DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig.3, has a misspelling in Step 358, the step recites “Messgae”, it should be corrected to “Message”. Fig.4, has a misspelling in Fig.4, in Step#456, the step recites “Hat”, should be connected to “That”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU et al. (US 2023/0387696 A1, hereinafter LIU).
Regarding claims 1 and 20 (claim 20 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LIU discloses a battery management system (BMS) that is internal to a battery of a battery bank (See Fig.1, and Par.58 disclose BMS modules 112-114 that are internal to battery packs 102-104 of battery bank 100), the BMS comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that (See Fig.2A and Par.65, disclose BMS device comprising a memory device 202, when executed, cause the one or more processors to (See Fig.2A, and Par.65 discloses processor 201 executes instructions stored in memory 202):
monitor battery diagnostic information for the battery bank (See Par.12, discloses the master controller gathers battery status information and Par.71, discloses that battery status information comprises state of charge, state of health, temperature, charging time, discharging time and capacity of the battery), the battery bank comprising the battery and at least one additional battery (See Fig.1, discloses a battery 102 and an additional battery 103);
receive, from a central controller, an indication to charge the battery bank (See Fig.18B, Step#1871 and Par.201, disclose a charger sending a connection indicator comprising message to the master battery); and
in response to receiving the indication to charge the battery bank:
select, based on at least the battery diagnostic information for the battery bank, a given battery, from among the battery and the at least one additional battery, to be charged (See Fig.18B, Step#1853, discloses gathering SOC information and enabling the charging of lower SOC packs. The master battery 1802b in this case selects itself and Slave 1 pack 1803b); and
cause the given battery to be charged (See Fig.18B, steps#1872 and 1854, disclose charging the Master pack and the Slave 1 pack. After the master pack and the slave 1 pack are charged to 40%, the slave 2 pack is added to the charging queue at step#1873).
Regarding claim 2, LIU discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the indication to charge the battery bank fails to provide any indication of the given battery to be charged (See Fig.18B, Step#1871 discloses the charger sending a connection indicator to the master battery BMS of the battery bank 100 [Fig.1]. The connection indicator does not specify which battery is to be charged).
Regarding claim 3, LIU discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the primary BMS of the primary battery is internal to the primary battery enclosure (See Fig.1, and Par.58, disclose the BMS 113 is internal to the battery 103).
Regarding claim 4. LIU discloses the method of claim 3 as discussed above, wherein each of the plurality of secondary batteries include a corresponding secondary BMS that is internal to a corresponding one of the plurality of secondary battery enclosures (See Fig.1, discloses secondary batteries 102 and 104, comprising BMS modules 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 5, LIU discloses the method of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the primary BMS of the primary battery is communicatively coupled to each of the corresponding secondary BMS' of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Fig.1, discloses the master BMS 113 is connected to the secondary BMS’ 112 and 114 via communication channel 152).
Regarding claim 6, LIU discloses the method of claim 5 as discussed above, wherein the primary battery and at least one secondary battery, of the one or more secondary batteries, are configured in a parallel configuration via corresponding staggered battery terminals (See Fig.1, disclose primary battery 103 and secondary batteries 102 and 104 are connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 8, LIU discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the primary BMS of the primary battery communicates with each of the corresponding secondary BMS' of the plurality of secondary batteries using a J1939 communications protocol communications protocol (See Par.116, discloses using SAE J1939 protocol).
Regarding claim 9, LIU discloses the method of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein the plurality of battery diagnostic information for the battery bank comprises one or more of:
a corresponding set of battery health metrics for the primary battery and for each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Par.12, discloses the master controller gathers battery status information and Par.71, discloses that battery status information comprises state of health (SOH) information).
Regarding claim 10, LIU discloses the method of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the plurality of battery diagnostic information is communicated to the primary BMS of the primary battery and from the corresponding secondary BMS of each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Par.12, discloses the master battery gathers battery status information from the plurality of slave batteries).
