DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to arguments filed on 4/13/26 in which claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 20 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (Pub. No.: 2024/0357700 A1), herein Hu.
As to claim 1, Hu teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Hu Fig. 10 memory)); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (Hu Fig. 10 processor)):
receive, from a network entity, a message indicating a discontinuous communication configuration for restricting communication by the network entity during one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0005] In particular, one solution is to support the DTX/DRX mode at the gNB and to use the UE C-DTX/DRX mode to synchronize the inactivity periods of the UEs with the gNB. This may be performed semi-statically, by turning on/off the gNB on a predictable cycle, and essentially reusing the concept of DTX/DRX cycles initially defined for the UE at the gNB [0011] In an embodiment, a method is provided in which a UE receives a cell DTX/DRX configuration from a BS);
determine that a communication occasion overlaps with at least one inactive communication period of the one or more inactive communication periods, the communication occasion being associated with a first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0066] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating misalignment of cell DTX/DRX and UE C-DRX cycles, according to an embodiment. A cell DTX/DRX active period 802 is followed by a cell DTX/DRX inactive period 804. A UE1 C-DRX active period 806 is followed by a UE1 C-DRX inactive period 808. A UE2 C-DRX active period 810 is followed by a UE2 C-DRX inactive period 812 and [0058] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method for UE to receive urgent data in configured PDCCH occasions during a cell DTX inactive period, according to an embodiment. At 402, the UE may be preconfigured with a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period in order to deal with potential urgent DL data reception. At 404, the UE may monitor one PDCCH occasion of the subset of PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period. At 406, it may be determined whether urgent DL data is in the monitored PDCCH occasion of the cell DTX inactive period. When urgent DL data is in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may perform PDSCH reception after decoding the DCI in the PDCCH occasion, at 408, before returning to monitoring at 404. When urgent DL data is not in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE returns to a sleep mode (i.e., without transmission and reception), at 410, before monitoring a next PDCCH occasion at 404.); and
communicating, with the network entity, a first message during the at least one inactive communication period, the first message having a second message type that is restricted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0056] In another example, if there is urgent DL data in a cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may be configured by the gNB to monitor a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period to deal with potential urgent DL data reception (i.e., the UE is not completely off for monitoring PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period).)
As to claim 11, Hu teaches a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Hu Fig. 10 memory)); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Hu Fig. 10 processor)):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a message indicating a discontinuous communication configuration for restricting communication by the network entity during one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0005] In particular, one solution is to support the DTX/DRX mode at the gNB and to use the UE C-DTX/DRX mode to synchronize the inactivity periods of the UEs with the gNB. This may be performed semi-statically, by turning on/off the gNB on a predictable cycle, and essentially reusing the concept of DTX/DRX cycles initially defined for the UE at the gNB [0011] In an embodiment, a method is provided in which a UE receives a cell DTX/DRX configuration from a BS);
determine that a communication occasion overlaps with at least one inactive communication period of the one or more inactive communication periods, the communication occasion being associated with a first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0066] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating misalignment of cell DTX/DRX and UE C-DRX cycles, according to an embodiment. A cell DTX/DRX active period 802 is followed by a cell DTX/DRX inactive period 804. A UE1 C-DRX active period 806 is followed by a UE1 C-DRX inactive period 808. A UE2 C-DRX active period 810 is followed by a UE2 C-DRX inactive period 812 and [0058] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method for UE to receive urgent data in configured PDCCH occasions during a cell DTX inactive period, according to an embodiment. At 402, the UE may be preconfigured with a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period in order to deal with potential urgent DL data reception. At 404, the UE may monitor one PDCCH occasion of the subset of PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period. At 406, it may be determined whether urgent DL data is in the monitored PDCCH occasion of the cell DTX inactive period. When urgent DL data is in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may perform PDSCH reception after decoding the DCI in the PDCCH occasion, at 408, before returning to monitoring at 404. When urgent DL data is not in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE returns to a sleep mode (i.e., without transmission and reception), at 410, before monitoring a next PDCCH occasion at 404.); and
communicating, with the UE, a first message during at least one inactive communication period, the first message having a second message type that is restricted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0056] In another example, if there is urgent DL data in a cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may be configured by the gNB to monitor a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period to deal with potential urgent DL data reception (i.e., the UE is not completely off for monitoring PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period).)
