DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1, 7-8, 10, 12, 18-21, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2023/0276504) in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., terminals 130, Fig. 2 & Para’s [0072-0076] & [0078] i.e., UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220 & Para [0075]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210 & Para [0075]), coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220), configured to cause the UE to:
Receive from a network node, configuration information (see Para’s [0151] i.e., system information (e.g., SIB1) signaled from the base station to the UE related to RO group for repeated PRACH transmission, [0152-0157] i.e., the base station may indicate resources in which repeated PRACH transmission is performed using PRACH configuration index indicated by SIB1, & [0193] i.e. ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols by RRC signaling)
transmit, in a first slot (see Figures 6-7 i.e., PRACH slot & Para’s [0141-0147] i.e., PRACH slot), a first random access channel (RACH) transmission (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0141-0143])
wherein the first RACH transmission includes a first number of RACH repetitions; (see Para’s [0141-0143] i.e., Referring to Fig. 6, ROs may be time-division-multiplexed (TDMed) within one PRACH slot (i.e., “first RACH transmission”). In other words, 6 PRACH preambles may be TDMed within one PRACH slot. If the number of PRACH repetitions is 4 (e.g., PRACH repetition factor=4) the terminal may select the preceding 4 ROs within the PRACH slot, [0150] i.e., The terminal may perform repetitive transmission of PRACH, [0151] i.e., Repeated PRACH transmissions with different repetition numbers (e.g., different repetition factors) may be supported in different RO groups…Information on RO groups for different repetition factors may be included in SIB1. For example, the base station may signal information of a first RO group for a first repetition factor and information of a second group for a second repetition factor to the terminal. The first RO group may be used for repeated PRACH transmission, [0153-0155], [0156] i.e., The PRACH configuration index may include at least information on a time resource where the RO occurs. A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration. Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, & [0163] i.e., ROs may be FDMed or TDMed. The terminal may transmit a PRACH preamble in each RO)
and increment a RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission, (see Para’s [0088] i.e., In a time division duplex (TDD), the terminal may operate based on a half-duplex scheme. Accordingly, a time of supporting DL traffic and/or UL traffic may increase according to a slot pattern, [0089] i.e., slots in the TDD carriers may be configured according to different patterns, [0098] i.e., When a PRACH is retransmitted, the terminal may increase a retransmission counter, [0137] i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”, [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, [0156] i.e., A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration (i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”). Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, [0193] i.e., according to a TDD slot configuration, ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO. A retransmission counter and a power ramping counter of the PRACH may be managed based on RO. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed or processed for each PRACH sweeping operation. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed based on the PRACH slot).
Wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by a value (see Para [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased (i.e., “incremented”) in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO (i.e., increasing the counter is based on an increased value)).
While Kim discloses incrementing the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission by a value based on the configuration information (see Para’s [0151-0157]) and a slot type associated with the first slot such as a TDD slot configuration (i.e., half-duplex slot), (see Para’s [0141-0147], [0156], [0193], & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO), Kim does not disclose wherein the value is based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the first slot. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Rudolf wherein a transmission counter value associated with a slot type (e.g., slot types may include SBFD slot type or TDD half-duplex slot type, see Fig. 11) is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE (see Para’s [0091], [0209], & [0218-0219] i.e., slot types provided through slot format indication (SFI) such as in DCI F2_0, & [0235-0236]) and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot (see Para Fig. 11 & Para’s [0155] i.e., XDD slots (i.e., full-duplex slot type) and UL slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) as illustrated in Fig. 11, [0181] i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slot, [0185] i.e., configurable transmit timing adjustment values additionally depend on DL signal reception or UL signal transmission conditions. In these embodiments, the conditions may be based on slot type, associated with counter value & [0217-0222] i.e., DL and/or UL signal transmission or reception conditions may include one or more of…slot types including U (Uplink) TDD slot type and full-duplex slot type).
(Rudolf suggests the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference, (see Para’s [0159], [0181], [0185], & [0222-0223])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the value of the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission in the TDD slot which is incremented for each PRACH slot as disclosed in Kim to be based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the slot as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf who discloses a transmission counter value associated with a slot type is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference.
