DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 11 June 2026.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Regarding claims 1, 16, 21 and 30, the Applicant argues:
(1) The Examiner concedes that “Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring.” Office Action, p. 5. The Examiner instead relies on Yi for this limitation and Mehta for “the reference signal.” Id. For the reasons set forth below, neither Yi nor Mehta supplies the claimed limitation.
Yi does not disclose a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of a reference signal. First, Yi’s hopping configurations are organized by data type-i.e., whether the transmission is broadcast versus unicast, or control signal versus data- not by the UE’s baseband bandwidth constraint for monitoring a reference signal. The Examiner cites paragraphs [0043] and [0047] of Yi, which disclose that “[s]eperate subband configuration for cell broadcast data (i.e. common data) and unicast data may be considered” and that the information on frequency hopping “may include a first frequency hopping configuration for the control signal and a second frequency hopping configuration for the data.” Yi, [0043], [0060]. As illustrated in Figure 6 of Y, subbands are partitioned and reserved according to the type of data being transmitted – separate subbands for paging/SIB1, common data, and unicast data. Yi, [0047], FIG. 6. That is, the cited portions describe a base station scheduling decision about where to transmit payload channels, not a configuration that a UE uses to govern its own reception and processing of a reference signal under a bandwidth limitation [Remarks, pages 10-11].
(2) Second, Yi’s hopping configuration applies to downlink data and control channel transmission – specifically PDSCH, paging, and SIB – not to reference signal monitoring. Step S100 of Yi discloses that “[t]he BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE,” and step S110 discloses that “[t]he BS transmits the control signal or data to the low cost UE according to the information on frequency hopping,” where “[t]he control signal may include at least one of paging [or] SIB.” Id. At [0060]-[0061]. That is, Yi contains no disclosure of a positioning reference signal (PRS), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or any analogous or similar reference signal, and the entirety of the Examiner’s cited support in Yi is uniformly directed to scheduling of data and control channels – not to UE reference signal monitoring for RF sensing [Remarks, page 11].
(3) Mehta does not cure these deficiencies. Mehta’s abstract describes “a method for selecting antennas for data transmission in a wireless communication network,” wherein “the UE is configured to transmit frequency-hopped SRS on the set of subbands using subsets of the set of antennas.” Mehta, Abstract. The Examiner’s cited paragraphs [0025] and [0059] confirm that Mehta’s SRS is an uplink signal transmitted by the UE to the base station for channel sounding and antenna selection – i.e., the base station is the receiver and the UE is the transmitter – and not a UE that obtains a hopping monitoring configuration in order to monitor a received reference signal. Id. At ¶¶[0025], [0059]. Accordingly, Mehta’s SRS subband configuration does not disclose a hopping monitoring configuration for UE-side monitoring of a received reference signal under a low baseband bandwidth constraint, as recited in the claims.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the combination of Yu, Yi, and Mehta fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping patter for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal, a subset of antenna resources for use in sensing the reference signal, or both,” as recited in claims 1, 16, 21 and 30. Claims 16, 21, and 30 recite similar limitations and are allowable for at least the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1. As such, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of record [Remarks, pages 11-12].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument.
As per the first, second and third argument,
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In other words, Yi and Mehta are brought in to cure the deficiencies of Yu.
As set forth in the previous rejection and below, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Figures 3a and 6 and paragraphs 334 and 475; a user equipment (UE)/UE) comprising:
obtain (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraph 411; obtain/obtain), from a network configuring entity, an indication of a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415; an indication/information of a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) for a reference signal/reference signal).
In other words, Yu discloses frequency hopping information for a reference signal in Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415. Yi is brought in to cure the deficiencies of Yu.
Yi discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring (see Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 30-34, 43, 47 and 60-61; wherein the hopping configuration/(frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE) indicates a sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/(frequency hopping pattern) for low baseband bandwidth/(small system bandwidth (smaller than narrow-band)) monitoring/operating).
