DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 4/7/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 15 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the remarks, in regard to the Bengston reference (as applied under 35 USC §§ 102, 103), the applicant submits that the reference fails to teach the features required by the independent claims. Using claim 1 as an example, the applicant submits that message 411 and paragraph [0101] of Bengston fail to adequately teach, “transmit, to a first network node, a first control message, wherein the first control message indicates polarization measurement information at the repeater device, and wherein the first control message indicates capability information indicative of one or more capabilities of the repeater device.” Specifically, the applicant takes issue with the applying the spatial filtering measurement parameters of Bengston to the polarization measurement information of the claim. Based on this reasoning, the applicant submits the claims are allowable.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term polarization measurement information includes spatial filtering measurement parameters. In other words, the applicant applies a narrow interpretation, where the claim recites measurement values, whereas the examiner’s interpretation includes a plain meaning of the phrase, polarization information for measurement. The examiner notes that while the claims must be read in light of the specification, they must also be given their plain meaning. Since there is no recognized meaning for the term polarization measurement information within the relevant art, the examiner applies a plain meaning to the terms. That is to say, the claim term literally may mean information about polarization measurement (e.g., filter parameters). See MPEP 2111.01. The examiner does concede that if the claims were amended to explicitly recite the applicant’s interpretation, that such an amendment would overcome the current ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11, 13, 18-21, 24, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bengston et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0327713).
As per claim 1, Bengston et al. teach a repeater device for wireless communications [Bengston, ¶ 0032, “As illustrated in FIG. 1, there can be DL communication from the second CN 102 via the RRD 103 to the first CN 101, as well as UL communication from the first CN 101 via the RRD 103 to the second CN 102. Examples described herein particularly focus on the DL communication, but similar techniques may be applied to UL communication”, Fig. 1 depicts a communication system, including a reconfigurable relay device (RRD, element 103, see also ¶s 0003, 0009). The RRD functions as a repeater device. The communication system includes a first communication node (CN, element 101, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a UE. The communication system also includes a second CN (element 102, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a base station (BS).], comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor [Bengston, ¶ 0035, “The RRD 103 may include control circuitry 173, memory circuitry 163, in particular non-volatile memory, 163, and interface circuitry 183. The interface circuitry 183 may be adapted for controlling accepting/transmitting of signals having a fifth polarization via a first antenna group 188 comprising one or more antennas and signals having a sixth polarization on the radio channel 104, 105 via second antenna group 189”, RRD contains a processor (see element 173) and a memory (see element 163), which are used to control its operations.] is configured to:
transmit, to a first network node, a first control message, wherein the first control message indicates polarization measurement information at the repeater device, and wherein the first control message indicates capability information indicative of one or more capabilities of the repeater device [Bengston, ¶ 0101, “The RRD 403 may provide, to a first CN 401, a message 411 indicative of the RRD being re-configurable to provide multiple spatial polarization filters”, Fig. 4 depicts setting spatial polarization filtering for the output signals generated by the RRD (see fig. 4, ¶ 0100). The RRD sends a message to CN1 (or the first network device), where the message contains the polarization capabilities (i.e., polarization filter settings) available to the RRD (see also ¶ 0100). The spatial polarization filtering settings include horizontal and vertical polarization (see ¶s 0047, 0048), which are orthogonal. The spatial filtering measurement parameters are given to CN1, which shares them with CN2 (see ¶s 0048 and 0049).];
receive, from the first network node, a second control message indicating one or more polarization parameters based on the capability information and the polarization measurement information [Bengston, ¶ 0109, “A message 422 indicative of the spatial polarization filter may be provided, by the first CN 401 to the RRD 403”, Measurements of reference signals 431, 433, 435, 437, and 439 are used by the first network device to derive preferred spatial polarization filter settings (see ¶s 0107, 0108). In message 422, the first network node informs the RRD of which spatial polarizations are to be used by the RRD.]; and
relay signaling to a second network node based on the one or more polarization parameters [Bengston, ¶ 0110, “Afterwards, data communication 450 from the CN 402 to the first CN 401 (and in case of beam reciprocity from the first CN 401 to the second CN 402) may be performed taking advantage of a higher channel capacity due to the spatial polarization filter applied by the RRD 403”, Spatial polarization filtering is used by the RRD for its communications. The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa, see ¶ 0075). This inversion is depicted in Fig. 2, which is internal circuitry of the RRD (see ¶ 0074).].
