DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 19 and 20 are amended.
Claims 6 and 8 are listed as withdrawn but no claim language is listed.
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 19-20, in the reply filed on 01/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims of Group I contain all the claim elements of claim 19 of Group II and that there is no substantial additional burden to search for prior art for Group I over Group II. This is not found persuasive as the inventions are independent or distinct from each other because Invention Group II and Invention Group I are related as product and process of use and search for prior art would require searching different classification areas and sequence databases.
The Applicant did not select a single species from each group of Species Group I, II, or III as requested by the Examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-18 (Group I) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 01/02/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2023 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites “a titer of at least 145 4-vinylphenol (4VP) g/L” and “75 p-coumaric (CA) g/L. The wording is awkward. The Examiner suggests correcting the language to place g/L before (4VP) or (CA) to clearly indicate 145 g/L or 75 g/L. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites “is to added to culture medium”. There is a grammatical error that needs to be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 24 recites “of at least 145 to 187 VP g/L”. The language is awkward. The Examiner suggests placing g/L before 4VP to clearly indicate 145 to 187 g/L. There is a grammatical error that needs to be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(previous rejection, withdrawn) Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 19 (and claim 20 dependent from), the claim recites “one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181- 182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273” without clearly providing a reference sequence to which these positions are relative to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6-7, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to claims 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(previous rejection, withdrawn) Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 (and claim 20 dependent from) is directed to all possible “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising polypeptides having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity wherein the polypeptide is capable of converting p-coumaric (CA) and/or ferulic acid (FA) into 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising: (i) an amino acid sequence having at least about 70% amino acid sequence identity with SEQ ID NO:1; and, (ii) one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273”. The specification, however, only provides the representative species of the “host cell capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising a polypeptide having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity wherein the polypeptide is capable of converting p-coumaric (CA) and/or ferulic acid (FA) into 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG)”, having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 encompassed by these claims. There is no disclosure of any particular structure to function/activity relationship in the disclosed species. The molecular mechanism of phenolic acid decarboxylases (PADs) is not fully understood (see Sheng et al., FEBS Journal, Vol. 24, pg. 4703-13, 2015). The specification also fails to describe additional representative species of polypeptides with PAD activity by any identifying structural characteristics or properties, for which no predictability of structure is apparent.
Regarding the level of skill and knowledge of the art of amino acid mutation, the reference of Singh et al. (Curr. Protein Pept. Sci. 18:1-11, 2017, cited on the attached Form PTO-892) reviews various protein engineering methods and discloses that despite the availability of an ever-growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility, and conformational changes (see column 1, top, pg. 7). Also, the unpredictability associated with amino acid mutations is exemplified by the reference of Zhang et al. (Structure 26:1474-1485, 2018, cited on the attached Form PTO-892) which discloses that even a mutation of a surface residue that was predicted to be benign caused significant structural changes and unexpected effects on the function of a polypeptide (column 1, pg. 1475).
Given this lack of additional representative species as encompassed by the claims, Applicants have failed to sufficiently describe the claimed invention, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize Applicants were in possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant is referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-9, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to claims 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn.
(previous rejection, withdrawn) Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “a host cell capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising a polypeptide having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity wherein the polypeptide is capable of converting p-coumaric (CA) and/or ferulic acid (FA) into 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) and having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, does not reasonably provide enablement for all possible “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising polypeptides having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity and having an amino acid sequence of at least 70% amino acid sequence identity of SEQ ID NO: 1 and one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Factors to be considered in determining whether undue experimentation is required, are summarized in In re Wands (858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ 2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988)) as follows: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary, (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented, (3) the presence or absence of working examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claim(s).