Regarding Claims 7 and 27, Kim discloses the UE and method of claims 1 and 21, wherein the slot type is one of: a full-duplex slot, or a half-duplex slot, (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0088] i.e., half-duplex scheme according to TDD, [0141-0142], [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0100], [0156], i.e., TDD slot configuration, [0193], & [0266])
Regarding Claims 8, 19, and 28, Kim discloses the UE and method of claims 1 and 21, but does not disclose wherein the slot type is full-duplex, and wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by less than 1. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Rudolf discloses wherein the slot type is full-duplex, (see Fig. 11 & Para’s [0155] i.e., full-duplex or XDD slots, & [0218-0219] i.e., slot type may include full-duplex slot)
and wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by less than 1 (see Claim 5 i.e., slot type may be SBFD and the counter value may be less than a configured value (i.e., may be “less than 1”))
(Rudolf suggests the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference, (see Para’s [0159], [0181], [0185], & [0222-0223])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the value of the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission in the TDD slot which is incremented for each PRACH slot as disclosed in Kim to be based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the slot as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf who discloses a transmission counter value associated with a slot type may include a full duplex slot type which may be associated with a transmission counter that may be less than 1, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the slot type is half-duplex (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0088] i.e., half-duplex scheme according to TDD, [0141-0142], [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0100] [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, & [0193]), and wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by 1, (see Para’s [0098] i.e., retransmission counter is increased when a PRACH is retransmitted (i.e., incremented by 1) & [0266] i.e., counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot (i.e., incremented by 1))
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses a network node (see Fig. 2 & Fig. 22 i.e., base station) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220); and one or more processors (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210), coupled to the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220), configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information indicating that a user equipment (UE) is to: increment a random access channel (RACH) transmission counter by a value (see Para’s [0068] i.e., configuration of an operation (e.g., transmission operation) may mean signaling of configuration information by system information, [0150-0151] i.e., system information (e.g., SIB1) (i.e., “configuration information”) transmitted from the base station to the UE including information on RO groups for different repetition factors for repeated PRACH transmission, [0152-0157] i.e., the base station may indicate resources in which repeated PRACH transmission is performed using PRACH configuration index indicated by SIB1, & [0193] i.e. ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols by RRC signaling & [0266] i.e., a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot (i.e., increasing the counter is based on an increased value) instead of the RO (i.e., the SIB1 configuration information indicating the RO group and resources in which repeated PRACH transmission is to be performed by the UE, does indicate or configure the UE to use the RACH transmission counter (i.e., “increment” the counter) for the repeated PRACH transmission procedure))
And wherein the RACH transmission counter is for a first RACH transmission associated with a first slot (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0141-0144] i.e., PRACH slot & [0266] i.e., a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO)
While Kim discloses incrementing the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission by a value and a slot type associated with the first slot such as a TDD slot configuration (i.e., half-duplex slot), (see Para’s [0141-0147], [0156], [0193], & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO), Kim does not disclose wherein the value is based at least in part on a slot type. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Rudolf wherein a transmission counter value associated with a slot type (e.g., slot types may include SBFD slot type or TDD half-duplex slot type, see Fig. 11) is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE (see Para’s [0091], [0209], & [0218-0219] i.e., slot types provided through slot format indication (SFI) such as in DCI F2_0, & [0235-0236]) and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot (see Para Fig. 11 & Para’s [0155] i.e., XDD slots (i.e., full-duplex slot type) and UL slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) as illustrated in Fig. 11, [0181] i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slot, [0185] i.e., configurable transmit timing adjustment values additionally depend on DL signal reception or UL signal transmission conditions. In these embodiments, the conditions may be based on slot type, associated with counter value & [0217-0222] i.e., DL and/or UL signal transmission or reception conditions may include one or more of…slot types including U (Uplink) TDD slot type and full-duplex slot type).
(Rudolf suggests the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference, (see Para’s [0159], [0181], [0185], & [0222-0223])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the value of the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission in the TDD slot which is incremented for each PRACH slot as disclosed in Kim to be based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the slot as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf who discloses a transmission counter value associated with a slot type is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference.
