DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 16 September 2026.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 16, 21 and 30 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 16-17, 21-22, 26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai et al (US 2023/0155775 A1), hereinafter Dai, in view of Xi et al (US 2023/0223984 A1), hereinafter Xi.
Regarding Claim 1, Dai discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 3 and paragraph 70; a user equipment (UE)/UE 300) comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Figure 3 and paragraph 70; a processing system/(processors 330-334) that includes one or more processors/(processor 310) and one or more memories/(memory 311) coupled with the one or more processors/processor 310), the processing system (see Figure 3 and paragraph 70; the processing system/(processors 330-334) configured to cause the UE to:
obtain (see Figure 2A and paragraph 87; obtain/a location sever 230 or LMF 270 provides), from a network configuring entity (see Figure 2A and paragraph 87; from a/a network configuring entity/location sever 230 or LMF 270), an indication of a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal received by the UE (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 63, 68, 87-89 and 106; an indication/(OTDOA assistance data includes a frequency hopping sequence) of a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping sequence along with PRS configuration parameters) for a reference signal/(reference signal) received by the UE/UE 504), wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal (see paragraphs 40, 71, 106 and 123; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(first PRS resource (PRS resource #1)) for low baseband bandwidth/(performing baseband processing of signals) monitoring/(UE 300 configured to receive a portion of the PRS) of the reference signal/reference signal), wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern indicates (see paragraphs 10, 23 and 104; wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(inter-PRS frequency hopping) indicates/provides portions of PRS in slot and frequency location combinations), for each of a plurality of blocks (see paragraphs 111, 116 and 123; for each of a plurality of blocks/UE is configured to receive a portion of the PRS comprising the symbols in the PRS Resource #1 transmission in slot n), a respective subset of subcarriers of the reference signal to be sampled by the UE at a baseband bandwidth that is lower than a total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 9 and paragraphs 71, 104, 115 and 119; a respective subset of subcarriers/(a resource element 903 represents one subcarrier. The PRS 900 includes a first set of symbols 904 in a first frequency range 910, a second set of symbols 906 in a second frequency range 912. The first and second sets of symbols 904, 906 include the resource elements 903 defined in the PRS resource) of the reference signal/(reference signal) to be sampled/(processed and stored) by the UE/UE at a baseband bandwidth/(reduced bandwidth) that is lower than/(divide the PRS into smaller portions which meet the band width requirements of reduced capabilities) a total bandwidth/(beam width) of the reference signal/reference signal); and
configure processing for the reference signal according to the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; configure processing for the reference signal/(reference signal) according to the indication/signaling of the hopping monitoring configuration/associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers).
Although Dai discloses a hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal”.
However, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141, 150, 155 and 160; wherein a sequence/(three or more hops) of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks/( the frequency hopping scheme may comprise three or more hops (e.g., each hop hopping to a new bandwidth subset of the effective RS bandwidth that overlaps in part with the bandwidth of the preceding hop)) spans the total bandwidth/(By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal” as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 2, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraphs 40, 71, 104, 106 and 115; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration) providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 84, 104, 106, 115 and 123; providing a uniform/(fully uniform pattern) sub-band frequency hopping pattern).
Regarding Claim 3, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages) providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 95, 99 and 106; providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/number of symbols per PRS resource (i.e., the duration of the PRS resource). Frequency hopping information is included in the PRS resource. A repletion factor of 4, with a time-gap equal to 1 slot).
Although Dai disclose providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141 and 151; providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern/ the first and second sub-bands may be offset from each other in terms of frequency, while occupying the same amount of bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz). At each hop, the part of the RS bandwidth that the RedCap is capable of processing is denoted as BRS. By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 4, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)), an inter-sub-band time (see paragraphs 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an inter-sub-band time/time interval between two consecutive hops).
Regarding Claim 9, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 2B and paragraph 87; wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF)/LMF 270 provides OTDOA assistance data to UE 504. The assistance data provide various reference signal configuration parameters).