As per claim 2, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters indicate a first polarization for receiving the signaling and a second polarization for transmitting the signaling [Bengston, ¶ 0075, “This may correspond to a situation in which the reflected signals should have the inverted polarization than the incident signals, e.g., signals with a vertical polarization are reflected as signals with a horizontal polarization and signals with a horizontal polarization are reflected as signals with a vertical polarization. The switch 230 may be a dual-pole dual-throw (DPDT) switch. Typically, the RRD 103 will comprise a plurality of similar or same circuitry 283”, The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa.].
As per claim 3, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 2. Bengston et al. also teach wherein, to relay the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the signaling using the first polarization based on the second control message [Bengston, ¶ 0110, “Afterwards, data communication 450 from the CN 402 to the first CN 401 (and in case of beam reciprocity from the first CN 401 to the second CN 402) may be performed taking advantage of a higher channel capacity due to the spatial polarization filter applied by the RRD 403”, Spatial polarization filtering is used by the RRD for its communications. The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa, see ¶ 0075). This inversion is depicted in Fig. 2, which is internal circuitry of the RRD (see ¶ 0074).]; and transmit, to the second network node, the signaling using the second polarization based on the second control message [Bengston, ¶ 0110, “Afterwards, data communication 450 from the CN 402 to the first CN 401 (and in case of beam reciprocity from the first CN 401 to the second CN 402) may be performed taking advantage of a higher channel capacity due to the spatial polarization filter applied by the RRD 403”, Spatial polarization filtering is used by the RRD for its communications. The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa, see ¶ 0075). This inversion is depicted in Fig. 2, which is internal circuitry of the RRD (see ¶ 0074).].
As per claim 4, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters indicate a first polarization for a first direction and a second polarization for a second direction [Bengston, ¶ 0048, “As explained hereinbefore, the RRD 103 may provide spatial polarization filtering. Thus, predefined measurement spatial polarization filters may be applied by the RRD 103 to incident signals”, The direction (or polarization) of the incident (received) vs. reflected (transmitted) signals are part of the spatial settings of the RRD (see also ¶ 0047).].
As per claim 5, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 4. Bengston et al. also teach wherein, to relay the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a first message in the first direction using the first polarization [Bengston, ¶ 0033, see last citation]; transmit the first message in the first direction to the second network node using the first polarization [Bengston, ¶ 0033, see last citation]; receive a second message from the second network node in the second direction using the second polarization [Bengston, ¶ 0033, see last citation]; and transmit the second message in the second direction using the second polarization [Bengston, ¶ 0033, “The first CN 101 may include control circuitry 171, memory circuitry 161, in particular non-volatile memory, 161, and interface circuitry 181. The interface circuitry 181 may be adapted for controlling transmission/reception of signals having a first polarization on a radio channel 105 via a first antenna group 184 comprising one or more antennas and signals having a second polarization on the radio channel 105 via second antenna group 185. The first polarization may be different from the second polarization. In particular, the first polarization may be orthogonal to the second polarization. In examples, the first polarization may be a horizontal polarization and the second polarization may be a vertical polarization”, The reference contemplates that polarization may also be grouped by antenna pairs (e.g., 184/186/188 and 185/187/189).].
As per claim 8, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of spatial beams and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of spatial beams [Bengston, ¶ 0038, “By using a TX beam, the direction of the wavefront of signals transmitted by a transmitter of the communication system is controlled. Energy is focused into a respective direction or even multiple directions, by phase-coherent superposition of the individual signals originating from each antenna group 184, 185, 186, 187. Thereby, the spatial data stream can be directed. The spatial data streams transmitted on multiple beams can be independent, resulting in spatial multiplexing multi-antenna transmission; or dependent on each other, e.g., redundant, resulting in diversity transmission or diversity multi-input multi-output transmission. As a general rule, alternatively or additionally to such TX beams, it is possible to employ receive (RX) beams”, The polarized transmissions may be further beamformed according to appropriate parameters.].