Regarding Claim 18, Kim discloses the network node of claim 12, wherein the slot type is one of: a full-duplex slot, or a half-duplex slot (see Para’s [0156] & [0193] i.e., TDD slot configuration)
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the slot type is half-duplex (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0088] i.e., half-duplex scheme according to TDD, [0141-0142], [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0100] [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, & [0193]), and wherein the configuration information further indicates that the is to increment the RACH transmission counter by 1, (see Para’s [0068] i.e., configuration of an operation (e.g., transmission operation) may mean signaling of configuration information by system information, [0098] i.e., retransmission counter is increased when a PRACH is retransmitted (i.e., incremented by 1), [0151-0157], & [0266] i.e., counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot (i.e., incremented by 1))
Regarding Claim 21, Kim discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., terminals 130, Fig. 2 & Para’s [0072-0076] & [0078] i.e., UE), comprising: Receive from a network node, configuration information (see Para’s [0151] i.e., system information (e.g., SIB1) signaled from the base station to the UE related to RO group for repeated PRACH transmission, [0152-0157] i.e., the base station may indicate resources in which repeated PRACH transmission is performed using PRACH configuration index indicated by SIB1, & [0193] i.e. ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols by RRC signaling)
transmitting, in a first slot (see Figures 6-7 i.e., PRACH slot & Para’s [0141-0147] i.e., PRACH slot), a first random access channel (RACH) transmission (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0141-0143])
wherein the first RACH transmission includes a first number of RACH repetitions; (see Para’s [0141-0143] i.e., Referring to Fig. 6, ROs may be time-division-multiplexed (TDMed) within one PRACH slot (i.e., “first RACH transmission”). In other words, 6 PRACH preambles may be TDMed within one PRACH slot. If the number of PRACH repetitions is 4 (e.g., PRACH repetition factor=4) the terminal may select the preceding 4 ROs within the PRACH slot, [0150] i.e., The terminal may perform repetitive transmission of PRACH, [0151] i.e., Repeated PRACH transmissions with different repetition numbers (e.g., different repetition factors) may be supported in different RO groups…Information on RO groups for different repetition factors may be included in SIB1. For example, the base station may signal information of a first RO group for a first repetition factor and information of a second group for a second repetition factor to the terminal. The first RO group may be used for repeated PRACH transmission, [0153-0155], [0156] i.e., The PRACH configuration index may include at least information on a time resource where the RO occurs. A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration. Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, & [0163] i.e., ROs may be FDMed or TDMed. The terminal may transmit a PRACH preamble in each RO)
and increment a RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission, (see Para’s [0088] i.e., In a time division duplex (TDD), the terminal may operate based on a half-duplex scheme. Accordingly, a time of supporting DL traffic and/or UL traffic may increase according to a slot pattern, [0089] i.e., slots in the TDD carriers may be configured according to different patterns, [0098] i.e., When a PRACH is retransmitted, the terminal may increase a retransmission counter, [0137] i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”, [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, [0156] i.e., A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration (i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”). Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, [0193] i.e., according to a TDD slot configuration, ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO. A retransmission counter and a power ramping counter of the PRACH may be managed based on RO. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed or processed for each PRACH sweeping operation. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed based on the PRACH slot).
Wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by a value (see Para [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased (i.e., “incremented”) in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO (i.e., increasing the counter is based on an increased value)).
While Kim discloses incrementing the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission by a value based on the configuration information (see Para’s [0151-0157]) and a slot type associated with the first slot such as a TDD slot configuration (i.e., half-duplex slot), (see Para’s [0141-0147], [0156], [0193], & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO), Kim does not disclose wherein the value is based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the first slot. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Rudolf wherein a transmission counter value associated with a slot type (e.g., slot types may include SBFD slot type or TDD half-duplex slot type, see Fig. 11) is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE (see Para’s [0091], [0209], & [0218-0219] i.e., slot types provided through slot format indication (SFI) such as in DCI F2_0, & [0235-0236]) and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot (see Para Fig. 11 & Para’s [0155] i.e., XDD slots (i.e., full-duplex slot type) and UL slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) as illustrated in Fig. 11, [0181] i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slot, [0185] i.e., configurable transmit timing adjustment values additionally depend on DL signal reception or UL signal transmission conditions. In these embodiments, the conditions may be based on slot type, associated with counter value & [0217-0222] i.e., DL and/or UL signal transmission or reception conditions may include one or more of…slot types including U (Uplink) TDD slot type and full-duplex slot type).
(Rudolf suggests the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference, (see Para’s [0159], [0181], [0185], & [0222-0223])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the value of the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission in the TDD slot which is incremented for each PRACH slot as disclosed in Kim to be based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the slot as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf who discloses a transmission counter value associated with a slot type is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference.