Regarding claim 13, LIU discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
continued monitoring of the plurality of battery diagnostic information for the battery bank (See Figs.18A-18B, disclose monitoring the SOC of the batteries in steps 1851a and 1852a);
and in response to determining that the given battery is charged (See Fig.18A, discloses that when Master Pack 1802a and Slave 1 Pack 1803a are determined to be charged to 40%):
selecting, based on at least the plurality of battery diagnostic information for the battery bank, an additional given battery, from among the primary battery and the plurality of secondary batteries and that is in addition to the given battery, to be charged ; and causing the additional given battery to be charged (See Fig.18A, discloses selecting Slave 2 Pack 1804a in step#1863).
Regarding claim 14, LIU discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising:
storing, in memory of the primary BMS of the primary battery, the plurality of battery diagnostic information for the battery bank over a duration of time; and enabling a user to access the plurality of battery diagnostic information for the battery bank over the duration of time (See Fig.2B, discloses CORE BMS, the BMS inherently includes a memory. Par.101, discloses battery pack information is retained in the battery pack. Fig.2B, further discloses a display 215 that provides battery pack information).
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a primary battery battery management system…”. The claim is confusing because the word battery is repeated. The examiner suggests amending the limitation to read “a battery management system (BMS) of the primary battery…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of GUGLIELMO et al. (US 2022/0209320 A1, hereinafter GUGLIELMO).
Regarding claim 7, LIU discloses the method of claim 6 as discussed above, However, LIU does not disclose wherein the primary battery and at least one additional secondary battery, of the plurality of secondary batteries and that is in addition to the at least one secondary battery, are configured in a series configuration via the corresponding staggered battery terminals.
GUGLIELMO discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of batteries connected in a combination of series and parallel (See Par.64).
LIU and GUGLIELMO are analogous art since they both deal with battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LIU with the teachings of GUGLIELMO by connecting a secondary battery in series with primary battery for the benefit of providing an increased output voltage.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of SEO et al. (US 2016/0226263 A1, hereinafter SEO).
Regarding claim 11, LIU discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
receiving, from the corresponding secondary BMS of each of the plurality of secondary batteries, a message that (2) a corresponding unique identifier of each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Par.62, discloses that communication includes source address, interpreted as the unique identifier).
However, LIU does not disclose receiving, from the corresponding secondary BMS of each of the plurality of secondary batteries, a message that includes (1) a corresponding indication of a configuration status of each of the plurality of secondary batteries.
SEO discloses a battery pack control method comprising receiving, from the corresponding secondary BMS of each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Fig.1, discloses a plurality of slave batteries 110-1 to 110-8, Fig.2 discloses each of the batteries include a slave BMS 110), a message that includes (1) a corresponding indication of a configuration status of each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See Pars.64 and 66, disclose the plurality of Slave batteries send their information to the master BMS, the information includes A: number of cells 200 connected in series [Fig.2, series set 210] and B: number of series sets connected in parallel).
LIU and SEO are analogous art since they both deal with battery pack management systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed LIU with the teachings of SEO by receiving configuration information from the secondary BMS of each of the plurality of secondary batteries for the benefit of identifying the output of the battery pack by receiving the configuration status of each secondary battery.
Regarding claim 12, LIU and SEO disclose the method of claim 11, wherein selecting the given battery to be charged is further based on the message received from each of the plurality of secondary batteries (See LIU, Par.12, discloses the master battery pack gathers battery status information from a plurality of slave battery packs and controls charging/discharging based on the received status information. Fig. 18B also discloses gathering SOC information from all packs 1853 and enabling charging based on the SOC in steps# 1872 and 1854).
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LEE et al. (US 2017/0194674 A1, hereinafter LEE).
