DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on October 27, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on October 27, 2025.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb (US Patent Number 3,211,169) in view of Dickenson (US Patent Number 4,874,925).
Re claim 5, Webb discloses a valve body (including 12), the valve body comprising: a plurality of ports (inlet/outlet port 27 and the port 14); and a thermally conductive heating wire (13) embedded in the valve body therein to which electric power (from power source 18 controlled by control means 20) is applied to cause the thermally conductive heating wire to generate heat in the valve body (see col. 2, lines 36-38); wherein a channel (unnumbered channel that 13 is in) is defined within the valve body around one or more of the plurality of ports (port 14), the heating wire located within the channel.
Re “a valve body formed by additive manufacture” and “wherein a channel is defined within the valve body around one or more of the plurality of ports during additive manufacture of the valve body”, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113). In the instant case, the patentability of the product does not depend on whether the valve body and channel are cast or machined or formed by additive manufacture.
Webb is silent as to details of the heating wire in the channel and specifically being electrically insulated from the valve body. Dickenson discloses a similar heating arrangement around a flow path. Dickenson discloses high-resistance electrical wire heating elements in Figs 1-3 (as well as alternate PTC elements in Figs. 5-10). Dickenson also discloses a filler material (144) covering the heating element and being electrically insulative (see col. 8, lines 33-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have added the filler material (and the heating wire) of Dickenson to Webb in order to electrically insulate the valve body from the heating wire as taught by Dickenson.
Re claim 7, the modified Webb discloses the valve body of claim 5, further comprising a filler material (144 in Dickensen modified into Webb as outlined above) around the heating wire within the valve body.
Re claim 8, the modified Webb discloses the valve body of claim 7, wherein the filler material is a thermally conductive filler material (otherwise the heat from the heating wire would not transfer).
Re claims 13-15, the modified Webb discloses the valve body of claim 5. But the modified Webb is silent as to the cross-section of the heating wire being non-circular, or splined cross-section, or X-shaped.
Dickenson discloses a similar heating arrangement for a fluid handling device. Dickenson discloses high-resistance electrical wire heating elements in Figs 1-3 as well as PTC elements in Figs. 5-10. The Fig. 9 shape with four splined fingers forming an X is seen as teaching the cross-section being non-circular, or splined cross-section, or X-shaped (see also col. 8, lines 25-48). Dickenson discloses that the alternate shape provides for a larger heating element area for a given size. This teaching is relevant to modify the heating wire as well for the same reasons. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the heating wires in the modified Webb to have a non-circular cross-section which is splined and has an X-shaped cross-section in order to provide the known shape of a heating element that provides for a larger heating element area as taught by Dickenson (see col. 8, lines 25-48).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webb in view of Dickensen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fahrner et alia (US Patent Number 9,851,020), hereinafter “Fahrner”.
Re claim 8, although the modified Webb would seem to disclose that the filler material is a thermally conductive filler material, the teaching is not explicit. Alternatively, Fahrner discloses a similar valve body further comprising a filler material (66 and the epoxy adhesive around the heating wire that secures the heating arrangements to the valve body) around the heating wire within the valve body (see Fig. 4, col. 4, lines 19-24 and col. 2, lines 55-58). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the filler material of Fahrner with the modified Webb in order to conduct heat via the thermally conductive filler material (see col. 4, lines 19-24) as taught by Fahrner.
Re claim 9, the modified Webb discloses the valve body of claim 8, wherein the filler material is epoxy resin (see col. 2, lines 55-58 in Fahrner).
Re claim 10, although most epoxy resin filler material is electrically insulative, it is not inherent. So, Fahrner is silent as to whether the filler material is electrically insulative. However, Dickenson discloses the similar filler material (144) being electrically insulative (see col. 8, lines 33-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the filler material of Fahrner to be electrically insulative in order to provide an electrically insulative property to the filler material as taught by Dickenson.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753