As to claim 20, Hu teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a message indicating a discontinuous communication configuration for restricting communication by the network entity during one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0005] In particular, one solution is to support the DTX/DRX mode at the gNB and to use the UE C-DTX/DRX mode to synchronize the inactivity periods of the UEs with the gNB. This may be performed semi-statically, by turning on/off the gNB on a predictable cycle, and essentially reusing the concept of DTX/DRX cycles initially defined for the UE at the gNB [0011] In an embodiment, a method is provided in which a UE receives a cell DTX/DRX configuration from a BS);
determining that a communication occasion overlaps with at least one inactive communication period of the one or more inactive communication periods, the communication occasion being associated with a first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0066] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating misalignment of cell DTX/DRX and UE C-DRX cycles, according to an embodiment. A cell DTX/DRX active period 802 is followed by a cell DTX/DRX inactive period 804. A UE1 C-DRX active period 806 is followed by a UE1 C-DRX inactive period 808. A UE2 C-DRX active period 810 is followed by a UE2 C-DRX inactive period 812 and [0058] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method for UE to receive urgent data in configured PDCCH occasions during a cell DTX inactive period, according to an embodiment. At 402, the UE may be preconfigured with a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period in order to deal with potential urgent DL data reception. At 404, the UE may monitor one PDCCH occasion of the subset of PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period. At 406, it may be determined whether urgent DL data is in the monitored PDCCH occasion of the cell DTX inactive period. When urgent DL data is in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may perform PDSCH reception after decoding the DCI in the PDCCH occasion, at 408, before returning to monitoring at 404. When urgent DL data is not in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE returns to a sleep mode (i.e., without transmission and reception), at 410, before monitoring a next PDCCH occasion at 404.);and
communicating, with the network entity, a first message during the at least one inactive communication period, the first message having a second message type that is restricted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0056] In another example, if there is urgent DL data in a cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may be configured by the gNB to monitor a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period to deal with potential urgent DL data reception (i.e., the UE is not completely off for monitoring PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period).)
As to claim 26, Hu teaches a method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a message indicating a discontinuous communication configuration for restricting communication by the network entity during one or more inactive communication periods (Sun [0019] Embodiments include methods (e.g., procedures) for a UE (e.g., wireless device) configured to operate in a wireless network (e.g., E-UTRAN, NG-RAN) according to a periodic DRX cycle comprising periodic DRX on durations);
determining that a communication occasion overlaps with at least one inactive communication period of the one or more inactive communication periods, the communication occasion being associated with a first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0066] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating misalignment of cell DTX/DRX and UE C-DRX cycles, according to an embodiment. A cell DTX/DRX active period 802 is followed by a cell DTX/DRX inactive period 804. A UE1 C-DRX active period 806 is followed by a UE1 C-DRX inactive period 808. A UE2 C-DRX active period 810 is followed by a UE2 C-DRX inactive period 812 and [0058] FIG. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method for UE to receive urgent data in configured PDCCH occasions during a cell DTX inactive period, according to an embodiment. At 402, the UE may be preconfigured with a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period in order to deal with potential urgent DL data reception. At 404, the UE may monitor one PDCCH occasion of the subset of PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period. At 406, it may be determined whether urgent DL data is in the monitored PDCCH occasion of the cell DTX inactive period. When urgent DL data is in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may perform PDSCH reception after decoding the DCI in the PDCCH occasion, at 408, before returning to monitoring at 404. When urgent DL data is not in the monitored cell DTX inactive duration, the UE returns to a sleep mode (i.e., without transmission and reception), at 410, before monitoring a next PDCCH occasion at 404.);and
communicating, with the UE, a first message during at least one inactive communication period, the first message having a second message type that is restricted in the one or more inactive communication periods (Hu [0056] In another example, if there is urgent DL data in a cell DTX inactive duration, the UE may be configured by the gNB to monitor a subset of PDCCH occasions within the cell DTX inactive period to deal with potential urgent DL data reception (i.e., the UE is not completely off for monitoring PDCCH occasions during the cell DTX inactive period).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 14, 15, 17-19, 21, 23-15, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Sun et al. 2023/0413178, herein Sun
As to claim 2, Hu teaches the UE of claim 1,
Hu does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from the network entity, a control message indicating a configuration of one or more time offsets relative to the communication occasion, wherein the first message is communicated within a period including the communication occasion and the one or more time offsets and during the at least one inactive communication period
However Sun does teach
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from the network entity, a control message indicating a configuration of one or more time offsets relative to the communication occasion, wherein the first message is communicated within a period including the communication occasion and the one or more time offsets and during the at least one inactive communication period(Sun [0117] FIG. 11 shows an exemplary timing arrangement that illustrates these embodiments. The UE receives a wake-up command from the network during one of the periodic DRX on durations of the UE's periodic DRX cycle. The wake-up command indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that the UE should wake up to monitor for an UL CG activation DCI at an offset Y after the wake-up command. Accordingly, the UE returns to sleep but wakes up again after the offset Y as instructed, i.e., in between two successive periodic DRX on durations of the UE's periodic DRX cycle. While awake, the UE receives a reactivation DCI in the same manner as discussed above in relation to FIG. 10)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun, because Sun teaches us [0020] These exemplary methods can include awakening for at least a first duration from a low energy consumption state. The first duration is not within any of the periodic DRX on durations of the UE's periodic DRX cycle. These exemplary methods can also include, during the first duration, monitoring for an activation signal occurring at a first offset before a next subsequent resource of a configured grant of periodic uplink transmission resources (UL CG) or of a semi-persistent schedule of periodic downlink reception resources (DL SPS).