Claims 19-20 are so broad as to encompass all possible “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising polypeptides having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity and having at least 70% sequence identity of SEQ ID NO: 1 and one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273”. The scope of the claims is not commensurate with the enablement provided by the disclosure with regard to the extremely large number of “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising the required recombinant enzymes of the phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) group and variants broadly encompassed by the claims. The claims rejected under this section of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, place minimal structural limits on the required variant polypeptides having phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity encompassed by the claims. Since the amino acid sequence of a protein determines its structural and functional properties, predictability of which changes can be tolerated in a protein's amino acid sequence and obtain the desired activity requires a knowledge of and guidance with regard to which amino acids in the protein's sequence, if any, are tolerant of modification and which are conserved (i.e. expectedly intolerant to modification), and detailed knowledge of the ways in which the proteins' structure relates to its function. However, in this case the disclosure is limited to that “host cell capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising a polypeptide having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1.
While recombinant and mutagenesis techniques are known, it is not routine in the art to screen for multiple substitutions or multiple modifications, as encompassed by the instant claims, and the positions within a protein's sequence where amino acid modifications can be made with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the desired activity/utility are limited in any protein and the result of such modifications is unpredictable. In addition, one skilled in the art would expect any tolerance to modification for a given protein to diminish with each further and additional modification, e.g. multiple substitutions.
The specification does not support the broad scope of the claims which encompass any possible “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising polypeptide having a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity having at least 70% amino acid sequence identity of SEQ ID NO: 1 and one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273” because the specification does not establish: (A) regions of the polypeptide which may be modified effecting the phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) activity; (B) the general tolerance of enzymes of the phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) group to modification and extent of such tolerance; (C) a rational and predictable scheme for modifying any amino acid residue of an enzyme of the phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) group with an expectation of obtaining the desired biological function; and (D) the specification provides insufficient guidance as to which of the essentially infinite possible choices is likely to be successful. Because of this lack of guidance, the extended experimentation that would be required to determine which substitutions would be acceptable to retain the required phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) activities and the fact that the relationship between the sequence of a peptide and its tertiary structure (i.e. its activity) are not well understood and are not predictable (e.g., see Sheng et al, FEBS J., Vol. 24, pg. 4703-13, 2015, Ngo et al. in The Protein Folding Problem and Tertiary Structure Prediction, 1994, Merz et al. (ed.), Birkhauser, Boston, MA, pp. 433 and 492-495; Franceus et al., J. Ind. Microbiol. Biotechnol. Vol 44, pp 687-695, 2017), it would require undue experimentation for one skilled in the art to arrive at the majority of polypeptides having phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity of the claimed genus.
Thus, applicants have not provided sufficient guidance to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention in a manner reasonably correlated with the scope of the claims broadly including any “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising a polypeptide having a phenolic acid decarboxylase enzymatic activity having at least 70% amino acid sequence identity of SEQ ID NO: 1 and one or more of the following conserved amino acid residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO:2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, H at amino acid position 182, E at amino acid position 224, and/or E at amino acid position 273”. The scope of the claims must bear a reasonable correlation with the scope of enablement (In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 19 24 (CCPA 1970)). Without sufficient guidance, determination of “host cells capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol (4VP) and/or 4-vinylguaiacol (4VG) comprising polypeptides having phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) enzymatic activity and having the desired biological characteristics” is unpredictable and the experimentation left to those skilled in the art is unnecessarily, and improperly, extensive and undue. See In re Wands 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2nd 1400 (Fed. Cir, 1988).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 9-11, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to claims 19-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(previous rejection, withdrawn) Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; August 2012; Epub: April 21, 2012), hereinafter referred to as Salgado et al., in view of NCBI Reference Sequence: (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018), hereinafter referred to as S1, as evidenced by Parada-Fabián et al. (Journal of Plant Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Vol. 28, pg. 91-104; published August 09, 2018), hereinafter referred to as Parada-Fabián et al., and further in view of Xu et al. (PLoS One, Vol. 12:e0179240; published June 16, 2017), hereinafter referred to as Xu et al..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments to claims 19-20 and the addition of new claims 21-25.