Regarding Claim 16, Dai discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
obtaining (see Figure 2A and paragraph 87; obtaining/a location sever 230 or LMF 270 provides), by the UE from a network configuring entity (see Figure 2A and paragraph 87; by the UE/UE from a/a network configuring entity/location sever 230 or LMF 270), an indication of a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal received by the UE (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 63, 68, 87-89 and 106; an indication/(OTDOA assistance data includes a frequency hopping sequence) of a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping sequence along with PRS configuration parameters) for a reference signal/(reference signal) received by the UE/UE 504), wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal (see paragraphs 40, 71, 106 and 123; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(first PRS resource (PRS resource #1)) for low baseband bandwidth/(performing baseband processing of signals) monitoring/(UE 300 configured to receive a portion of the PRS) of the reference signal/reference signal), wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern indicates (see paragraphs 10, 23 and 104; wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(inter-PRS frequency hopping) indicates/provides portions of PRS in slot and frequency location combinations), for each of a plurality of blocks (see paragraphs 111, 116 and 123; for each of a plurality of blocks/UE is configured to receive a portion of the PRS comprising the symbols in the PRS Resource #1 transmission in slot n), a respective subset of subcarriers of the reference signal to be sampled by the UE at a baseband bandwidth that is lower than a total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 9 and paragraphs 71, 104, 115 and 119; a respective subset of subcarriers/(a resource element 903 represents one subcarrier. The PRS 900 includes a first set of symbols 904 in a first frequency range 910, a second set of symbols 906 in a second frequency range 912. The first and second sets of symbols 904, 906 include the resource elements 903 defined in the PRS resource) of the reference signal/(reference signal) to be sampled/(processed and stored) by the UE/UE at a baseband bandwidth/(reduced bandwidth) that is lower than/(divide the PRS into smaller portions which meet the band width requirements of reduced capabilities) a total bandwidth/(beam width) of the reference signal/reference signal); and
configuring, by the UE, processing for the reference signal according to the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; configuring, by the UE processing for the reference signal/(reference signal) according to the indication/signaling of the hopping monitoring configuration/associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers).
Although Dai discloses a hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal”.
However, Xi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141, 150, 155 and 160; wherein a sequence/(three or more hops) of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks/( the frequency hopping scheme may comprise three or more hops (e.g., each hop hopping to a new bandwidth subset of the effective RS bandwidth that overlaps in part with the bandwidth of the preceding hop)) spans the total bandwidth/(By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal” as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 17, Dai discloses the method, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages) providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 95, 99 and 106; providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/number of symbols per PRS resource (i.e., the duration of the PRS resource). Frequency hopping information is included in the PRS resource. A repletion factor of 4, with a time-gap equal to 1 slot), and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)), an inter-sub-band time (see paragraphs 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an inter-sub-band time/time interval between two consecutive hops).
Although Dai disclose providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Xi discloses the method, providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141 and 151; providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern/ the first and second sub-bands may be offset from each other in terms of frequency, while occupying the same amount of bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz). At each hop, the part of the RS bandwidth that the RedCap is capable of processing is denoted as BRS. By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 21, Dai discloses a network configuration entity (see Figure 4 and paragraph 81; network configuration entity/server 230 is an example of a LMF 270) comprising:
a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Figure 4 and paragraph 81; a processing system that includes one or more processors/(processor 410) and one or more memories/(memory 411) coupled with the one or more processors/processor 410), the processing system configured to cause the network configuration entity to:
determine a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal to be received by one or more user equipments (UEs) (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 113 and 115; determine a hopping monitoring configuration/(associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers) for a reference signal/(reference signal) to be received by one or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal (see paragraphs 40, 104 and 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(first PRS resource (PRS resource #1)) for low baseband bandwidth monitoring/(hop ranges sized to the UEs reduced bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal), wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern indicates (see paragraphs 10, 23 and 104; wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(inter-PRS frequency hopping) indicates/provides portions of PRS in slot and frequency location combinations), for each of a plurality of blocks (see paragraphs 111, 116 and 123; for each of a plurality of blocks/UE is configured to receive a portion of the PRS comprising the symbols in the PRS Resource #1 transmission in slot n), a respective subset of subcarriers of the reference signal to be sampled by a UE at a baseband bandwidth that is lower than a total bandwidth of the reference signal, and
provide, for one or more user equipments (UEs) (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; for one or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), an indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; an indication/signaling of the hopping monitoring configuration/associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers).
