CTNF 18/466,362 CTNF 73164 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference numeral 39 in [0049] is not shown in the drawings. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plate thickness and the chafer part in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hiejima et al. (US 20040186458 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Hiejima discloses a syringe connector 1 comprising: a first member 7 including a connecting portion 10 fitted to a to-be-connected portion of a syringe; and a second member 8 including a connector flow path through which fluid discharged from the syringe (fig 3) flows, wherein: the first member is made of resin containing a mixture [0058] (a resin and fiber); and the second member is made of resin containing no mixture [0058] (a resin). Regarding claim 2, Hiejima discloses wherein the mixture is fiber [0058]. Regarding claim 3, Hiejima discloses wherein the first member 7 and the second member 8 are fixed to each other only by fitting (see threaded connection at 19) between respective abutment surfaces of the first member and the second member, the respective abutment surfaces abutting with each other (due to threading connection). Regarding claim 4, Hiejima discloses wherein the first member 7 and the second member 8 include paired fitting portions (threaded connection at 19) formed to be paired with each other on the respective abutment surfaces abutting with each other, such that the fitting portions are fitted to each other by recess-projection fitting. Regarding claim 6, Hiejima discloses wherein the connecting portion 10 has an inside diameter equal to or more than 94% and equal to or less than 98% of an outside diameter of the to-be-connected portion placed at a position corresponding to the connecting portion. This is well known in the art of connectors in order to ensure proper fitting between parts . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by URA et al. (US 20180133410 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Ura discloses a syringe connector 1 comprising: a first member 3 including a connecting portion 33 fitted to a to-be-connected portion of a syringe; and a second member 5 including a connector flow path 4 through which fluid discharged from the syringe flows, wherein: the first member 3 is made of resin containing a mixture [0115]; and the second member 5 is made of resin containing no mixture [0018]. Regarding claim 6, Ura discloses wherein the connecting portion 33 has an inside diameter equal to or more than 94% and equal to or less than 98% of an outside diameter of the to-be-connected portion placed at a position corresponding to the connecting portion. This is well known in the art of connectors in order to ensure proper fitting between parts. Regarding claim 11, Ura discloses wherein: the connecting portion 33 has an inner peripheral surface formed in cylindrical shape; and the connecting portion 33 is outwardly engaged by tight fit with the to-be- connected portion (fig 9) provided in a barrel of the syringe 7 and having an outer peripheral surface formed in a truncated cone shape or a cylindrical shape (fig 9). The connected portion is capable of connecting to a glass barrel . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Cris L Rodriguez whose telephone number is (571)272-4964. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8am- 2pm.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chelsea Stinson can be reached at 571-270-1744. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Cris L. Rodriguez/ Primary Patent Examiner Art Unit 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/466,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/466,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/466,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/466,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 3783