receiving the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins are intended use for oscillators) for the purpose of promoting good quality flow and eliminating flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface (paragraph [33]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Taylor to include one or more fluidic oscillators coupled to the electronic device casing, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators are configured to receive the propulsion air-flow and provide an oscillatory air-flow over the electronic device casing and the plurality of fins as taught by Shmilovich in order to promote good quality flow and to eliminate flow separation for an airfoil or other aircraft surface.
Claim 17: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the one or more fluidic oscillators (Shmilovich; paragraph [33]: fluidic oscillators) are coupled between each set of the plurality of fins (10; see FIG.38).
Claim 18: Taylor as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 16, wherein the eVTOL system is capable of carrying a load of at least 25 pounds (intended use; to clarify, unmanned aerial vehicle in FIG.36 is capable of carrying loads depending on design requirements) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Taylor to include a load of at least 25 pounds as a design requirement and desire need, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 9,974,209 B1), in view of Shmilovich (US 2023/0264806 A1), in view of Cottrell (US 2021/0036580 A1), and in view of Giannini (US 2017/0203839 A1).
Claim 19: Taylor as modified further fails to disclose wherein the eVTOL system is controlled through a user controller.
However, Giannini teaches a user controller (paragraph [64]: remove autopilot, remotely controlled 100) for the purpose of remotely operating the UAV for safety no need for crew (paragraph [64]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Taylor to include a user controller as taught by Giannini in order to remotely operate the UAV for safety no need for crew.
Claim 20: Taylor as modified further fails to disclose wherein the eVTOL system is autonomous.
However, Giannini teaches the eVTOL system (100) is autonomous (paragraph [64]) for the purpose of remotely operating the UAV for safety no need for crew (paragraph [64]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the invention of Taylor to include the eVTOL system is autonomous as taught by Giannini in order to remotely operate the UAV for safety no need for crew.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to monitor control device for flight vehicle:
Itami (US 2024/0201418 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763