As per claim 11, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure a wireless backhaul channel using each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device to produce a wireless backhaul channel measurement, wherein the polarization measurement information includes the wireless backhaul channel measurement [Bengston, ¶ 0109, “A message 422 indicative of the spatial polarization filter may be provided, by the first CN 401 to the RRD 403”, Measurements of reference signals 431, 433, 435, 437, and 439 are used by the first network device to derive preferred spatial polarization filter settings (see ¶s 0107, 0108). In message 422, the first network node informs the RRD of which spatial polarizations are to be used by the RRD. The reference signal measurements for CN2 pertain to backhaul measurements.].
As per claim 13, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the capability information includes information indicative of a first capability of the repeater device to use a first polarization for transmission and a second polarization for reception [Bengston, ¶ 0101, “The RRD 403 may provide, to a first CN 401, a message 411 indicative of the RRD being re-configurable to provide multiple spatial polarization filters”, Fig. 4 depicts setting spatial polarization filtering for the output signals generated by the RRD (see fig. 4, ¶ 0100). The RRD sends a message to CN1 (or the first network device), where the message contains the polarization capabilities (i.e., polarization filter settings) available to the RRD (see also ¶ 0100). The spatial polarization filtering settings include horizontal and vertical polarization (see ¶s 0047, 0048), which are orthogonal. The spatial filtering measurement parameters are given to CN1, which shares them with CN2 (see ¶s 0048 and 0049). It is understood that the RRD will use one polarization for transmission (reflection) and another for reception (incident), see ¶ 0075.], or a second capability of the repeater device to use the first polarization for relaying the signaling in a first direction and the second polarization for relaying the signaling in a second direction.
As per claim 18, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the first network node is a first user equipment (UE) or a first network entity, and the second network node is a second UE or a second network entity [Bengston, ¶ 0032, “As illustrated in FIG. 1, there can be DL communication from the second CN 102 via the RRD 103 to the first CN 101, as well as UL communication from the first CN 101 via the RRD 103 to the second CN 102. Examples described herein particularly focus on the DL communication, but similar techniques may be applied to UL communication”, Fig. 1 depicts a communication system, including a reconfigurable relay device (RRD, element 103, see also ¶s 0003, 0009). The RRD functions as a repeater device. The communication system includes a first communication node (CN, element 101, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a UE. The communication system also includes a second CN (element 102, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a base station (BS).].
As per claim 19, Bengston et al. teach a first network node for wireless communications [Bengston, ¶ 0032, “As illustrated in FIG. 1, there can be DL communication from the second CN 102 via the RRD 103 to the first CN 101, as well as UL communication from the first CN 101 via the RRD 103 to the second CN 102. Examples described herein particularly focus on the DL communication, but similar techniques may be applied to UL communication”, Fig. 1 depicts a communication system, including a reconfigurable relay device (RRD, element 103, see also ¶s 0003, 0009). The RRD functions as a repeater device. The communication system includes a first communication node (CN, element 101, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a UE. The communication system also includes a second CN (element 102, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a base station (BS). CN2 functions as the network node], comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor [Bengston, ¶ 0034, “The control circuitry 172 may be implemented by a processor 172. The processor 172 may be configured to load program code that is stored in the memory 162”, CN2 contains a processor (see element 172) and a memory (see element 162), which are used to control its operations.] is configured to:
receive, from a repeater device, a first control message, wherein the first control message indicates polarization measurement information at the repeater device, and wherein the first control message indicates capability information indicative of one or more capabilities of the repeater device [Bengston, ¶ 0101, “The RRD 403 may provide, to a first CN 401, a message 411 indicative of the RRD being re-configurable to provide multiple spatial polarization filters”, Fig. 4 depicts setting spatial polarization filtering for the output signals generated by the RRD (see fig. 4, ¶ 0100). The RRD sends a message to CN1 (or the first network device), where the message contains the polarization capabilities (i.e., polarization filter settings) available to the RRD (see also ¶ 0100). The spatial polarization filtering settings include horizontal and vertical polarization (see ¶s 0047, 0048), which are orthogonal. The spatial filtering measurement parameters are given to CN1, which shares them with CN2 (see ¶s 0048 and 0049).]; and
transmit, to the repeater device, a second control message indicating one or more polarization parameters for the repeater device to relay signaling to a second network node based on the capability information and the polarization measurement information [Bengston, ¶ 0109, “A message 422 indicative of the spatial polarization filter may be provided, by the first CN 401 to the RRD 403”, Measurements of reference signals 431, 433, 435, 437, and 439 are used by the first network device to derive preferred spatial polarization filter settings (see ¶s 0107, 0108). In message 422, the first network node informs the RRD of which spatial polarizations are to be used by the RRD.].
