DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference numeral 39 in [0049] is not shown in the drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plate thickness and the chafer part in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiejima et al. (US 20040186458 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiejima discloses a syringe connector 1 comprising:
a first member 7 including a connecting portion 10 fitted to a to-be-connected portion of a syringe; and
a second member 8 including a connector flow path through which fluid discharged from the syringe (fig 3) flows,
wherein: the first member is made of resin containing a mixture [0058] (a resin and fiber); and
the second member is made of resin containing no mixture [0058] (a resin).
Regarding claim 2, Hiejima discloses wherein the mixture is fiber [0058].
Regarding claim 3, Hiejima discloses wherein the first member 7 and the second member 8 are fixed to each other only by fitting (see threaded connection at 19) between respective abutment surfaces of the first member and the second member, the respective abutment surfaces abutting with each other (due to threading connection).
Regarding claim 4, Hiejima discloses wherein the first member 7 and the second member 8 include paired fitting portions (threaded connection at 19) formed to be paired with each other on the respective abutment surfaces abutting with each other, such that the fitting portions are fitted to each other by recess-projection fitting.
Regarding claim 6, Hiejima discloses wherein the connecting portion 10 has an inside diameter equal to or more than 94% and equal to or less than 98% of an outside diameter of the to-be-connected portion placed at a position corresponding to the connecting portion. This is well known in the art of connectors in order to ensure proper fitting between parts.
Claims 1, 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by URA et al. (US 20180133410 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ura discloses a syringe connector 1 comprising:
a first member 3 including a connecting portion 33 fitted to a to-be-connected portion of a syringe; and
a second member 5 including a connector flow path 4 through which fluid discharged from the syringe flows,
wherein: the first member 3 is made of resin containing a mixture [0115]; and
the second member 5 is made of resin containing no mixture [0018].
Regarding claim 6, Ura discloses wherein the connecting portion 33 has an inside diameter equal to or more than 94% and equal to or less than 98% of an outside diameter of the to-be-connected portion placed at a position corresponding to the connecting portion. This is well known in the art of connectors in order to ensure proper fitting between parts.
Regarding claim 11, Ura discloses wherein: the connecting portion 33 has an inner peripheral surface formed in cylindrical shape; and the connecting portion 33 is outwardly engaged by tight fit with the to-be- connected portion (fig 9) provided in a barrel of the syringe 7 and having an outer peripheral surface formed in a truncated cone shape or a cylindrical shape (fig 9). The connected portion is capable of connecting to a glass barrel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/Cris L. Rodriguez/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3783