In other words, paragraph 47 of Yi discloses, Figure 6 shows an example of frequency hopping for a low cost UE according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 6, the first and last subband (in terms of PRB index, i.e. subband index 0 and 1) are used for paging and/or SIB1 transmission. Further, 4 subbands are reserved for common data transmission. The number of subbands reserved for common data may be signaled by SIB1. 4 subbands for common data may be used for random access response (RAR) and SIB transmissions. Further, 6 subbands are used for unicast data transmission. Additionally, Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 60-61 of Yi discloses frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE. The information on frequency hopping may be transmitted via MIB or SIB. The information on frequency hopping may indicate whether or not the low cost UE is configured with frequency hopping.
Since the combination of Yu and Yi does not explicitly disclose “the reference signal”.
Mehta discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
wherein the configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figures 5-6 and 11 and paragraphs 25, 64-68 and 80-83; wherein the configuration/(according to a sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal) of the reference signal/SRS).
In other words, Mehta is brought in to cure the deficiencies of Yu and Yi. Mehta discloses the sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration. The subbands are partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal such as a sounding reference signal.
Therefore, the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta disclose the limitation “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping patter for low baseband bandwidth monitoring of the reference signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 16, 21, 26-27 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (EP 4 199 622 A1), hereinafter Yu, in view of Yi et al (US 2018/0006779 A1), hereinafter Yi, and further in view of Mehta et al (US 2015/0016489 A1), hereinafter Mehta.
Regarding Claim 1, Yu discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Figures 3a and 6 and paragraphs 334 and 475; a user equipment (UE)/UE) comprising:
a processing system (see Figure 6 and paragraph 589; a processing system/processor 620 and memory 630) that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Figure 6 and paragraph 589; that includes one or more processors/(processor 620) and one or more memories/(memory 630) coupled with the one or more processors/processor 620), the processing system (see Figure 6 and paragraph 589; a processing system/processor 620 and memory 630) configured to cause the UE to:
obtain (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraph 411; obtain/obtain), from a network configuring entity, an indication of a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415; an indication/information of a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) for a reference signal/reference signal); and
configure processing for the reference signal according to the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 470-472; configure/configuration processing for the reference signal/(reference signal) according to the indication/indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/configuration of frequency hopping).
Although Yu discloses a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal as set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the hopping monitoring configuration “indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring”.
However, Yi discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring (see Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 30-34, 43, 47 and 60-61; wherein the hopping configuration/(frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE) indicates a sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/(frequency hopping pattern) for low baseband bandwidth/(small system bandwidth (smaller than narrow-band)) monitoring/operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring” as taught by Yi in the system of Yu to provide a method and apparatus for supporting a frequency hopping for a low cost user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Yi).
Although the combination of Yu and Yi discloses wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring as set forth above,
The combination of Yu and Yi does not explicitly disclose “the reference signal”.
However, Mehta discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
wherein the configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figures 5-6 and 11 and paragraphs 25, 64-68 and 80-83; wherein the configuration/(according to a sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal) of the reference signal/SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the reference signal” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Yu and Yi to enable the network to accommodate UEs different bandwidths for sounding reference signals (SRS) in an orthogonal manner, and use the limited resource of the SRS (see paragraph 50 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu discloses the UE, wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 166, 334 and 410; wherein the network configuring entity/(network device) comprises a network location management function (LMF)/location management function (LMF)).
Regarding Claim 10, Yu discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by the UE in association with a request (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 410-411 and 415; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) is obtained/obtained by the UE/UE in association with a request/positioning reference signal) made from a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 166, 334 and 410-411; from a network location management function (LMF)/LMF).
Regarding Claim 16, Yu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
obtaining (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraph 411; obtaining/obtain), by the UE from a network configuring entity (see Figure 31, step S03 and paragraph 411; by the UE/UE from a network configuring entity/network entity), an indication of a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415; an indication/information of a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) for a reference signal/reference signal); and
configuring (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 470-472; configuring/configuration), by the UE (see paragraphs 470-472; by the UE/UE), processing for the reference signal according to the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 470-472 processing for the reference signal/(reference signal) according to the indication/indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/configuration of frequency hopping).
Although Yu discloses a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal as set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the hopping monitoring configuration “indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring”.