As per claim 20, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters indicate a first polarization for the repeater device to receive the signaling and a second polarization for the repeater device to transmit the signaling [Bengston, ¶ 0075, “This may correspond to a situation in which the reflected signals should have the inverted polarization than the incident signals, e.g., signals with a vertical polarization are reflected as signals with a horizontal polarization and signals with a horizontal polarization are reflected as signals with a vertical polarization. The switch 230 may be a dual-pole dual-throw (DPDT) switch. Typically, the RRD 103 will comprise a plurality of similar or same circuitry 283”, The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa.].
As per claim 21, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters indicate a first polarization for a first direction and a second polarization for a second direction [Bengston, ¶ 0048, “As explained hereinbefore, the RRD 103 may provide spatial polarization filtering. Thus, predefined measurement spatial polarization filters may be applied by the RRD 103 to incident signals”, The direction (or polarization) of the incident (received) vs. reflected (transmitted) signals are part of the spatial settings of the RRD (see also ¶ 0047).].
As per claim 24, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. also teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of spatial beams and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of spatial beams [Bengston, ¶ 0038, “By using a TX beam, the direction of the wavefront of signals transmitted by a transmitter of the communication system is controlled. Energy is focused into a respective direction or even multiple directions, by phase-coherent superposition of the individual signals originating from each antenna group 184, 185, 186, 187. Thereby, the spatial data stream can be directed. The spatial data streams transmitted on multiple beams can be independent, resulting in spatial multiplexing multi-antenna transmission; or dependent on each other, e.g., redundant, resulting in diversity transmission or diversity multi-input multi-output transmission. As a general rule, alternatively or additionally to such TX beams, it is possible to employ receive (RX) beams”, The polarized transmissions may be further beamformed according to appropriate parameters.].
As per claim 29, Bengston et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a repeater device, comprising:
transmitting, to a first network node, a first control message, wherein the first control message indicates polarization measurement information at the repeater device, and wherein the first control message indicates capability information indicative of one or more capabilities of the repeater device [Bengston, ¶ 0101, “The RRD 403 may provide, to a first CN 401, a message 411 indicative of the RRD being re-configurable to provide multiple spatial polarization filters”, Fig. 4 depicts setting spatial polarization filtering for the output signals generated by the RRD (see fig. 4, ¶ 0100). The RRD sends a message to CN1 (or the first network device), where the message contains the polarization capabilities (i.e., polarization filter settings) available to the RRD (see also ¶ 0100). The spatial polarization filtering settings include horizontal and vertical polarization (see ¶s 0047, 0048), which are orthogonal. The spatial filtering measurement parameters are given to CN1, which shares them with CN2 (see ¶s 0048 and 0049).];
receiving, from the first network node, a second control message indicating one or more polarization parameters based on the capability information and the polarization measurement information [Bengston, ¶ 0109, “A message 422 indicative of the spatial polarization filter may be provided, by the first CN 401 to the RRD 403”, Measurements of reference signals 431, 433, 435, 437, and 439 are used by the first network device to derive preferred spatial polarization filter settings (see ¶s 0107, 0108). In message 422, the first network node informs the RRD of which spatial polarizations are to be used by the RRD.]; and
relaying signaling to a second network node based on the one or more polarization parameters [Bengston, ¶ 0110, “Afterwards, data communication 450 from the CN 402 to the first CN 401 (and in case of beam reciprocity from the first CN 401 to the second CN 402) may be performed taking advantage of a higher channel capacity due to the spatial polarization filter applied by the RRD 403”, Spatial polarization filtering is used by the RRD for its communications. The RRD may reflect signals with the opposite polarization to the received signals (i.e., received horizontal polarization transmitted as vertical polarization and vice versa, see ¶ 0075). This inversion is depicted in Fig. 2, which is internal circuitry of the RRD (see ¶ 0074).].