(new rejection, necessitated by amendments) Claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; August 2012; Epub: April 2012), hereinafter referred to as Salgado, in view of NCBI Reference Sequence (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018), hereinafter referred to as S1, and further in view of Lee et al. (Frontiers in Microbiology, Vol. 9, article 2523; published October 2018), hereinafter referred to as Lee, and further in view of Mhatre et al. (Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, Vol. 10: article 827386; published April 2022), hereinafter referred to as Mhatre, and further in view of Kallscheuer et al. (Applied Microbial and Cell Physiology, Vol. 100, pg. 1871-1881; published 2016), hereinafter referred to as Kallscheuer, and further in view of Ben-Bassat (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0248267 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ben-Bassat.
With regards to claim 19, Salgado teaches a recombinant Escherichia coli (E. coli) cell (genetically modified host cell) that overproduces a phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) from Lactobacillus plantarum CECT 48 that decarboxylates some cinnamic acids, namely p-coumaric acid (p-CA) into the corresponding 4-vinyl derivative: 4-vinylphenol (4-VP) (see abstract, pg. 274). Salgado teaches that sterilized liquors obtained after alkaline hydrolysis of corn cob or alkaline hydrolysis of the solid residue coming from acid hydrolysis of corn cob (carbon source, pretreated lignocellulosic hydrosylate) were employed as growth media in fermentations performed in a shaker (see abstract, pg. 274).
With regards to claims 19 and 21-23, Salgado does not teach that the PAD polypeptide has at least 90% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 of the current instant application and the following conserved amino acids residues: N at amino acid position 160, SEQ ID NO: 2 at amino acid residue positions 160-165, QH at amino acid residue positions 181-182, E at amino acid position 224, and E at amino acid position 273.
However, S1 teaches a phenolic acid decarboxylase BsdC from Baccillus amyloliquefaciens polypeptide that shares 100% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 of the current instant application and contains N at position (see sequence alignment below and highlighted residues).
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_10272026_185741
Query Match 100.0%; Score 2520; DB 1; Length 473;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 473; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MAYQDFREFLAALEKEGQLLTVNEEVKPEPDLGAAARAASNLGDKSPALLFNNIYGHHHA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MAYQDFREFLAALEKEGQLLTVNEEVKPEPDLGAAARAASNLGDKSPALLFNNIYGHHHA 60
Qy 61 QVALNVIGSWPNHAMMLGMPKDSPVKEQFFEFAKRYDAFPVPVKREETAPFHENEITEDI 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 QVALNVIGSWPNHAMMLGMPKDSPVKEQFFEFAKRYDAFPVPVKREETAPFHENEITEDI 120
Qy 121 NLFDILPLFRINQGDGGYYLDKACVISRDLEDPDNFGKQNVGIYRMQVKGKDRLGIQPVP 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 NLFDILPLFRINQGDGGYYLDKACVISRDLEDPDNFGKQNVGIYRMQVKGKDRLGIQPVP 180
Qy 181 QHDIAIHLRQAEERGVNLPVTIALGCEPVITTAASTPLLYDQSEYEMAGAIQGEPYRIVK 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 QHDIAIHLRQAEERGVNLPVTIALGCEPVITTAASTPLLYDQSEYEMAGAIQGEPYRIVK 240
