DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (Pub. No. 20200413340) in view of Islam et al. (Pub. No. 20220124622).
- With respect to claims 1, 18, Nam teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, using a low-power (LP) wake-up receiver (LP-WUR) of the first network entity (e.g. WUS 220 in Fig. 2B), a low-power signal indicative of configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report of the first network entity (see par. 97-98 discloses “A link management procedure may include link quality measurements of downlink RS followed by uplink reporting (e.g., CSI reporting) by UE 115-a, uplink RS transmissions by UE 115-a, and/or link adaptation and updates by base station 105-a”);
receive a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) using a configured receiver of the first network entity, the configured receiver comprising the LP-WUR or a main radio (MR) of the first network entity, and wherein the configured receiver is based on the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal (e.g. Fig. 2B shows the block 225 from base station to UE which consider CSI-RS see par. 101 discloses “In some examples, base station 105-a may also use the WUS 220 to indicate uplink transmission resources corresponding to feedback that may be based on the one or more RSs 225 (e.g., resources may be configured for transmitting a report to base station 105-a based on the one or more RSs 225). UE 115-a may receive the one or more RSs 225 (e.g., CSI RS, beam management signals, etc.)”); and
transmit a CSI report corresponding to one or more measurements of the CSI-RS, wherein a transmission time of the CSI report is based on the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal (see par. 101 discloses “transmit an uplink message 230 (e.g., beam management message, CSI report, etc.) to base station 105-a using the indicated uplink resources and based on the one or more RSs 225 (e.g., based on measurements of the one or more RSs 225)”). Nam fails to teach one of the LP-WUR or the MR was used to process the CSI-RS and generate the CSI report. Islam teaches the WUR trigger UE to monitor and process CSI-RS report (see par. 52-54) therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of using WUR to process and generate CSI report for UE to operate in power saving.
- With respect to claims 4, 21, Nam teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, to a second network entity, capability information corresponding to the LP-WUR of the first network entity, wherein the capability information is indicative of one or more of: a capability of the LP-WUR to receive the CSI-RS as the configured receiver of the first network entity; a capability of the LP-WUR to store the one or more measurements of the CSI-RS; or a capability of the LP-WUR to generate the CSI report based on processing the one or more measurements of the CSI-RS (e.g. the capability of UE receive block 225 in fig. 2B).
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (Pub. No. 20200196241) in view of Islam et al. (Pub. No. 20220124622).
- With respect to claims 29-30, Lou teaches a first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive capability information corresponding to a low-power (LP) wake-up receiver (LP-WUR) of a second network entity (e.g. Fig. 2A shows the WUR negotiation 200); determine a configured receiver for a channel state information (CSI) report of the second network entity based on the capability information, wherein the configured receiver is determined as a selection between the LP-WUR of the second network entity or a main radio (MR) of the second network entity (e.g. par. 160 discloses “ One or both of STA1 610 and STA2 620 may not be able to perform wideband reception using a WUR radio and/or a WUR channel. AP 601 may indicate a WUR channel index and/or ID (e.g., via NDPA frame 602) to one or both of STA1 610 and STA2 620, requesting that the respective one or more of STA1 610 and STA2 620 monitor CSI on a WUR channel indicated by such a WUR channel index and/or ID”);
transmit, to the LP-WUR of the second network entity, a low-power signal indicative of configuration information for the CSI report, the configuration information including an indication of the configured receiver (e.g. par. 158 discloses “AP 601 may use an “other radio” field (may also be referred to as a “second radio” field) in a request frame to request that one or more CSI measurements be performed on another radio, e.g., a WUR radio”); and
receive the CSI report from the second network entity, wherein a transmission time of the CSI report is based on the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal (Fig. 5-6 shows the UL CSI 521, 621). Lou fails to teach one of the LP-WUR or the MR was used to process the CSI-RS and generate the CSI report. Islam teaches the WUR trigger UE to monitor and process CSI-RS report (see par. 52-54) therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of using WUR to process and generate CSI report for UE to operate in power saving.
Claim(s) 2-3, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (Pub. No. 20200413340) and Islam in further view of Si (Pub. No. 20240251353).
- With respect to claims 2, 19, Nam implicitly fails to teach the low-power signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the LP-WUS during a deep sleep state of the MR. Si teaches the low-power is LP-WUS when MR deep sleep (Fig. 5 shows the LR on when MR deep sleep), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the LP-WUS during the deep sleep of MR for saving power.
- With respect to claims 3, 20, Si teaches the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal causes the at least one processor to use the LP-WUR to trigger the MR to exit the deep sleep state (see par. 72 discloses “ In one embodiment, an explicit signal or channel can trigger the transition from using a MR (e.g., such as MR 314) to using a LR (e.g., such as LR 312), or trigger the use of the LR, or trigger the MR to operate in a state with low power (e.g., ultra deep sleep), or trigger the activation and/or deactivation of low-power signal(s) (e.g., low power wake-up-signal and/or low power synchronization signal) that can be received by the LR.”).
Claim(s) 5-10, 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (Pub. No. 20200413340), Islam and Si in further view of Lou et al. (Pub. No.20200196241).
- With respect to claims 5-7, 22-24, Nam teaches to skip a scheduled CSI report corresponding to the scheduled CSI-RS (see Fig. 3 where the skipping, par. 108). Nam fails to teaches the low-power signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS); the at least one processor is configured to receive the LP-WUS during a deep sleep state of the MR the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal causes the MR to remain in the deep sleep state during a scheduled CSI-RS. Si teaches the low-power signal is a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) and the at least one processor is configured to receive the LP-WUS during a deep sleep state of the MR (Fig. 5 shows the LR on when MR deep sleep), and Lou teaches the configuration information indicated by the low-power signal causes the MR to remain in the deep sleep state during a scheduled CSI-RS (see Fig. 5, 6 block 521, 621). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement Lou’s invention into Nam for saving power in wireless communication.
- With respect to claims 8, 10, 25, 27, Lou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: trigger, using the LP-WUR, the MR to exit a deep sleep state; and generate, using the MR, the CSI report corresponding to the one or more measurements of the CSI-RS stored using the LP-WUR (e.g. Fig. 6 shows the CSI monitor by WUR and feedback by PCR block 631).
- With respect to claims 9, 26, Lou teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a second network entity, a CSI report request corresponding to the one or more measurements of the CSI-RS stored using the LP-WUR (e.g. Fig. 6 shows the request CSI 641).
8. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (Pub. No. 20200413340) and Islam in further view of Reial et al. (Pub. No. 20220232476)
- With respect to claim 14, Nam fails to teach wherein the configuration information indicates the LP-WUR as the configured receiver based on relatively good channel conditions of a link between the first network entity and a second network entity, and wherein the configuration information indicates the MR as the configured receiver based on relatively poor channel conditions of the link between the first network entity and the second network entity. Reial teaches the configuration information indicates the LP-WUR as the configured receiver based on relatively good channel conditions of a link between the first network entity and a second network entity, and wherein the configuration information indicates the MR as the configured receiver based on relatively poor channel conditions of the link between the first network entity and the second network entity (see par. 12 discloses “The selecting of the WUS transmission mode may comprise selecting a WUS transmission mode implicating not applying a WUS when link quality is below a first threshold, and selecting a WUS transmission mode implicating applying a WUS when link quality is above the first threshold”; par. 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of selecting WUS and MR based on link quality for saving power in wireless communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 11-12, 16-17, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471