As per claim 30, Bengston et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a first network node [Bengston, ¶ 0032, “As illustrated in FIG. 1, there can be DL communication from the second CN 102 via the RRD 103 to the first CN 101, as well as UL communication from the first CN 101 via the RRD 103 to the second CN 102. Examples described herein particularly focus on the DL communication, but similar techniques may be applied to UL communication”, Fig. 1 depicts a communication system, including a reconfigurable relay device (RRD, element 103, see also ¶s 0003, 0009). The RRD functions as a repeater device. The communication system includes a first communication node (CN, element 101, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a UE. The communication system also includes a second CN (element 102, see ¶ 0030), which functions as a base station (BS). CN2 functions as the network node], comprising:
receiving, from a repeater device, a first control message, wherein the first control message indicates polarization measurement information at the repeater device, and wherein the first control message indicates capability information indicative of one or more capabilities of the repeater device [Bengston, ¶ 0101, “The RRD 403 may provide, to a first CN 401, a message 411 indicative of the RRD being re-configurable to provide multiple spatial polarization filters”, Fig. 4 depicts setting spatial polarization filtering for the output signals generated by the RRD (see fig. 4, ¶ 0100). The RRD sends a message to CN1 (or the first network device), where the message contains the polarization capabilities (i.e., polarization filter settings) available to the RRD (see also ¶ 0100). The spatial polarization filtering settings include horizontal and vertical polarization (see ¶s 0047, 0048), which are orthogonal. The spatial filtering measurement parameters are given to CN1, which shares them with CN2 (see ¶s 0048 and 0049).]; and
transmitting, to the repeater device, a second control message indicating one or more polarization parameters for the repeater device to relay signaling to a second network node based on the capability information and the polarization measurement information [Bengston, ¶ 0109, “A message 422 indicative of the spatial polarization filter may be provided, by the first CN 401 to the RRD 403”, Measurements of reference signals 431, 433, 435, 437, and 439 are used by the first network device to derive preferred spatial polarization filter settings (see ¶s 0107, 0108). In message 422, the first network node informs the RRD of which spatial polarizations are to be used by the RRD.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 9, 10, 16, 17, 22, 23, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengston et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0327713) in view of Catt (R1-2206413, see PTO-892).
As per claim 6, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of time and frequency resources and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of time and frequency resources.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of time and frequency resources and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of time and frequency resources [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 3, step 2, “The gNB indicates NCR which beam index is used for special time domain duration (e.g., symbol level). To ensure reliable received beam information, after receiving the beam indication, the NCR may confirm the beam indication”, NR smart repeaters receive configuration information as side control information (SCI). The NCR may receive beamforming indication information from the donor gNB (see fig. 1). The beam indication includes a beam ID, a symbol level time duration. Semi-static configuration (see pg. 2, Proposal 1) would include the relevant frequency information for the analog repeater to perform the beam in the appropriate time-frequency space.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Bengston et al. in view of Catt teach the repeater device of claim 6. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the first set of time and frequency resources includes a first passband, a first subband, or a first set of resource blocks, and the second set of time and frequency resources includes a second passband, a second subband, or a second set of resource blocks.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the first set of time and frequency resources includes a first passband, a first subband, or a first set of resource blocks, and the second set of time and frequency resources includes a second passband, a second subband, or a second set of resource blocks [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 3, step 2, “The gNB indicates NCR which beam index is used for special time domain duration (e.g., symbol level). To ensure reliable received beam information, after receiving the beam indication, the NCR may confirm the beam indication”, NR smart repeaters receive configuration information as side control information (SCI). The NCR may receive beamforming indication information from the donor gNB (see fig. 1). The beam indication includes a beam ID, a symbol level time duration. Semi-static configuration (see pg. 2, Proposal 1) would include the relevant frequency information for the analog repeater to perform the beam in the appropriate time-frequency space. See pg. 3, numeral 2 – the appropriate symbols reside in resource blocks.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 9, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the second control message indicates a set of power parameters for relaying the signaling, wherein, to relay the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to: relay the signaling based on the set of power parameters.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the second control message indicates a set of power parameters for relaying the signaling, wherein, to relay the signaling, the at least one processor is configured to: relay the signaling based on the set of power parameters [Catt, section 2.5, pg. 10, Proposal 13, “Semi-static configuration of power transmission is supported (e.g., by OAM or RRC configuration)”, The NCR configuration parameter for relaying includes power information for the links (see fig. 6).