Claims 12, 21 and 27 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 4, the combination of Hu and Sun teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
activate one or more communication circuitries during at least a portion of the communication occasion that is during the at least one inactive communication period (Sun Fig. 11 and [0117] The wake-up command indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that the UE should wake up to monitor for an UL CG activation DCI at an offset Y after the wake-up command. Accordingly, the UE returns to sleep but wakes up again after the offset Y as instructed, i.e., in between two successive periodic DRX on durations of the UE's periodic DRX cycle. While awake, the UE receives a reactivation DCI in the same manner as discussed above in relation to FIG. 10.); and
deactivate the one or more communication circuitries during at least a portion of the at least one inactive communication period that is not during the communication occasion (Sun Fig. 11 and [0117] The wake-up command indicates, either implicitly or explicitly, that the UE should wake up to monitor for an UL CG activation DCI at an offset Y after the wake-up command. Accordingly, the UE returns to sleep but wakes up again after the offset Y as instructed, i.e., in between two successive periodic DRX on durations of the UE's periodic DRX cycle. While awake, the UE receives a reactivation DCI in the same manner as discussed above in relation to FIG. 10.);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason stated in claim 4.
As to claim 6, the combination of Hu and Sun teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate a second message of the first message type with the network entity during the communication occasion, wherein the second message comprises a random access message, a system information message, or a combination thereof (Sun Fig. 11 reactivation DCI (system information message)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claims 15, 25 and 30 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
As to claim 8, the combination of Hu and Sun teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods comprises a system information message type and the communication occasion comprises an occasion for receiving one or more system information messages thereof (Sun Fig. 11 reactivation DCI (system information message)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 8.
As to claim 9, the combination of Hu and Sun teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods comprises a paging message type and the communication occasion comprises a paging channel occasion for receiving one or more paging messages (Sun Fig. 11 reactivation DCI (paging message type)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 9.
As to claim 10, the combination of Hu and Sun teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the second message type comprises a periodic channel state information-reference signal type, a semi-persistent scheduling channel state information-reference signal type, a tracking reference signal type, a positioning reference signal type, a physical downlink control channel message scrambled with a UE-specific radio network temporary identifier type, a physical downlink control channel in a type 3 common search space message type, a semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel message type, a scheduling request message type, a periodic channel state information report type, a semi-persistent scheduling channel state information report type, a periodic sounding reference signal type, a semi-persistent scheduling sounding reference signal type, a configured grant physical uplink shared channel message type, a configured grant message type, a buffer status report message type, a physical uplink control channel message type, or a combination thereof (Sun [0114] According to various embodiments, a UE configured for DRX and with a type-2 UL CG can be triggered to wake up a duration before a next subsequent resource of the UL CG (e.g., a PUSCH transmission opportunity, timeslot, etc.) to monitor for an activation (or reactivation) DCI associated with the next subsequent UL CG resource. In other words, the UE wakes up to monitor PDCCH for an activation DCI. This wake-up can be in between successive DRX on durations of the UE's configured DRX cycle)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Sun for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 10.
Claim(s) 3, 13, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, Sun and Ko et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0389122), herein Ko.