Regarding Claim 30, Kim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0075] & [0551-0552]) storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0075] & [0551-0552]) of a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., terminals 130, Fig. 2 & Para’s [0072-0076] & [0078] i.e., UE), cause the UE to: Receive from a network node, configuration information (see Para’s [0151] i.e., system information (e.g., SIB1) signaled from the base station to the UE related to RO group for repeated PRACH transmission, [0152-0157] i.e., the base station may indicate resources in which repeated PRACH transmission is performed using PRACH configuration index indicated by SIB1, & [0193] i.e. ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols by RRC signaling)
transmit, in a first slot (see Figures 6-7 i.e., PRACH slot & Para’s [0141-0147] i.e., PRACH slot), a first random access channel (RACH) transmission (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0141-0143])
wherein the first RACH transmission includes a first number of RACH repetitions; (see Para’s [0141-0143] i.e., Referring to Fig. 6, ROs may be time-division-multiplexed (TDMed) within one PRACH slot (i.e., “first RACH transmission”). In other words, 6 PRACH preambles may be TDMed within one PRACH slot. If the number of PRACH repetitions is 4 (e.g., PRACH repetition factor=4) the terminal may select the preceding 4 ROs within the PRACH slot, [0150] i.e., The terminal may perform repetitive transmission of PRACH, [0151] i.e., Repeated PRACH transmissions with different repetition numbers (e.g., different repetition factors) may be supported in different RO groups…Information on RO groups for different repetition factors may be included in SIB1. For example, the base station may signal information of a first RO group for a first repetition factor and information of a second group for a second repetition factor to the terminal. The first RO group may be used for repeated PRACH transmission, [0153-0155], [0156] i.e., The PRACH configuration index may include at least information on a time resource where the RO occurs. A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration. Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, & [0163] i.e., ROs may be FDMed or TDMed. The terminal may transmit a PRACH preamble in each RO)
and increment a RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission, (see Para’s [0088] i.e., In a time division duplex (TDD), the terminal may operate based on a half-duplex scheme. Accordingly, a time of supporting DL traffic and/or UL traffic may increase according to a slot pattern, [0089] i.e., slots in the TDD carriers may be configured according to different patterns, [0098] i.e., When a PRACH is retransmitted, the terminal may increase a retransmission counter, [0137] i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”, [0147] i.e., TDD slot pattern, [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, [0156] i.e., A time resource where the RO occurs may be determined in consideration of a TDD slot configuration (i.e., UL TDD slots in which PRACH is transmitted may be a “slot type”). Accordingly, even when a plurality of PRACH configuration indexes are used in consideration of the number of PRACH repetitions, resources (e.g., time resources) of ROs may be similarly configured, [0193] i.e., according to a TDD slot configuration, ROs may be configured in resources indicated as UL symbols & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO. A retransmission counter and a power ramping counter of the PRACH may be managed based on RO. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed or processed for each PRACH sweeping operation. When the PRACH sweeping operation is performed, the counter may be managed based on the PRACH slot).
Wherein the RACH transmission counter is incremented by a value (see Para [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased (i.e., “incremented”) in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO (i.e., increasing the counter is based on an increased value)).
While Kim discloses incrementing the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission by a value based on the configuration information (see Para’s [0151-0157]) and a slot type associated with the first slot such as a TDD slot configuration (i.e., half-duplex slot), (see Para’s [0141-0147], [0156], [0193], & [0266] i.e., According, to a proposed method, a counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot instead of the RO), Kim does not disclose wherein the value is based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the first slot. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224).
Rudolf wherein a transmission counter value associated with a slot type (e.g., slot types may include SBFD slot type or TDD half-duplex slot type, see Fig. 11) is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE (see Para’s [0091], [0209], & [0218-0219] i.e., slot types provided through slot format indication (SFI) such as in DCI F2_0, & [0235-0236]) and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot (see Para Fig. 11 & Para’s [0155] i.e., XDD slots (i.e., full-duplex slot type) and UL slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) as illustrated in Fig. 11, [0181] i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slot, [0185] i.e., configurable transmit timing adjustment values additionally depend on DL signal reception or UL signal transmission conditions. In these embodiments, the conditions may be based on slot type, associated with counter value & [0217-0222] i.e., DL and/or UL signal transmission or reception conditions may include one or more of…slot types including U (Uplink) TDD slot type and full-duplex slot type).
(Rudolf suggests the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference, (see Para’s [0159], [0181], [0185], & [0222-0223])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the value of the RACH transmission counter for the first RACH transmission in the TDD slot which is incremented for each PRACH slot as disclosed in Kim to be based at least in part on the configuration information and the slot type associated with the slot as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf who discloses a transmission counter value associated with a slot type is based at least in part on configuration information received by a UE and the slot type associated with the transmitted slot, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that the network configures different timing adjustment values for use in the different slots (i.e., SBFD slot versus normal UL slots) depending on UL signal transmission conditions which may be based on the slot type and its associated counter value in order to control the UL transmit timing for UL transmissions from an interfering UE in a slot to avoid interference.