Regarding claim 15, LIU discloses a system of batteries for a recreational vehicle (RV) (See Par.59, discloses the end device receiving power from a plurality of battery packs comprising a vehicle such as truck or forklift), the system of batteries comprising:
a primary battery enclosure including at least a primary battery cavity (See Fig.1, Item$103, discloses a master battery pack, the presence of an enclosure with a cavity to house the battery is an inherent feature), primary battery communication port (See Fig.1, discloses the master battery connected to communication channel 152 vi an interface), and a plurality of primary battery terminals (See Fig.1, discloses a master battery, it is inherent that the battery comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal);
a plurality of primary battery cells that are contained within the primary battery cavity of the primary battery enclosure (See Fig.1, Item#103, discloses a master battery pack, a battery pack is a collection of connected battery cells); and
a primary battery battery management system (BMS) that is contained within the primary battery cavity of the primary battery enclosure (See Par.58 and Fig.1, Item#113, disclose a BMS internal to the battery pack), wherein the primary battery BMS includes one or more primary battery BMS processors (See Fig.2A, Item#201) and primary battery BMS memory (See Fig.2A, Item#202);
a secondary battery comprising:
a secondary battery enclosure including at least a secondary battery cavity (See Fig.1, discloses a second battery pack 102, the presence of an enclosure with a cavity to house the battery is an inherent feature) a secondary battery communication port (See Fig.1, discloses the second battery pack 102 is connected to communication channel 152 via communication channel interface circuit 205 [Fig.2]) and a plurality of secondary battery terminals (See Fig.1, Item#102, discloses a second battery pack, the presence of a positive and a negative terminal is inherent), wherein each the plurality of secondary battery terminals is connected to a corresponding the plurality of primary battery terminals in manner that enables the secondary battery and the primary battery in a parallel configuration (See Fig.1, discloses the batteries 102-104 are connected in parallel);
a plurality of secondary battery cells that are contained within the secondary battery cavity of the secondary battery enclosure (See Fig.1, Item#102, discloses a second battery pack, Fig.2A, Item#203 disclose battery cells. A battery pack inherently includes a plurality of battery cells);
a secondary battery BMS that is contained within the secondary battery cavity of the secondary battery enclosure (See Fig.1, Item#112 and Par.58, disclose the BMS is internal to the battery pack) and that includes at least one or more secondary battery BMS processors (See Fig.2A, Item#201, discloses a processor) and secondary battery BMS memory (See Fig.2A, Item#202, discloses a memory); and
wherein the one or more primary BMS processors are configured to perform operations stored in the primary BMS memory (See Fig.2A and Par.65, disclose BMS device comprising a memory device 202, when executed, cause the one or more processors to (See Fig.2A, and Par.65 discloses processor 201 executes instructions stored in memory 202), the operations comprising:
monitoring, based on communication between the primary battery and the secondary battery via the plurality of primary battery communication ports and the plurality of secondary battery communication ports, battery diagnostic information for at least the primary battery and the secondary battery (See Fig.2B, discloses cell monitoring 211 of the battery cells and provide Data to BMS 213. The data is shared with the master BMS);
receiving, from a central controller of the RV, an indication to charge a battery of the RV, wherein the indication to charge the battery of the RV does not identify the primary battery or the secondary battery (See Fig.18B, Step#1871 discloses the charger sending a connection indicator to the master battery BMS of the battery bank 100 [Fig.1]. The connection indicator does not specify which battery is to be charged); and
in response to receiving the indication to charge a battery bank defined by the primary battery and the secondary battery:
selecting, based on the battery diagnostic information for at least the primary battery and the secondary battery, a given battery, from among the primary battery and the secondary battery, to be charged; and causing the given battery to be charged (See Fig.18B, Step#1853, discloses gathering SOC information and enabling the charging of lower SOC packs. The master battery 1802b in this case selects itself and Slave 1 pack 1803b).
However, LIU does not disclose explicitly disclose a plurality of primary battery communication port.
LEE discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery communication ports (See Par.43 and Figs.2, 4 and 6, disclose a plurality of communication ports to transmit and receive data between BMS circuit boards).
LIU and LEE are analogous art since they both deal with battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LIU with the teachings of LEE by adding a plurality of communication ports for the benefit of transmitting and receiving data between the master BMS and the plurality of slave BMS circuits.