Qy 241 SKLSDLDIPWGAEVVLEGEILAGEREYEGPFGEFTGHYSGGRSMPVIKIKRVYHRNNPIF 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 SKLSDLDIPWGAEVVLEGEILAGEREYEGPFGEFTGHYSGGRSMPVIKIKRVYHRNNPIF 300
Qy 301 EHLYLGMPWTECDYMIGINTCVPLYQQLKEAYPNEIVAVNAMYTHGLIAIISTKTRYGGF 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 EHLYLGMPWTECDYMIGINTCVPLYQQLKEAYPNEIVAVNAMYTHGLIAIISTKTRYGGF 360
Qy 361 AKAVGMRALTTPHGLGYCKMVIVVDEDVDPFNLPQVMWALSTKMHPKHDAVIIPDLSVLP 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 AKAVGMRALTTPHGLGYCKMVIVVDEDVDPFNLPQVMWALSTKMHPKHDAVIIPDLSVLP 420
Qy 421 LDPGSDPAGMTHKMILDATTPAPPETRGHYSQPLDSPLTTKEWEQKLMDLMNQ 473
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 LDPGSDPAGMTHKMILDATTPAPPETRGHYSQPLDSPLTTKEWEQKLMDLMNQ 473
The ability of the phenolic acid decarboxylase, as taught by S1, to decarboxylate phenolic acids such as p-coumaric acid is evidenced by the reference of Parada-Fabian et al (Journal of Plant Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Vol. 28, pg. 91-104; published August 09, 2018) who teach that some bacteria have developed a detoxification system which consists of the synthesis of enzymes that decarboxylate phenolic acids such as p-coumaric acid and produce less toxic compounds named vinyl-derivatives (see Introduction, pg. 91). Parada-Fabian et al. further teach that the reaction is mediated by a group of enzymes named phenolic acid decarboxylases (PAD) and that there are more than 100 bacterial genera where these enzymes are present and have been sequences (see Introduction, pg. 91-92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and biocatalysis before the effective date of the current instant application to modify the host E. coli host cell taught by Salgado by substituting the phenolic acid decarboxylase taught by S1 for the phenolic acid decarboxylase (PAD) from Lactobacillus plantarum CECT 48 taught by Salgado et al. as an alternative PAD enzyme capable of producing a 4-vinylphenol from p-coumaric acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of S1 who present a phenolic acid decarboxylase that can be used to produce 4VP from p-coumaric acid as evidenced by Parada-Fabian. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Salgado and S1 who provide all the teachings, methods, compositions, and methods needed to do so.
With regards to claims 19-25, Neither Salgado or S1 teach that the that the genetically modified host is a Corynebacterium glutamicum host cell is capable of a titer of at least 145 g/L of 4VP when an octanol, decanol, or undecanol overlay is added to culture medium containing the genetically modified Corynebacterium glutamicum host cell and 75 g/L p-coumaric (CA).
However, Lee teaches that Corynebacterium glutamicum has been widely used for the production of biochemical molecules such as amino acids, nucleic acids, alcohols, and organic acids. Lee teaches that the metabolism of the bacterium has been engineered to increase production of target biochemical molecules (see Abstract, pg. 1). Lee teaches that Corynebacterium glutamicum can be used to express various types of recombinant proteins which has been used for several decades for the production of microbial enzymes (see pg. 11).
Mhatre teaches that C. glutamicum shows a high tolerance and utilization of different aromatics commonly present in lignocellulosic hydrolysate including p-coumaric acid and that C. glutamicum is a versatile omnivorous host for valorization of lignocellulosic feedstocks (see pg. 11-12).