3. Claims 9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2023/0276504) in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Grant et al. US (2026/0075610).
Regarding Claims 9 and 29, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses the UE and method of claims 1 and 21, wherein the slot type is full-duplex associated with a RACH transmission counter (Rudolf, see Para’s [0155], [0185], [0190] i.e., RACH transmission in a slot & [0218-0219] i.e., slot type may include full duplex slot type) but does not disclose wherein the transmission counter is incremented by 0. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Grant et al. US (2026/0075610).
Grant discloses wherein a transmission counter may be incremented by 0 by a slot counter used for SBFD slots (see Para’s [0234] i.e., the first slot repetition counter is used for SBFD slots and increments by one for each slot (i.e., may increment by 0 when the slot is not transmitted or when the slot is not an uplink slot such as a downlink slot, see Para’s [0017-0018])).
(Grant suggests the first slot repetition counter is incremented for keeping track of transmitted SBFD slots (see Para [0234])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the RACH transmission counter associated with the full-duplex slot type as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to be incremented by 0 according to the slot counter used for SBFD slots as disclosed in Grant, because the motivation lies in Grant that the first slot repetition counter is incremented for keeping track of transmitted SBFD slots
4. Claims 4, 15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2023/0276504) in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224), and further in view of Deogun US (2025/0330849).
Regarding Claims 4, 15, and 24, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses the UE, network node, and method of claims 1, 12, and 21, including incrementing the RACH transmission counter by a value (see Para’s [0098], [0156], & [0266]) for full-duplex transmissions (Rudolf, see Para’s [0185] i.e., slot type associated with counter value & [0218-0219] i.e., full- duplex slot type) and a half-duplex transmissions (Kim, see Para’s [0141-0147] i.e., PRACH slot, [0156] i.e., TDD slot configuration, & [0266] i.e., counter managed by the terminal may be increased in units of a PRACH slot), but does not disclose the claim feature is based at least in part on a number of full-duplex RACH transmissions used to transmit a same number of repetitions transmitted by a half-duplex RACH transmission. However performing the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Deogun US (2025/0330849).
Deogun discloses a first number of RACH repetitions associated with full-duplex slots may be different from a second number of RACH repetitions associated with half-duplex slots which can result as an example, in using a number of 2 FD frames having 2 repetitions to transmit the same number of repetitions by a half-duplex frame including 4 repetitions, (see Para [0329] i.e., the UE 3 is preconfigured with a different respective number of repetitions for uplink (e.g., PRACH) transmissions in SBFD slots (i.e., “full-duplex slot”), than for uplink (e.g., PRACH) transmissions in legacy TDD UL slots (i.e., “half-duplex slot”). For example, a greater number of repetitions may be used for SBFD slots than for legacy TDD UL slots. The UE 3 can then use the specific number of repetitions for SBFD UL communication in SBFD slots, and the other number of repetitions for UL communications in non-SBFD slots, to allow enhanced decoding in respect of UL transmissions in SBFD slots).
(Deogun suggests the UE can then use the specific number of repetitions for SBFD UL communication in SBFD slots, and the other number of repetitions for UL communications in non-SBFD slots, to allow enhanced decoding in respect of UL transmissions in SBFD slots, (see Para [0329])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which increments the RACH transmission counter by a value for full-duplex transmissions and half-duplex transmissions as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to increment the RACH transmission counter by a value based on the slot configuration disclosed in Deogun who discloses a number of full-duplex RACH transmissions used to transmit a same number of repetitions transmitted by a half-duplex RACH transmission, because the motivation lies in Deogun that the UE can then use the specific number of repetitions for SBFD UL communication in SBFD slots, and the other number of repetitions for UL communications in non-SBFD slots, to allow enhanced decoding in respect of UL transmissions in SBFD slots.
5. Claims 5-6, 11, 16-17, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2023/0276504) in view of Rudolf US (2023/0180224), and further in view of Rudolf et al. US (2023/0062577).
Regarding Claims 5 and 25, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses the UE and method of claims 1 and 21, including causing the UE to increment the RACH transmission counter by the value based at least in part on the RACH transmission counter value (Kim, see Para [0266] & Rudolf, see Para’s [0185] i.e., slot type associated with a counter value & [0218-0219] & [0218-0219] i.e., Uplink TDD slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) and full-duplex slot types) but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive, from a network node, information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Rudolf et al. US (2023/0062577).