Regarding claim 18, LIU and LEE disclose the system of batteries of claim 15 as discussed above, wherein the primary battery further includes a primary battery heater within the primary battery cavity of the primary battery enclosure to maintain a temperature of the primary battery above a threshold temperature in response to the primary battery being selected as the given battery to be charged, and wherein the secondary battery further includes a secondary battery heater within the secondary battery cavity of the secondary battery enclosure to maintain a temperature of the secondary battery above the threshold temperature in response to the secondary battery being selected as the given battery to be charged (See LIU, Fig.2B and Par.85, disclose a heater control circuit for ensuring the temperature of the battery does not drop below a minimum temperature value. This is interpreted to mean the heater control activates the heater when the temperatures falls below a threshold to maintain the battery temperature above a minimum temperature).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LEE and in further view of THOMAS et al. (US 2019/0058227 A1, hereinafter THOMAS).
Regarding claim 16, LIU and LEE disclose the system of batteries of claim 15 as discussed above3, However LIU and LEE do not disclose wherein the primary battery enclosure further includes a plurality of primary battery mounting feet that enables the primary battery to be removably mounted at one or more surfaces of the RV, and wherein the secondary battery enclosure further includes a plurality of secondary battery mounting feet that enables the secondary battery to be removably mounted at the one or more surfaces of the RV.
THOMAS discloses a battery back enclosure comprising a plurality of feet that enables the battery to be removably mounted at the one or more surfaces of the vehicle (See Fig.7, Items#60 and Par.33, disclose Each of the mounting feet 60 defines a groove 62 for mounting the battery pack 30 in a vehicle).
LIU, LEE and THOMAS are analogous art since they all deal with battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LIU and LEE with the teachings of THOMAS by adding the mounting feet for the benefit of mounting the battery packs to the vehicle.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LEE and in further view of GUGLIELMO.
Regarding claim 17, LIU and LEE disclose the system of batteries of claim 15 as discussed above, However, LIU and LEE do not disclose wherein the plurality of secondary battery terminals and the plurality of primary battery terminals are each staggered to enable the secondary battery and the primary battery to be configured in the series configuration.
GUGLIELMO discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of batteries connected in a combination of series and parallel (See Par.64).
LIU, LEE and GUGLIELMO are analogous art since they all deal with battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LIU and LEE with the teachings of GUGLIELMO by connecting a secondary battery in series with a primary battery for the benefit of providing an increased output voltage.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LEE and in further view of JIN (US 2020/0381929 A1, hereinafter JIN).
Regarding claim 19, LIU and LEE disclose the system of batteries of claim 15 as discussed above, the operations further comprising:
determining, based on monitoring the battery diagnostic information for at least the primary battery and the secondary battery, that a current state of charge of the primary battery or the secondary battery has dropped below a threshold state of charge; and in response to determining that the current state of charge of the primary battery or the secondary battery has dropped below the threshold state of charge: causing a corresponding discharge path of the primary battery or the secondary battery that dropped below the threshold state of charge to be deactivated (See LIU, Par.76, discloses deactivating discharging when the battery status falls below a threshold).
LIU further discloses keeping the discharging deactivated until a signal is sent from the primary BMS (Par.76).
However, LIU and LEE do not disclose determining a duration of time to periodically activate the corresponding discharge path of the primary battery or the secondary battery that dropped below the threshold state of charge; and in response to determining that the duration of time has lapsed at a given instance of time, causing the corresponding discharge path of the primary battery or the secondary battery that dropped below the threshold state of charge to be activated.
JIN discloses a battery protective circuit comprising when a fault is detected, discharging is stopped and the controller periodically activates a detection circuit to see if the condition continues to exist or if it has been released (See Pars.17 and 51).
LIU, LEE and JIN are analogous art since they all deal with battery systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed LIU and LEE with the teachings of JIN by periodically connecting the discharging path to see if a condition still exists or if it was released such that the battery pack comes back online when a fault is released without waiting for an activation signal from the primary BMS.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859