DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 5/6/2026 are currently pending. Claim(s) 1-15 is/are withdrawn, 16-20 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Herges (US 9180388 B2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Seal surface)]
Regarding claim 16, Herges discloses a filter element (33) for a filter system, comprising: a filter medium (33) formed to a hollow body (37) about a longitudinal axis; a first end disk (43) at a first end face and a second end disk (41) at an oppositely positioned second end face; a seal element (49) at the second end face; the first end disk comprising a first central opening (45), annular (51) about the first end face; the second end disk comprising a second central opening (45), annular about the second end face; wherein when installed, the seal is opposite an outlet and in direct contact with the seal of another filter element to form a seal interface -- outlet (9) / outflow space (7); the inter-element seal is at end caps (41/43). Note on "opposite an outlet": in Herges the clean cavity (37) connects to outlet (9) through support-plate passage (31) at one end, so the element-to-element seal sits at the end remote from the outlet connection (C4/5-C5-62, FIGS. 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herges (US 9180388 B2) in view of Rampen (US 20050133433 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Herges discloses the filter element of claim 16 and further discloses a support pipe about which the filter medium is arranged (fluid-permeable support cylinder 59, over which filter cartridge 21 carrying filter medium 35 is received; FIG. 5). Herges does not disclose that the support pipe comprises the seal surface of the seal interface; in Herges the seal of the interface is carried by end caps 41/43 rather than by the support pipe.
Rampen, in the same field of endeavor (fluid filter cartridges), teaches a filter element (1) having a body of filtering media (2) with an opening (6), a cap (8) mounted at the media, and a cylindrical tube (7) extending into the hollow interior (5), wherein the cylindrical tube (7) carries the seal that closes the flow interface — specifically a radially inwardly directed flange (12) formed on the interior surface of tube (7) and a ring member (14) presenting the sealing face (15) (FIGS. 2–4). Rampen teaches that locating the seal on the tube in this manner forms and maintains "a seal of high integrity over a wide variety of pressure differentials" while permitting the element to be removed and replaced without impairing the seal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the seal surface of Herges' seal interface on the support pipe, as taught by Rampen, in order to obtain the high-integrity, pressure-tolerant, easily-serviceable seal expressly identified by Rampen.
Regarding claim 18, the combination further teaches that the support pipe comprises a radially inwardly projecting rim and that the seal surface of the seal interface is arranged at the radially inwardly projecting rim (Rampen: radially inwardly directed flange 12 formed on the interior surface of cylindrical tube 7, the flange 12 having an inwardly disposed edge 13 carrying ring member 14 whose interior face 15 forms the seal; FIGS. 2–4).
Regarding claim 19, Herges discloses a filter element (33) for a filter system (FIG. 1) comprising: a filter medium arranged as a single layer or many layers on the support pipe (filter medium 35, disclosed as multi-layered and surrounded by support fabric 39; FIG. 7); a circumferentially extending socket arranged at a first end face of the filter medium and projecting in an axial direction (axially projecting annular body 51 of end cap 43; FIG. 6); a cover arranged at the oppositely positioned second end face of the filter medium (end cap 41; FIG. 6); wherein the cover comprises a seal surface or a seal element (O-ring 49; FIGS. 6–7); and wherein, when the filter element is installed, the seal surface or seal element is in direct contact with a seal surface or seal element of another filter element to form a seal interface (adjacent end caps 41, 43 engage and seal to one another; FIGS. 4–5).
Herges discloses a support pipe (support cylinder 59), but that support cylinder is a component of the reusable basket (19) onto which the disposable filter element is received, rather than a component of the filter element itself as recited. Rampen teaches a filter element in which a cylindrical tube (7) is fixedly received within the media opening (6) as part of the cartridge and carries the seal (flange 12/ring member 14; FIGS. 2–4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Herges' filter element with an element-integral support pipe bearing the interface seal, as taught by Rampen, to achieve a self-contained, high-integrity seal at the element and to simplify handling during the element replacement that Herges emphasizes.
Regarding claim 20, Herges teaches that the cover comprises a circumferentially extending projection projecting in the axial direction away from the cover, wherein the circumferentially extending projection carries the seal element (Herges: funnel 47 extends circumferentially about cap opening 45 and projects axially from end cap 41, and O-ring 49 is carried on the inside of funnel 47; FIGS. 6–7).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777