Although Dai discloses a hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal”.
However, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141, 150, 155 and 160; wherein a sequence/(three or more hops) of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks/( the frequency hopping scheme may comprise three or more hops (e.g., each hop hopping to a new bandwidth subset of the effective RS bandwidth that overlaps in part with the bandwidth of the preceding hop)) spans the total bandwidth/(By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal” as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 22, Dai discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages) providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 95, 99 and 106; providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/number of symbols per PRS resource (i.e., the duration of the PRS resource). Frequency hopping information is included in the PRS resource. A repletion factor of 4, with a time-gap equal to 1 slot), and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)).
Although Dai disclose providing a sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Xi discloses the network configuration entity,
providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141 and 151; providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern/the first and second sub-bands may be offset from each other in terms of frequency, while occupying the same amount of bandwidth (e.g., 20 MHz). At each hop, the part of the RS bandwidth that the RedCap is capable of processing is denoted as BRS. By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing a “uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 26, Dai discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 2B and paragraph 87; wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF)/LMF 270 provides OTDOA assistance data to UE 504. The assistance data provide various reference signal configuration parameters).
Regarding Claim 30, Sai discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network configuration entity, the method comprising:
determining a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal to be received by one or more user equipments (UEs) (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 113 and 115; determine a hopping monitoring configuration/(associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers) for a reference signal/(reference signal) to be received by one or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal (see paragraphs 40, 104 and 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(first PRS resource (PRS resource #1)) for low baseband bandwidth monitoring/(hop ranges sized to the UEs reduced bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal), wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern indicates (see paragraphs 10, 23 and 104; wherein the sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(inter-PRS frequency hopping) indicates/provides portions of PRS in slot and frequency location combinations), for each of a plurality of blocks (see paragraphs 111, 116 and 123; for each of a plurality of blocks/UE is configured to receive a portion of the PRS comprising the symbols in the PRS Resource #1 transmission in slot n); and
providing, for one or more user equipments (UEs) (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; for one or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), an indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 11A and Figure 15, step 1504 and paragraphs 87, 106, 119-121 and 124-125; an indication/signaling of the hopping monitoring configuration/associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping with associated with two or more positioning frequency layers).
Although Dai discloses a hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
Dai does not explicitly disclose “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal”.
However, Xi discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figure 10 and paragraphs 141, 150, 155 and 160; wherein a sequence/(three or more hops) of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks/( the frequency hopping scheme may comprise three or more hops (e.g., each hop hopping to a new bandwidth subset of the effective RS bandwidth that overlaps in part with the bandwidth of the preceding hop)) spans the total bandwidth/(By hopping to different non-overlapping parts (or sub-bands) of the RS bandwidth, the RedCap UE can monitor the whole RS bandwidth) of the reference signal/reference signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein a sequence of the respective subsets of subcarriers across the plurality of blocks spans the total bandwidth of the reference signal” as taught by Xi in the system of Dai to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Claim(s) 5-6, 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Priyanto et al (US 2019/0162817 A1), hereinafter Priyanto.