Rudolf discloses the UE to: receive, from a network node, information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type; (see Para [0218] i.e., The XDD counter or timer or signal power condition value can be signaled to the UE using common or dedicated RRC messages or MAC CEs, & [0219])
(Rudolf suggests the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold, (see Para’s [0138], [0225-0227], & [0232]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which transmits the full-duplex slots and the half-duplex slots according to the RACH transmission counter value as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to receive, from a network node, information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf, because the motivation lies in Rudolf the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold.
Regarding Claims 6 and 26, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses the UE and method of claims 5 and 25, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the information indicating the RACH transmission counter value is configured via radio resource control, indicated via medium access control element (MAC-CE), or indicated via downlink control information (DCI). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Rudolf et al. US (2023/0062577).
Rudolf discloses wherein the information indicating the RACH transmission counter value is configured via radio resource control, indicated via medium access control element (MAC-CE), or indicated via downlink control information (DCI), (see Para’s [0122], [0192] i.e., the UE applies different preamble counters for XDD slots (i.e., full-duplex slot type) compared to normal UL slots, [0218] i.e., The XDD counter or timer or signal power condition value can be signaled to the UE using common or dedicated RRC messages or MAC CEs, & [0219])
(Rudolf suggests the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold, (see Para’s [0138], [0225-0227], & [0232]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which transmits the full-duplex slots and the half-duplex slots according to the RACH transmission counter value as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to receive, from a network node, information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type via radio resource control (RRC) or medium access control element (MAC-CE) signaling as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf, because the motivation lies in Rudolf the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses the UE of claim 1 including performing a RACH procedure based on the RACH transmission (see Para [0122]), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: end a RACH procedure based at least in part on determining that the RACH transmission counter satisfies a RACH retransmission threshold. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Rudolf et al. US (2023/0062577).
Rudolf discloses the UE to: end a RACH procedure based at least in part on determining that the RACH transmission counter satisfies a RACH retransmission threshold (see Fig. 18 & Para’s [0225-0226] & [0232] i.e., If an RRC configured preambleTransMax value of 50 times is set for the RA configuration in normal UL slots, the UE continues to attempt PRACH preamble transmission until this value is reached (i.e., RACH procedure is ended after the value is reached) & [0236] i.e., the UE declares RA failure if preamble counter exceeds preambleTransMax).
(Rudolf suggests a motivation is for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold, (see Para’s [0138], [0225-0227], & [0232])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which transmits the full-duplex slots and the half-duplex slots according to the RACH transmission counter in a RACH procedure as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to end the RACH procedure based at least in part on determining that the RACH transmission counter satisfies a RACH retransmission threshold as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf, because the motivation lies in Rudolf that a motivation is for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Kim in view of Rudolf discloses network node of claim 12, including wherein the configuration information further indicates that the UE is to: to increment the RACH transmission counter by the value based at least in part on the RACH transmission counter value (Kim, see Para’s [0151-0157] & [0266] & Rudolf, see Para’s [0185] i.e., slot type associated with a counter value & [0218-0219] & [0218-0219] i.e., Uplink TDD slot (i.e., half-duplex slot type) and full-duplex slot types) but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the configuration information further indicates a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Rudolf et al. US (2023/0062577).
Rudolf discloses the UE to: receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type; (see Para [0218] i.e., The XDD counter or timer or signal power condition value can be signaled to the UE using common or dedicated RRC messages or MAC CEs, & [0219])
(Rudolf suggests the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold, (see Para’s [0138], [0225-0227], & [0232]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UE which transmits the full-duplex slots and the half-duplex slots according to the RACH transmission counter value as disclosed in Kim in view of Rudolf to receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating a RACH transmission counter value associated with the slot type as disclosed in the teachings of Rudolf, because the motivation lies in Rudolf the RACH transmission counter value is signaled to the UE for a UE to first attempt random access (RA) using XDD or FD resources in a coverage area of the cell where channel conditions are favorable for FD operation according to the RACH transmission counter value and still benefit from the UL coverage and channel conditions by using a normal UL slot when the UE fails random access using the XDD slots for successfully performing the random access procedure and satisfying a RACH retransmission threshold.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim (‘504) discloses the network node of claim 16, wherein the configuration information is transmitted via radio resource control, indicated via medium access control element (MAC-CE), or indicated via downlink control information (DCI), (see Para [0068]).
Claim Objections
6. Claims 2-3, 13-14, and 22-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461