However, Yi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring (see Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 30-34, 43, 47 and 60-61; wherein the hopping configuration/(frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE) indicates a sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/(frequency hopping pattern) for low baseband bandwidth/(small system bandwidth (smaller than narrow-band)) monitoring/operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring” as taught by Yi in the system of Yu to provide a method and apparatus for supporting a frequency hopping for a low cost user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Yi).
Although the combination of Yu and Yi discloses wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring as set forth above,
The combination of Yu and Yi does not explicitly disclose “the reference signal”.
However, Mehta discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figures 5-6 and 11 and paragraphs 25, 64-68 and 80-83; wherein the configuration/(according to a sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal) of the reference signal/SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the reference signal” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Yu and Yi to enable the network to accommodate UEs different bandwidths for sounding reference signals (SRS) in an orthogonal manner, and use the limited resource of the SRS (see paragraph 50 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 21, Yu discloses a network configuration entity (see Figures 3a and 7 and paragraphs 334 and 475; a network configuration entity/base station) comprising:
a processing system (see Figure 7 and paragraph 594; a processing system/processor 720 and memory 730) that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (see Figure 7 and paragraph 594; that includes one or more processors/(processor 720) and one or more memories/(memory 730) coupled with the one or more processors/processor 720), the processing system configured to cause the network configuration entity (see Figure 6 and paragraph 589; the processing system/(processor 720 and memory 730) configured to cause the network configuration entity/network device 700) to:
determine a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415; determine a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) for a reference signal/reference signal); and
provide, for one or more user equipments (UEs) (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 470-472; for one/the or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), an indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 3a, Step S03 and paragraphs 470-472; an indication/indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/configuration of frequency hopping).
Although Yu discloses a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal as set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the hopping monitoring configuration “indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring”.
However, Yi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring (see Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 30-34, 43, 47 and 60-61; wherein the hopping configuration/(frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE) indicates a sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/(frequency hopping pattern) for low baseband bandwidth/(small system bandwidth (smaller than narrow-band)) monitoring/operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring” as taught by Yi in the system of Yu to provide a method and apparatus for supporting a frequency hopping for a low cost user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Yi).
Although the combination of Yu and Yi discloses wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring as set forth above,
The combination of Yu and Yi does not explicitly disclose “the reference signal”.
However, Mehta discloses a method of wireless communications performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figures 5-6 and 11 and paragraphs 25, 64-68 and 80-83; wherein the configuration/(according to a sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal) of the reference signal/SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the reference signal” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Yu and Yi to enable the network to accommodate UEs different bandwidths for sounding reference signals (SRS) in an orthogonal manner, and use the limited resource of the SRS (see paragraph 50 of Mehta).
Regarding Claim 26, Yu discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the network configuring entity comprises a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 3 and paragraphs 166, 334 and 410; wherein the network configuring entity/(network device) comprises a network location management function (LMF)/location management function (LMF)).
Regarding Claim 27, Yu discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration is obtained by a UE of the one or more UEs in association with a request (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 410-411 and 415; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) is obtained/obtained by the UE/UE in association with a request/positioning reference signal) made from a network location management function (LMF) (see Figure 3a and paragraphs 166, 334 and 410-411; from a network location management function (LMF)/LMF).
Regarding Claim 30, Yu discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network configuration entity, the method comprising:
determining a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 411 and 415; determining a hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) for a reference signal/reference signal); and
providing, for one or more user equipments (UEs), an indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 470-472; for one/the or more user equipments (UEs)/UE), an indication of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figure 1 and paragraphs 470-472; an indication/indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/configuration of frequency hopping).
Although Yu discloses a hopping monitoring configuration for a reference signal as set forth above,
Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the hopping monitoring configuration “indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring”.
However, Yi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network configuration entity, the method comprising:
wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring (see Figure 7, step S100 and paragraphs 30-34, 43, 47 and 60-61; wherein the hopping configuration/(frequency hopping configuration, the BS transmits information on frequency hopping for the low cost UE) indicates a sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/(frequency hopping pattern) for low baseband bandwidth/(small system bandwidth (smaller than narrow-band)) monitoring/operating).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring” as taught by Yi in the system of Yu to provide a method and apparatus for supporting a frequency hopping for a low cost user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see page 1, paragraph 1 of Yi).