As to claim 3, Hu teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
Hu does not teach
receive, from the network entity, a control message indicating a configuration of a threshold for determining whether one or more active communication periods of the discontinuous communication configuration are extended into at least a portion of the one or more inactive communication periods; and
determine that a duration between a first active communication period of the one or more active communication periods and the communication occasion satisfies the threshold, wherein the first message is communicated within a period including the communication occasion and an extension of the first active communication period into the duration in response to the determination.
However Ko does teach
receive, from the network entity, a control message indicating a configuration of a threshold for determining whether one or more active communication periods of the discontinuous communication configuration are extended into at least a portion of the one or more inactive communication periods (Ko [0103] Referring to FIG. 9, for example, a first timer may be an on-duration timer of SL DRX configuration. For example, an active time, which is the time a UE is in an active mode, may basically mean a period in which the on-duration timer is on, and may be extended based on other timers of an SL DRX configuration. A UE may perform SL communication including transmission/reception of SL data during active time. For example, a second timer may be another timer of an SL DRX configuration. For example, the other timer may include an SL DRX inactivity timer or an SL DRX retransmission timer of SL DRX configuration. For example, the active time may end after a time offset from an end of a time interval in which at least one of the first timer or the second timer is operating. The time offset may be preset for a UE or signaled to the UE from a higher layer according to various embodiments of the present disclosure); and
determine that a duration between a first active communication period of the one or more active communication periods and the communication occasion satisfies the threshold, wherein the first message is communicated within a period including the communication occasion and an extension of the first active communication period into the duration in response to the determination (Ko [0101] a DRX UE may perform active time extension based on a specific threshold or margin of a specific offset value)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Ko because Ko [0113] teaches us when a packet transmitted by a first UE is pre-empted by a second UE transmitting a packet with a lower priority, a first UE transmitting the packet with the high priority may lower the frequency of performing resource re-evaluation by pre-emption after resource selection or resource reservation, by making the second UE detect a conflicting resource that generates the pre-emption through sensing and perform resource (re)selection to select a transmission resource based on this.
Claims 13, 22 and 28 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
Claim(s) 5, 14, 24 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Ben Hadj Fredj et al. (Pub. No.: 2024/0014870), herein Ben.
As to claim 5, Hu teaches the UE of claim 1,
Hu does not teach
wherein: the communication occasion that overlaps with the at least one inactive communication period is a first periodic communication occasion of a plurality of periodic communication occasions, and
the plurality of periodic communication occasions comprises a second periodic communication occasion that overlaps with at least one active communication period before the at least one inactive communication period.
However Ben does teach
wherein: the communication occasion that overlaps with the at least one inactive communication period is a first periodic communication occasion of a plurality of periodic communication occasions (Ben Fig. 12 receive a time offset for outside the active period) and [0042] periodic CSI reporting), and
the plurality of periodic communication occasions comprises a second periodic communication occasion that overlaps with at least one active communication period before the at least one inactive communication period (Ben [0054] periodic WUS).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Ben, because Ben teaches us [0055] At least some embodiments can further reduce the power consumption related to CSI reporting in DRX mode, while allowing up-to-date transmissions of CSI report based on latest transmissions.
Claims 14, 24 and 29 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Tao et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0377828), herein Tao.
As to claim 7, Hu teaches the UE of claim 1,
Hu does not teach
wherein the first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods comprises a random access message type and the communication occasion comprises a random access occasion or a physical uplink shared channel occasion for transmitting one or more random access messages.
However Tao does teach
wherein the first message type that is permitted in the one or more inactive communication periods comprises a random access message type and the communication occasion comprises a random access occasion or a physical uplink shared channel occasion for transmitting one or more random access messages (Tao [0256] There are several implementations on how to achieve that the UE performs the random access procedure during the DRX off periods and [0257] the PRACH resources that the UE will use will fall into the DRX off periods)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hu and Tao, because Tao teaches us [0222] In brief, the UE operates a DRX (Discontinued reception) function (more details later) which defines DRX-Active time periods during which the UE can actively communicate and further provides the UE with power-saving opportunities during so-called DRX-off time periods. According to one exemplary solution, the UE continues to communicate with the serving base station during the DRX active time, while using the DRX off periods to perform the random access procedure with the target cell. In that way, it is possible for the UE to communicate in parallel with the serving base station and the target base station. The UE may thus interrupt the communication with the serving base station upon having established the connection with the target gNB. In consequence, a make-before-break handover is achieved such that the service interruption due to the handover is minimized.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 11, 20 and 26 under 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hu.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467