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure an echo interference at the repeater device based on transmission at the repeater device, wherein the first control message includes a first echo interference measurement for time division duplexed relaying or second echo interference measurement for bidirectional relaying.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure an echo interference at the repeater device based on transmission at the repeater device, wherein the first control message includes a first echo interference measurement for time division duplexed relaying or second echo interference measurement for bidirectional relaying [Catt, section 2.4, pg. 9, bullet 1, “Option 1: Explicit indication with on-off state (e.g., via dynamic or semi-static signalling) or on-off pattern (e.g., periodic/semi-static ON-OFF pattern or new DRX-like pattern for ON-OFF)”, ON-OFF indications (with SCI) are used to deal with interference (or echo) between the opposite links (see section 2.4, pg. 8). For dynamic, explicit indication, measurement values are used to trigger an OFF-state signalling. In order for this to work, one would understand a measurement would be reported by the NCR and an OFF signal would be sent by the gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 16, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein, to receive the second control message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second control message via a downlink control information message.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein, to receive the second control message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second control message via a downlink control information message [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 2, Proposal 1, “For beam information of access link, semi-static configuration is indicated by RRC/MAC-CE “, Configuration information is sent to the NCR via RRC / MAC signalling.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 17, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein, to receive the second control message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second control message via a medium access control message or a radio resource control message.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein, to receive the second control message, the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second control message via a medium access control message or a radio resource control message [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 2, Proposal 1, “For beam information of access link, semi-static configuration is indicated by RRC/MAC-CE “, Configuration information is sent to the NCR via RRC / MAC signalling.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 22, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of time and frequency resources and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of time and frequency resources.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the one or more polarization parameters include a first set of polarization parameters for a first set of time and frequency resources and a second set of polarization parameters for a second set of time and frequency resources [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 3, step 2, “The gNB indicates NCR which beam index is used for special time domain duration (e.g., symbol level). To ensure reliable received beam information, after receiving the beam indication, the NCR may confirm the beam indication”, NR smart repeaters receive configuration information as side control information (SCI). The NCR may receive beamforming indication information from the donor gNB (see fig. 1). The beam indication includes a beam ID, a symbol level time duration. Semi-static configuration (see pg. 2, Proposal 1) would include the relevant frequency information for the analog repeater to perform the beam in the appropriate time-frequency space.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 23, Bengston et al. in view of Catt teach the first network node of claim 22. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the first set of time and frequency resources includes a first passband, a first subband, or a first set of resource blocks, and the second set of time and frequency resources includes a second passband, a second subband, or a second set of resource blocks.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the first set of time and frequency resources includes a first passband, a first subband, or a first set of resource blocks, and the second set of time and frequency resources includes a second passband, a second subband, or a second set of resource blocks [Catt, section 2.1.1, pg. 3, step 2, “The gNB indicates NCR which beam index is used for special time domain duration (e.g., symbol level). To ensure reliable received beam information, after receiving the beam indication, the NCR may confirm the beam indication”, NR smart repeaters receive configuration information as side control information (SCI). The NCR may receive beamforming indication information from the donor gNB (see fig. 1). The beam indication includes a beam ID, a symbol level time duration. Semi-static configuration (see pg. 2, Proposal 1) would include the relevant frequency information for the analog repeater to perform the beam in the appropriate time-frequency space. See pg. 3, numeral 2 – the appropriate symbols reside in resource blocks.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 25, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the second control message indicates a set of power parameters for the repeater device to relay the signaling.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the second control message indicates a set of power parameters for the repeater device to relay the signaling [Catt, section 2.5, pg. 10, Proposal 13, “Semi-static configuration of power transmission is supported (e.g., by OAM or RRC configuration)”, The NCR configuration parameter for relaying includes power information for the links (see fig. 6).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 26, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the polarization measurement information indicates an echo interference at the repeater device, wherein the polarization measurement information includes a first echo interference measurement for time division duplexed relaying or a second echo interference measurement for bidirectional relaying.