Although the combination of Yu and Yi discloses wherein the hopping configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth monitoring as set forth above,
The combination of Yu and Yi does not explicitly disclose “the reference signal”.
However, Mehta discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network configuration entity, the method comprising:
wherein the configuration indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern for low baseband bandwidth of the reference signal (see Figures 5-6 and 11 and paragraphs 25, 64-68 and 80-83; wherein the configuration/(according to a sounding reference signal (SRS) bandwidth configuration) indicates a sub-band frequency hopping pattern/(partitioned into sets of subbands for hopping configuration for a reference signal) of the reference signal/SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “the reference signal” as taught by Mehta in the combined system of Yu and Yi to enable the network to accommodate UEs different bandwidths for sounding reference signals (SRS) in an orthogonal manner, and use the limited resource of the SRS (see paragraph 50 of Mehta).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Nokia et al (“RedCap UE Complexity Reduction”), hereinafter Nokia NPL [provided in the IDS dated 2/18/2025].
Regarding Claim 2, Yu discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises hopping configuration (see Figure 3a, step S03 and paragraphs 415 and 419; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises hopping configuration/quantity of resource blocks (RBs) with a subcarrier spacing, SCS ) hopping configuration/frequency hopping information includes subcarrier spacing).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration”.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration (see page 3, Section 2 UE Baseband Bandwidth Reduction, lines 1-3 and under Number of PRBs; The 5 MHz baseband bandwidth is 25 contiguous PRBs and 15 kHz SCS and 11 contiguous PRBs at 30 kHz SCS. Option 1: 28 PRBs for 15 kHz SCS and 14 PRBs for 30 kHz SCS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to reduce UE baseband bandwidth (see page 3, Section 2 UE Baseband Bandwidth Reduction, lines 1-3 of Yu).
Claim(s) 3-4, 17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kwon et al (US 2007/0263702 A1), hereinafter Kwon.
Regarding Claim 3, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Kwon discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 55, 74, 78 and 82; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform/uniform sub-band/sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Kwon in the system of Yu to increase the resource efficiency (see paragraph 12 of Kwon).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu discloses the method,
wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern, and
wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Kwon discloses the method, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 55, 74, 78 and 82; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform/uniform sub-band/sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Kwon in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to increase the resource efficiency (see paragraph 12 of Kwon).
Regarding Claim 22, Yu discloses the network configuration entity, and
wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Kwon discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see paragraphs 55, 74, 78 and 82; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform/uniform sub-band/sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Kwon in the system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to increase the resource efficiency (see paragraph 12 of Kwon).
Claim(s) 5-6, 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Zorgui et al (US 2024/0146354 A1), hereinafter Zorgui.
Regarding Claim 5, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Zorgui discloses the UE, comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth/subband hopping configuration/(frequency hopping pattern) providing a non-uniform//(a non-uniform set) sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Zorgui in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to support frequency hopping across subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zorgui).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Regarding Claim 18, Yu discloses the method, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Zorgui discloses the method, comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth/subband hopping configuration/(frequency hopping pattern) providing a non-uniform//(a non-uniform set) sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Zorgui in the combined system of the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta to support frequency hopping across subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zorgui).
Regarding Claim 23, Yu discloses the network configuration entity, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an indication of a number of blocks (see paragraph 419; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hopping information) comprises an indication of a number/quantity of blocks/resource blocks (RBs)).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Zorgui discloses the network configuration entity, comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth/subband hopping configuration/(frequency hopping pattern) providing a non-uniform//(a non-uniform set) sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Zorgui in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to support frequency hopping across subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zorgui).
Claim(s) 7 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Zorgui, and further in view of Elshafie et al (US 2022/0385502 A1), hereinafter Elshafie.
Regarding Claim 7, Although the combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui does not explicitly disclose “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Elshafie discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 128; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hop configuration) comprises a bitmap/bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/frequency hop basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Elshafie in the combined system of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui to provide a different bitmap per each hop (see paragraph 128 of Elshafie).
