DETAILED ACTION
Claims
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is missing an “and” immediately following “wax stabilizer;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 recited “wherein the carrier oil is in the form of a combination”. It is not clear what is meant by “form of”. Form indicates a physical property such as a solid. It would appear that a carrier oil would “comprise a combination”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
1) Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung (WO 2006010214).
Fung discloses a natural sunscreen composition comprising a synergistically effective amounts of zinc oxide and a plant-derived oil. The composition allows for the provision of a natural sunscreen which is water resistant and has a high SPF rating (Abstract). The sunscreen has a dermatologically acceptable level of SPF of greater than 30+ (page 4, lines 23-26) (encompassing at least 40 SPF). The plant-derived oil includes rice bran oil, which meets rice bran extract. The zinc oxide comprises 5 to 25% by weight of the composition. The plant derived oil comprises 1.5 to 68% of the composition. Other plant-derived oil includes sunflower seed oil, jojoba oil, coconut oil and safflower oil. (page 8, lines 1-5). The sunscreen composition further comprises one or more natural waxes such as candelilla wax, carnauba wax or beeswax (wax stabilizer). The compositions comprise green tea extract. A composition comprises 50.77% rice bran oil, 20% micronized zinc oxide, aloe vera, 0.1% ascorbic acid, 0.1% shea butter, 5% beeswax, 4% sunflower oil, 1.5% calendula oil, 4% jojoba oil, 1% sesame oil, 2% vitamin E (phenolic antioxidant), and 1% soy lecithin. The composition does not comprise water.
Rice bran oil may be added in amounts of 1.5 to 68% of the sunscreen, which overlaps that of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A. Therefore it would have been obvious to use amounts within the overlap.
The plant derived oils are used in mixtures and comprise up to 68% of the composition. Therefore, It would also have been obvious to have adjusted the other plant derived oils to higher amount when using lower amounts of rice bran oil.
2) Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung (WO 2006010214) in view of Grune (US 2008/0219938).
Fung is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose bee pollen.
Grune discloses SPF compositions comprising at least one emollient including but not limited to chitosan, and aloe vera gel, individually or in any combination; an oil component with SPF boosting agents (Abstract). SPF boosting components include bee pollen and propolis (paragraph 0115). One current measure of effectiveness of a sun protective product is indicated by its sun protection factor (SPF). The sun protection factor is the ratio of the amount of exposure (dose) required to produce a minimal erythema reaction in protected skin to the amount required to produce the same reaction in unprotected skin. Relatively recent public awareness of the problems of exposure to sunlight has led to a demand for sun-block products with high SPF values, i.e., at or above SPF 8 (paragraph 0006). The composition may comprise beeswax, orange wax and/o synthetic wax (paragraph 0114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have added bee pollen to the composition of Fung motivated by the desire to boost the SPF of the compositions.
3) Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fung (WO 2006010214) in view of Zickerman (WO 2019157181).
Fung is discussed above and differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose polyhydroxystearic acid.
Zickerman discloses sunscreen compositions comprising a non-nano zinc oxide, a carrier, and a component selected from the group consisting of a humectant, a thickener, a dispersing agent, an emulsifier, an emollient, a preservative, an antioxidant, an odorant, and combinations thereof (paragraph 006). Thickeners include polyhydroxystearic acid. It comprises 1.5 to 2.5 wt% of the composition (paragraph 0020).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the instant application to have used polyhydroxystearic acid in the composition of Fung to obtain its thickening function.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
No claims allowed.
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612