Kallscheuer teaches that the biotechnologically important soil bacterium, Corynebacterium is able to grow on phenylpropanoids such as p-coumaric acid as sole carbon and energy sources (see pg. 1871). Kallscheuer teaches that global transcription analysis identified a gene cluster Cg0344-cg0347 which showed increased transcription levels in response to phenylpropanoids (see pg. 1871). Kallscheuer teaches that cg0344-cg0347 (phdA-E) encode enzymes involved in the b-oxidation of phenylpropanoids. Cultivation experiments conducted with C. glutamicum strains carrying single-gene deletions such as phdA showed that loss of phdA abolished growth of C. glutamicum with all phenylpropanoid substrates tested (see pg. 1871). Specifically, Kallscheuer teaches the C. glutamicum strain delta-cg0341 with in-frame deletion of cg0341 (phdA) (see Table 1, pg. 1873). Kallscheuer teaches that phdA encodes the acyl:CoA ligase (see Figure 4, pg. 1877). The Examiner notes that the engineered C. glutamicum harboring a phdA gene deletion would be expected to have the inherent capability of producing a titer of at least 145 g/L of VP when an octanol, decanol, or undecanol overlay is added a culture medium containing a genetically modified corynebacterium glutamicum host cell and 75 g/L p-coumaric as evidenced by the fact that the reference of Rodriguez et al. (Microb. Cell Fact., Vol. 20:181; published 2021) teaches a C. glutamicum with a clean deletion of the phdA gene (such as taught by Kallscheuer) which was used to express a PAD enzyme in the presence of an organic overlay (undecanol) which yielded 187 g/L of 4VP from CA (see pg. 6). The Examiner also refers to the current instant application specification which recites the host cell is genetically modified to delete a gene encoding an acyl:CoA ligase enzyme (phDA-) (see paragraph 0028) and “the recombinant C.glutamicum phdA- strain produced the highest VP titer (see paragraph 0031).
Ben-Bassat teaches a biocatalytic method for preparing para-hydroxystyrene from para-hydroxycinnamic acid using a pHCA decarboxylase and a host cell, Corynebacterium (see Abstract, paragraph 0037, and paragraph 0088). Ben-Bassat teaches growing the production host in a fermentation medium comprising an extractant being a water immiscible organic solvent selected from the group consisting of 2-decanol, 4-decanol, 2-undecanone, and mixtures thereof (see claim 20). Ben-Bassat teaches that the extractant is used to extract the para-hydroxystyrene product (see claim 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and biocatalysis before the effective date of the current instant application to substitute the Escherichia coli host cell taught by Salgado with a genetically engineered Corynebacterium glutamicum host taught by Lee and Mhatre as an alternative host cell to express the PAD in order to produce 4VP. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of Lee who teaches that Corynebacterium glutamicum is an effective host for the expression of microbial enzymes and that it has been widely used for the production of biochemical molecules such as amino acids, nucleic acids, alcohols, and organic acids and that the metabolism of the bacterium has been engineered to increase production of target biochemical molecules and from the teachings of Mhatre who teaches that C. glutamicum is a versatile omnivorous host for valorization of lignocellulosic feedstock (see pg. 12). One of ordinary skill in the art would have further found it obvious before the effective filing date of the current instant application to use an engineered Corynebacterium glutamicum harboring a phdA gene deletion taught by Kallscheuer as the host cell. One of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to do so from the teachings of Kallscheuer who teaches that such a deletion results in the inability of the host to metabolize phenylpropanoid substrates such as p-coumaric acid. One of skill in the art would recognize this as advantageous as this would prevent the depletion of p-coumaric acid and provide a higher amount of p-coumaric acid substrate to the PAD enzyme which should result in increased product yield. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to add extractant being a water immiscible organic solvent selected from the group consisting of 2-decanol, 4-decanol, 2-undecanone as taught by Ben-Bassat to the fermentation medium in order to recover the biosynthesized 4VP product. One of skill in the art would find motivation to do so form the teachings of Ben-Bassat who teaches that the organic extractant is useful in recovering the product of the PAD enzyme reaction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Salgado, S1, Lee, Kallscheuer, and Ben-Bassat who provide all the teachings, methods, and compositions needed to do so.
Therefore, Claims 19, 21, 22, 23, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; August 2012; Epub: April 2012) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018) and further in view of Lee et al. (Frontiers in Microbiology, Vol. 9, article 2523; published October 2018) and further in view of Mhatre et al. (Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, Vol. 10: article 827386; published April 2022) and further in view of Kallscheuer et al. (Applied Microbial and Cell Physiology, Vol. 100, pg. 1871-1881; published 2016) and further in view of Ben-Bassat (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0248267 A1).