Regarding Claim 24, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Zorgui discloses the network configuration entity, comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 105; comprises a sub-band/sub-band baseband bandwidth/subband hopping configuration/(frequency hopping pattern) providing a non-uniform/ sub-band frequency hopping pattern/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “comprises a sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping configuration providing a non-uniform sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Zorgui in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to support frequency hopping across subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP) (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Zorgui).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui does not explicitly disclose “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern”.
However, Elshafie discloses the network configuration entity, and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern (see Figure 2 and paragraph 128; and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration/(frequency hop configuration) comprises a bitmap/bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band/subband frequency hopping pattern/frequency hop basis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “and wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises a bitmap assigning at least some combinations of subcarriers to the sub-band frequency hopping pattern” as taught by Elshafie in the combined system of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Zorgui to provide a different bitmap per each hop (see paragraph 128 of Elshafie).
Claim(s) 8 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Xi et al (US 2023/0223984 A1), hereinafter Xi.
Regarding Claim 8, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns”.
However, Xi discloses the UE, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value (see Figures 12-13 and paragraphs 157 and 160; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring/(frequency hopping) configuration comprises an index value/three or more), wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns (see Figures 12-13 and paragraphs 157 and 160; wherein the index value/(three or more) identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band/sub-bands baseband bandwidth/bandwidth hopping patterns/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns” as taught by Xi in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Regarding Claim 25, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the network configuration entity as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns”.
However, Xi discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value (see Figures 12-13 and paragraphs 157 and 160; wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring/(frequency hopping) configuration comprises an index value/three or more), wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns (see Figures 12-13 and paragraphs 157 and 160; wherein the index value/(three or more) identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band/sub-bands baseband bandwidth/bandwidth hopping patterns/frequency hopping pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an index value, wherein the index value identifies at least one of a plurality of predefined sub-band baseband bandwidth hopping patterns” as taught by Xi in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to provide a frequency hopping scheme with partial inter-hop bandwidth overlap (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Xi).
Claim(s) 11, 19 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Nokia NPL.
Regarding Claim 11, Yu discloses the UE, the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
provide, for the network configuring entity (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334 and 344; for the network configuring entity/base station), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334, 344 and 348; an indication of capability/(resource capability information) regarding one or more capability/(resource capability information) of the UE/UE for frequency hopping/frequency hopping information).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses providing an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose provide an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for “baseband” frequency hopping.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the UE, the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to:
baseband (see page 3, under Number of PRBs; baseband/5 MHz baseband bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “baseband” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to reduce UE complexity (see page 3, Section 2. UE Baseband Bandwidth Reduction, line 1 of Nokia NPL).
Regarding Claim 19, Yu discloses the method, further comprising:
transmitting (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334 and 340; transmitting/reports in step S01), by the UE for the network configuring entity (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334 and 344; by the UE/UE for the network configuring entity/base station), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334, 344 and 348; an indication of capability/(resource capability information) regarding one or more capability/(resource capability information) of the UE/UE for frequency hopping/frequency hopping information).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses transmitting an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for “baseband” frequency hopping.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the method, further comprising:
baseband (see page 3, under Number of PRBs; baseband/5 MHz baseband bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “baseband” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to reduce UE complexity (see page 3, Section 2. UE Baseband Bandwidth Reduction, line 1 of Nokia NPL).
Regarding Claim 28, Yu discloses the network configuration entity, the processing system is further configured to cause the network configuration entity to:
obtain, from a UE of the one or more UEs (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334 and 344; from a UE/UE of the one or more UEs/UE in Figure 3a), an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping (see Figure 3a, step S01 and paragraphs 334, 344 and 348; an indication of capability/(resource capability information) regarding one or more capability/(resource capability information) of the UE/UE for frequency hopping/frequency hopping information).
Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses obtaining an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for frequency hopping as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose obtain an indication of capability regarding one or more capability of the UE for “baseband” frequency hopping.
