DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 09/13/2023, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite “a computer-readable media having code stored thereon” which make the claims directed to non-statutory subject matter. In the state of the art, transitory signals are commonplace as a medium for transmitting computer instructions. Given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the scope of “a computer-readable media” covers a signal per se. The current specification does not specifically narrow the scope of “a computer-readable media” to non-transitory elements. A transitory signal does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e Electronic meeting, 24th February - 6th March 2020, “Discussion on paging of RRC_INACTIVE for eMTC connected to 5GC”, provided by Applicant on 09/13/2023).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP discloses a method of wireless communication comprising: determining a target paging cycle associated with a wireless device based on whether an extended discontinuous reception (DRX) value is configured (Section 3 – “Proposal 1: When idle mode eDRX is configured and TeDRX is larger than 5.12 s, eMTC UEs in RRC_IDLE only need to monitor the paging occasions during the PTW. The UE monitors the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX (if configured). Proposal 3: When idle mode eDRX is not configured, eMTC UEs in RRC_IDLE monitor the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX (if configured)”).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the extended DRX value is not configured, and wherein the determining the target paging cycle is further based on whether a UE specific paging cycle is configured (Section 3 – “Proposal 3: When idle mode eDRX is not configured, eMTC UEs in RRC_IDLE monitor the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX (if configured)”).
Regarding claim 8, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 2, therefore, being addressed as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 2, therefore, being addressed as in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e Electronic meeting, 24th February - 6th March 2020, “Discussion on paging of RRC_INACTIVE for eMTC connected to 5GC”, provided by Applicant on 09/13/2023) in view of Agiwal (US 20210314914 A1).
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the UE specific paging cycle is configured, and the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a default paging cycle, and the UE specific paging cycle (Section 3 – “Proposal 1: When idle mode eDRX is configured and TeDRX is larger than 5.12 s, eMTC UEs in RRC_IDLE only need to monitor the paging occasions during the PTW. The UE monitors the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX (if configured)). However, the reference is silent on details about the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a radio access network (RAN) paging cycle, a default paging cycle, and the UE specific paging cycle.
Agiwal discloses the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a radio access network (RAN) paging cycle, a default paging cycle, and the UE specific paging cycle (¶0053 – “T: DRX cycle of the UE. T is determined by the shortest of the UE specific DRX value, if allocated by upper layers, and a default DRX value broadcast in system information. If UE specific DRX is not configured by upper layers, the default value is applied. In RRC INACTIVE state, T is determined by the shortest of the RAN paging cycle, the UE specific paging cycle, and the default paging cycle, if allocated by upper layers”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate step for determining paging cycle from Agiwal because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to ensure that the user equipment can obtain paging at the right time while reducing power consumption.
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 2, and further discloses that the UE monitors the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX if configured (Section 3 – “Proposal 1: When idle mode eDRX is configured and TeDRX is larger than 5.12 s, eMTC UEs in RRC_IDLE only need to monitor the paging occasions during the PTW. The UE monitors the paging occasions according to the shortest of the cell default paging cycle and the UE specific DRX (if configured)”). However, silent on details about wherein the UE specific paging cycle is not configured, and the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a RAN paging cycle and a default paging cycle.
Agiwal discloses the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a radio access network (RAN) paging cycle, a default paging cycle, and the UE specific paging cycle (¶0053 – “T: DRX cycle of the UE. T is determined by the shortest of the UE specific DRX value, if allocated by upper layers, and a default DRX value broadcast in system information. If UE specific DRX is not configured by upper layers, the default value is applied. In RRC INACTIVE state, T is determined by the shortest of the RAN paging cycle, the UE specific paging cycle, and the default paging cycle, if allocated by upper layers”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to take into consideration RAN paging cycle from Agiwal teaching to arrive at the detail regarding wherein the UE specific paging cycle is not configured, and the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a RAN paging cycle and a default paging cycle because doing so would be “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP §2141 -III) to ensure that the user equipment can obtain paging at the right time while reducing power consumption.
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, however, silent on further detail of claim 7.
Agiwal discloses wherein the extended DRX value is configured by an upper layer (¶0045 – “In an RRC_IDLE state, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers (i.e., NAS)”; ¶0045 – “In an RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE specific DRX may be configured by upper layers or by RRC layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate step for determining paging cycle from Agiwal because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to ensure that the user equipment can obtain paging at the right time while reducing power consumption.
Regarding claim 10, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 3, therefore, being addressed as in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 4, therefore, being addressed as in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 7, therefore, being addressed as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 3, therefore, being addressed as in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 4, therefore, being addressed as in claim 4.
Claim 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e Electronic meeting, 24th February - 6th March 2020, “Discussion on paging of RRC_INACTIVE for eMTC connected to 5GC”, provided by Applicant on 09/13/2023) in view of Hu et al. (US 20230319784 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, however, silent on further detail of claim 5.
Hu discloses wherein the extended DRX value is configured and a paging time window (PTW) is not included, the wireless device is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, and the target paging cycle is a shortest of: a RAN paging cycle and the extended DRX value (¶0091 – “If the network configures the CN eDRX cycle to the UE and the configured CN eDRX cycle does not use PTW and/or PH, then for UE in an RRC_INACTIVE state, it is determined that the DRX cycle of monitoring paging for the UE is the shortest one of the CN eDRX cycle and a ran-PagingCycle, or is the shortest one of the CN eDRX cycle, the ran-PagingCycle and the default Paging Cycle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate method for determining eDRX cycle without involving PTW from Hu because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to determine optimal eDRX cycle.
Regarding claim 12, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 5, therefore, being addressed as in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 5, therefore, being addressed as in claim 5.
Claim 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #109-e Electronic meeting, 24th February - 6th March 2020, “Discussion on paging of RRC_INACTIVE for eMTC connected to 5GC”, provided by Applicant on 09/13/2023) in view of Vogedes et al. (US 20230199902 A1).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 6.
Vogedes discloses wherein the extended DRX value is configured as 1024 radio frames, the wireless device is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, and the target paging cycle is the extended DRX value (Fig. 1 step 5, and ¶0063 – “If the UE supports eDRX in RRC inactive, based on its UE radio capabilities. NG-RAN configures the UE with an eDRX cycle in RRC-INACTIVE up to the value for the UE's idle mode eDRX cycle as provided by the AMF in “RRC Inactive Assistance Information” or up to 10.24 seconds (whichever is lower)” disclose choosing lower value between eDRX and 1024 frame. Therefore, when the eDRX is at 1024, the two value is equal, therefore, the cycle value is the eDRX value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of 3GPP to incorporate eDRX value in inactive state from Vogedes because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to allow mobile device to enter inactive mode efficiently.
Regarding claim 13, the scope and content of the claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor configured to perform the method of claim 6, therefore, being addressed as in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the scope and content of the claim recites a computer-readable medium having code stored thereon, the code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the method of claim 6, therefore, being addressed as in claim 6.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643