However, in an analogous art, Catt teaches wherein the polarization measurement information indicates an echo interference at the repeater device, wherein the polarization measurement information includes a first echo interference measurement for time division duplexed relaying or a second echo interference measurement for bidirectional relaying [Catt, section 2.4, pg. 9, bullet 1, “Option 1: Explicit indication with on-off state (e.g., via dynamic or semi-static signalling) or on-off pattern (e.g., periodic/semi-static ON-OFF pattern or new DRX-like pattern for ON-OFF)”, ON-OFF indications (with SCI) are used to deal with interference (or echo) between the opposite links (see section 2.4, pg. 8). For dynamic, explicit indication, measurement values are used to trigger an OFF-state signalling. In order for this to work, one would understand a measurement would be reported by the NCR and an OFF signal would be sent by the gNB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the network-controlled repeater configuration features of Catt into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because expanding the use of side control information through specific messaging (see Catt) beyond top-level polarization capabilities (see Bengston) allows for simultaneous repeater links (see Catt, section 1) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 12, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengston et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0327713) in view of Jiang et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0088259).
As per claim 12, Bengston et al. teach the repeater device of claim 1. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure a wireless access channel using each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device to produce a wireless access channel measurement, wherein the polarization measurement information includes the wireless access channel measurement.
However, in an analogous art, Jiang et al. teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to: measure a wireless access channel using each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device to produce a wireless access channel measurement, wherein the polarization measurement information includes the wireless access channel measurement [Jiang, ¶ 0133, “In the above embodiments, the first module may further transmit a measurement report of the first reference signal on the first downlink carrier and/or the second downlink carrier”, The first module (which is within the repeater device, see ¶ 0016) generates a measurement report for the base station. The measurement report is based on measurements of the downlink carriers taken by the repeater (see ¶ 0134).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the measurement reporting of the repeater in Jiang et al. into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because allowing measurement operations by a repeater enhance dynamic repeater configuration (see Jiang, ¶s 0006 and 0012) performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 27, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the polarization measurement information indicates a wireless backhaul channel measurement for each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device.
However, in an analogous art, Jiang et al. teach wherein the polarization measurement information indicates a wireless backhaul channel measurement for each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device [Jiang, ¶ 0133, “In the above embodiments, the first module may further transmit a measurement report of the first reference signal on the first downlink carrier and/or the second downlink carrier”, The first module (which is within the repeater device, see ¶ 0016) generates a measurement report for the base station. The measurement report is based on measurements of the downlink carriers taken by the repeater (see ¶ 0134). Downlink links are on the backhaul and access (see ¶ 0063).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the measurement reporting of the repeater in Jiang et al. into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because allowing measurement operations by a repeater enhance dynamic repeater configuration (see Jiang, ¶s 0006 and 0012) performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 28, Bengston et al. teach the first network node of claim 19. Bengston et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the polarization measurement information indicates a wireless access channel measurement for each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device.
However, in an analogous art, Jiang et al. teach wherein the polarization measurement information indicates a wireless access channel measurement for each polarization of a plurality of polarizations at the repeater device [Jiang, ¶ 0133, “In the above embodiments, the first module may further transmit a measurement report of the first reference signal on the first downlink carrier and/or the second downlink carrier”, The first module (which is within the repeater device, see ¶ 0016) generates a measurement report for the base station. The measurement report is based on measurements of the downlink carriers taken by the repeater (see ¶ 0134). Downlink links are on the backhaul and access (see ¶ 0063).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the measurement reporting of the repeater in Jiang et al. into the reconfigurable relay device of Bengston et al. One would have been motivated to do this because allowing measurement operations by a repeater enhance dynamic repeater configuration (see Jiang, ¶s 0006 and 0012) performance with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417