Regarding Claim 5, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages) providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 95, 99 and 106; providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern/number of symbols per PRS resource (i.e., the duration of the PRS resource). Frequency hopping information is included in the PRS resource. A repletion factor of 4, with a time-gap equal to 1 slot).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose providing a “non-uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Priyanto discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band (see paragraphs 8-9, 73, 75 and 77-78; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(configuration information indicating the frequency hop pattern) providing a non-uniform/(the frequency hop pattern is based on a first frequency hop distance Df1 and a second frequency hop distance Df2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing “a non-uniform” sub-band as taught by Priyanto in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide techniques that allow for efficiently enabling position measurements for a wireless communication device (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Priyanto).
Regarding Claim 6, Dai discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)), an inter-sub-band time (see paragraphs 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an inter-sub-band time/time interval between two consecutive hops).
Regarding Claim 18, Dai discloses the method, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages), and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose providing a “non-uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Priyanto discloses the method, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band (see paragraphs 8-9, 73, 75 and 77-78; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(configuration information indicating the frequency hop pattern) providing a non-uniform/(the frequency hop pattern is based on a first frequency hop distance Df1 and a second frequency hop distance Df2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing “a non-uniform” sub-band as taught by Priyanto in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide techniques that allow for efficiently enabling position measurements for a wireless communication device (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Priyanto).
Regarding Claim 23, Dai discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see paragraph 106; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration/the signaling to associate a PRS resource to multiple frequency locations for frequency hopping may be that the PRS resource set, or a PRS resource, is associated with two or more positioning frequency layers. PRS resource information may be provide to a UE as assistance data included in positioning messages), and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraphs 87, 95 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks/The repetition factor indicates the number of times each PRS resource is repeated in each single instance of the PRS resource set (e.g., values of 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 16, 32)).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose providing a “non-uniform” sub-band frequency hopping pattern.
However, Priyanto discloses the network configuration, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band (see paragraphs 8-9, 73, 75 and 77-78; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(configuration information indicating the frequency hop pattern) providing a non-uniform/(the frequency hop pattern is based on a first frequency hop distance Df1 and a second frequency hop distance Df2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the hopping monitoring configuration providing “a non-uniform” sub-band as taught by Priyanto in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide techniques that allow for efficiently enabling position measurements for a wireless communication device (see page 1, paragraph 4 of Priyanto).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Priyanto, and further in view of Elshafie et al (US 2022/0385502 A1), hereinafter Elshafie.
Regarding Claim 7, Although the combination of Dai, Xi and Priyanto discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Dai, Xi and Priyanto does not explicitly disclose “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Elshafie discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 128; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hop configuration) comprises a bitmap/bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/frequency hop basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Elshafie in the combined system of Dai, Xi and Priyanto to provide a different bitmap per each hop (see paragraph 128 of Elshafie).
Claim(s) 8 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Mehta et al (US 2011/0310931 A1), hereinafter Mehta, and further in view of Sharma et al (US 2023/0068012 A1), hereinafter Sharma.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value”.
However, Mehta disclsoes the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value (see Figure 12 and paragraph 93; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(SRS bandwidth configuration) comprises an index value/index CSRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Although the combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta discloses wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value as set forth above,
The combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns”.
However, Sharma discloses the UE, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns (see Figures 5 and 7 and paragraphs 68-69, 72-73 and 92; wherein the index value/index identifies/indication at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns/an active NBWP hopping pattern indication 740).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns” as taught by Sharma in the combined system of Dai, Xi and Mehta to provide a hopping pattern (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Sharma).
Regarding Claim 25, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value”.
However, Mehta disclsoes the network configuration entity, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value (see Figure 12 and paragraph 93; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(SRS bandwidth configuration) comprises an index value/index CSRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Although the combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta discloses wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value as set forth above,
The combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns”.
However, Sharma discloses the UE, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns (see Figures 5 and 7 and paragraphs 68-69, 72-73 and 92; wherein the index value/index identifies/indication at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns/an active NBWP hopping pattern indication 740).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns” as taught by Sharma in the combined system of Dai, Xi and Mehta to provide a hopping pattern (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Sharma).
Claim(s) 10 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Fischer et al (US 2022/0120841 A1), hereinafter Fischer.
