DETAILED ACTION
Status
Claims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 1/6/2026 are currently pending. Claim(s) 1-15 is/are withdrawn without traverse, 16-20 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by THOMAS (DE 102017005797 A1).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Seal surface for the support pipe)]
Regarding claim 16, THOMAS teaches a filter element for a filter system, the filter element comprising: a filter medium (12) formed to a hollow body about a longitudinal axis (L); a first end disk (14) arranged at a first end face (26) of the filter medium (12) and a second end disk (16) arranged at an oppositely positioned second end face (28) of the filter medium (12); the first end disk (14) comprising a first central opening (15) and extending in an annular shape about the first end face (26); the second end disk (16) comprising a second central opening (17) and extending in an annular shape about the second end face (28); wherein a seal surface (20) of a seal interface or a region of a seal interface is arranged at the second end face (28) configured to be positioned as intended opposite an outlet (108) of the filter system in an installed state of the filter element (10) in the filter system (100) (p. 2-5).
Regarding claim 17, THOMAS teaches further comprising a support pipe (30), wherein the filter medium is arranged about the support pipe, and wherein the support pipe comprises the seal surface of the seal interface (see fig. above).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by MOSCARITOLO (US 20040065602 A1).
[AltContent: textbox (Socket)][AltContent: textbox (Seal surface for the support pipe)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Seal surface for the support pipe)]
Regarding claim 16, MOSCARITOLO teaches a filter element for a filter system, the filter element comprising: a filter medium (140) formed to a hollow body about a longitudinal axis; a first end disk (151) arranged at a first end face (top) of the filter medium and a second end disk (153) arranged at an oppositely positioned second end face of the filter medium; the first end disk comprising a first central opening (top central opening which 110 is connected to) and extending in an annular shape about the first end face; the second end disk comprising a second central opening (bottom central opening where 110 is connected to) and extending in an annular shape about the second end face; wherein a seal surface (115) of a seal interface or a region of a seal interface is arranged at the second end face configured to be positioned as intended opposite an outlet (125) of the filter system in an installed state of the filter element in the filter system [0025-0052].
Regarding claim 17, MOSCARITOLO teaches further comprising a support pipe (110), wherein the filter medium is arranged about the support pipe, and wherein the support pipe comprises the seal surface (inner lateral surface of groove where 115 seal is formed) of the seal interface.
Regarding claim 18, MOSCARITOLO teaches wherein the support pipe comprises a radially inwardly projecting rim and wherein the seal surface of the seal interface is arranged at the radially inwardly projecting rim (inner radial surface of the groove where 115 seal is formed).
Regarding claim 19, MOSCARITOLO teaches a filter element comprising: a support pipe (110); a filter medium arranged as a single layer on the support pipe; a circumferentially extending socket (see fig. above) arranged at a first end face of the filter medium and projecting in an axial direction; a cover (116) arranged at the oppositely positioned second end face of the filter medium; wherein the cover comprises a seal surface or a seal element (115), which seal surface or seal element, in an installed state of the filter element in the filter system, is configured to form as intended a seal interface together with another filter element [0025-0052].
Regarding claim 20, MOSCARITOLO teaches wherein the cover comprises a circumferentially extending projection (111) projecting in the axial direction away from the cover, wherein the circumferentially extending projection carries the seal element.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777