(previous rejection, withdrawn) Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; published August 2012; Epub: April 21, 2012), hereinafter referred to as Salgado et al., in view of NCBI Reference Sequence: (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018,) hereinafter referred to as S1, as evidenced by Parada-Fabián et al. (Journal of Plant Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Vol. 28, pg. 91-104; published August 09, 2018), hereinafter referred to as Parada-Fabián et al., and further in view of Xu et al. (PLoS One, Vol. 12:e0179240; published June 16, 2017) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (Applied Genetics and Molecular Biotechnology, Vol. 71, pg. 870-874; published online February 22, 2006), hereinafter referred to as Lin et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 12-13, filed 08/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendment of claim 20.
(new rejection, necessitated by amendments) Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; August 2012; Epub: April 2012), hereinafter referred to as Salgado, in view of NCBI Reference Sequence (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018), hereinafter referred to as S1, and further in view of Lee et al. (Frontiers in Microbiology, Vol. 9, article 2523; published October 2018), hereinafter referred to as Lee, and further in view of Mhatre et al. (Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, Vol. 10: article 827386; published April 2022), hereinafter referred to as Mhatre, and further in view of Kallscheuer et al. (Applied Microbial and Cell Physiology, Vol. 100, pg. 1871-1881; published 2016), hereinafter referred to as Kallscheuer, and further and further in view of Ben-Bassat (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0248267 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ben-Bassat, as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (PLOS ONE, Vol. 8:e60659, published April 2013), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
The teachings of Salgado, S1, Lee, Mhatre, Kallscheuer, and Ben-Bassat as applied to claim 20 are summarized above. With regards to claim 20, the genetically modified host cell made obvious over the above references here is discussed above. Neither of the above references teach that the host cell is modified to have an increased expression of an acetyl-CoA synthetase (ACS).
However, Zhu teaches that acetate is a byproduct in Corynebacterium glutamicum for example in the biosynthesis of succinate (see Abstract, pg. 1). Zhu teaches that acetate accumulation resulted in a waste of carbon source, therefore negatively affecting succinate production (see pg. 2). Zhu teaches the expression of acetyl-CoA synthetase from B. Subtilis in C. glutamicum which resulted in no accumulation of acetate at the end of cultivation (see pg. 4). Zhu teaches that exogenous ACS expression in C. glutamicum is an efficient approach to cope with acetate accumulation (see pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of protein engineering and biocatalysis before the effective filing date of the current instant application to modify the genetically engineered Corynebacterium glutamicum host cell arrived at from the combined teachings of Salgado, S1, Lee, Kallscheuer, and Ben-Bassat by incorporating expression of an exogenous B. subtilis acetyl coenzyme A synthetase as taught by Zhu in order to provide the expression of acetyl coenzyme A in the host cell in order to reduce acetate accumulation. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the motivation to do so from the teachings of Zhu who teaches that acetate accumulation results in a waste of carbon source and that incorporation of expression of acetyl coenzyme A synthetase is an effective way of reducing acetate accumulation in the host. One of ordinary skill in the art would also find it obvious that this would be an effective way of avoiding carbon source waste which would make more carbon source available to the biosynthesis of 4VP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expectations of success in doing so from the combined teachings of Salgado, S1, Lee, Kallscheuer, Ben-Bassat, and Zhu who provide all the necessary teachings, compositions and methods needed to do so.
Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salgado et al. (Bioresource Technology, Vol. 117, pg. 274-285; August 2012; Epub: April 2012) in view of NCBI Reference Sequence (WP_125122041.1, first accession date: December 11, 2018) and further in view of Lee et al. (Frontiers in Microbiology, Vol. 9, article 2523; published October 2018) and further in view of Mhatre et al. (Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology, Vol. 10: article 827386; published April 2022) and further in view of Kallscheuer et al. (Applied Microbial and Cell Physiology, Vol. 100, pg. 1871-1881; published 2016) and further and further in view of Ben-Bassat (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0248267 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. (PLOS ONE, Vol. 8:e60659, published April 2013).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE THEMISTOCLIS LOUNTOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652