Regarding Claim 10, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF)”.
However, Fischer discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF) (see paragraphs 4, 10, 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request/request made from a network location management function (LMF)/ the LMF 120 is configured to send an NRPPa PRS Configuration Request message to each of the gNBs 110 a-c. The LMF 120 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the target UE 105 to provide the new DL-PRS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF)” as taught by Fischer in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide Improvements in position related signaling may improve the accuracy, latency and/or efficiency of locating a mobile device (see page 1, paragraph 3 of Fischer).
Regarding Claim 27, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF)”.
However, Fischer discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF) (see paragraphs 4, 10 and 106; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request/request made from a network location management function (LMF)/ the LMF 120 is configured to send an NRPPa PRS Configuration Request message to each of the gNBs 110 a-c. the LMF 120 sends an LPP Provide Assistance Data message to the target UE 105 to provide the new DL-PRS configurations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request made from a network location management function (LMF)” as taught by Fischer in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide Improvements in position related signaling may improve the accuracy, latency and/or efficiency of locating a mobile device (see page 1, paragraph 3 of Fischer).
Claim(s) 11-12, 19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Manolakos et al (US 2022/0109466 A1), hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding Claim 11, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “provide, for the network configuring entity, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping”.
However, Manolakos discloses the UE, the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
provide, for the network configuring entity (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; for the network configuring entity/LMF 306), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; an indication/indication of capability/capability regarding one or more capability/capability of the UE/UE for baseband frequency hopping/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “provide, for the network configuring entity, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping” as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide a determination of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Manolakos).
Regarding Claim 12, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two receptions”.
However, Manolakos discloses the UE, wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two receptions (see Figure 16, steps 1610-1620 and paragraphs 11, 106, 274 and 280; wherein the indication/indication of capability/capability comprises a minimum time/(minimum time gap) for the UE/UE to implement frequency hopping/(frequency hops) between two receptions/each of the plurality of frequency hops is associated with measurement by the UE of the respective sub-band at a different time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two receptions” as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide a determination of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Manolakos).
Regarding Claim 19, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “transmitting, by the UE for the network configuring entity, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping”.
However, Manolakos discloses the method, further comprising:
transmitting (see Figure 16, step 1602 and paragraph 272; transmitting/transmitted), by the UE for the network configuring entity (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; by the UE for the network configuring entity/LMF 306), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; an indication/indication of capability/capability regarding one or more capability/capability of the UE/UE for baseband frequency hopping/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “transmitting, by the UE for the network configuring entity, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping” as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide a determination of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Manolakos).
Regarding Claim 28, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “obtain, from a UE of the one or more UEs, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping”.
However, Manolakos discloses the UE, the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
obtain, from a UE of the one or more UEs (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; from a UE of the one or more UEs/UE), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping (see paragraphs 6, 245 and 273-274; an indication/indication of capability/capability regarding one or more capability/capability of the UE/UE for baseband frequency hopping/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “obtain, from a UE of the one or more UEs, an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for baseband frequency hopping” as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Dai and Xi to provide a determination of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Manolakos).
Claim(s) 13-14, 20 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Mehta.
Regarding Claim 13, Dai discloses the UE, a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 9 and paragraphs 71, 104, 106 and 115; a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration/the first and second frequency ranges 910, 912 may be based on the capabilities of the NR-Light UE; the base station utilizes frequency hopping to divide the PRS into smaller portions).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration”.
However, Mehta discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraph 67; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency-hopped pattern) comprises an antenna hopping configuration/method for selecting antennas for transmitting the RSs 161) providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE (see paragraphs 21, 24 and 67; providing a subset of antenna resources/(subsets of antennas to use for transmitting the RSs 161) for use by the UE/UE) for each sub-band (see paragraphs 34 and 74-75; for each sub-band/the number of subbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each sub-band” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (See page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 14, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources”.