However, Nokia NPL discloses the network configuration entity, the processing system is further configured to cause the network configuration entity to:
baseband (see page 3, under Number of PRBs; baseband/5 MHz baseband bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “baseband” as taught by Nokia NPL in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to reduce UE complexity (see page 3, Section 2. UE Baseband Bandwidth Reduction, line 1 of Nokia NPL).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Nokia NPL, and further in view of Manolakos et al (US 2022/0109466 A1), hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding Claim 12, Although the combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Nokia NPL discloses the UE as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Nokia NPL does not explicitly disclose “wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two transmissions, a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two receptions, or a combination thereof”.
However, Manolakos discloses the UE, wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two transmissions (see Figures 16-17 and paragraph 284; wherein the indication of capability/capability comprises a minimum time/(measurement period) for the UE/UE to implement frequency hopping/(frequency hops) between two transmissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the indication of capability comprises a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two transmissions, a minimum time for the UE to implement frequency hopping between two receptions, or a combination thereof” as taught by Manolakos in the combined system of Yu, Yi, Mehta and Nokia NPL to provide a determination of a capability of a user equipment (UE) to measure a downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) across a plurality of frequency hops (see page 1, paragraph 2 of Manolakos).
Claim(s) 13-15, 20 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Yi, and further in view of Mehta, and further in view of Liu et al (US 2021/0194735 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration”.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 49 and 61; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration/(SRS antenna switching and frequency hopping are both enabled) providing a subset of antenna resources/(antenna index) for use by the UE/UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol/OFDM symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration” as taught by Liu in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to determine the number of frequency hops for transmitting additional SRS and reducing symbol gaps when intra-subframe frequency hopping and intra-subframe antenna switching are configured/activated (see paragraph 60 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 14, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources”.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 49 and 61; wherein the antenna hopping configuration/(SRS antenna switching and frequency hopping are both enabled) provides uniform/same partitioning/group of the antenna resources/the same group of subband indices are used per antenna).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides uniform partitioning of the antenna resources” as taught by Liu in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to determine the number of frequency hops for transmitting additional SRS and reducing symbol gaps when intra-subframe frequency hopping and intra-subframe antenna switching are configured/activated (see paragraph 60 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 15, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources”.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 59 and 61; wherein the antenna hopping configuration/(SRS antenna switching and frequency hopping are both enabled) provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources/first antenna are calculated differently than for other antenna index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the antenna hopping configuration provides non-uniform partitioning of the antenna resources” as taught by Liu in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to determine the number of frequency hops for transmitting additional SRS and reducing symbol gaps when intra-subframe frequency hopping and intra-subframe antenna switching are configured/activated (see paragraph 60 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 20, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration”.
However, Liu discloses the method, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 49 and 61; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration/(SRS antenna switching and frequency hopping are both enabled) providing a subset of antenna resources/(antenna index) for use by the UE/UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol/OFDM symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration” as taught by Liu in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to determine the number of frequency hops for transmitting additional SRS and reducing symbol gaps when intra-subframe frequency hopping and intra-subframe antenna switching are configured/activated (see paragraph 60 of Liu).
Regarding Claim 29, Although the combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta discloses the hopping monitoring configuration as set forth above,
The combination of Yu, Yi and Mehta does not explicitly disclose “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration”.
However, Liu discloses the network configuration entity, wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 49 and 61; wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration/(SRS antenna switching and frequency hopping are both enabled) providing a subset of antenna resources/(antenna index) for use by the UE/UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol/OFDM symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include “wherein the hopping monitoring configuration comprises an antenna hopping configuration providing a subset of antenna resources for use by the UE for each orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol or sub-band of a baseband bandwidth of the hopping monitoring configuration” as taught by Liu in the combined system of Yu, Yi and Mehta to determine the number of frequency hops for transmitting additional SRS and reducing symbol gaps when intra-subframe frequency hopping and intra-subframe antenna switching are configured/activated (see paragraph 60 of Liu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Parkvall et al (US 2017/0331577 A1) discloses Network Architecture, Methods, and Devices for a Wireless Communications Network. Specifically, paragraphs 527-629.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2469 /Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469