CTNF 18/466,499 CTNF 98644 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation It is noted a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). In Claim 1, the intended use of the composition for a separator coating is not given patentable weight. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Paiva (US 20040068035 A1, cited in the 2/12/2024 IDS) and as evidenced by Gelast (CARBOXYETHYLSILANETRIOL, DISODIUM SALT, 25% in water) Regarding Claim 1-3, Paiva teaches a coating composition (flooring finish) comprising carboxyethylsilanetriol sodium salt and inorganic particles (Nalco 2327, which comprises silica) (0038, 0060). Carboxyethylsilanetriol sodium salt would read on the claimed Chemical Formula 1, where M 1 and M 2 are sodium, L is a C2 alkylene, and R 1 and R 2 are hydrogen ( Claims 1 and 2 ) (Gelast). This would also read on the claimed Chemical Formula 2 ( Claim 3 ). PNG media_image1.png 328 462 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 6, the inorganic particles have an average particle size of 20 nm (0038), which would fall within the claimed range of 0.001 to 10 µm. Regarding Claim 7, the compound of Chemical Formula 1 is included in an amount of about 4 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the inorganic particles (0060 – 100. 26 grams of Nalco 2327 is mixed with 4.07 grams of carboxyethylsilanetriol, sodium salt) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or suggest a coating composition comprising inorganic particles and a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, where the inorganic particles one or more metal oxides, metal nitrides, metal carbides, metal carbonates, metal hydrates, or metal carbonitrides . The closest prior art is Paiva, which teaches a composition comprising silica as the inorganic particles. Paiva does not teach or suggest using one or a mixture of two or more selected from metal oxides, metal nitrides, metal carbides, metal carbonates, metal hydrates, and metal carbonitrides . 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 8-14 allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not teach or suggest a separator comprising a porous substrate and an inorganic material layer formed by applying the separator coating composition of one of Claims 1-7 on one or more surfaces of the porous substrate. Paiva teaches the coating composition of Claims 1-3 and 6-7 but does not teach that the composition is applied to a porous substrate. Frache (US 20210408574 A1) teaches carboxyethylsilanetriol and its sodium salts as a potential functional compound (0034) for a fluoropolymer for a polymer electrolyte (Abstract, 0028). A functional group for a fluoropolymer would not be considered an inorganic material layer applied to a surface of a porous substrate. Kinoshita (US 20160016121 A1) teaches a structural body comprising a porous partition (porous substrate) and a function layer provided on the inside surface of the partition portion (Abstract). The function layer can be formed using sodium carboxyethylsilanetriol (0052). The structural body is used for the purification of a liquid/gas (0046) and the functional layer does not comprise inorganic particles . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZIHENG LU whose telephone number is (703)756-1077. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30 - 5 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas Smith can be reached at (571) 272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZIHENG LU/Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/466,499 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/466,499 Page 3 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/466,499 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/466,499 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/466,499 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752