However, Mehta discloses the UE, wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources (see paragraphs 21, 24-25, 67 and 76; wherein the antenna hopping configuration/(frequency-hopped pattern and subsets of antennas) provides uniform partitioning/(Let Nt denote the number of transmit antennas, Nr the number of receive antennas, and let Rt=Nt/Lt and Rr=Nr/Lr be integers. Then, the available transmit (receive) antennas can be partitioned into Rt (Rr ) disjoint subsets.) of the antenna resources/antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (See page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 20, Dai discloses the method, a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 9 and paragraphs 71, 104, 106 and 115; a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration/the first and second frequency ranges 910, 912 may be based on the capabilities of the NR-Light UE; the base station utilizes frequency hopping to divide the PRS into smaller portions).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each sub-band”.
However, Mehta discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraph 67; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency-hopped pattern) comprises an antenna hopping configuration/method for selecting antennas for transmitting the RSs 161) providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE (see paragraphs 21, 24 and 67; providing a subset of antenna resources/(subsets of antennas to use for transmitting the RSs 161) for use by the UE/UE) for each sub-band (see paragraphs 34 and 74-75; for each sub-band/the number of subbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each sub-band” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (See page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 29, Dai discloses the network configuration entity, a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 9 and paragraphs 71, 104, 106 and 115; a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration/the first and second frequency ranges 910, 912 may be based on the capabilities of the NR-Light UE; the base station utilizes frequency hopping to divide the PRS into smaller portions).
Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the one or more UEs for each sub-band”.
However, Mehta discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration (see Figure 4 and paragraph 67; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency-hopped pattern) comprises an antenna hopping configuration/method for selecting antennas for transmitting the RSs 161) providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the one or more UE (see paragraphs 21, 24 and 67; providing a subset of antenna resources/(subsets of antennas to use for transmitting the RSs 161) for use by the one or more UEs/UE) for each sub-band (see paragraphs 34 and 74-75; for each sub-band/the number of subbands).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the one or more UEs for each sub-band” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Dai and Xi for to selecting antennas with frequency-hopped sounding reference signals (SRS) (see page 1, paragraph 10 of Mehta).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Wang et al (US 2023/0275629 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 15, Although the combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta discloses frequency hopping pattern as set forth above,
The combination of Dai, Xi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources”.
However, Wang discloses the UE, wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources (see Figure 6A and paragraphs 6, 73 and 77-78; wherein the antenna hopping configuration/(configuration corresponding to antenna) provides non-uniform/(a number of antennas for each SRS resource can be different) partitioning of the antenna resources/the 4T6R configuration corresponds to a number of antennas, e.g., six (6), that is not divisible by four (r)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources” as taught by Wang in the combined system of Dai, Xi and Mehta to provide techniques and apparatuses for 5G new radio (NR) sounding reference signal (SRS) antenna switching for multi-transceiver user equipments (UEs), such as a four transmitter/six receiver (4T6R) UE (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Wang).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Xi, and further in view of Zorgui et al (US 2024/0146354 A1), hereinafter Zorgui, and further in view of Elshafie et al (US 2022/0385502 A1), hereinafter Elshafie.
Regarding Claim 24, Although the combination of Dai and Xi discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Dai and Xi does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Zorgui discloses the network configuration entity, comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth/subband hopping configuration/(frequency hopping pattern) providing a non-uniform/ sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Zorgui in the combined system of Dai and Xi to support frequency hopping across subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zorgui).
Although the combination of Dai, Xi and Zorgui discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Dai, Xi and Zorgui does not explicitly disclose “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Elshafie discloses the network configuration entity, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 128; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hop configuration) comprises a bitmap/bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/frequency hop basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Elshafie in the combined system of Dai, Xi and Zorgui to provide a different bitmap per each hop (see paragraph 128 of Elshafie).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oteri et al (US 2024/0380555 A1) discloses Positioning of User Equipment (UE) Using Reference Signals. Specifically, see paragraphs 41-80.
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469